Former Inspector General of Police (IGP), Sir Etim Okon Inyang, is dead.
The family of the deceased confirmed his death through a statement on Wednesday in Abuja.
Though the cause of his death is uncertain at the moment, but the family said he was aged 85 and died at the Reddington Hospital, Lagos.
The statement reads: “We write to formally announce the call to Glory of our father, Sir Etim Okon Inyang, Inspector General of Police (retd) which event occurred at the Reddington Hospital, Lagos, on September 26, 2016.
“He was 85. He joined the Nigerian Police Force on October 1, 1949. He rose through the ranks, becoming Commissioner of Police in Kano and old Bendel States.
“In 1984, he was appointed Inspector General of Police and served meritoriously until his voluntary retirement in October 1986. He was appointed Vice Chairman of the Constitution Review Committee in 1987.
“He was conferred with the National Honour of Grand Commander of the Order of the Niger (GCON).”
Eeya. RIP. I hope the street they named him after will mourn him. Very popular street though. Etim Inyang Crescent.
ReplyDeleteNamed after him? When you are the first person to buy a land on a street you are allowed to name the street. He named it himself nobody named it after him. Gosh! You people should learn to read more not everytime SDK and instgram
DeleteMzanon abeg shut up! Where did you spring from anyway.welcome back
DeleteRest in peace Sir
ReplyDeleteOh dear. Is this not the man Etim Inyang crescent in V.I is named after? Choi. RIP.
ReplyDeleteWhen it comes to emergency contraception, every lady knows the emergency contraceptive pill (postinor).Is postinor the right emergency contraceptive method for you? Learn more here.
So this 'Etim Iyang is a name of a prominent person in this country? I dinor know oh. Thanks for the enlightenment.
ReplyDeleteRip sir
Same wuth Ozumba Mbadiwe, Muri Okunola, Ajose Adeogun, Sanusi Fafunwa, Musa Y'aradua, Adeola Odeku.. and so on.
DeleteAll street names of prominent Nigerians. Lol
Rip
ReplyDeleteRIP sir...
ReplyDeletePerson dun live reach 85 em still dey find the cause of him death when odas just dey die below that age dey go like chicken..... Very ungrateful people.
ReplyDeleteI'm not supposed to laugh at this comment,but for some reason I find it very funny....losing a loved one is not easy my dear..even if they die at age 100...you will still miss them and wish they lived a little longer..
DeleteRIP sir
ReplyDeleteHe's tried; may his soul rip.
ReplyDeleteRIP
ReplyDeleteRest in peace Sir.
ReplyDeleteRIP, oga Etim inyang.
ReplyDeleteNo more.....My friend, (Etim Inyang)' where is Anini?'
RIP, oga Etim inyang.
ReplyDeleteNo more.....My friend, (Etim Inyang)' where is Anini?'
May his soul rest in peace 🙇🙇🙇
ReplyDeleteMay his soul rest in perfect peace. Adieu, papa.
ReplyDeleteRip sir.
ReplyDelete85 years old. Good. RIP
ReplyDeleteGoodbye
ReplyDeleteOh. Former IGP under Babangida, I remember him. RiP
ReplyDeleteRip sir
ReplyDeleteRIP Sir.