Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Acting President Osinbajo Says Nigerian Elites Are Corrupt

Wednesday, March 01, 2017

Acting President Osinbajo Says Nigerian Elites Are Corrupt

The Acting President, Prof Yemi Osinbajo has explained why corruption is prevalent among political elites in Nigeria.
He said this was because of the high premium placed on wealth in the country.

Osinbajo said this while inaugurating the Private Sector Advisory Group for the Sustainable Development Goals at the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

He said some nations were doing better than Nigeria because they didn’t place much emphasis on wealth.

Osinbajo said, “We have decided as an elite in this country that wealth is a measure of worth. It is a decision we made consciously or unconsciously.

“The political elite have decided that wealth is a measure of worth and that is why you find so much corruption among the political elite. Even the religious elite believe that it is a blessing of God.

“There are some societies that have decided that the value of human beings is in their contribution to the society. Those societies, of course, have done better than those who have decided that wealth, no matter how it was obtained, is a measure of worth.

“I think it is important if our elite decide that dealing with poverty is worth the while and that it will measure whether or not we are serious about our society.”

“At the end of our lives, the question that will be asked is what is the impact that we made on people’s lives. Nobody will be measured by how much money we made or the positions we held.

“A lot of our people in this country hang their hopes on us. They look up to us and believe we can do it and despite all the failures and the false starts, our people especially the poor and the vulnerable still believe that these elite will and can deliver.

“Let us therefore take this as a personal responsibility to our people to do something profound that will make a huge difference in the lives of our people.

“This is why I am so excited about this coming together of the public and private sector to ensure that the Sustainable Development Goals are realised in our time and that nobody is left behind,” the Acting President said

24 comments:

1. I'm beginning to like this man even thou he's short, Wish Sai Baba can just resign & take care of his failing health

1. Hahahaha, You be case, wetin concern short with the better work Wey e de do, I pity for your enemies.

2. My opinion too
      But James, every body cannot be 6+ footer that u *is*
      U don't know that is small people that usually have brain more

3. Oh really? How tall are you? Just for the passing, beautiful things comes in cute packages

1. Very true, a lot of people just want to make money by force. Accept what U have and don't compare yourself with someone who is making a lot of money that's when the corrupt mind kicks in and it becomes get rich by force

3. He's kinda right

4. Nigerian elites are corrupt including all government officials

1. U're so well cocooned in your ignorance that u failed to see where he referred to the political elite as being corrupt

5. "There are some societies that have decided that the value of human beings is in their contribution to the society. Those societies, of course, have done better than those who have decided that wealth, no matter how it was obtained, is a measure of worth".

I love this man, since bubu went on sabbatical leave, his raw talents is been harnessed.

6. Him nko? Will he be found pure in some cases he handled in court before being made VP.

7. That includes Sai Baba Abi? Abi hin no be Elite too?

8. Any word worse than corrupt sir, that's what they are.

9. Truth be told.....very much true that the country worship wealth than integrity.

10. This man is absolutely right. I as a person does not value people Base on what they have ie wealth I rather value you Base on your person ie character, attitude, moral etc

1. Jenna's......pls it is based and not base.

2. Jenna u forgot to add 'ability to gbensh' to your list

3. Lol @eye opener. Ability to gbensh is the last thing I look for in a man but if he is good at it then it will be a bonus.

11. This man is simply put- intelligent. And deep. This is what a Vice President should be. A leader who speaks. And people listen. Because he makes sense.

12. Thank you, Sir. Much respect to Osinbajo, Acting President for speaking truth to power. However, you might as well have added, the political elites plunder for their illicit wealth/loot, the very people whose interests they were elected to serve and protect. Who does that? QED@atm