Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Benue State Governor's Wife Appeals For Reduction In Brideprice

Wednesday, February 22, 2017

Benue State Governor's Wife Appeals For Reduction In Brideprice

Wife of the Benue Governor, Mrs. Eunice Ortom, has appealed to Tor Tiv-elect, Prof. James Ayatse, to review bride-prices in Tiv land, to enable young men get married “when due”.

Ortom made the appeal on Tuesday, when she paid a courtesy visit to the Tor Tiv-elect in Makurdi.

She decried the high demands made on young men seeking to marry Tiv daughters, and described the situation as “very discouraging”.

“Such high demands discourage many bachelors from even attempting to get married; the result is that many young girls cannot find husbands,” she said.

The governor’s wife argued that such exorbitant charges were not part of Tiv culture.

“Such charges are imported; our traditional rulers should discard them,” she said.

While noting that bride-price payment was sacrosanct in every marriage, she cautioned parents against selling their daughters “especially since the relationship between in-laws remains, long after such marriage rites”.

She regretted that many young men now preferred to elope with their loved ones owing to such huge monetary demands, and stressed the need to make the process affordable so as to restore the sanctity of the marriage institution.

Ortom pledged her support to the new monarch, saying that his emergence was an act of God that would bring unity to the Tiv nation.

Responding, the traditional ruler promised to work toward a united Tiv nation, and promised to be truthful, transparent and promote the fear of God at all times.

He also promised to uphold valuable cultural practises and repeal negative ones.

Ayatse decried the politics of rancour and acrimony in Tiv land, and promised to reconcile Tiv sons and daughters toward building a united front.

NAN Via Dailytrust

19 comments:

1. I thought it was only Imo state that has outrageous bride price.

1. Misplaced priority coming from an overdecorated air head. How about advising your docile husband to fight ferociously and stop playing politics with the lives of the innocent citizens he governs? FYI your state has gone down in history as having the largest number of manslaughtered humans by the evil fulani herdsmen with little or no succour come to them. It will definitely get to you and yours. Wait for it

3. Bride price has now been turned into a money making venture. In my opinion it should be scraped and replaced with just family introductions and the couples intention to get married witnessed by both families.

4. Tiv people hardly get married properly anyways to themselves that is. Just get pregnant and move to the guy's house marriage don begin .
    And the most annoying tradition in some parts is, if you give birth to a son you must take a pig to the girl's family or else that child will die

5. Udom's wife in Akwa Ibom won't see this one to copy oh

6. Is this the most important issue affecting youths in her state? Misplaced priorities everywhere. Can't they attract foreign investment with their positions? Mtcheew

1. Don't mind the eye service woman. I'm sure she was told to say it she and her husband the governor piss and eat when they are told to. Useless bunch

7. Good move from the first Lady, hope the leaders act now.

8. So this one has mind to open her dirty mouth to talk about bride price when her FOOLISH and WICKED husband has refused to pay people for several months now. Ortom is a devil who uses GOD as a cover up. God will deal with him soon. To think that this man rose from GRASS to GRACE and yet, refuse to show empathy is really disturbing. He will collect allocation meant for salary payment and share it with that drunkard of a man called AKUME in the Senate while we suffer. As I write this, there are many people whose children can not go to school because of Ortom's wickedness. ORTOM, may God deal with you and your generation. Amen!

9. How do they even expect people to marry properly when people can not even comfortably eat 3 square meals? This man has made to collect things on credit so tay, I don tire self. He Has refused to pay and it is no longer funny. As I write this, one naira I don't have on me, yet I have a child to carter for. It is not every woman that can sleep around to make ends meet o! I have been looking for another job without success. Benue State Government work is as good as being jobless jare.

10. ...Yes, the exorbitant bride price be reduced i love it... @ Anon 12:15 - Please bride price cannot be scraped and replaced. You know why? It is the African culture except you want to marry oyinbo or non Africa. The bride price is the real exchange... it is not to make money, it is only a sign of respect, love and commitment.

1. Your husband should pay workers their last year's salary, primary school teachers (7 months) civil servants (4months).people are dying.

11. Echekwam Na obu so Ndi Imo state Na Abia Na alu nwanyi oke onu.