Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Poultry Farmers Experience Increased Sale,Due To Govt Ban On Importation

Monday, March 06, 2017

Nigeria Poultry Farmers Experience Increased Sale,Due To Govt Ban On Importation

Poultry farmers in Ilorin have commended the Federal Government for banning importation of poultry products.

The farmers, who spoke in separate interviews with the News Agency of Nigeria in Ilorin on Sunday expressed their delight as demand for chicken and other poultry products increased following the ban.

A poultry farmer, Samuel Ishola, whose farm is located in Olunlade, a suburb of Ilorin, said that he witnessed a rise in demand of broilers unlike few years back when he resulted into begging people to buy.

Mr. Ishola said the government had done well to encourage poultry farmers as the ban on importation of chicken had forced a huge number of customers to patronise them.

Another farmer, Leke Ayoola, described the ban on imported chicken as a blessing as every poultry farmer now had a market as demand increased for the livestock product.

Ayoola said he was forced to increase his poultry pen due to high patronage by the customers, adding that he extended his poultry farm to meet up with customers’ demand.

Conclusively,Agriculture will rescue Nigeria from Recession.

From premium times

11 comments:

1. Wait oo we were importing chicken before. Kaaii. Nawa oo. Chicken kwa too

1. Good news! Besides they are safer and healthier

2. ...una no dey import poultry animals and still yet eggs are expensive. i really don't get it

3. Nice one there. Our VP is really working o, more grease to his elbows

4. Great news indeed....But the problem nw is that everybody ll start poultry biz.. Nigerians are fond of that.

1. have you heard of the price of the chicken feed? it's so high

5. Why would people in Africa prefer cadavre chicken that is filled with growth hormones and antibiotics?? Chicken that is hatched today & in 2-3 weeks it's packaged ready for consumption. Some feel buying frozen imported chicken means they are of the upper or bourgeoisie class.
    Please go for the home grown organic poultry and beef. It is lean and best for your health.

6. Great news,I agree but how many people can afford a live chicken?

7. Confirm I am smiling to the bank now

8. Precious gal ,funny enough live chickens are cheaper. How much do they sell those iceblocks u guys buy ? U can get a broiler at 1200 nau. Isn't it better than buying 800naira for a kilo that ud cut into four pieces?

9. Organic foods & meats including locally grown chicken is the best for health and vitality. Buy local & eat local bcos it's the freshest, free of chemicals, tastes better and cheaper for the pockets as well. Why look to Sokoto (foreign imports) when what you need is in your very shokoto/backyard? Ahh, nah question-o. QED@atm