According to traders who spoke to TheCable in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital city, the dollar went as low as 400, as traders and other Nigerians began to keep naira, in place of the US dollar.
Ibrahim Baba, a forex trader in Abuja, said the dollar however stabilised at about N450 by the close of business on Friday.
“Market has been dropping; in the morning it was very bad, but this evening, it has gotten better, it is now at 450. It was at 400, 410, 420, different rates in the morning,” he said
“Some people said they are not buying at such low rates, they are hiding their naira. We think the dollar would drop further.”
Speaking on how much drop they anticipate in the coming week, Baba said “we are expecting the dollar to stabilise at 380, 395, or a maximum of 400, and it can be as soon as Monday”.
A trader at Alade Market in Lagos, told TheCable that the local currency closed at 465 to the dollar in the state, after trading at various prices from 400 to 470.
The naira has been gaining dramatically, since the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) introduced fresh policy actions to make the dollar readily available for travellers and Nigerians schooling abroad.
The CBN has since pumped nearly $500 million dollars into the forex market, sending the parallel market into unexpected trading territories.
The British pound and the euro closed the day at N570 and N480 respectively.
from The Cable
Ibrahim Baba, a forex trader in Abuja, said the dollar however stabilised at about N450 by the close of business on Friday.
“Market has been dropping; in the morning it was very bad, but this evening, it has gotten better, it is now at 450. It was at 400, 410, 420, different rates in the morning,” he said
“Some people said they are not buying at such low rates, they are hiding their naira. We think the dollar would drop further.”
Speaking on how much drop they anticipate in the coming week, Baba said “we are expecting the dollar to stabilise at 380, 395, or a maximum of 400, and it can be as soon as Monday”.
A trader at Alade Market in Lagos, told TheCable that the local currency closed at 465 to the dollar in the state, after trading at various prices from 400 to 470.
The naira has been gaining dramatically, since the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) introduced fresh policy actions to make the dollar readily available for travellers and Nigerians schooling abroad.
The CBN has since pumped nearly $500 million dollars into the forex market, sending the parallel market into unexpected trading territories.
The British pound and the euro closed the day at N570 and N480 respectively.
from The Cable
*This News will make some people sad and some happy.
What is your reaction to this News?I keep wondering why it took them so long to realise they needed to do the needful.*Hisss*
Adupe oooo *dancing alingo*
ReplyDeleteI am very happy, good news leleyi me
I pray it falls yakata patapata
Me=ke
DeleteMixed feeling. I feel happy cos the price of goods would drop but what happens to my bitcoin π...I've lost big time mtshew
DeleteMy people, according to a top cbn staff, CBNs initial plan was to provide dollar at 320 to banks but decided to up it to 375 to capitalize on the extreme high demand for dollar, dollar will eventually come down to 270 by march ending but will remain so for about 6 to 8 months as this is a bubble effect. We don't have good dollar trade, the CBN dollar influx is borrowed from international markets. Car dealers will need more than panadol to relieve them of chronic headaches. Lol
DeleteIt makes me happy biko, cos prices of goods will fall.
ReplyDeleteIt makes me happy and yahoo boys unhappy.
DeleteThis comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Delete*Quiet!!! Why on earth do u guys keep making this mistake?? It's spelt Q U I E T!!! Haba! Oya screenshot this now π
DeleteKelvin Dat Edo Boi (Stellz Cousin)
Chike, you must have a very bad upbringing.
DeleteIf you are not dead brain and useless you won't spew such from your gutter mouth.
Stella stop enabling such comment biko
Nigerians are thr own enemies, all this dollar hike before was actually man made, now that the banks have made dollar available, make Abokis chop thr dollar for mouth.... same thing that happens with fuel scarcity.
DeleteI'm sure you will be going to church tomorrow, so please when you get there ask for God to forgive u for this particular comment. All these names for a fellow being and u call yourself a Christian. So much hate on this blog, little wonder that most of you are on here trying so hard to get noticed, so as to qualify for future giveaways. Have you ever thought about the negative impacts these sort of comments could have in your life? You might think it's jst a blog and who cares, but remember God hears and sees it all..
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteGood news. Let it drop to 150 if possible abeg.
ReplyDeleteStella, cbn can onky flood the market with what they have.
ReplyDeleteIf we sell more crude, import less and produce more then the usd will drop. Cos we would earn from crude sales in dollars and flood the market more. We wont be buying usd to import with.
Thanks Tuscany, I don't need to explain anything again.
DeleteLet me just add this : it seems the FG targeted 30B USD earnings in Foreign Reserve, and last time I checked, they've reached 29.2B. So they just feel it's OK if they relax the measures now.
But again, this is only sustainable if we continue to earn more forex, so let's not rejoice too soon. Pipeline vandals and saboteurs may return us back even up to N600 per dollar if care is not taken.
My take.
Its been a long time Tuscany..
DeleteHow have you been?
Cheers to the freakin' weekend.π₯
I so excited aunty stella coming from an average family I know what it means for my mum to be paying my fees in $$$$$$ so yay cheers to d goodnews
ReplyDeleteWhy can't the African countries come together & make their own african currency that would be acceptable worldwide, instead of allowing dollars & pounds dictate the state of our naira 4 us??
ReplyDeleteI'm just tired of Africa joor!
Do you know we are the richest continent going by natural resources? Everything (maybe apart from crude oil) untapped. *sigh*
DeleteStella its not as if we had forex and they kept it...if u ha e been on the news lately, there has been a 'little' accountability in d oil sector and our forex reserve has been increasing since last year, so that was where they got what they pumped into the economy...in as much as m happy, the only way to stop this permanently is to atleast have a working refinery as we spend much on fuel importation...and also boost local manufacturing and productions so not to be importing everything including toothpicks, so the little dollars we have could be channelled to more usefull and important things...Hate Buhari all u want, but he inherited a massive mess and by God's grace we would wriggle out of it soon...
ReplyDeleteWhere do I send your kisses to?
DeleteYour head dey there...mwah!
Gbam!
DeleteIntelligently typed.
DeleteI shake my when people curse out this man.
Intelligent ladies! E-hugs to y'all π
DeleteGood news for my business
ReplyDeleteGood news for me. Atleast things will be a bit cheap.
ReplyDeleteThank God.
DeleteAm so happy. God bless you Nigeria
ReplyDeleteGood news for me. Wish it will drop to #120 only when we stop importing fuel.
ReplyDeleteGood news;and I hope it affects the price of goods positively
ReplyDeleteI'm so excited!,thank I didn't rush to buy,still waiting for more fall,I know how much cost I will be saving.
ReplyDeleteWow!Excellent news
ReplyDeleteIt's so disheartening most of the problems we are facing as a country are self inflicting..
ReplyDeletei would like to bring to your notice the activities of some Nigerians sabotaging the economy and thereby making the effort of Federal government fruitless. In a bid to water down the effort of the CBN in strengthening the Naira, a popular Bureau De Change going by the name Three Brothers BDC went about,as they often do, buying off most of the dollars in the circulation- especially those given to the BDC-at a higher price after CBN flooded the Market with money on Friday in other to create artificial scarcity and then peg back the price. It will surprise you to hear that they they do this each time CBN pump money into the system. They want status quo remains unchanged. i'm surprised EFCC is not knowing this.They've been doing this for a long time.
I'm afraid rate will go up again next week if the activities of the likes of Three Brothers is not put in check.They are hell bent on bleeding the country. Nigerians should say "NO"
send this out to at least 10 people until our voice is heard.
#ISTANDWITHNIGERIA
@anon8.07,Wao! You don't say?
DeleteWhatever informed their decision is unknown to me, But it's not sustainable. On the long run they will loose. Except where our earnings drop again and vandals up their game.
Let's just keep watching.
But do you know you can make money with this info? Or at least save out nation? Pls go to the whistle blowing site and do your thing.
Good news.
ReplyDeleteE never fall reach o,let it still fall abeg. My aunt has refused sending me goods bcx of this exchange rate reason being that my customers can pay
ReplyDeleteGood news but temporary
ReplyDeleteGood news for me and my family members.
ReplyDeleteAwesome stuff for me,wil get to sell my goods wit ease now! The idea of calling my suppliers everynow n den to confirm d prices of stuff is super annoying.
ReplyDeleteMeanwhile,
Hubby go dey para now, he's been keeping d dollars his bro sent as Xmas gift since january....in his mind as buhari no dey dollar go rise to #700 someday! π Imagine dat!
#Laffingmodeactivated