Mrs. Korkus, I greet you wella. After much contemplation, I decided to send my own service year story. I finished since 2013 but my exam officer delayed our mobilization for reasons best known to him. Finally, after much agitation, we left for service in October 2015. I was posted to Ebonyi state.
Even tho I felt bad, I just wanted to be far away from my location at that time. So I got to camp safely, did my registration smoothly and shaperly, joined the nysc band, since I was good at playing the snare… infact I was the only female snare player all through my service year. There in the band, I met a guy, let me nickname him “ochuko”.
He became so into me that I was scared of how the service year would be with him already making plans on top my matter. The guy just had this stupid idea that since I was from Akwa ibom, he don nack jackpot and his friends kept hailing him about it.
He was already suggesting that if we get posted to the same LG, we would live together and I was like WTH? So I was seriously praying it wouldn’t be like that cause me sef don chop the guy money go far. Finally when posting came, he was sent to Afikpo, while I was posted to Abakaliki… you for see my happiness na, while ochuko was extremely angry. I had to promise that we would always visit any time we feel.
But during the course of the year, I had to officially break up with him cause he would always keep long quarrels with me because I refuse to give him the cherry and would always tell me words like “the thing go soon sour ” or “you dey fall your people hand ”.
my service year would have been termed peaceful but for one neighbor like that. Debby was a corp member as I was and also from my state. What brought about contention was my business. I started a business of making cupcakes and supplying to shops and supermarkets and while at it, I met a guy.. Another corper, who was impressed with my work and asked me out, which I agreed.
Not only did this guy love me, he was willing to help. I would mix the cake batter, scoop into pans and he would put them into the oven for me because he didn’t want me to touch anything hot. After the baking and packaging, he would join me to supply to shops around his PPA and would even source for more shops for me. This made Debby jealous because while her boyfriend was using his allawee to drink, mine was investing into my business. So she stopped responding to my greetings and would always sing mocking songs about how she didn’t need to sell anything to survive cos she has a rich dad. She also got my guy’s number and told him to leave me alone.
She told him he was just suffering for nothing because after the supply, a guy would come to my house and collect all the money. When she saw that he was not moved, she told him that i was cursed by my father and if he continues, he would inherit it. She called me several things and the guy just told her that he has heard. All through this, I tried to find out what I had done wrong.
One fateful day, another neighbor decided to settle the issue and she told him I offended her since January 2016 and that she has a record of the days, the dates, the time and the nature of my offences and this was in September 2016. All the while she had me in mind; I have been innocently sharing the same plate of food with her, living with her as a sister. She even went ahead to say that my guy was about to leave me but she begged him not to and that was where I told her I had read her chat with him. She got violent immediately and pounced on me.
To God who made me, I don’t know the kind of spirit that entered me; I couldn’t raise a finger on her. This was someone whose punches was feeling like a baby’s tap and I knew that the right blow in the right spot, she would just faint, but I couldn’t do anything. I tried but something kept pulling me back. This chick no gree o.. Even when she was taken outside, she started shouting that if I was born by my parents (called their full names), I should come and fight her. Called my father a tout, my mother a prostitute and so on.
All this while, my other neighbors were watching for my reaction because they felt the insult was too much. I just quietly entered my room and locked my door. She came again and was banging my door that she must spill my blood before she would rest. People came to beg her but she refused. She poured a bucket of water into my room through the door, but I didn’t budge.
After weighing my options and considering that I didn’t want anything that would bring extension of service, I decided to call the police authorities. So I picked up the handbook we were given in camp and dialed the army number there. When the army personnel came, this girl ran to her room and asked someone to lock her from outside. But the army man was adamant and threatened to call his battalion to punish the entire tenant unless they produce her. When she finally came out, she lied that she was sick and asthmatic so the man would be lenient with her. The man reprimanded her and told her to kneel and apologize to me. He also ordered her to mop the water she had poured and fix my door which she had broken.
He got her state code number and threatened to extend her service if any further complains should come. After the whole squabble, my neighbors came and were asking me what church do I attend, that they admire my patience. She herself came the next morning and was thanking me for not reacting that only God knows what it would have led to if I had reacted.
My dears, as e reach 6th October, 2016; I packed my “kaya” and left the state peacefully. She called me twice and I refused to pick because I didn’t want that kind of friendship anymore.
Nevertheless, I had a great service year and I hope I didn’t ‘west’ your time.
My dears, as e reach 6th October, 2016; I packed my “kaya” and left the state peacefully. She called me twice and I refused to pick because I didn’t want that kind of friendship anymore.
Nevertheless, I had a great service year and I hope I didn’t ‘west’ your time.
WOW,what a sweet story.I love the Patience you exhibited and I ma sure your story will help others who didnt know about the number..I didnt know there was a number you could,probably cos i no read my handbook finish..heheheheeheh too much groove no let me ooh.
Shout out to all the Corps members in Ilesa town..Is anyone is Ilesa East or west local government Secetariat?Please mail me oooooooh.
lol
Lol..
ReplyDeleteErr good, but what of the bf nah??
DeleteYou patient o. I for destroy her face with one punch.
DeleteInteresting.
ReplyDeleteLong live SDK
No,u didnt waste my tym oh! End tym Deby d record keeper and fighter. Poster, i love ur patience oh, u try.
ReplyDeleteWow what a story...i was so into it till the end...poster you are a woman with virtue and sense I like that
ReplyDeleteCan't even remember nysc giving handbooks to corp members. That girl type breeze no de de their yansh o, if u had touched her, Na dead body things. Congrats poster.
ReplyDeleteGirl,i admire the patience virtue u showed! Who knows what would have happened if u had touched her! Hmmm... All i could see was jealousy from her. I enjoyed yr story too.
ReplyDeleteDear poster, i love you, but I honestly do not have your patience at all. Would have broken the girls head once I read the chat she had with my bf
ReplyDeleteNice story
ReplyDeleteYour middle name should be PATIENCE!
ReplyDeleteVery patient somebody, dis is a lesson to all.
ReplyDeleteNice,I admire your patience
ReplyDelete🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌🙌 wish I had that kind patient when by brothers wife stretched her rotten hand to slap me. Omo I beat the hell out of her. God bless my sister who joined me. Now she uses 'e' for me (Yoruba's will understand 😁). When you give them a gram they decide to scoop in kg..... Omo ale jatijati.
ReplyDeletePlease how do you package the cupcakes for sale?help a sister out.can you drop your number or email address for Stella if you can't share publicly?thanks
ReplyDeleteNice! I really like your patience o
ReplyDeleteHow far with the guy wey dey help you sell cake?
ReplyDelete*lights weed*
i wish i can get your patience. very good. those kind of people are either extremely jealous or they are possessed and have tried to harm you spiritually but they could not and resort to physical fight. GIVE HER TYPE SPACE
ReplyDeleteYou are very calm
ReplyDeleteI hate friends like that
Toxic friends
God know I can't ve that kind of patient. Lols
ReplyDeletethe person who wrote yesterdays nysc boulevard lied oo. lol. i understand she didnt want to say the exact camp in order not to give herself away. she said it was Ebonyi camp na lie, she was in Enugu camp. The RSM and the camp court gave her away.
ReplyDeletethat was my camp from 24th january to 13th february 2017. I wonder what else she lied about sha. the story about d girl dat spent the night with an official sha lol. the girl no get shame at all. Enugu camp was fun and the RSM was a nice man. the officials werent strict per se.
then she went and mentioned that platoon one soldier that likes gyming. haha. the guy knew he was hot with all his muscles and excess dressing. he was funny sha.
Na wa for some of you , is it your SYB ?? Why not send your own that wont contain lies
DeleteMy dear I read it too and wondered why she lied,her palava sha.I was in platoon7 my instructor na craze man he will always lay curses on us like tunder fire you,God punish you,if you match anyhow here u no go get job after service the guy na serious craze man.walking on those hills every now and then was another stress on it on.Enugu camp were babes busy toasting guys heared this after pass out. Shirley
DeleteI was really confused wen sh said ebonyi,evritin was enugu camp dat our RSM ( platoon 30) nd dat soldier with nice body....poster lied.
DeleteThis story is just the same with mine. I also served last year in delta state. Some girls are too jealous
ReplyDeleteSweet story i think I learnt from it.
ReplyDeleteMhmmm Na wa, Na real wa
ReplyDeleteStella I sent you a mail since last week, maybe you should check your spam. I also sent a mail countless times last year Nov but didn't see any sdimokokorkus@gmail.com or has that changed?
Wow. Is your name patience? you are indeed a patient person and very tolerant.
ReplyDeleteStella, I would love to read your service year story...I served in 2006/2007 (Abuja),can't really remember much
ReplyDeleteStella please check your mail. I've sent about 3 emails to you. Please check it. Thanks
ReplyDeleteWow. You're really patient and peaceful.
ReplyDeleteWhat a nice read.....I was also posted to Ebonyi for my NYSC but redeploy to Lagos eventually........you try jare
ReplyDeletePatience is the key
ReplyDeleteEvery woman shld learn from this, if your neighbour starts barking like a dog ignore her to the fullest.
I like this type of chic.
Hummmm
ReplyDeleteI need this kind patience o,I also served in ebonyi 2007/2008