Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Uncovers Alleged N10trn Fraud in NNPC

Monday, March 06, 2017

Senate Uncovers Alleged N10trn Fraud in NNPC

THE Senate has uncovered an alleged fraud of N10 trillion by staff of Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation, NNPC, in connivance with officials of some independent marketers and other key players in the petroleum sector between 2006 and 2016.

Against this backdrop, the Senate joint committees on Petroleum (upstream and downstream) and that of Gas will this week begin a probe of the affected companies, heads of government agencies and parastatals.

The committee also said it had the support of President Muhammadu Buhari and the Senate leadership to carry out a thorough and holistic investigation on the alleged fraud and bring to book the perpetrators, stressing that the amount involved was huge enough to finance the country’s budget for two consecutive years.

Addressing journalists, weekend, on the alleged scam, Senator Kabiru Marafa, Chairman, Senate Committee on Petroleum Downstream, who spoke for chairmen of the committees, said of the N10 trillion fraud, NNPC alone would account for N5.2 trillion it collected as subsidy from the Federal Government for importation of petroleum products, particularly Premium Motor Spirit, PMS, otherwise known as petrol between 2006 and 2016.

Edited from Vanguard

17 comments:

1. My baby is very sick, I have given her some medicines but her temperature is still high I want to take her to the hospital but I don't have any money left with me. I'm sorry for writing this here,is because I don't have any where else to ask for help.pls no amount is little please somebody help me safe my baby she's all I live for pls
    Anitaanita64@yahoo.com

1. Go to general hospital. Scammer

2. You go fear amount. Trillioni! !!!
    Chai see country wey God bless. But no oo, mbanu, tif no gree Naija great.

3. Is it today? Sadly we are used to this already.

1. I can never get used to hearing such. Each time such revelations come up my blood pressure rises beyond measure. (Very sad face).

4. The way all these stolen money is mentioned in this country has reduced the value of money in our eyes. Why can't we adopt the Chinese method? Death sentence for all public office holders that stole? It will help to curb their longthroat and greed...Trillions! We are in trouble in this country

5. Thieves probing thieves. With the chief of all thieves Saraki at the helm of affairs. What do you think will come out of it? Long hissss

6. Trillion what!!! My oh my! Kaiiiiii! Kaiiiii!

7. Oh God please give me my own because ur word says the earth is yours and d fullness thereof. This country will Neva stop to shock pple.

8. They steal, they investigate, they return, they share. All amongst themselves

9. Same people, same story and same method of investigating

10. Am I reading correctly.........#10trillion..........habaaaa......

11. I swear the way you hear figures in Nigeria is just alarming trillion