Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Drama As Ambassadorial Nominee Refuses To Recite National Anthem

Thursday, March 02, 2017

Drama As Ambassadorial Nominee Refuses To Recite National Anthem

The Senate Committee on Foreign Affairs, on Wednesday, screened an 82-year-old non-career ambassadorial nominee, Justice Sylvanus Nsofor (retd.), who refused to recite the National Anthem when he was asked to do so.

The refusal by the nominee to recite the anthem had shocked members of the committee.

The nominee is one of the 46 on the ‘reviewed list’ for whom President Muhammadu Buhari was seeking legislative approval for their appointment.

The nominee was asked series of questions, which he responded to.

The lawmaker representing Lagos East Senatorial District, ‎Senator Gbenga Ashafa (APC Lagos East), specifically, asked Nsofor to recite the anthem but the nominee declined to recite it, asking the lawmakers why he should do so.

Nsofor, after engaging the lawmakers in arguments, was eventually asked to take a bow and leave the venue.

Nsofor was born on March 17, 1935,‎ in Oguta, Imo State.

He was a Judge of the High Court of Nigeria, Justice of the Court of Appeal, and Lecturer in Law at the Holborn College of Law in London‎.

Punch

*WOW!!!

71 comments:

1. Maybe he is a Jehovah witness, they don't recite the national anthem or pledge.

2. May be he is a JEHOVA witness they don't recite National Anthen or he don't know it

3. How did they expect an old man like that to recite national anthem as if he left school yesterday?
      Do they know that d anthem was changed decades ago? What they used to sing back then is not what we are singing now..U expect him to sing d new one? Nigeria lawmakers are daft and stupid at d same time..They should all go home and ask their own father to recite national anthem..disrespectful bunch of idiots..Even Buhari cannot recite it..Nonsense set of stupid men.

4. I think you are the idiot here. See how you just made a fool of yourself on national blog. Everybody should know their country's national anthem. It's not a school hymn, it's a country's anthem.

5. 82? He is too old for the job anyway? Buhari is not even that old,yet see what we are facing with him?

2. Maybe can't remember how to recite it. Old age things.

3. Maybe he doesn't know it. Smh

4. What's an 82 year old man doing there in the first place????

Get him Disqualified and get a 98 year old.
    That wil sit well.

1. Nne eh! Ihe nka dikwa egwu really🙄😕but I dont get your second line. Get 98year old kwa? Lool

2. What is dis one saying? It's not by force to comment..which one.is get a 98 year old again?

3. Anonymous 9:41 na sacarsm u hear. U sabi sarcasm?

4. You people sha lack a sense of humour . You can't recognise sarcasm when you see it ?

5. Lol@ get a 98 year old. 100 year old infact! Since they want to turn the committee into an old people's home.

6. @ Sandy,lol.
      I was Bn sarcastic.

I meant since they got an 82 year old man,they should kukuma close eye and get a 98 year old man. Since they want old people to occupy the position.
      Even though Tet baby is saying 98 is still young, that they should get a 100 year old man😂

U understand now?

7. Yes ooo @TGW! Dont mind moi, I later got the sarcasm. Loool!

5. 82year old pa, screened for ambassadorial post? Are we moving forward or backward ?
    Oh God! Please save this nation from our grandfathers.

6. At that age, nigeria national anthem has changed up to 4 times in this man's lifetime.
    Things like national anthem are better learnt by children in the primary school. In that case it will remain with them for life.
    To be asking an 82 years old man to recite the national anthem is insultive, because i am certain that those persons who re asking the question cannot recite it.
    National anthem will not contribute to the man's performance in office. I believe the president and the nation only wants to tap from this man's immerse wealth of experience.
    Nigerians should learn to respect senior citizens.

1. Insultive? That's why he should not be appointed. Because everything will be an insult for "an 82yr old man"

2. I tire oo. Do you know how many times the national anthem has been changed during his 82 yes life time. Na that one grandpa go dey cram, especially since he hasn't been in the country for many years.

3. Meanwhile, what is an 82 years old grandpa who's supposed to be relaxing and enjoying the remaining of his life on earth looking for again in government.
      Naija my country.

4. Exactly what I said up there. Useless set of lawmakers.

7. What a wawu! But wait oh,let's ask him first if he can recite the national anthem.maybe he can't recite it nah

8. 82 years old! All hail The Zoo.

9. seriously 82 years old... does he want to go and die in d abroad?... somborry dat should rocking his chair and playing with great grand shildren... he has probably forgotten the national anthem...

10. This country sha

I thought retirement age is 65. What is an 85 years old great grandpa gonna achieve as an ambassador.

11. He don't know he to recite it and he know even if he didn't, he will still get the job.lols

1. Hmmmmmm tenses

2. Anon...when the 'past' still struggles with the 'present' 😂😂😂😂. Isn't that why we still have Gramps being nominated for government offices?

3. Headache was acquired here gragra!

12. Princess Scheherazade2 March 2017 at 07:54

I'm really tired of Nigeria and her leaders. Why will an 82 year old man be nominated to be an ambassador?
    Why will non career diplomats be ambassadorial nominees?
    They end up doing nothing because they haven't been trained on what it takes to be a ambassador.
    There is no change in this govt at all, it's business as usual.

13. What the heck is an 82year old doing in am ambassadorial nominee list????

Oh pulizzzzz!!!

14. As he no sabi na... Them wan fall in hand..

15. Stupid question what has National Anthem recitation got to do with foreign affairs/diplomacy.

1. My thoughts exactly. Are they trying to ridicule him or smth.

16. Aged people like this should accept to Say no appointments.my 82 yr old grandpa walks with stick and can't even see clearly.it could be that he has forgotten how to recite the anthem or old age syndrome has cut up with him

17. That baba supposed dey village dey drink palmy. Which kind work he dey look for. Buhari mate

1. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

2. The fact that your grandpa is in the village drinking " palmy" doesn't mean all 82 year olds should follow suit.
      Granted,82 is very old for the ambassadorial assignment,but my dear,a few old men of that age,have been blessed by God with presence of mind,so don't be wiser than God and consign "them to the village to drink palmy".

3. Hahahahaha Yori Yori 💕💕💕

18. SmH!!!!!!! This is what happens when you elect an old man into power. 81 year old ambassadorial nominee. SmH!!!!!! The country is Dead.

19. 82 years old??
    They joking !!

20. At the end this nominee will become an ambassador that feels he's to big to recite his country's national anthem #onlyinNaija

1. U are very disrespectful..Can ur dad and grand father recite national anthem? Call them on phone (daz if they even have phones) and ask them to sing it for u..I bet my lunch that they don't even know what is national anthem talk more of reciting it..
      U all kpako pikins likes coming here to form wetin I no know.

21. What is an ancestor looking for in governance? Buhari and fellow old bone bags

22. All I see is "82 years old" what the heck is he doing trying to serve the nation? Baba should go home n rest abeg.

23. Senators want to disgrace their father.
    Ashafa should recite it now.
    Baba can only recite 'Nigeria we hail thee', wetin concern am with 'Arise o compatriot'.
    Wetin baba dey find up-and-down sef, at that age?
    Baba will be like 'Ashafa you don't have respect for your elders'

24. They didn't see anyone in their 40s or 50s fit to become an ambassador?

25. May God deliver us from the hands of this old wicked fools holding this country hostage. Imagine an 82years old man for an ambassadorial nominee. Haba! Does it mean he's the only qualified person in the whole of Imo state? And some myopic fools will tell me buhari has the interest of Nigerians at heart. 82years retired Judge. I will go and wake my grandfather from the grave to come and take am appointment.

26. 82yr old is a good time for him to leave some posts for the younger generation. Besides, who will he listen to? Since he is older than everyone. Everything will be an insult to him like reciting the national anthem.

27. I guess he is a Jehovah witness

28. Nigeria is really sick,how can they suggest an 82yr old man...I weep for this country!!!

29. Grand Pa has liver to even go for the screening. We have young guys of 40yrs - 45yrs parading everywhere. Big Shame!

30. 82 years!!! And someone said we are the leaders of tomorrow! Will tomorrow ever come?

31. What the hell is wrong with this country?
    First Buhari nominated an 82 years old man who is above retirement age to be an ambassador?
    Secondly, what is he gonna be representing this country for at his age instead of relaxing & enjoying his age?
    Thirdly, are there no other young, vibrant & youthful Nigerians who can occupy such positions?
    Fourthly, hope he's not gonna use this position as his health insurance as our able Buhari is doing to the country

I rest my case

32. You want to serve the nation. To qualify, you must show patriotism. Not knowing your national anthem is not patriotic. It's a sign you can barely identify with the country you intend to serve. Lord knows what else you do not know and not care to know.

It's a shame. Sorry, Granpa. Take a vow and go and enjoy your retirement. Leave trash for Lawma. Lol

33. Why will a 82yrs old man be nominated in the 1st place, Na wa for Africa. This is a big shame to dis country.

34. No opportunity for youths in nigeria. Biafra should come already.

35. Maybe Na Ama Jehovah!!! That's why but really what can a 82 year old man do?? What of the youth of this country?? Nigeria I Hail oh..Secondly did you guys hear about a UNIPORT student that infected her one-night stand lover with HIV? The news is all over the place and her picture too..

36. 82 and not retired????

37. I suspect his allegiance is to the Biafra republic hence his refusal to recite the Nigerian anthem.he is an igbo man.