SEVERE ITCHING AFTER BATH
Hi Stella, i am a new bv not that new sha been a regular for almost a month now,please i would like you to post this under the doctors in the house section. Here goes
For years now I've been experiencing severe itching each time I have my bath, I've changed soap, towel,used disinfectant but it doesn't go away, I'm now afraid to have my bath cause of this, please I will like to hear the cause and remedy from the doctors in the house.
Thanks from a loyal bv
Severe itching where? kpekus (Vjay) or your whole body? please be specific.
ReplyDeleteDon't 'baff' with sponge, only with soap and warm water and be taking piritone.
DeleteItching after bath? Maybe you don't cream urself untime or you are allergic to something
ReplyDeleteI experienced something like this when I changed my environment... did every from. Soap to disinfectant to injections all to no avail.. it stopped on its own when I came back to my base... it had to do with the water.. stop using the water.
DeleteWhat kind of water do you bath with?...
ReplyDeleteIs it treated?...
I experience something like this when I bath with untreated water!...
Blame it on Vuharia that can't provide good source of water for Nigerians!...
Lol@ blame it on vuharia.
DeleteHe will not hear it, or don't you remember that the fulani cow has ear cancer.
Queen n boss, how is this bubus fault biko
DeleteYour brain needs reset really...
DeleteIt happens to me as well. Use prednisone tablets religiously. Ask for Dr's prescription o. But, prednisone is the answer. You'll not experience severe itching again if you use as prescribed.
DeleteThis itching is it on the body or your vj?? Which ever one it is,pls visit a hospital.
ReplyDeleteNa wa. Let me read comments
ReplyDeleteEeyah
ReplyDeleteUse unsented products, and stop using anti-bacteria soap. Use dove if can, unsented.
ReplyDeleteI experience same thing some time ago. Use hot water to bath and medicated soap. I know that feeling is very annoying.
ReplyDeleteIt might be the water you are using to bath.
ReplyDeleteIt happens to me regularly. It's genetic. Many ppl experience it. No b by changing location o. I can't even tell what causes it
DeleteTry to use a plain soap for sensitive body with no chemical in it,its helps.
ReplyDeleteHello Dear you are reacting to something either your source of water, soap or the bathroom itself especially if you live in a general compound. Visit a dermatologist that will do skin sensitivity test.
ReplyDeleteBv do you use sponge? I think some pple react to sponge, I am one of such people. All I use now is just soap and water and I've stopped experiencing the itching.
ReplyDeletePoster yes it happen to me too. When we moved to a new place, that was exactly what happens to me that am scared of taking my bath till I went to see a doctor And i was advice to use warm water, so till date I don't bath cold water
ReplyDeleteEven me. I use hot water too bath.
DeleteNot even warm water, it should be as hot as your body can take
DeleteStaph and pregnancy cause it most times.Check the bathroom floor,apply body cream and anti fungal cream immediately after bathing.Go to the hospital for skin test,staph and also meet a dermatologist.
ReplyDeleteIt happened to me too so all I use now is just baby sponge and the itching stopped. You know nanu sponge is so soft so that is the remedy and also hot water works but u can't be using hot water all the time. So baby sponge it is.
ReplyDeleteI watched a documentary about people who react to water. Check with a dermatologist and see if your symptoms can be helped. Good luck.
ReplyDeletePlease go and buy Funbact A works like magic and its just 350# Thank me later
ReplyDeleteSorry
ReplyDeleteI experienced it last yr when i travelled to my hometown... It was caused by bathing with well or rain water... I had to boil water before i bath.if you stay around the Niger delta area, stop using rain water to bath.. Or better still visit a dermatologist.
ReplyDeleteIt could be from the water
ReplyDeleteI think it is skin sensitivity,check what you are reacting to,it could be soap,sponge,water,bathroom,towel,etc.start with not using cold water and sponge,then check
ReplyDeleteYou are reacting to what we doctors call indostepicacupilistalmonopollutedhydrgendioxide.
ReplyDeleteIt is a very rear case. Go to any skin doctor in the general Hospital near you and receive your treatment.
Don't even ask me the meaning of the skin disease because I don't know the meaning of it. Since you leave hospital that you will go for treatment and come here and be asking me, as a professional doctor that I IS nau
Dry
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeletefirst time to comment under this section. poster, that same thing happened to me growing up that i dreaded having my bath. from MY OWN EXPERIENCE, it can be attributed to couple of things like the bathroom, soap, sponge, towel and water. try using hot water to bath, it helps and also leave the sponge for sometime and watch the effect. you can also change to a softer sponge, soak it with disinfectant and hot water before you start using for bath. Most importantly, u ll outgrow it with time, mine just stopped with time and now i can bath whenever i want.
ReplyDeletemy two cents
I used to have this issue a while ago. The itching was especially my legs. Mine stopped immediately I creamed the affected areas. I think it may be because of hard water/dry skin because it stopped when I started using moisturising soap.
ReplyDeleteIs your bathroom dirty, and do you pee on the floor of the bathroom. I know someone who used to experience this way back.
ReplyDeleteRemove ur mosquito net sister, dats d problem, incase u have any, talking from experience
ReplyDeleteIt happened to me years back,just use only water and soap,stop using any sponge
ReplyDeleteIt would be caused by dryness. Try using a mild soap and a good moisturiser.
ReplyDeletePoster please listen to me,its not water or soap or sponge reaction. You have to treat yourself.Go to chemist and tell them to give you "LORATYNE10" that is the drug. It comes in very small tablets like 1 for N50.Its 10 in one capsule. Take it one a day for ten days.It will still be itching till you complete the dose.My dear,you will not even remember when the itching have disappeared. But if they don't have the drug, explain to the person and he can help you.You should also add Vitamin C white.It will not come back again in two years.Try it.
ReplyDeleteOn fan after bathing let it dry d water,don't use towel
ReplyDeleteIt happens to me too. Since my childhood .
ReplyDeleteAlways bathe with warm water, if u can.
Get a very mild sponge or no sponge at all
You can also decide to use just soap. Just lather, rub all over and rinse off.
Always moisturize after bath
Then also keep your towels clean at all time- I noticed using a towel for too long caused it
Also sterilize your sponge with hot water and salt from time to time
I recently noticed also that exfoliating takes everything away. So invest in a body scrub, use every other week.
It happens to me too. Since my childhood .
ReplyDeleteAlways bathe with warm water, if u can.
Get a very mild sponge or no sponge at all
You can also decide to use just soap. Just lather, rub all over and rinse off.
Always moisturize after bath
Then also keep your towels clean at all time- I noticed using a towel for too long caused it
Also sterilize your sponge with hot water and salt from time to time
I recently noticed also that exfoliating takes everything away. So invest in a body scrub, use every other week.
Do you have a dry skin? If so, using soap might cause your skin to become drier hence the itching. It might serve you well to use non-soap body wash. But then, speak to your dermatologist.
ReplyDeleteIt happened to me too, when i was a student. I went to the doctor and he prescribed piriton or loratidine. I used it for about a week (once a day, before bath) and the symptoms subsided.
ReplyDeleteMoisturizing your body immediately after bathing will also help.
I also think its a thing of the mind, because i get irritated easily. Make sure your environs stay neat.
If u don't mind pls go for HIV test,it could b a symptom.am talking from experience of a very close pal pls.d earlier d better
ReplyDeleteTake loratidine tabs for 7days,see a dermatologist...it's an allergic reaction
ReplyDeleteI usually don't post comments on your blog but when I read some of these "Doc in house" posts I feel compelled to say something. Being a doctor I think it can send the wrong message to patient, when everyone drops their 2 cents about a medical condition. The bottom line to anyone who has a problem is to talk to their doctors. This poster may have polycythemia which presents with itching after a bath, a simple blood count can rule in or out this diagnosis.
ReplyDeleteAs always people always talk to your doctor when you have any medical issues. A lot of diseases can present alike and one remedy for one person may not work for another person. Love your blog SDK.
A Doctor here: don't mind most of the comments here. You might need to speak wit a Doctor. That might be a sign of Polycythemia or you might have another parasitic infection. HIV or staph or whatever they are telling you here rarely manifests this way.
ReplyDeleteSomething that comes to mind is Polycythemia vera which can cause aquagenic pruritus (itching after taking a shower). This is something that needs to be ruled out, so you need to go see a doctor. Polycythemia is a disorder of the bone marrow that causes the production of too many red blood cells.
ReplyDeleteI am not saying that's what you have because I haven't spoken to you to ask other questions, but it's something that's on the differential. You need to go see a doctor.