He said the same police would give rich men cover once they went against the law.
Falana, who was reacting to the recent arrest of 20 persons in connection with the Ile-Ife clash and the clampdown on members of the Peace Corps of Nigeria, said, they should sue the federal government for damages.
The lawyer in a statement Sunday evening said the media parade of the suspects by the police infringed their fundamental rights, and that it also violated the principle of presumption of innocence until proved guilty.
He also warned the attorney-general of the federation to caution law enforcement agencies against parading criminal suspects.
He said, “Although the courts have repeatedly cautioned the law enforcement agencies to desist from parading criminal suspects before the media the inspector-general of police, Mr Ibrahim Idris has justified the illegal practice. It was a defence which smacks of official impunity and insensitivity.
Falana, who was reacting to the recent arrest of 20 persons in connection with the Ile-Ife clash and the clampdown on members of the Peace Corps of Nigeria, said, they should sue the federal government for damages.
The lawyer in a statement Sunday evening said the media parade of the suspects by the police infringed their fundamental rights, and that it also violated the principle of presumption of innocence until proved guilty.
He also warned the attorney-general of the federation to caution law enforcement agencies against parading criminal suspects.
He said, “Although the courts have repeatedly cautioned the law enforcement agencies to desist from parading criminal suspects before the media the inspector-general of police, Mr Ibrahim Idris has justified the illegal practice. It was a defence which smacks of official impunity and insensitivity.
from dailypost
Gbam! The rich always get away with crimes here but as usual nothing might change.
ReplyDeleteGbam!
DeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Very true!
ReplyDelete"Rich man wet thief money we no dey see their face for crime fighter"
This is the only truth this bigot has ever said in his entire life.
ReplyDeleteU tony dey call someone bigot??D world must be truly coming 2 an end
DeleteFalana a bigot? Hahahaha, that's rich coming from the chief tribalistic bigot himself.. You are a proper waste of space. Go back to that cave your crawled out from, be looking like a black albino with your alien looking face..
DeleteI'm sure you don't know the meaning of the word bigot.. Ode!!!
DeleteHow can u call him that? Are U ok upstairs?
DeleteFemi Falana! Spot on!Loud it Sir!
ReplyDeleteHe hits the naiL
ReplyDeleteAMAWBIA UGBO OGIRIGA
true talk
ReplyDelete#GODWIN™
So true
ReplyDeleteSo true
ReplyDeleteFalana iam sure you just woke up
ReplyDeleteI can tell you! Police is the greatest challenge facing Nigerians, I wish they can scrap out the force and replace them with civil defence.
ReplyDeleteSo many innocent Nigerians has been accused and murdered by Policemen and nothing is done about it.
I was once arrested by the Nigerian police cause I was wearing army camouflage, they took me to the police station, handcuffed me, put a gun beside me and took some pictures. When my people came for bail, they demanded for a huge amount of money from them or they will post the pictures online. Of course we have big connections with the military and some calls were made, some military men arrived at the station and I was released. Since then I fear Policemen....One of them even claimed they can kill me and put the story online that I was gunned down during a robbery operation.
These guys are evils I swear!
#DontQuoteMe
Daddy Falz!! Ride on
ReplyDeleteVery true
ReplyDelete#essylyn
No be today the rich in our society don dey escape justice.
ReplyDeleteWell said
ReplyDeletevery correct sir, naija tinz wer someone will be jailed for 10yrs for stealing a phone not more than 100k whereas the 100m thieves will just pay bail and off they go..... corruption at the top
ReplyDeleteI lost faith in our police several years back.