Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Travellers Lament Increase Of Airfare And Visa Fees In Nigeria...

Monday, July 04, 2016

Travellers Lament Increase Of Airfare And Visa Fees In Nigeria...

Air travellers from Nigeria are having a horrid time, as airfares on international routes have jumped over the roof, prompting prospective passengers to either postpone their trips or opt for outright cancellation. 

Two factors – depreciation of local currency against the United States dollars and the rush for summer holiday – have pushed airfares up by between 70 and 100 per cent. A dollar now exchanges for N280.

For long, the naira was pegged at $1 to N197. Airline fares are quoted in US dollars and Nigerians pay the equivalent in naira at the previous exchange rate of N197. After the introduction of the flexible forex policy by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN), the payment is now calculated at an exchange rate of N285.

That is 45 per cent increase and the consequence is a huge reduction in travellers, as most people cannot afford the fares. Visa fees have also risen. The United Kingdom six month visa fee has risen to N71,000 from between N38,000 and N41,000.

New Telegraph investigation reveals that the US visa fee jumped from N31,520 in early June to N48,000. Nigerian carriers that ply Lagos-London are not also affordable as they charge relatively the same fares as the foreign airlines. For instance, Arik Air’s flight to London from Lagos ranges between N350,000 and N400,000.

For a return flight from Lagos to New York, fares go between N600,000 and N700,000 on economy class seats with business class tickets going for nearly N2 million. A Medview flight ticket to London Gatwick Airport that cost N285,234 penultimate week has jumped to N398,672 and could be higher in the next few days as air travel is usually on high demand during summer. 

Emirates and Ethiopian Airways still provide ‘cheaper fares’, compared to many of the other airlines.

Also, New Telegraph investigation shows that the average return ticket on economy class for Lagos-London route has risen to between N553,200 and N600,000 from between N280,000 and N355,000. 

For business class tickets on legacy carriers like British Airways, Lufthansa, Air France-KLM, the fares are in the range of N2.5 million and above compared to last year which went for between N1.2 million and N1.5 million. For First Class ticket, most of the airlines offered N3.2 million, N3.5 million and N3.8 million per passenger.

*WOW!!!....this is serious!

52 comments:

1. No need to complain. They voted for CHANGE. They should pay the money.

If i want to travel, i will pay the money too.

1. Lets stop being ridiculous about EVERYTHING! Ticket fares go up every summer and December!! The visa fees are higher cos ofcos exchange rate is higher. Exchange rate is highter cos we aren't generating any income from our main if not only source of income.

And the little we are producing is being sabotaged by morons. We made the same noise about tomatoes when two main actions caused the scarcity. The period and pests. Now we have excess fruits and vegetables everywhere and no one has come to share it. Get a life everyone and research before you speak.

2. Thanks Anon 13:31. Too many dull people everywhere, doctors and peasants alike

2. Its terrible my dear Stella,the change we are experiencing in Nigeria now has taken a new level

3. So true!..
    This is so bad!...
    If they like,let the ticket reach 5million,Nigerians must travel!...infact,me and my family must travel this summer...
    School should close abeg make I flee this rubbish country...
    Nonsense!...

1. Ozu ashi!!! Illiterate liar!! Flee which country? You mean to say that u wanna travel to your village Enugwu Ukwu with your kids... Akwuna Fegge.... onye ala odekpe!! Kikikikiiiii we know u from house Linda Eze!!!

2. Hahaha, packing my bags already. Must travel with you.

3. Anon I guess you are new here..

I have been on this blog long and most people who have been on thos blog for long have seen Linda's picture. There was a time she was always using her pics and that of her kids for her display and she had a lot taken abroad and I'm Nigeria...

So yes she has travelled. And I'm not anonymous so you dont say it's Linda hyping herself..

Because everyone comes here to play and yab each other doesn't mean everyone is suffering..

4. Fab mom d famzer. So u actually believe she ever used her real pics ere? U must be a dummy. Not saying she can't travel, but if u believe that was her pic den u r more stupid than I thot. No, i'm not d anony. Just saying. Been ere long enough to knw. Even before u came ere.

5. Anon read your message to me and see you made no sense at all.. You lost me when you started adding stupid and all. Learn to pass our Pont without insult and the would sound intelligent

6. Oh yes, she used to use her real pix during d days of 'Linda Eze loves Billy Jean', she's a pretty woman with two or three boys and I'm not licking her ass, just stating d known though I'm not her number 1 fan but fab mum is correct.

7. Awww....Linda Nne! We should hook up o.....so u r Enugwu ukwu born! U should hook up with Ogbe-ala cowbell TGW....she is from Abagana.
      My husband's people!

8. Fab Mum nawa to you o you have time for these hungry newbies o
      They think every one on here is their mate nah
      As if going on vacation is a biggie for Linda.
      Some of us cross the ocean just for grocery shopping .ya heard!!!!!

4. I have never seen air fares this expensive!
    Bn monitoring it for some weeks now.
    And it keeps climbing!
    And climbing!

Okay......
    School is out! 😀
    Still morning and it's like a trailer ran over me!
    School days,I wake them up 6:30 am and they complain and cry. Now school is out and They are up before 6 am!
    It's just a little over 10 am and I have Bn running around like a headless chicken!😂
    #TheHolidaysAreHere!
    #FunTimes
    #CrazyTimes
    #CantWait!
    #🍨🍕🍪

1. Wow!...
      They are on holidays already?...
      Lucky you!..

2. Lol @ running around like a headless chicken.

5. Na waah.This is serious

1. Shut up there. Have u reached lagos before?

2. Stop attacking my husband

6. Unbelievable, even Medview that nobody knew did London flights are now in high demand!

7. People r still flying sha! D harsh economy no reach some peeps.

8. It's a pity. Everyday bad news. It's well.

9. Stella that is the problem we are facing o. I'm so pissed bcos I was telln my husband lets buy tickets before dollar goes to N218, but we were not sure of our dates.
    You can imagine how much ticket for a family of 3 wld cost.
    The only good part is atleast pounds has dropped from N500 to N418. That is if banks are giving that rate o.
    Airmaroc and Turkish Airline are still relatively cheap, but as I am. I aint entering any Islamic airline or doing stop-over in a potential Terrorist target.
    You can still get a BA ticket on-line for abt $1,400 (N401,000)depending on ur date. But d problem now is u can only pay with a Dollar card.
    It is well, we wld sort ourselves out somehow. This Buhari era is damn hard. One needs a holiday before u run mad in dis country called Nigeria.

10. i be wan travel to US, i just cancelled the plan. how much i wan go spend wen ticket alone na 700k

1. @11.45 lie lie who dash u visa before.... 700k far. You can get 400k to 500k to the US so keep typing to feel among .

2. @anonymous 13.39: why all the hate? That your own life is miserable doesn't mean everyone is as miserable as u. You just exposed your ignorance. Perhaps u fly ET airlines. Most pple prefer either BA or Airfrance. And yes,a ticket to the US via either of this airlines is over 700k right now. You pple think everybody on this blog is hungry or poor. And mind u,I am not the anonymous u replied.

3. Anony 12:39 u r miserable. If she/he typed as anony, how is it hyping when u don't knw d person? If a person wanna hype they'll do with an identity so u can see dem as big. Who feels big under anony? Im not the anony, just trying to make common sense cos u are DUMB

11. Emirates is no longer cheap! I tried to book my December vacation ticket to Dubai and I saw over 400,000 for an economy ticket and I screamed. We are really in trouble this country. I just thank God I booked my summer tickets very early so I paid less than 300,000 for BA. I don't even know which magic I will use to travel next year. God help us

1. 400k to dubai?! Easy nah!
      Emirate to dubai wey we still buy approximately 105k for june!!!

2. She's not lying, emirates cost almost 400000 as as today. You don't have any idea about airfare and you're doubting

12. Over serious o,jah help us.....lips sealed

1. It is what is.
      Una no go shout said bihari again?
      Mtcheeew what's my own self

13. Thank God I bought my ticket before the increase!!! Though my trip is in December

14. Saloni ZeeWorld4 July 2016 at 12:37

The high fare couldn't stop me to come see my grandma in Enugu.... By the time i change my indian rupee to naira, ego asomaaa.... Nigerians are suffering sha.. that's why i always share indian rupee at the airport..

Plz who is E Money in Nigeria? I will like to meet him...

15. E no concern people like us.

16. Lol so true.... They want change na.... The virgin and BA own scared the shit outta me... Tf! Would I pay 1m to travel then how much for shopping? Pity for those who have to renew their visa aswell.. But getting the tickets earlier helps a lot especially 2 months or 3 months before traveling....

1. Those travelling for summer should have gotten their ticket since not now... Getting it now means getting it at a very high price, not just dollar issue but the rush for it...

17. Me will I come bck like dis

18. Dis is serious ooo but people still dey travel hmmm na. waoooo

19. #Grudges are a waste of perfect happiness. Laugh when you can, apologize when you should, and let go of what you can't change.....you only have one life to live*

20. this is so heart breaking, not just high fares ,most airlines are leaving nigeria. delta air have started changing of tickets of pax, cos they are leaving the country like united air. emirate now has only one plane in route nig.

21. Why the surprise abeg. The naira is pegging very low to the dollar. 2ndly it is summer time, mbok!!!!
    Know the trend:
    Airfares triple or quadruple during summer. Airlines take advantage of the high demand of their services. Summer time is traveling time ~ vacation period all over the world. It is the high season! Airfares will start dropping around October. Then goes up again during the X-mass ~New year period. Then ticket prices will drop again from February( heart of winter) only to start climbing in May. July is the peak of outrageously high airfare.

22. They shouldn't complain ooo cause even those travelling to Nigeria are facing same issue. By the time i realised Lufthansa and KLM are increasing theirs every day, i had to book 6 months ahead. Lufthansa now goes for 450k, meanwhile 2 days ago it was just 350k. Turkish, Ethiopia Airline are still very cheap. But if Person dash me the ticket, i nor go collect....yes, you heard me right. Airfrance sef i nor take.

1. Before something happens at their stop over countries right. Lool. Before one terrorist will choose that day to blow up an airport

23. Queen if you go buy me sweet o.

Nawa, well those that chanted chain come and defend this and tell us "e go beta."

24. Sorry for those travelling. We still dey naija dey manage.

25. Suprised.went to london 2 weeks ago via Arik and paid 226k return for a week vacay...wow

26. Tickets are usually expensive during Summer. Its no big deal. By September ending it will go down so do not panic

27. It is serious big deal when flight to dubai is currently 700k to 900k per head .