It is with heavy hearts that the management of the MART Group empathize with the husband, family and friends of Chiamaka De Freitas over this unfortunate and tragic loss of their daughter, mother and wife approximately 48 hours after a C-Section surgery. In 4 years of existence this is the first ever mortality case experienced by the MART Medicare.
As a maternity unit with zero tolerance for maternal morbidity, mortality and perinatal mortality, we put in place that all our patient’s care are consultant led. Two consultants Ob/Gyn are always in attendance for surgeries, including consultant anesthetist, pediatrician and world class perioperative nurses for any surgery.
Chiamaka was so precious to us that her history dates back to when she was trying to conceive 3 years ago and successfully underwent IVF at Medical Art Center, she conceived and continued her antenatal care with us.
When Chiamaka didn’t show up for her regular antenatal classes at 37 weeks in the hospital, the consultants were concerned.
They contacted her at week 39, at this time she told them that she was out of town and will attend when she gets back. When she presented herself at 41 weeks, the doctors had to carry out another assessment.
After further evaluations it was discovered that there was a very low volume of amniotic fluid left for baby’s survival.
It is at this point they informed her husband that the baby will have to be delivered by caesarean section, but he was hell bent on his wife having a normal vaginal delivery. He insisted on his wife having induction of labour despite the above facts. Mr. De Freitas was counseled and persuaded to see reasons why a C-section was a necessity instead of vaginal delivery which would have been very RISKY if not IMPOSSIBLE.
He finally yielded and allowed the Medicare surgeons operate on her after signing a written consent which explicitly stated that other additional procedures may be necessary and he was present at the surgery.
During the operation it was discovered that the umbilical cord was tightly wrapped round the baby boy’s neck TWICE. This is usually an ominous sign. But for the expert skill displayed by the medical team the baby could have been ‘still born’.
The delivery was a success even though the baby came out wrinkled, pale and one arm white from short of blood supply and stress in the womb.
It is standard practice at MART Medicare that before any patient goes in for surgery, they will NOT have anything to eat or drink (Nil per oral) 12 hours prior to the surgery. This means the patient fasts for 12hours before and 12hours after any surgery.
Thereafter, patients can have sips of water bit by bit with close observation after bowel movement has been observed. 18 hours post-surgery, the patient walked from the recovery room to her private room in high spirit and communicating well with her husband and other family members.
It must be noted that Mr. De Frietas requested to be left alone with his wife to “enjoy the moment of joy” for a period of time.
After further evaluations it was discovered that there was a very low volume of amniotic fluid left for baby’s survival.
It is at this point they informed her husband that the baby will have to be delivered by caesarean section, but he was hell bent on his wife having a normal vaginal delivery. He insisted on his wife having induction of labour despite the above facts. Mr. De Freitas was counseled and persuaded to see reasons why a C-section was a necessity instead of vaginal delivery which would have been very RISKY if not IMPOSSIBLE.
He finally yielded and allowed the Medicare surgeons operate on her after signing a written consent which explicitly stated that other additional procedures may be necessary and he was present at the surgery.
During the operation it was discovered that the umbilical cord was tightly wrapped round the baby boy’s neck TWICE. This is usually an ominous sign. But for the expert skill displayed by the medical team the baby could have been ‘still born’.
The delivery was a success even though the baby came out wrinkled, pale and one arm white from short of blood supply and stress in the womb.
It is standard practice at MART Medicare that before any patient goes in for surgery, they will NOT have anything to eat or drink (Nil per oral) 12 hours prior to the surgery. This means the patient fasts for 12hours before and 12hours after any surgery.
Thereafter, patients can have sips of water bit by bit with close observation after bowel movement has been observed. 18 hours post-surgery, the patient walked from the recovery room to her private room in high spirit and communicating well with her husband and other family members.
It must be noted that Mr. De Frietas requested to be left alone with his wife to “enjoy the moment of joy” for a period of time.
It struck some of the medical staff as weird that Mr. De Freitas was offering his young wife “Jack Daniels and Coca” during this traumatic period as he kept insisting that the medical team leave her private room.
During a routine patient checkup, the husband was found massaging her abdomen which is contraindicated for a patient that just had surgery. Approximately 36hrs after the baby was born, one of our doctors found the patient to be pale and in some measure of pain. The consultants managed the pain duly.
Routine blood tests were done and results confirmed that her blood levels were low. With the consent of her husband, Chiamaka was immediately transfused with blood (2 pints initially, and a further 2 pints of blood and 2 pints of fresh frozen plasma made available as soon as it was required).
Based on her clinical state, our experienced consultants thought it prudent to go back in to explore the possibility of any internal bleeding, so they performed a sub umbilical midline incision for a proper exploration.
No active bleeding was found neither in the abdomen nor in the pelvis and the uterus was well contracted, although, a concealed haematoma was found behind the bladder.
When surgeons encounter this type of blood clot, the global medical standard operating procedure is to adopt a conservative management approach by not touching the blood clot and treat the patient with blood transfusion ONLY. Mr. De Freitas at this time seemed more concerned about the scars that will form on his wife than in the life saving work the consultants were doing.
She came out of the second surgery very alert and was conversing with her husband and he offered her his support and comfort.
Over 8 hours after the exploratory surgery and 48hrs after she delivered her bouncing baby boy, Chiamaka passed on despite all our best efforts. The loss of this 24-year-old wife, mother and daughter is painful to us at Mart Medicare. Observing due diligence, it was suggested to Mr. De Freitas that he could carry out the autopsy at a hospital of his choice and he chose a government hospital in Lagos. The autopsy also confirmed our original findings at the second surgery of ‘concealed heamatoma’ behind the bladder.
Mart Medicare is a Gold Standard medical organization, this means that we don’t just meet the “benchmark” we surpass it. All our medical staff have been extensively trained both home and abroad. Mart Medicare is the one of the few hospital where you will always have 2 consultant surgeons in attendance during any given procedure.
MART Medicare has successfully birthed quite a number of 26 weeks old premature babies of 800gms and with our highly skilled expertise and modern equipment. We have delivered sets of quintuplet, quadruplet, triplet, twin and singletons. All this, with glowing praise and no single mishap.
Again our heartfelt condolences to Mr. De Freitas and her family.
During a routine patient checkup, the husband was found massaging her abdomen which is contraindicated for a patient that just had surgery. Approximately 36hrs after the baby was born, one of our doctors found the patient to be pale and in some measure of pain. The consultants managed the pain duly.
Routine blood tests were done and results confirmed that her blood levels were low. With the consent of her husband, Chiamaka was immediately transfused with blood (2 pints initially, and a further 2 pints of blood and 2 pints of fresh frozen plasma made available as soon as it was required).
Based on her clinical state, our experienced consultants thought it prudent to go back in to explore the possibility of any internal bleeding, so they performed a sub umbilical midline incision for a proper exploration.
No active bleeding was found neither in the abdomen nor in the pelvis and the uterus was well contracted, although, a concealed haematoma was found behind the bladder.
When surgeons encounter this type of blood clot, the global medical standard operating procedure is to adopt a conservative management approach by not touching the blood clot and treat the patient with blood transfusion ONLY. Mr. De Freitas at this time seemed more concerned about the scars that will form on his wife than in the life saving work the consultants were doing.
She came out of the second surgery very alert and was conversing with her husband and he offered her his support and comfort.
Over 8 hours after the exploratory surgery and 48hrs after she delivered her bouncing baby boy, Chiamaka passed on despite all our best efforts. The loss of this 24-year-old wife, mother and daughter is painful to us at Mart Medicare. Observing due diligence, it was suggested to Mr. De Freitas that he could carry out the autopsy at a hospital of his choice and he chose a government hospital in Lagos. The autopsy also confirmed our original findings at the second surgery of ‘concealed heamatoma’ behind the bladder.
Mart Medicare is a Gold Standard medical organization, this means that we don’t just meet the “benchmark” we surpass it. All our medical staff have been extensively trained both home and abroad. Mart Medicare is the one of the few hospital where you will always have 2 consultant surgeons in attendance during any given procedure.
MART Medicare has successfully birthed quite a number of 26 weeks old premature babies of 800gms and with our highly skilled expertise and modern equipment. We have delivered sets of quintuplet, quadruplet, triplet, twin and singletons. All this, with glowing praise and no single mishap.
Again our heartfelt condolences to Mr. De Freitas and her family.
* I have one question to ask any Doctor reading this..Is ‘concealed heamatoma’ behind the bladder a life threatening condition?
Of course they will come out with a detailed robust response but the woman is dead and gone. Sad.
ReplyDeleteStella, I want to first of all address the issue of BUTCHERING. Now, does the husband mean that they cut off her hands, legs, ears and other parts that had nothing to do with the surgical site?
DeleteEvery surgery is a medical procedure. You are bringing out a child from a few inches cut on the body, have you wondered that C/section is a semi blind surgery sort off and cuts are made based on landmarks from outside. Once a baby is out and there is need to go in again (you cannot call it another CS cos you are not going to deliver a baby but to find a solution to an emergency situation) it is called EXPLORATORY LAPAROTOMY. It means you need to Explore that area, you cannot explore blindly, the Incision/ CUT has to be different and More such that the whole area has to be SEEN. I will implore us to watch live EXP LAP surgeries. That is why I personally condemn bringing in patients relative who are not strong mentally and naive medically into the theatre. In medicine, you do what you can to save a patients life, if you have seen an open heart surgery, brain surgeries etc you will agree with me that sometimes you even use saw to cut open the head. Orthopaedic surgeries on the other hand sees surgeon use tools like the carpenter hammer, pins, saw, etc.
Hematomas are actually very common following surgeries. The only time I have seen a very bad haematoma was in an alcoholic but that is like one in several hundreds. Once you cut open any part of the body, haematoma is likely to form and depending on the size, you just leave it alone.
Most time when someone punches you and it turns dark red or purple, that is Haematoma. Domestic violence victims have it often. Everything depends on the size. A small size haematoma couldn't have killed her. This is so sad. RIP sweets.
This is a lesson to some alcohol freak husbands.I know someone that had intense bleeding who later on died cos her husband offered her small stout after giving birth.
DeleteThey should better arrest all her friends that was in the hospital around that period. Girls are desperate these days, the hospital and the family will be busy battling blames and a killer is somewhere giving the husband a shoulder to cry on and also taking care of the baby and warming up to be the next MRS. This case should be treated as a possible HOMICIDE from a calculated killer.
DeleteJack Daniels and coke. Haba
DeleteAnons 11.56 u just read my mind. This girl might be poisoned from a friendenemy
Delete"Mart Medicare is a Gold Standard medical organization, this means that we don’t just meet the “benchmark” we surpass it"
DeleteNigeria!! Nigeria!!
Imagine them bragging surpassing gold standard.
Fellow bvs, please read for yourselves the standard treatment for the complication they claim Amaka developed. According to them she had a hematoma behind her bladder. ("...although, a concealed haematoma was found behind the bladder")
Post-cesarean Section Symptomatic Bladder Flap Hematoma: A Modern Reappraisal.
The bladder-flap hematoma (BFH) is an unusual complication of the cesarean section (CS) performed by Misgaw Ladach method or Stark CS (performed without peritoneal closure) and it is an usual event after the visceral peritoneal closure performed during the traditional method. A BFH is generally thought of as a blood collection located in a space placed between the bladder and lower uterine segment (LUS), called vescico-uterine space. If, during a Stark CS, pathological fluid collections arise in this space by uterine suture bleeding, these decant into the large peritoneal cavity causing a hemoperitoneum. This last complication can be easily and accurately detectable by ultrasonography, which can be utilised by non-invasive monitoring as a guide for the clinical follow-up. In the authors' experience, the CS by Stark method is associated with a lower febrile and infective morbidity and it is possible also to perform a successful conservative laparoscopy for the BFH management. Laparoscopical treatment of BFH offers to patients the potential clinical benefits of the minimally invasive endoscopical treatments, but it should be reserved for surgeons trained in extensive laparoscopic procedures.(Copied from NIH website)
This was why the husband said they butchered his wife. The above procedure is the standard treatment for bladder flap hematoma.
Instead they did a SUBUMBILICAL MIDLINE INCISION.("Based on her clinical state, our experienced consultants thought it prudent to go back in to explore the possibility of any internal bleeding, so they performed a sub umbilical midline incision for a proper exploration.")
The husband could afford taking the wife to Europe for a safe delivery, I don't know what he was thinking.
DeleteHe would have been axcused if he couldn't afford. He said they travelled extensively why he allowed this beats me!!
When I hear stories of CS gone wrong I thank God even more for my life.
DeleteComfort to all affected by this death
ReplyDeleteThe husband should be jailed as well,he really contributed to his wife death.
DeleteWhy giving her coke less than 48hrs after delivery, when she was supposed to be taking warm Lipton tea.
SDk the haematoma behind the bladder means accumulation of blood behind the bladder. It's could be as results of the complications of postdatism..
DeleteOffering her JD n coca post OP?
ReplyDeleteWhen it your time, it's your time.
I still maintain, MART is one of the best when it comes to ob/gyn.
The hubby was more concerned about post op scaring than the safety of his wife. Oyinbo ppl sha.
DeleteFor a hospital in Nigeria not to have any mortality case. Wow. The first time someone is dying is this scandalous. I hope she wasn't poisoned.
DeleteThe husband should be held responsible for giving his late wife JD and coca, for what now? Now the wife is dead, he is crying foul.
DeleteI pray her soul finds peace and I Pray her family finds peace in God's assurance that she is resting.
Anon 10:07 something tells me d husband's hands r not clean,just a gut feeling
DeletePeople will always want who to blame but has anyone asked why after 36 hours they doctors took her back into the theater...???how can someone offer his wife jd and coke ,where did he get it from?? How about the water the hospital offered the deceased how many volume???
DeleteMe I just fear Nigeria when it comes to surgery.
ReplyDeleteIt is not. Haematomas are kinda common early post surgical complications but not generally fatal. I am so confused personally in this case. I was going to say an embolism but she didn't have signs (chest pain, shortness of breath etc). Doing a second surgery was in accordance. I just hope she didn't take anything. I don't know the depth of the massage the husband gave her. This is so complicated. Since the husband was inside the theatre,it doesn't seem there is much to hide. I guess this is a case of Man proposes but God disposes.
DeleteMy dear. You can sleep and not wake up. You can be in your lane and get crushed by hit and run. When it is your time, it is your time.
DeleteWhere did Stella Obasanjo die?
DeleteShe died abroad,when your time comes,you will answer.
DeleteThank you for the response Brown Sucre, Anonymous 10:03 give yourself some brain.
DeleteNonsense.
Nice question.doctor's in the house you are all needed here.i think the hospital made a very big mistake and they should stop piling blames on the husband.
ReplyDeleteIn my opinion, it is almost impossible for you not to find some level of haematoma after any surgery. It depends on the size and most times we just leave it alone. On the long run, it can cause infection but the antibiotics given after surgery covers all those ones and in the first 48hrs it culdnt have been infection.
DeleteI was hoping to hear other symptoms but both the husband and doctors insist it was just abdominal pains. Opening up seems like the best thing to do.
Such a sad story. Rip Amaka and may God console your family.
ReplyDeleteOnyibo Ppl and their I too know... I believe the hospital management joor...
ReplyDeleteLIARS
ReplyDeleteMost foreigners ask for privacy to be with the wife and enjoy the moment with the baby. Nigerian hospitals are fond of crowding the room after a patient must have given birth. All the nurses will come to the room and stress the woman.
He did not offer jack daniels or coke, you people are liars and trying to cover your incompetence. A simple apology would have been enough.
Yes they do it to prevent all the people that think they know more than doctors from giving their own medical intervention especially mothers, mother in laws, the ones that think themselves experienced mothers and so on. i have seen cases where frenemies and mother inlaws were caught tryinf to poison a new mother. even in prison they poison inmates and blame the officials.
DeleteIt would have been better the hospital staff was stationed there to monitor her steady until she is stable. By now they would have known for sure what that girl was given. If I was working there I will leave the woman in the recovery room until I am sure that she can be with the family. oyibo people no dey hear word. Let's toast, let's celebrate now the woman is dead. abeg both the hospital and everyone in that room has a question to answer.
DeleteI don't understand why Nigerian doctors will not allow a husband be with their wife during C section. In this age and time?
DeleteMy husband was with me during my C section and we gisted throughout until we heard the baby cry and we started thanking God.
You are allowed 2 people in the delivery room, its your choice. Its a precious moment you want to share with your loved ones especially your husband and your mum if you want her there.
But I believe only ones husband should share that joyful moment with one.
This is not a time for the 2 parties to be bashing each other.
May God be with the girls family especially her mum if she's still alive, cos husband will marry someone else later but there's no one to replace the love and affection of a child.
I lost myum 3 years ago and I still can't get over it.
May the lady's soul RIP and may her child find favour in all ways in JESUS mighty name.
This is a lie. It is not possible the man would have offered her whiskey and coke, common
ReplyDeleteBut you believe a doctor will offer a patient 5 liters of water immediately after surgery.
DeleteHahahahhahhaha. Anons 11.50 u are so funny.
DeleteWho are you people trying to decieve? You guys killed Glory, and no two ways about it.
ReplyDelete*Justice for Makky
Sigh.
ReplyDeleteThis is why I hate issues like this. After reading his account yesterday, I was wondering how they could be negligent.. Parts such as how her organs were sprawled about, etc. made them seem so negligent and all. Now after reading this? He gave her Jack Daniels and Coke? After a surgery?
Man , I don't know. Rest in Peace beautiful one. God give your family strength in this difficult period.
Ofcourse the hospital is doing their best to clear their name.
ReplyDeleteI want to believe that the mistake is from both sides.
But Jack Daniel and Coca? Hope they have evidence of this. If this is true then the man needs to be questioned too.
Sincerely, all this back and forth stories won't bring this pretty lady back to life.
As for those saying Nigerian Doctors are death messengers, una welldone.
Let's not over exaggerate things and be fair in our judgement.
Some of the great Doctors and Nurses abroad are Nigerians, that shows that theirs something about their system and not necessarily the humans at work.
Everyone's case differs.
We paid for one of the best clinics around us when I was pregnant with our first child. Guess what? My case could be called the Lab Rat experiment, got to the point they almost closed down the clinic because of negligence. And this is a very good hospital that almost served as every family member's birthing place.
During my second pregnancy, I simply borrowed myself sense and registered too in the General Hospital. My delivery? Perfect. Was discharged in less than 12 hours and was on my feel and almost healed in a week.
I've never looked back.
So it differs and evil can happen anywhere despite how much spent.
*there's
Delete*feet
The writebup seems standard. It seems like they knew what they ere doing. But was the right info passed on to d father. It seems not. Why will he be giving her jack Daniels after baby is born when they told her o fast. She self why was she taking is she not going to breastfeed? I don't know anything aboutbthe case but rest in peace to her. Patients plsbbe allowing doctors do thier work. Don't swat them away like flies.
ReplyDeleteMay her so RIP.
ReplyDeleteConcealed heamatoma is a life threatening situation. It occurs as a result of ruptures of blood vessels. This is what a layman calls internal bleeding. When the blood vessels ruptures and blood gets to spill to the organ this could lead to death. This is similar to the heamoragic cerebrovascucular accident (stroke) where the blood vessels in the brain ruptures and causes stroke.
ReplyDeleteThey said behind the bladder. A 1cm haematoma can form behind the bladder , will you call it fatal as against a 20cm haematoma. I bet you just quickly went to the Internet to browse.
DeleteBefore you start thinking about the effect, you must know the size and the part of the body affected. A haematoma in the head is different from intra abdominal haematoma. The one in the head is more serious because of pressure effect and obstruction. medicine is not static. You must qualify and quantify this haematoma if you are a medical doctor before you can arrive at the fact that it is a likely cause of death. It is like saying accident must cause death like everyone that have accident must die.
A heamatoma is a blood clot the way I understand it. That is was conceal means it was hidden.
ReplyDeleteSorry to say but her enemies were on her case
ReplyDeleteIt's never advisable to show off baby bumps on sm .
"36wks, "2wks to go", "40wks"
How can someone be announcing herself like that(I never said amaka did)
But too much show offs(#peperthem) mk pple want to pour d power in ur eyes.
I pray God console her loved ones
Your 2nd sentence though.
DeleteSo someone can take ones picture and harm them but family and friends that see you everyday can't?
You for say pregnant women should not go out.
The only reason why I won't use my pregnant pics as dp is if I no fine.
Someone even said one of her friends might have poisoned her to take over the husband. The heart of Man is evil and wicked. I wish we will know the mystery behind her death. It will shock everyone.
DeleteOh Lafresh , I never said family members cant hurt them o
DeleteWhat I mean is that,there are certain things dt should be kept.
And my dear,its not everybody u allow to see u when u are heavy whether fam or friends.
Taaaa comot dia..
DeleteI showed off my baby bumb from three months upwards..I kept posting every month even with my bare Tommy on facebook,instagram and whatsapp..till I put to bed..Normal delivery..went into labor and came out with my son..nothing happened to me..
U all should stop having imaginary enemies..Nobody send una with una pregnancy..
Even when one over sabi Aunty warned me to stop posting my pregnancy pics,i shunned her seriously..I told her I don't have enemies and even if I have,they won't do shit to me by using my mere pics..She shut her mouth immediately.
Nigerians with their stupid mentality dat everyone is after them..
My younger sis had two miscarriages and TTCed for a year but she is not on fb and whatsapp..she is not Internet crazy..nobody saw her pregnancies and she miscarried dem..So is it social media that caused her own miscarriages?
I cant wait to get preggy again and continue with my flaunting...My baby is still breastfeeding...once he clocks one,i will wean him and take in again. D flaunting continua.
With the kind of job I do, I can't stay indoors because I don't want some particular people to see me?
DeleteI have God.
This is one thing Nigerians do that I hate, why did they allow the man give his wife alcohol ?? Why? Because he is white ? Can this white man try that sh*t in his country? How on earth can doctors allow such?!
ReplyDeleteNever heard of a woman who just had CS walk back to her room from the theatre after surgery. Rubbish lies. The husband gave her coke and Hennessy after delivery? Stupid hospital people. Instead of you people to just apologise, you're busy casting the husband, idiots.
ReplyDeleteDear am a living witness to it. My first cs I walked into my room straight from theatre with the help of nurses by my sides because I insisted on walking instead of wheelchair cos my leg were in tact. The second my leg were like log of woods so I was carried out thou can't tell why the two differs am not a medical personal. So my luv is 100 percent possible. Nigeria doctors re really trying comparing to my own case cos I drove home myself in the first one no one available to take me home but second hubby was at beck and call. Rip dear and may God console the ppl u left behind.
DeleteYes I gave birth in America and after a couple of hours you are encouraged to walk by yourself
DeleteUgo.. May your husband's soul rest in peace.!!! Eyahhh.. How's d baby doing??? Hope you r fine
DeleteOla, na you kill her husband? Try dey read well before you reply.
DeleteOla dearie sorry was a missed up there,meant to write the second one as in second delivery hubby was around. The first one he wasn't in town. All the same thanks for ur concern, we re all fine both me,my boys and le boo of life. He is not dying so soon cos I can't do it alone. Regards to u and urs.
DeleteA woman just had CS and you allow her husband give her alcohol smh. R.I.P to the dead.
ReplyDeleteYes it's a serious complication in instrumental surgery (e.g C/S) which was performed on her.
ReplyDeleteIt is not always a serious complication. It is in fact one of the most common complicationsense. What makes it serious or not is the quantity. Most times you leave it alone.
DeleteMay her soul rest in peace
ReplyDeleteThis is heartbreaking!!!!.
ReplyDeleteMay she rest in peace...
i dont understand pple in this blog oo, the husband ordered staff out of the private ward and he gave her hennesy, what can they do, fly from the window to stop him, he killed his wife ni, oversabi white man.
ReplyDeleteMay her soul rip
ReplyDeletethe only thing I noticed is how possible is it for a woman who just had a CS to walk to her room? my people am surprised cos I hv been there more than once and it's not possible. RIP Makas.
ReplyDeleteIt is very possible. hospitals that have recovery room keep them there first. Once you recover from anaesthesia you can start walking. Most places that don't have recovery room just wheel you back to your room because the drugs are still working. We really need to be objective in our reasoning. A woman is not able to walk after cs because of anaesthesia and not because of the surgery.
DeleteExactly. Ive been there too and i know its not possible. Bloody liars. This is their first mortality case in 4years?? I dony believe ot
DeleteWho says it's not possible. Would you remain on the theatre couch for God knows how long? I walked to my room immediately after I had my CS done with the nurses support besides you can be transferred to a recovery room before finally going to your room. Amaka was in the recovery room for some time. Or don't you know what a recovery room is? Mtchew!
DeleteIf you dont have knowledge on something just shut up trinity instead of displaying your ignorance...It is very possible to walk after CS when the effect of anesthesia has worn off. People start walking around 4/5hrs after their CS you are there opening your gutter and calling them bloody liars.
DeleteThey should have started by inducing her and when they notice anything contrary then CS should be carried out fast.
ReplyDeleteSaying the man gave his wife JD and coca...adonbilivit, because he has 5yrs medical experience according to him.
The way I see it, they made a mistake and should apologise. God please deliver us from every mistake...Amen
Did you read the story at all? Induce a baby with cord round the neck twice and with reduced amniotic fluid at 41 weeks?
DeleteWhy must we always point fingers to the Doctors alone when cases like this happen? Is there any qualified doctor that won't give his/ her best to ensure patients lives are saved?. According to the clinic's story, Autopsy was done at a hospital chosen by the deceased husband. Did the report say the death was due to the doctor's negligence?
ReplyDeleteIn my opinion, I will say God knows best. RIP
MART should stop dragging this issue and simply apologise. Is it easy for a man to loose his wife and not complain. Abeggi.......mistakes happen......
ReplyDeleteRip to the dead.
ReplyDeleteBut please, i have a question to ask; why didn't he take her to his country to have their child when he knows how advanced they are in technology and experience? # just asking#
What did I just read? Whoever wrote this just buried this hospital. You had a post CS patient who suddenly became severely pale (probably in shock) enough to warrant transfusion with 4 units of blood without any obvious bleeding from the vagina and you kept transfusing instead of immediate exploration. Abi how long did it take to crossmatch and transfuse 4 units? Secondly you had evidence of 'concealed' haemorrhage even before you went in and at surgery you saw the only reason for this haemorrhage that warranted transfusion of 4 pints of blood yet you failed to address it calling it universal best practice! Which universe? This same medicine! Nowhere in the world!! The likely cause of death in this woman is postpartum haemorrhage and it's linked to the CS as evidenced by the autopsy report. What is painful is not that the CS was complicated (it happens ) but that it took a long time to explore despite the tell tale signs and worse,despite identifying the cause, the doctors were busy treating literature with their universal best practice stuff.....forgetting that books don't bleed! Pure misapplication of knowledge!
ReplyDeleteAfter insulting the doctors now and calling them killers, small thing they will run back to them. Even in Yankee people still skein hospitals. When it is your time it is your time. RIP to the dead.
ReplyDeleteAfter insulting the doctors now and calling them killers, small thing they will run back to them. Even in Yankee people still die in hospitals. When it is your time it is your time. RIP to the dead.
ReplyDeleteI have to comment on this....may God safe us,this happen to my sister two years ago.
ReplyDeleteAfter first operation that baby was brought out,she started bleeding
And the stupid doctor have to cut her second time to know when bleeding is coming from,they could not see anywhere,and sew her back.
She fainted when the second operation was going on,
infact glory be to God that she is alive today.the doctor that did operation was scolded by his boss for cutting her second that,that that was wrong she could have died.this is in government hospital ooo ifako ijaiye general hospital.
Let us pray that doc do not do mistake or error on us.they will know but look for excuse.there is negligence in this story.the poor lady could not withstand the second operation.