Six students of the University of Lagos, who allegedly gang-raped a 17-year-old female colleague, were on Wednesday granted reprieve by a Surulere Chief Magistrates’ Court in Lagos.
They were released on a N6 million bail.
The accused are: Simeon Omowole, 18; Randy Chukka, 17; Samuel Oyefara, 18; Peter Adeboyega, 17; Chuka Chukwu, 19; and Peace Nwakanma, 18 (a female).
They pleaded not guilty to a five-count charge bordering on conspiracy, rape and sexual harassment.
The prosecutor, Anthonia Osayande, told the court that the offences were committed sometime in January at High-Rise, University of Lagos.
Osayande alleged that the accused persons with another man still at large conspired and raped a 17-year-old fellow student.
Osayande said that Nwakanma, the only female among the accused persons, was the one that lured the girl to where she was raped.
She said: “The six students sexually harassed the girl with video clips in order to intimidate her.
“They all had sexual intercourse with the 17-year-old without her consent.”
The offences contravened Sections 137, 140, 260 (2), 264 and 411 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State 2015 (revised).
The Chief Magistrate, A. Ipaye-Nwachukwu, granted the accused bail in the sum of N500,000 each with two sureties each in like sum.
Ipaye said one of the sureties must be a blood relation of the accused, while the second surety should be a civil servant of not less than Grade Level 14.
She also directed the sureties to provide an evidence of tax payment to the Lagos State Government.
The magistrate adjourned the case to May 18 pending advice from the State Director of Public Prosecutions.
Daily Post
Wicked children
ReplyDeletei wish them the worst things life can bring
DeleteBe careful of friends. Always pray that God should destroy every unfriendly friendship.
ReplyDeletewhat a pity. I pray the raped girl finds comfort and go for counselling.
The money is too small now. They should flog their pricks while in the prison
Chai
DeleteGosh see 17 and 18 year old kids raping??? Nigeria where are we heading to...Parents what are we doing??? Ahhhhhhh!!!!!
ReplyDeleteSad πππ
ReplyDeleteJust negodu!!!!!because it's not her daughter.such heinous crime..rich parents be grooming monsters...THΓRE Δ°Ε GOD OOO
ReplyDeleteBiko nu, we parents have lots of work to do, civilisation apart, we need to train the kids God has given us in the way of the Lord 'maka na' the days are evil. Just negodu umu-aka 17-19years old on raping spree. It high time the Govt enacted death penalty on rapist and shun 'bailing method.'
ReplyDeleteChukwu mere anyi ebere, men and women have work to do on their kids not cheating on their spouses thereby neglecting the parenting aspect of marriage to their wives alone.
Okokobioko!
ReplyDeletePeace Nwakanma may God punish you in this life, may you suffer worse fate than that girl.
ReplyDeleteThat wasn't what really happened... Peace just introduced the girl to the guy.. She didn't know hr had intention of raping her with his friends... Don't judge please... And I'm not her friend.. Just in her department
DeleteThat wasn't what really happened... Peace just introduced the girl to the guy.. She didn't know hr had intention of raping her with his friends... Don't judge please... And I'm not her friend.. Just in her department
DeleteThey should just give t 6m to the , and forget the case
ReplyDeleteLike seriously?
DeleteNa wa o.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
What possessd them.
ReplyDeleteOh Lawd!!!!!
ReplyDeleteLord've mercy.
ReplyDeleteChildren raised by who?
ReplyDeleteSwag parents or absentee parents or nannies?
Teens? Jeez
End time kids...
ReplyDeleteJesus please save this generation from destruction ooo.
To think that a young girl of 18yrs is the master planner makes me to wonder the type of upbringing she has. Women bringing women down since 19bc
ReplyDeleteYounger seniors in secondary school do worse, bad humans become evil at a young age. Age has got nothing to do with it
DeleteLook at their ages, God please give we parents wisdom to train up our children in the way of the Lord
ReplyDeleteWe should be careful of the names we give to our children. Imagine, one of them is bearing the name RANDY.
ReplyDeleteAm just heartbroken for the young girl who these wicked idiots have scared for life.
ReplyDeleteI was livid when I first read this. Evil evil children! Parents please let's all take care, monitor our children and the company they keep. And above all, pray like it's going out of fashion. God the poor girl must be so distraught. How do you even think this way at this age?
ReplyDeleteMisplaced priorities
ReplyDeleteCheapest TBC (The Billion Coin) + "Africoin"
ReplyDeleteFor Sale!!!...Call 08141263702
this is heartbreaking...... such young children, parents have lots of work to do...... but i would v suggest the court punish them by making them go through community service instead of granting them bail which is fine but other punishment should be melted on them....... my opinion tho.........
ReplyDeleteGod give me great children ooooo not adoju tini omo
What exactly are you saying?
DeleteCommunity service for an offence that is capable of killing the victim while being perpetrated? Do you know what it is for just one person to rape a lady not to talk of six guys? Will the community service be enough for the trauma, agony, shame, stigma,(to say the least) the girl will experience for the rest of her life? Do you think that girl can ever be the same again?
Do you even know what granting of bail means? It is not the same as setting them free, abeg Google is you friend, I can't type.
Oluwafunto, pls reconsider this your "my opinion tho"... *side eyes*
Jesus! Unfriendly friends
ReplyDeleteMay God repay the female among them back with what she did to her own fellow female
ReplyDeleteBad....can u imagine a young girl even participated....
ReplyDeleteAgeless T....i get your point.... all am saying is that those children should be punished....... mind you.... you can check google for me na and tell me the diff btw granting of bail and setting them free.... my google.... abeg who get garri.... yimu