A good example is the Bakassi boys group, after killing Derico, they became thieves, bullies, threats and hired assassins.....
I read with keen interest the post about Derico Nwamama, how notorious he was and how the dreaded Bakassi boys hunted him down, in the comment section, Blog Visitors also pointed out how the Bakassi boys became a greater nuisance and threat to the society even more than Derico himself.
MacMillan Dictionary (online version) defines national security as the protection or the safety of a country's secrets and it's citizens emphasizing the overall security of a nation state.
I simply define National security as the protection of lives and properties of citizens by the government. National security is one aspect of human relations with global attention, it has proved to be more paramount as leaders across the globe have always made it a staple aspect of their state agenda as a matter of policy.
Security has also been one aspect in which the competence of leaders are measured. No wonder the US government hunted down Osama bin Laden at all cost, the September 11attack on Pentagon tower and world trade center bruised the ego of the US government.
Safety of lives of citizens comes first in the agenda of states across the globe, that is why the government always go to any length to see to it, most times not minding the consequence or aftermath of measures or techniques used in safeguarding citizens.
Private militias /vigilante groups are used by the government when all hope is lost , the government use them because They are indigenous, they know the terrain so much and they are part of the community, no language barrier of any sort unlike security personnel, where a yoruba policeman who cannot speak igbo language is transferred to Anambra state and posted to a village in crisis where he can't even communicate with the people, same goes to an igbo soldier transferred to Katsina state and posted to an interior village.
Another reason why the government engage the service of vigilante groups is that the vigilante knows most of this criminals, they live in the community together.
But in most cases if not in all cases using private militias and vigilante groups has backfired because overtime they have enjoyed public, media and government support and they gradually infiltrate us, they go rogue and become more deadly than those supposed criminals they were used to hunt down.
A good example is the Bakassi boys group, after killing Derico, they became thieves, bullies, threats and hired assassins, some Onitsha businessmen hired bakassi boys to kill their business partners, bakassi boys killed more innocent souls and caused a lot of collateral damage than Derico Nwamama.
Another example outside the shores of Nigeria is the Mexico vigilante militia, they initially helped the Mexican government to instill law and order in the state but later some of them were arrested because they were accused of working for the notorious drug lord/trafficker Joaquin Guzman popularly known as El Chapo.
We keep wondering why our supposed saviours became terrors overnight, reasons are not farfetched
One major reason is Membership, unlike state actors or security agencies (both military and Para military) where there is recorded and registered number of personnel employed, vigilante group admit members as they so wish, people join freely and most times no records of members, they are not statutorily under the control of the government, it's safe to call them non state actors.
Another major reason is the "use and dump" attitude of the government, government beg for their service because of a particular menace and after the storm is over, the government leave them to rot away, forgetting that they have equipped them with arms and ammunition, and arms proliferation leads to increase in criminal activities, the question is what is the government expecting them to do with the arms, the arms mostly small arms are very durable, easy to hide because of their size.
The question now is what can /should be done after using vigilante groups
Personally, I don't encourage the use of vigilante groups but most times it has been a case of "last resort". With my little knowledge about peace and security, Below are some recommendations.
The government should first disarm them(before this can be effective, all arms given to them initially must have been numbered and registered)
The government should integrate/absorb them in different security agencies that suit their expertise and adequate training should be given to them.
Vigilante group members who are not interested in joining any security agencies should be rehabilitated physically and psychologically. Probably empowered in some skills and given necessary funds to start.
Also in general, Security personnel should learn one more local language aside his own indigenous language.
I was moved to write this because presently, vigilante groups are used in the northern part of Nigeria to fight boko haram, what become of them after the government successfully get rid of the Boko haram terrors.
Thanks Mrs Stella for this platform.
Akinola, Oluwaseun Deborah
An aspiring security consultant /expert cum conflict analyst.
Hmmmm...food for thought
ReplyDeleteNice write up. You mentioned disarming and registration of the arms given to them. Good. You forget that when they caught a criminal with arms, how do you account for such arms. As they catch more criminals their arms will keep increasing and as such registration of arms won't be possible.
DeleteI think the best for the government to do is make sure any vigilant group recruited must work under Nigeria recognised forces. Like the police and army.
So many reason makes the vigilants group resort to crime like stigmatization. People generally become afraid of them and then not associate with them especially when their services are no longer needed. They automatically become an outcast in the community they once saved.
So, to become relevant again they start indulging in crime and menace so that the community will become dependent on them.
I am in support of not using vigilantes to fight crime.
ReplyDeleteJust imagine bakassi boys became gods all of a sudden. I remember when my junior brother travelled to our village, those boys came there where he was drinking and took most of them. They will use knife to walk in your front and if it shows red or what self, you are a goner. He was set free because he was in a wrong crowd drinking with friends.
What of OPC that one na for another day. They are all tin gods and this should be stopped because politicians and influential people use them to settle scores.
The same will be said of the dreaded ISIS. .
ReplyDeleteNa wa oo person no go make calls again near bridges?
ReplyDeleteI just parked my car near 3rd mainland bride to answer an urgent call and over 100 vehicles parked and the occupants begging me not to do it!
That they will help me with whatever problems I have !
They thought I wanted to jump and commit suicide! As a sharp person , I quickly told them I'm owing somebody 20m!
Come see alert for my phone as them gather money to stop me from jumping 😁😁😁😁
Chie this one na good business oo it's better than MMM wey they give help 🙆🙆🙆. 😜😂I will go to another bridge tomorrow.😜😜😜😜😂😂👍Laugh the stress of the day away.
Dry
DeleteHhhhhhmmm
ReplyDeleteNice.
ReplyDeleteYour comment will be visible after approval.
Well thought-out. 👍👍
ReplyDeleteNice write up, more wisdom to your brain.
ReplyDeleteAww, Thank you.
DeleteOooochim
ReplyDeleteNicely composed and it made a lot of sense
ReplyDeleteNice write up!
ReplyDeleteSerious food for thought. But what happens when the security agencies can't curb menaces d crimes? Communities resort to vigilante groups for help.
ReplyDeleteTrue Talk... Most vigilante use their power as payback measures... Nigeria does not need vigilante services. Our police is even hard to manage imagine vigilante with zero records... I mean... From where to where?
ReplyDeleteFact
ReplyDeleteSocietal ills should be addressed and attended to. Close to where I live, the set killed a student for God knows reason. Thank you seun, for bringing this to the fore.
ReplyDeleteUsing them has some advanatages and disadvanatages but Govt should endeavour to disarm and empower them immediately to avoid negative activities from them.
ReplyDeleteNice write-up
Thank you dear one, for bringing this subject to the fore. They are hoodlums, urchins in disguise.weeks ago, a guy was shot by this set and the reason was that he argued with them. I think societal ills and their catalyst should be attended to and other ways to curb menace should be sought for instead of employing the service of these groups. Thank you so much for this piece.
ReplyDeletePlease how do I use wechat to vote for the person of my choice in Bbnaija.
ReplyDeleteI remember when I was still in the university and those Bakassi boys came, one boy passing by said the their knife also turn red when the Bakassi boy pass any girl that ths done D& C. You need to see the number of girls that ran into their hotels,infact almost all the girls ran away.
ReplyDeleteLol....u are jst a monkey
Deletejust passing
ReplyDeleteVery insightful and timely...
ReplyDeleteTrue talk, nice one
ReplyDeletePlease how do I use wechat to vote the candidate of my choice in Bbnaija
ReplyDeleteFood for taught
ReplyDeleteVery insightful article, the issue is that the government does not think of the aftermath of when the criminals have been apprehended. These are people that had a purpose and then have none anymore.
ReplyDeleteAwww, Thanks for posting Mrs SDK
ReplyDeleteMuch love ��
Thoughtful Seun! The issue here is the case of weak institutions and failure of state actors and that is what necessitates the employment of state actors in providing security. Security of lives and property is the principal role of any state and government, failure to do that open room for human propensities- crimes. Once the institutions of government are strengthened and intelligence gathering and counter intelligence is prioritized, there will be no much need for vigilante/private militia except in unusual cases.