LOL....
A nominee of President Muhamadu Buhari for the position of national commissioner of the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, Aliyu Abubakar, told senators, before whom he appeared for screening on Wednesday, that the Senate should be scrapped.
Mr. Abubakar, nominated to represent North East on the NCC board, told the Senate committee on communications chaired by Gift Nnaji (PDP-Enugu) that the upper legislative arm was a waste of resources and, therefore, “must go”.
Mr. Abubakar, Bauchi State, participated in the #OccupyNASS campaign, months ago, seeking end to bicameral legislature, scrapping of the Senate and removal of Bukola Saraki as Senate President in view of his corruption trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal.
One of the committee members challenged Mr. Abubakar on why he led a protest against the Senate, same body he faced to be screened and confirmed for appointment.
He was confronted with photographs of himself and others protesting at the NASS gate and asking that the Senate be scrapped.
But an unrepentant Mr. Abubakar not only owned up to participating in the organised action against the Senate, but insisted and gave reasons why it should be scrapped.
That senators receive huge transport, wardrobe and dressing allowances and they purchase expensive cars from public purse, an economic loss to the country, Mr. Abubakar said.
“The Senate is an avenue for wastage of scarce economic resources of the country… Senate must go,” he said.
Addressing reporters after the session with the Senate committee, he attempted to clarify his position, saying that he only admitted to participating in the protest against NASS and stated reasons why he did.
“It is not true that I told members of the committee that the Senate should be scrapped. They asked me whether I was part of the group that agitated for the scrapping of the Senate and I said yes because of so many things involved in the Senate and their budget.
“They asked me to state the reasons why we were agitating for the scrapping of the Senate, I said it is because of their huge budget; they consume a lot of resources from the government; they put it in their own budget.
“Also, they have transport allowance and, yet, they budget a lot of money to acquire vehicles.”
Still, when asked if he stood by his position during the protest, he said, “The Senate must go because something has to be done to cut down the expenses on the Senate. I still maintain that.”
culled - premiumtimes
Lmaoooo the headline tho
ReplyDeleteLol Na true oo senate Na big scam oo dem just deydey enjoy our money
DeleteLol
DeleteWho is this imbeside *yimu*, all dis illiterate go just go there! They talk nonsense, how can there be a country without a law making house... This imbeside should be jailed..
ReplyDelete#JOeFIRSt
U r d idiot..have u ever heard of unicameral legislature?
DeleteJazz
Imbeside? Lol. It's imbecile.
DeleteYou're such a low life, Joe first and it is ridiculous that you are the one insulting and calling someone names 😂😂😂😂😂 At least , learn to spell correctly... ' imbeside' indeed..chai...are you sure you went to secondary school? Abeg go collect your tuition fee 😂😂😂😂😂
DeleteOmg, is it imbecile this one is spelling as ' IMBESIDE?
DeleteHahahahahahaha
What won't someone see on this blog?
Joe First or whatever your name is,you need to stop validating dumbness here. U r becoming a pest here. Olodo
DeleteImbeside???????
DeleteSee dis bunch of imbecides, if you have sense of humor, you would know why I put *yimu*, ominiknowests...
Delete@Ogwe, if you read well, you will know, unicameral only works in small country like Ghana, all countries with large populations practice bicameral, cus its the best, in Bicameral you can't maneuver the law in your way, and bills are properply debated on b4 becoming law, because of bicameral, public opinion are put into consideration b4 it becomes a law..
BUNCH of olodo, goan read ur book b4 you collect me *straightface*
Damn! What a clap back
DeleteThis one na kolo
ReplyDeleteSo hillarious. Do they still approve him?
ReplyDeleteSo it is no longer Ghana must go, it is now Senate must go. But the Senate existence na waste.
ReplyDeleteAre you ok?
DeleteYou don dey masturbate for your brain! Idiot!
DeleteGbam,he said the truth.btw,what do they achieve aside embezzlement and squander.
ReplyDeleteIn case you don't know their Job.
DeleteThey are the Legislators, they make and amend the Laws that guide this country, it is because of their law, that won't just make me shoot you for being stupid....
Who is this Joefirst irritant?
DeleteThe person to teach you sense
DeleteTheir cup of tea
ReplyDeleteI like him already. Nigeria don't need the senate
ReplyDelete#NASSmustgo
Nigeria don't needs idiots, you should be sent on exile.
DeleteJoe idiot I can see you are desperately trying to make yourself relevant.....that's not how to be popular on this blog....bloody fool
DeleteBoth of you should polish your English before fighting. It's Nigeria DOESN'T need .....
DeleteHe is absolutely correct, no reasonable bills to move the nation forward but their pocket forward, a senate agitating for immunity for her corrupt leaders, instead of passing a stiffer punishment for all political rogues.
DeleteLmao.. we need people like him in government
ReplyDeleteYes! After that, he will scrap, governors, ministers, local government, and make it a unitary government, giving the president , unrestricted sovereignty over the people, our constitution was not written for such governmental system,.. It will be an authoritarian rule..
DeleteJoe first, why are U replying under every comment.
DeleteYou are a Big idiot!!!
So! Idiots like you can learn
DeleteLol, this man get mind sha
ReplyDeleteHahahahahahaha!
ReplyDeleteIf e get the appointment, then the Senate should be scrapped!
Scrapping their allowances is different from scrapping the body... smh, an fruit doesn't fall far from the tree...dumb nnama people
ReplyDeleteSuper dumb!! He could have just said, their allowance should be reduced!
DeleteJoe first, you are the Super dumbest!!!
DeleteAre U a messenger of one of the Senators???!!!
Joe first, you are the Super dumbest!!!
You go die replying all SDK bvns. Haba chill na everyone is entitled to their own opinion.
DeleteStella here come a new Bvn with a unique tackle system.
My point exactly... *a fruit mbok...
DeleteOn point barbie, allowances should be reduced instead, what is a government without watch dogs to check mate their excesses
DeleteYeah! Dey sent me, and if you have sense, you reply say your opinion, or disagree with an opinion , using *reply*, rather than attack me, for disagreeing, you need epp!...
Deletehahahaha i want to know did he get the position that Buhari wanted him to have?
ReplyDeleteGil Nnaji not Gift Nnaji
ReplyDeleteI tripped for the man. He reminded me of former governor of central bank while facing the Senate some years back.
ReplyDeleteYou should be able to stand by our words, even at the point of death.
Now this is what I describe as integrity!
ReplyDeleteThis is the type man I like who dont care
ReplyDeleteI like him already.
ReplyDeleteBold man!
Integrity with stupidity...
DeleteBia nwoke welder, stop abusing Bvs upandan.Every one to his/her thought. Abi you smoke something?
DeleteHe simply said it as it is. That's being bold
ReplyDeleteNa waah
ReplyDeletePresidency should be scrapped..
ReplyDeleteAfter all they are not bettering the nation.
gbam!!! i agree 100% scrap it. all they do is embezzle money.
ReplyDelete*hangs leg on the cupboard*
He has lost. Shikena
ReplyDeleteHonestly he has a point. But realistically it's not a motion that will see the light of day. And he just kised his nomination goodbye.
ReplyDeleteThis one just kissed his nomination goodbye. They will never allow that 'insult ' to go. It will hound him through every appointment, except one that doesn't need approval of the senate.
ReplyDeleteOf course, he can't deny, when pictorial evidence is there so best thing is what he did, form bravado and stand your ground and then hope, they'll be executive pressure to push you through
This guy is a clown.