Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Passengers Can No Longer Travel To Dubai With ‘Ghana Must Go’ Bags

Saturday, March 04, 2017

Passengers Can No Longer Travel To Dubai With ‘Ghana Must Go’ Bags

From Wednesday, March 8, Dubai will introduce a new baggage rule that will make bags without flat surfaces to be rejected at airports.

When this rule gets enforced, the popular ‘Ghana Must Go’ bag that is very common among Nigerian travellers, will be regarded as “non-compliant baggage”.

Commenting on the development, Ali Angizeh, vice-president of terminal operations at the Dubai International, said irregular shaped or oversized bags could disrupt the advanced baggage systems that would soon be introduced.

He explained that the new rule would reduce the risk of baggage mishandling at check-in counters.

“Dubai International provides some of the most sophisticated baggage systems in the world,However, even the most technologically advanced systems can be disrupted by irregular shaped or oversized bags. Bags that are round or do not have a flat surface of any kind are by far the largest source of baggage jams.
These jams can shut down sections of our system, delay baggage delivery to the aircraft and inconvenience our customers.
We are trying to get the message out there as much as possible. Passengers, who show up at the airport with non-compliant baggage, will also be given the option to have it re-packed in boxes for a fee.”

He said airports have notified airlines operating into Dubai of the imminent change and has updated its websites to create more awareness.

The DXB handled approximately 9.3 million bags in January this year.

The Cable

20 comments:

1. How can you be going on an international trip and still carrying that eyesore " Ghana must go" ?

1. Ah! My dear Nigerians carry Ghana-must-go bag even to heaven if youre not careful πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ See them for airport na. Don't try us oh. Our main aim is to get there hale and hearty.

2. As in ehhh?
      But some people use the bag to remove excess luggage

2. Hmmmmm....
    Na to use Nylon bag tie d luggage sure pass

3. hehehe... dem wan spoil market for Ghana must go manufacturer..

4. Simple, just make it look flat. To the makers of ghana must go bags, sew it to look like suitcase.

1. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ @sew it to look like suitcase.

5. It sure do looks tacky to travel with such luggage.
    It's a welcome development

6. na ur type carry am pass, no dey form

7. Ghana must go ke? To Dubai?............. I no sabi if nah only me dey see Dubai as small heaven...... How person go carry Ghana must go....go there???(Dubai dey their back yard?)

8. Ghana must go ke? To Dubai?............. I no sabi if nah only me dey see Dubai as small heaven...... How person go carry Ghana must go....go there???(Dubai dey their back yard?)

9. This Ghana must go can save u alot,the last time I was in Dubai,I bought Ghana must go becos of my excess luggage.

10. I wonder the name they will give the so call bags

11. I obvious don't do international trips, the essence of using such bags is to increase the space u have for ur items. Some boxes can weigh as much as 5kg when they r empty

1. Thank you my dear. Na only you get sense for here. If not for Ghana must go bags extra luggage for don wound me since na.