Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Learner Passes His Driving Test On His 33rd Attempt

Monday, March 27, 2017

Learner Passes His Driving Test On His 33rd Attempt

THE mantra “if at first you don’t succeed, try, try, try again” has proved true for this new driver who has finally passed his driving test at the 33rd attempt.

Determined Christian Whiteley-Mason has used 14 different instructors, taken 85 lessons and spent £10,000 over 25 years to get the licence.

After finally being given the all clear to get out on the roads by himself, the care home manager said: “I can’t believe I’ve actually finally passed after all these years. I’m still in shock!”

Mr Whiteley-Mason, 42, from Barnsley, first took his test in 1992 in the days before the driving theory test was introduced but quickly racked up a succession of test fails.

He said: “There was this one examiner at the Barnsley test centre who I used to pray I didn’t get. She was notoriously tough and she failed me every time.

I had 56 lessons with my first instructor and eventually he told me to just give up as I would never pass

“I had 56 lessons with my first instructor and eventually he told me to just give up as I would never pass.”

By 2003 after Mr Whiteley-Mason had failed his test a monumental 32 times, he admitted defeat and finally decided he simply not cut out to sit behind a wheel.

Even when he turned 40 and decided to give it another go, he had a few lessons before realising it wasn’t for him and choosing not to take another test.

'I’m so proud of myself. It’s changed my life to be honest', says Christian

But after finding an increasing need to travel for work he was struggling to get by day-to-day using public transport.

He added: “I had to either get taxis or rely on other people and it was costing me a fortune.

“So in January that was it, I just decided I was going to go for it.

“Everyone laughed at me and said I’d never do it, I’d get bored again. But I was absolutely determined I was going to show everyone.”

And not only did he pass the test he did so with flying colours having only got marked down for three minor errors.

Mr Whiteley-Mason first took his test in 1992 in the days before there was a driving theory test

He joked: “There must be a God because I prayed every night that I wouldn’t get that same examiner who’d kept failing me, and I didn’t.

“I’m so proud of myself. It’s changed my life to be honest. I felt like I’d achieved everything I really wanted to achieve, this was the one thing left I had to do.

“My motto was always been don’t stop believing.”

Having thrown away his L plates, Mr Whiteley-Mason has now splashed out on a second hand Smart Car named Percy and is even giving his husband Darren lifts around town.

From express.co.uk

*LMAO...i did mine almost 10times before i passed it,you need to read the signs on the ground and on the shields,I was just doing my thing,na me tire before i begin read signs,on my 10th attempt,i said it would be my last and that was when i got it right.....I screamed and gave the instructor a kiss! *runs away*

24 comments:

1. I love dis country called naija anybody fit enter steering mode for here

#GODWIN™

1. Yup, and that's one of d reasons why people die anyhow on our roads- drivers, passengers and pedestrians.
      Drivers have no clue what road signs are, decorations maybe. Speed limits? Hunh? Wetin be that?! As for traffic lights πŸš₯ Hian!
      Shame

2. My dear, I got a car on Saturday, did some lesson on Friday and by Monday I was on the road driving to work. How could I have known I was a moving mortuary? I could have killed or get killed? And to think I got my driving licence years before I touched steering wheel. I hail Naija.

3. Not boasting but I did my driving test in February and passed with just 2 minors after spending over £1000 on lessons.
      I congratulate the guy, not easy.
      I can imagine spending £26 or more an hour for driving lessons and you keep failing, it can be very depressing.

2. #onlyInTheAbroad

In Nigeria, you don't need to go through this stress

3. When I saw the 33rd attempt I know it was not Nigeria

Sdk ooooo

4. I got confused here o * and is even giving HIS husband Darren lifts around town.

The white will never cease to amaze me

5. Nna enh, Una gate thym o....
    Whu gate diss kine thym and pashence for diss mai naija

Naija, eye hell deee πŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ.

Eniways, moral of d stori; nefa giffop nomata how lung d thym cus One day, yhua stori wheel chenge and histry wheek be maid.

6. "and is even giving his husband Darren lifts around town".
    Anyway,never give up. Keep on trying until things falls into place. At the end,you will be the best at at. Failure is never an option. *for my mind,i dey form inspirational speaker. *if you are reading it and it makes you angry,nor vex abeg

7. Before i got to the "his husband part", i couod already tell dat the guy is gay..from his picture sef..

8. Haha, passed mine on the 3rd attempt, my friend passed at the 20th, she almost gave up. It's lot of money to think an hour's lesson is £25.
    These driving test examiners don't play. Failed my first for going 35 at a 30 zone, then second was because I hit a curb, they're very strict. 😑😑😑

9. I passed on my 3rd attempt, by the guy dat failed me the 1st time. After I failed the 1st time, I js started driving to work without licence.I was pissed wt d guy cos I js got 1 serious fault and I hv kids to shuttle.

10. Failed my driving test in texas twice...got it the third time...
    Third time is a charmπŸ˜€

11. Passed my the 1st time,in califorina, I just Google which county is the best place to do ur test and it gave me Riverside County.

12. Passed first attempt. I'm cool like that 😎πŸ’ͺ🏾

Cheers.

13. 33rd what?? Not in my country

You only have to do it once..That's all

14. 33rd what?? Not in my dear country

You only have to try it once... That's all

15. 33 times, hmmm.. I get hope, Pastor's daughter,as I don de try toast u since and u just de dodge me, Just remember "33 times" !!😁😁

16. You don't even need to pass first attempt before you become master of the road yourself πŸ˜πŸ˜€πŸ˜„

17. I have a friend who has never had a drivers license; he's been driving for over 20yrs. His trick? he uses a driver within the week and then drives himself over the weekend. Fear no dey even gree frsc stop am when dem see him weekend car. LOL