Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: CBN And The Police Clamp Down On "Mint" Vendors iI Lagos

Monday, March 06, 2017

CBN And The Police Clamp Down On "Mint" Vendors iI Lagos

The Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) in collaboration with the police have begun a major onslaught against naira abusers, arresting no fewer than 12 vendors in Lagos, in a fresh bid to end the abuse of currency in the country.

The vendors, all women, were apprehended at different parts of the metropolis selling naira notes to party lovers and socialites. The suspects were arrested during a raid carried out by officials of the CBN and operatives of the State Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department (SCIID), Panti-Yaba.

They were alleged to be involved in the sale of new naira notes, an offence that contravenes Section 21 of the CBN Act, 2007. Among the suspects were Fausat Jimoh, Bisoye Oyegbile, Balikis Ajadi, Bisola Amoru, Abidemi Oladejo and Ajoke Suraj, alleged to have sold mint notes at social events.

Parading the suspects, the Deputy Commissioner of Police (DCP) in charge of State Criminal Investigation and Intelligence Department (SCIID), Bolaji Salami said six others were apprehended penultimate weekend.

“We are clamping down on those abusing our currency. It is an offence to sell naira notes at weddings or any gathering. It contravenes the CBN Act. We arrested six suspects the previous weekend and today (Friday), we have arrested six others.

“We recovered N35,500 from these suspects but N465,000 was recovered from those arrested last week. They would be charged to court as soon as possible.

“Investigation would reveal how these suspects come about these new currencies. We are going to get to the root of it because the offence is punishable by a N50,000 fine or six months imprisonment, or both.

Today.ng

12 comments:

1. Ahh, they are plenty in Lagos sef.

2. So where do we get mints from to do owambe? when banks are the ones selling to the same vendors and would rather not give you mint when you need them

3. Chai and the funniest thing is that they are beside CBN in Lagos here ooo. Selling to owambe people. I know one woman near CBN, let me see if them catch her. Will like to see their pictures

4. Smh. Allow these people hustle na. I know I'm probably sounding lame right now but these people are not hurting anyone na. They just want to eat.

1. I tire. Anything to arrest citizens the govt are always ready.

5. They should clamp down on the insider's in the banks selling to them

6. Na wah oo they should better give them back their money

7. Police and parading of suspects.

8. Where did they got it from? Make una leave hypocrite make hypocrite leave una. Stellaluv abeg help ask Gotv where i went wrong in patronizing there product that i can't enjoy the services i payed for. For the past 5days all my favourite channels disappeared and to think i just subscribed. This is cheating and broad day robbery cos they will still count this 5days ooo. Haba! Am in vexation mood.

1. Reset ur decoder...
      Menu
      Advanced options
      Installation
      Reset...

9. That's their means of livelihood na, they ain't begging no one to buy, live and let live, nawa

*Alhamdullilah*