Sixteen-year-old Nigerian teenager, Steven Udotong, has invented a nuclear energy fusor, making him the first black student to attain such feat.
A fusor is a device that uses an electric field to heat ions to suitable condition for nuclear fusion.
The machine generates an electric potential difference between two metal cages inside a vacuum.
Speaking in an interview with blavity.com, Udotong, a high school junior in Southern New Jersey, hoped that his invention would inspire a cleaner, more environmentally-friendly future for all.
He was able to achieve the feat by creating a GoFundMe page, where he raised 1,500 dollars for supplies, in just one month.
He said “I grew curious after we flew by the topic of nuclear energy in my chemistry class last year. I decided to do more research and I soon learned that I could actually make a nuclear fusor.
“That sparked my interest. I want people to know that there are alternate methods for obtaining power and energy.
“I want to examine more clean energy products and stop the fear of the word “nuclear,” Steven shared in an interview on The Well, Jopwell’s Digital Magazine, with his older brother, Emmanuel, a computer science student at Princeton University.
“Nuclear energy is a lot safer than people think,” he added.
Just last summer, Steven was accepted into Yale Young Global Scholar Programme, which allowed him to pursue the engineering workshop at the Singapore campus.
He was one of three students from New Jersey to attend the workshop.
He said he realised he could be the first black student to build a nuclear reactor.
He added that “I was motivated because I knew that there were many other
ways for minorities to pursue success. Sports and music were not the only avenues for us.
“There’s room for us. There’s a need for us to participate in academia, business, art, law, medicine, and yes, nuclear energy.
“I hope this project will become an example of academic excellence as vehicle of accomplishment for black students.”
Udotong who has just completed the first part of his invention says when he is done he planned to enter it in science fairs and competitions for a chance to pursue scholarship opportunities.
His ultimate goal, he said, was to start a conversation on state and federal level, about more serious action toward adopting alternative energy sources.
Woooww! This is wonderful.
ReplyDeleteWow! Congratulobia.
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Beautiful.
DeleteMy pikin dem make una come see o. Lol
DeleteCommendable, son. Well done
So proud of him!!! YAGI
ReplyDeleteGood one
ReplyDeleteCorrect Boy
ReplyDeleteMore Knowledge to you kid
May God bless him in all his endeavours!
ReplyDeleteAmen.
DeleteThey will watch him, encourage him n whisk him into their industry.
ReplyDeleteOh Dear LORD this is someone's child. I celebrate him. Please let my children grow to be shinning stars also. In JESUS name. Amen
ReplyDeleteAmen..
DeleteSame here.
Amen and amen
DeleteAmen and Amen!!!
DeleteAmen.
DeleteAnd me too ooo!
#Genius
Very good. He is wearing Princeton polo. Just remember princeton in Aguda.
ReplyDeleteBeautiful
After census market. How that school grew. From one small place at nuru oniwo to what they are now. Great kid
DeleteCongrats
ReplyDeleteNice one...keep up the innovative spirit
ReplyDeleteMay God increase him in knowledge
ReplyDeletewow, and he is just sixteen.most sixteen year old here will be busy playing naira bet and candy crush
ReplyDeleteWill you blame them. Is there any encouragement in this country. The secondary schools doesn't even have enough to spark curiosity in children.its not the people that is the problem but the system.
DeletePartly yes, I know the system has failed a lot of people, but most of these kids aren't making any effort at all to develop themselves. They'll pick movies over books any day
DeleteWell Yankee and those places always encourage innovations
DeleteCongratulobia!
ReplyDeleteCongrats to him.
ReplyDeleteNice one..
Wow, I love this. We have so many brilliant chaps in nigeria, we lack supportive environment.
ReplyDeleteSmartie!
ReplyDeleteI am proud of you.
So proud of you stephen .
ReplyDeleteI am happy that you and your siblings are making
your Mom proud. She deserves it.
God bless you Steven. God bless your parents.
ReplyDeleteWe are a great country but bad leadership won't let us be great. I heard someone mention over a discussion that the smartest British family are Nigerians. I googled it and voila!! All this brain drain.... Na wa oh!
Nice one
ReplyDeleteYori Yori Princess did u attend Princeton Junior School?? I attend the School from 1994-1999..Holla me on Nonyeinspired@gmail.com..
ReplyDeleteGood one, you do us proud!
ReplyDeleteNigerians are doing better overseas because of the environment they find their selves....
ReplyDeleteCongratulations...