Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama 161

Sunday, February 19, 2017

Labour Room Drama 161

Labour room drama from the ''eyes'' of a man!

Madam Stellz of Life! 

Let me do the usual introduction. I absolutely adore your blog despite me being a man and with a hectic job I still find time to visit your blog every night when I get home. God knows how many people I've introduced to the blog. I sometimes wish my wife could be a fanatic like me but alas, horses, beggars, wishes and all that. 

My labour room drama happened last week on February 14th,while others were wearing red clothes I was in theatre seeing my wife's red blood.

Yes,she delivered via C-section and I was present because I was a member of the surgical team as a doctor that yours faithfully is. 

After my wife entered 30 weeks gestation I doubt if we ever had any peaceful night rest. She always had these abdominal cramps coupled with diarrhea that sometimes even made me weep for her. Pain worsened as we got closer to her EDD. I eventually had to stop going to work by 35 weeks so I could stay at home with her. 

When she eventually clocked 37th week you need to feel the sigh of relief we heaved because we knew now it's simply a matter of counting days.
So on the 13th February wifey and me were just goofing around when she asked me what I was going to give her for Valentine, I responded by telling her I've already given her the best gift ever and pointed to her distended tummy. 

She hit me playfully and said if the baby doesn't come out by 14th then that's not a genuine Valentine gift. Na so I told her jokingly 'babe why don't we just go do a C-section tomorrow so the baby will just come out on Feb 14 and our joy will be complete'. That was how she hugged me tightly and said she's been thinking about it but dunno how to broach it to me because she didn't want me to call her lazy. Did I tell you my wife's name is Ife meaning Love? 

Symbolism complete! 

That was how I made all the arrangements,called a couple of colleagues adept, arranged materials and all that and we landed in a colleague's private hospital without informing any relative except her dad. He asked the reason for C-section and we told him that the foetus is breech in presentation.

1 hr later she was on the operating table. I was present cos nobody was gonna shave my beard in my absence. It was on the operating table that the real drama occurred. 

Immediately the anaesthesia(epidural) was given that was how her blood pressure started falling, wifey started mouthing scary words, 'dear I'm dying, dear I'm leaving, dear say bye to my parents for me,tell my mum I'm sorry I lied etc'.

Brethren all the holes in my body were discharging different kinds of fluids. How will I explain to people say na oversabi carry us come do surgery? 

Eventually she came around and surgery proper commenced. 10 minutes later my male bundle of joy was brought forth and every other thing went hitch free. My Love gave me the best val gift ever. 

We are back home now though she's still having repeated headache from the epidural anaesthesia but we thank God the worst is over. 

So that's my Labour Room Drama. I hope I've not wasted una time. 

Meanwhile I may be the one who will send in the omugwo chronicles because another drama is already presently playing out.
Thanks guys for reading.

*LMAOOOOOO @drama playing out presently...Na you dey do Omugwo or the Mother in law?

You guys are not the only one,a lot of couples now choose dates their babies can be born....The birth days of my kids were also handpicked.

44 comments:

1. Lol @ 'na over sabi carry me come do surgery'.

2. For the repeated headache, let her be taking power horse. Thank me later.

1. Power horse keh?? Is that healthy for babies?? Except she's not breastfeeding because I don't see how it won't be present in her breast milk.

2. You won't understand... but all I know is it works magic!

3. It's the caffeine in power horse that helps. (Half knowledge is terrible)And it's not too good for babies. Why no take PCM instead? The abi headache will go very sooon.

4. 007 and you think you have full knowledge abi? The headache that comes after CS can never be cured with PCM. Sabinus.

3. I think its wrong to do CS just because and not because of any medical indication. My 2 cents

4. To be honest with you, fear be wan catch me but I sharply refused.
    The pains you described up there were just like what I've been experiencing for some days now though my Gynae said everything is perfect. Chai, pregnancy and delivery period is such a delicate one in a woman's life.
    Delivery whether Vaginal or C-section is such a tiny thread between life and death.

I am so happy your wife and son made it. I held my breath when I read the part after the epidural, ol'boy.

Congratulations to you two.

And why will Wofey think its lazy to give birth via C-section? There's work and risk involved in every method of child delivery, none makes you less of a woman.
    After all no child has a vaginal or C-section delivery mark non their forehead.

1. Chai...now you people re scaring the shit outta me o.😭😭😭.I can't stand any form of pain at all but I know I must pass through this someday, 😩😩😩.God help me by then o

2. Worry not jare
      You'd be surprised how beautiful it will turn out for you. There's nothing to be scared of and every woman with her own package and story.
      Different pregnancies with different experiences.

3. Pls who can recommend a good gynaecologist in Abuja? It's urgent.

4. I know a good gynae in abj.....doctor durojaiye, he is good

5. Wooow
    What did she lie to mummy about ? Lol

6. wow see me smiling like a mumu. I love ur love! congrats to u and ur wife

7. Awesome God
    Lmaoo at another drama is presently playing out
    Bring it on Sir

8. So Scarry!

Thank God for you o. Errm 'uhga' no pishure for our eyes?

9. Congratulations to you wonderful and husband. Oko to mo yi aya, God bless you. Eku owo lomi.

10. Lmao. Oversabi πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

11. Lol. Congratulations.

12. Congrat sir, may God bless ur home and the baby!

13. My dear congrats and tell ur wife that given birth through Cs no be moi moi,so make she no talk about been lazy,I'm talking out of experience,my first was VD and second CS.

14. Uncle Sabina, Congrats o. That's the best val gift that one can give to a spouse...May the child bring blessings and more love into your household, oya say Amen.But next time nor try Sabina things again oπŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

15. But if u were to take delivery of another man's wife u will be shouting, and telling her Madam cooperate or I leave, mtschww, now when it's ur wife's ture u turn to mumu, I hate the way naira doctors behave to women in labour mehn, one was even slapping the woman beside me in labour room

1. You've got a point but not all doctors are like that.
      Most good private clinics don't act that crazy. Even in the General Hospitals too, you still have few sane doctors.
      Although, the craziness can be too crazy for some 'Naira' doctors lol

2. Wc kain hospital u dey use. I'm always treated like a queen in d hospital I use. I just had a surgery and there was a bell in my room. I kept pressing it d first night after my surgery and d nurses on duty came in to change my position,this happened like six times b4 morning. So it depends on the hospital.

16. Hmmm. Is it epidural or spinal she had?

17. Hmmm. Is it epidural or spinal she had?

18. Congratulations to you ooo..."over sabi carry us go surgery"cracked me up.

19. Doctors and risk. Because of valentine s day you took a decision to have a major surgery. Now she is a previous scar. There is a lot of abuse of CS these days and people forgetting that there are complications. CS should be for Emmergency and Elective indications that you cannot help. I have had both Vaginal and Ceaserean deliveries, the pain of Vaginal deliveries is hours, CS could be for weeks / months and plus the tagging as 'previous scar' and increasing risk of complications that follow next prefnancy/delivery

1. Don't mind this doctor. I had CS at 30 weeks for my twin girls and I have some adhesions....I will need to clear that out before I can get pregnant again.....I even had an infection after the CS that left me on admission for like 2 weeks. It's a major surgery and other attendant risk could be fatal, so for u both to take that just for Valentine's Day was really huge

20. Spinal headache from epidural complications that shit no be moin moin..had to do blood patch to correct it. LRD loading

21. Give her coke with paracetamol, I experienced the same side effect from epidural.

22. People,playing God...this is bullshit

23. baby oku if you had Cs and you had a scar blame your skin type or the doctor but dont come here Judging this people becos they chose to birth their child on Valentines day,they are not the first yeah?

If you had an infection after CS,then question the hospital,you were probably not cleaned well...CS though major is just 30mins and is not risky unless the babe has a major health issue.

*tongue click

1. Stella my bae! Tell them,n u can't generalize bcos of one mama obi maternity home u went to. Cs anytime anyday,had two and u can't even see any scar,very smooth. u can describe cs pain but labour pain? Olalacious is unimaginable.