Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: First Successful 'Cure' Of Sickle Cell Recorded In France

Monday, March 06, 2017

First Successful 'Cure' Of Sickle Cell Recorded In France

A French teenager's sickle cell disease has been reversed using a pioneering treatment to change his DNA.

The world-first procedure at Necker Children's Hospital in Paris
offers hope to millions of people with the blood disorder.
Scientists altered the genetic instructions in his bone marrow so it made healthy red blood cells.

The teenager was prior to the treatment on a monthly blood
transfusion to dilute his defective blood.
At age 13, doctors at the Hospital in Paris decided to alter the genetic instructions in his bone marrow.

This was done through the injection of a virus (which corrected the defect he had) into his bone marrow.
The altered bone marrow was then put back into the patient.
Fifteen months since the treatment, the teenager no longer requires medication, and his blood cells show no further sign of the disease, according to the results published in the New England Journal of Medicine.

Philippe Leboulch, a professor of medicine at the University of
Paris, told the BBC that: “So far the patient has no sign of the
disease, no pain, no hospitalisation. He no longer requires a
transfusion so we are quite pleased with that.

“But of course we need to perform the same therapy in many patients to feel confident that it is robust enough to propose it as a mainstream therapy.”
Leboulch, according to the BBC, is hesitant to use the word “cure” because the French teenager is only the first patient to scale through the clinical trials.

34 comments:

1. France highly meticulous medical practitioners . Thank you father for this medical breakthrough and we pray in Jesus name it becomes a cure!

2. Wow this is a huge breakthrough in clinical medicine .
    πŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌπŸ‘πŸΌ.
    Thank God.

3. Good one...once lost a dear friend due to this sickle cell stuff...continue to RIP JACOB

4. Prevention is Still better than Cure

5. God let it continue to be a success ooo. I have lost good friends because of this stupid disease

6. Oh God finally! But preventing it is better

1. Yeah right.
      But if the treatment or procedure is almost free, then make we dey waka dey gooooooo.
      Wowwww I am so happy this morning to read this report. Thanks. God is good oo.

7. North Dakota Siobhan6 March 2017 at 09:30

Pure genius.

8. Good news πŸ‘ πŸ‘ πŸ‘ πŸ‘ πŸ‘

9. thank Goodness my son can finally have a cure in UK phewwwww. thank God for knowledge he gave scientists. they said in 5 years time , it will be available to all

10. Prevention is Still better than Cure

11. Major breakthrough, thank you Jesus

12. Thank You Jesus!
    Wow! Finally! πŸ‘

13. Wow!
    Anyway as+as Is still a no.

14. Oh Lord we pray it will continue to be a success. Amen.

15. After I have lost 2 siblings thank God that the one left would have an opportunity of cure. Thank you Jesus.

16. For those saying prevention is better than cure. Yes people know that but note that some people have fallen victim due to wrong diagnosis from laboratories so please just hope that a cure is found and stop saying rubbish. May God make this cure possible. It will be a major breakthrough for a number of people seeking cure.

17. Good news...buh what type of virus did they use?i am scared of viruses..abeg.

18. Wooooooooooooooowww thank you Jesus for this wisdom available in this medical practitioner, oh God I have been praying and believing you for miracle upon my three children living with this virus, may this solution get to Nigeria, and may it be affordable for people like me so that my children can live a pain free life, Thank you Jesus there is a way out.

1. My prayers are with you. God almighty will heal your children and they will live a pain free life in Jesus Name. Amen.

19. Praise God. So may ppl will be able to marry and patients wont v to leave in pain and fear

20. Thank you jesus for this great news

21. Great news.....i pray they bring it down her so my child can benefit from the treatment too

Long live SDK

22. alhamdulillah! now my cousins have hope at a pain free life.

23. Just today my aunt found out that her adopted daughter is a sickler