Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senator Andy Uba officially defects to APC

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Senator Andy Uba officially defects to APC

The Peoples Democratic Party caucus in the Senate was further depleted on Tuesday when the lawmaker representing the Anambra-South senatorial district, Senator Andy Uba, officially announced his defection from the PDP to the All Progressives Congress.

Uba had written to the President of the Senate, Dr. Bukola Saraki, about his defection and the letter was read to lawmakers during the plenary.

The PDP caucus, however, said Uba would lose his seat in the chamber since the mandate belonged to the opposition party.

The Minority Leader, Senator Godswill Akpabio, while making the demand on behalf of the caucus under Order 43 of the Senate Standing Rules, also called for Uba’s removal as Chairman, Senate Committee on Public Accounts.

The committee, which is the only one recognised by the constitution, is traditionally occupied by the opposition.

Akpabio, therefore, urged the Senate President to sack Uba from the office within 24 hours.

He said, “That position belongs to the PDP and it (PDP) was the party that contested the election in Anambra. This is a notice of our intention to go to court to reclaim that seat. I just want to let you know that, automatically, since the party is not in dispute, his seat is in peril.”

From Punch

19 comments:

1. Yeepa!Things are happening o
    Ehn ehn...o ga

2. Again who cares!!! Only to enrich their pockets

3. Andy Uba and his brother Ifeanyi Uba messed up Anambra state during the time of Mbadinuju.. Perhaps he wants to contest for governor under the APC. They think Anambra state is their birth right. Anyway, they are in politics for their pockets only. They don't care about the masses. People of Anamvra will be foolish to vote him in.

1. Andy Uba and Ifeanyi Uba are not related in way. Perhaps you mean Chris Uba?

2. He won't win any election in Anambra State again

3. Andy Uba and Ifeanyi Uba are not related in anyway, save that they re both from Anambra state. Perhaps you mean Chris Uba and Andy Uba as brothers?

4. Ashawo kobo kobo. This idiot that can sell his mother for power and money. Bid goodbye to your political career cos is over for you in Anambra State. Ask Ngige that Anambrarians has so much respect and luv for just because of Aaboki party not to talk of that has not made any impact in your community. Yimu!

5. Political olosho!...
    Andy Uba,this is your downfall cos Ndi Anambra will never support APC!...
    They will just eat your campaign money and vote for the real person when the time comes..
    Devil!...
    After using PDP to win,you now defeat to APC okwaya?...
    This is the end of your political career!...

6. That's the problem with south eastern politicians, they have no shame and are afraid to be in the opposition. They are only interested in aligning themselves with power at the center and money at the detriment of their people. They have no ideology and common goal for their region but look at the south westerners, they arent afraid to be the opposition and tackle the govt. During the yar'adua/Jonathan saga, the sw governors stood their ground alongside tinubu that Jonathan should be made the acting & later the president while the se governors rose from their stupid meeting & passed a vote of confidence on yar'adua. The same sw politicians opposed Jonathan during his tenure but d se ones supported him, now that PDP lost, they have started defecting and interestingly, the leading voice of opposition in this administration are also the south westerners plus wike and the American based pastor. Fayose and ffk well done. Only God can help PDP.

7. Andy Uba no need to defects to APC because nothing for you again in Anambra

8. He is porting to the greener side so who cares? It's for his own selfish reasons.

9. Andy Uba you again? Still at large? We don't want you as a Governor Biko. Willie we know!

10. Willie Obiano all the way

11. He's the man of the moment and defected because of the factions in the party and also because he has the interest of anambra people at heart. He wants to attract amenities to anambra people from government at the centre and see the way you people criticise ur Messiah. It's a pity. Long live Igwebuike

12. He's the man of the moment and defected because of the factions in the party and also because he has the interest of anambra people at heart. He wants to attract amenities to anambra people from government at the centre and see the way you people criticise ur Messiah. It's a pity. Long live Igwebuike

13. This comment has been removed by the author.