Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Sacked Diamond Bank Staff Protest Non-Payment Of Severance Pay

Monday, July 11, 2016

Sacked Diamond Bank Staff Protest Non-Payment Of Severance Pay

Over 400 hundred disengaged staff of Diamond Bank who were recently affected by the downsizing exercise carried out by the bank have decried the non-payment of their severance pay by the management after terminating their appointments suddenly.

The workers who spoke to newsmen in Kaduna at the weekend  said the disengagement terms by Diamond Bank should not be different from that of the other banks which adequately settled all the terminated staff their severance  pay and other entitlements in line with labour laws of disengaging workers on the basis of redundancy or anything related.

In addition to the non-payment, the workers lamented, Diamond Bank is also trying to make them unemployable by claiming that their disengagement is due their non performance, but which in reality is not true as many of them have good/excellent performance rating in their appraisals.
The spokesman of the group who preferred anonymity said they will not allow the bank to get away with their action.

"Diamond Bank is not the only bank that sacked its staff recently, but obviously, it is the only bank that is refusing to pay its former workers their severance pay after terminating their appointments unannounced.
“And to further strengthen their refusal to pay, the bank is telling the public that we were sack due to our non-performance. This is not only a malicious lie but it is wicked because by saying that, they are trying to render us unemployable.
“But on the contrary, many of us who were affected, numbering over 400, have good/excellent performance rating during previous appraisals including the last one done by the bank. The records are all there.

"So, Diamond Bank should stop peddling falsehood and own up their responsibilities. If they are sacking because of economic reasons, they should say so and adequately settle anyone they terminate his or her appointment. That was what other banks did.

“However, we will engage all means within the law to ensure that the bank does not get away with this illegality, because over 400 people are not a small number.
“We have been consulting widely across the country on the matter to know the precise action to take and we are in Kaduna to consult with various human right activists/lawyers, labour leaders and other notable figures who will help to advance our case," the spokesman said.

The spokesman added that the bank has already thrown all their accounts into debit, suspended their visa cards as well as threatening them to immediately pay up any money owed it as a result of the upfront allowances paid them in January/February and that it (the bank) shall begin to apply the staff rate of 4% interest for 90 days, after which it shall begin to attract interest at Monetary Policy Rate.

The spokesman urged the government to put necessary measures in place to prohibit not only banks but other organizations from arbitrarily terminating their staff's appointment at the slightest economic challenge, pointing out that the ability to absorb economic shocks and manoeuvre is also a necessary aspect of organizational commitment.

When contacted, the Group Managing Director of Diamond Bank, Uzoma Dozie said "I cannot talk to you because I cannot verify who you are, but if you read their contract, you will know if they were to be paid remuneration or not."

Dailytrust report.

Na wah oh...so how are these 400 people with Families supposed to start all over again?

108 comments:

1. Diamond bank, pls pay them.

2. Wandel all the way, no time for Naija and their melt down. Fuel scarcity is on the way. May God help this country.

3. Na waooo!Stella, they will still survive the way other unemployed ones have been surviving.

1. It is easy for you to say. Do you know what it means to be earning salary and then get to work one morning and find out u cannot login just for rumours to start filtering in that the bank has sacked. And then you call HR and it is confirmed? It is easier for someone who hasn't been employed before to manage than for someone who is used to a certain life style to, all of a sudden, start staying home without earning anything. Before you write this comment,did you even for one minute think of a man who's the sole provider of his family whose wife is a stay-at-home mum? Or for a woman who earns more than her husband? Please people should learn to be more empathetic and stop being flippant with their comments

2. Truth is bitter. Na me sack you? Please get lost!!!

4. Where are those idiots that voted for change. Hope u all are enjoying the change. Am sure most of those workers voted for change so why are they complaining. Dollar should better go up to 500 make I go change my dollars. Una never see anything. Buhari has nothing to offer to you all. The earlier we divide this country the better for you all.

1. Don't mind the bastards that voted for a granny.

2. Shut up if u dont hv anything intelligent to say. Sound so shallow

5. I don't pity them...afteral,most of them voted for "chain"....
    Kwakwakwakwa...

1. And i used to think u had some sense

6. He that is lie knows that he is lie Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm lol.

Nigeria and drama every day.

7. This is wickedness, they should @ least pay them. Its hard enough to be out of job without warning in this hard economy

8. You threw them into the open market yet you don't wanna pay them their entitlement, not fair at all.

9. Thanks to Buhari and his vision less leadership.

10. Wah a country we are iñ..... imagine what a CEO of a financial institution is saying.... someone that is supposed to be a leader...it shall not be well with him ... diamond bank should pay them their benefits and entitlements like other banks and organizations are doing

11. Stella I don't know how he expects us to survive. Some of us worked for over 10 years and suffered a lot of personal challenges just to meet up with deadlines and all what not. I suffered a robbery attack in the branch where I worked and lost two pregnancies the last one at 7months plus and nearly died if not for God's love. It's sheer man's inhumanity to people who served an organisation loyally for years in my own case 10.God will vindicate and favour his people.

1. I feel you. They even asked us to return the useless tab they gave us or our accounts will be debited. Other banks paid their staff. Only diamond bank has refused to. And i heard another wave of sacking is lurking around

2. Yes o. I returned the tab too. And my already - in- debit staff account was charged debit interest last month ending.
      Mine was a case of victimization. I gave my all but this is what I get.
      So what's up. What are the plans regarding the forced loan?

What are the implications of not paying?

3. Amen! Noone even mentioned of how they forced the staff they sacked to write resignation letters. It is this letter they will use against the staff in the court of law saying they voluntarily resigned. Terrible management

4. They cannot say we forcefully resigned. We have the mail of the termination. Luckily my account was not in debit. Its just sad that this is happening

5. God will see you through, He will make a way where there seems no way in Jesus name amen. Just hang in there, it shall end in praise.

6. They can't prove voluntary resignation when it came after a termination mail. The resignation was made under duress. They won't win that one, so no worries. Well, my advise, go through the courts, go through the consumers protection commission(for the illegal loans you are made to pay) Nigerian don't have faith in our justice system but one out the two will pull through. The opinion of an aggrieved Banker/lawyer.

7. They can't prove voluntary resignation same way they can't prove they aren't dumb. They resignation was forced, people resigned out of duress bearing in mind the effect of the termination which came before the so called resignation. Time stamps are proofs for those who submitted hard copies and mailing time for those who sent mails instead. Resignation won't hold. Go through the courts also go through consumer protection commission, as much as we don't have much faith in our judicial system, one will come through, maybe both. On the other hand, let's move on and like I have always said, my 1st loyalty is to myself. DB has deep pockets, so they can afford the best defence for years, can you? Bankers procrastinate Alot, maybe it's time for you to start that thing you love doing, that business you've been thinking about. There's no time to waste. Honest opinion from a one time professional staff *wink*.

8. They can't prove voluntary resignation same way they can't prove they aren't dumb. They resignation was forced, people resigned out of duress bearing in mind the effect of the termination which came before the so called resignation. Time stamps are proofs for those who submitted hard copies and mailing time for those who sent mails instead. Resignation won't hold. Go through the courts also go through consumer protection commission, as much as we don't have much faith in our judicial system, one will come through, maybe both. On the other hand, let's move on and like I have always said, my 1st loyalty is to myself. DB has deep pockets, so they can afford the best defence for years, can you? Bankers procrastinate Alot, maybe it's time for you to start that thing you love doing, that business you've been thinking about. There's no time to waste. Honest opinion from a one time professional staff *wink*.

12. Mallam Buhari has literally destroyed the Nigerian economy.
    Most businesses are just managing to stay afloat. I don't blame diamond bank. If not for the close relationship I have with all my workers, I would hv disengaged some of them.

13. Skye bank has not paid too. I am sure of that. That is how these banks behave.

They should pay them and why still threaten them when you know they are handicapped.

May be when CBN take over them, they will know it is not child's play

14. Replies
    1. really end time bank.the next to be taken over by CBN

15. If you ask me na who I go ask? Ask bubu the.....

*smacks gum and catwalk outta post*

16. Start an online business today with just 5k, whatsapp me on 0703233830811 July 2016 at 11:59

Eya

17. Pls i was laid off by Diamond bank last year as well and yet no severance pay. Pls can we institute a class action against Diamond bank already? Let them pay us or face litigation.

18. Someone will just wake up on morning and loose his job, just like dt.

19. I thought there's a ban on sacking of employees for now, abi employers no longer take presidential directives seriously? Hahahahahaha, this is outright disregard for executive order, ok oooh.

20. Let's face reality, we all saw the content of the contract before executing same and nobody complained or rejected the offer because we wanted to start earning fat salaries immediately, don't waste your extra money going to pay a lawyer, it's all stipulated in the contract, you saw the terms before you executed it, the bank paid you like no other bank and expected you to save during that period in case of this kind of occurrence, the court can never alter or change the words in an agreement signed by parties...........it's sad but it's the truth, move on and pray for something better.

1. @Anonymous. Its only a sense person that speaks senselessly. U seem to knw the aggreement? Y not make ur research properly so u can make sensible comments. Becos one saves doesn't mean the bank shld reap them off of their entitlement. Dont worry, u will soon knw what if feels like for someone to steal from you as i see u r still an employee. Moving on olsss

2. What contract exactly are you referring to please. Any contract that states that people give you 2-20 years of their life in dedicated service and you wake up one morning to severe the contract without any prior discussion or negotiation should not exist in the first instance.

3. Savings or no savings the bottom line is that there are labour rules that guide such situations. You cannot steal froma worker becos u expect them to save. So after they have saved urs is to steal as always. Injustice to one Nigeria is injustice to all Nigerians. Enof is enof for such organisations. Diamond bank should be made to do the right thing. This is not one of those things they will get away with. Neva. Nigerians have learnt to stand against what is right and we shld all learn to stand fr what is right.

4. This comment has been removed by the author.

5. @ Anonymous, just saw ur
      comment, thats reckless.and malicious of an employee like u who.will soon be pushed away. Does any contract with the wicked bank superseed the extant labour laws,??? Pls note that you will provide good answers to all these questions.soonest and know that even if you are in hcm or the owner of.the bank, you will not.be buried there.

6. Hhahhaaha,senseless fool. D next tsunami ur name will be d first on the list, that's if the bank doesn't go bankruptcy.

7. When a bank cannot pay their staff and cannot pay them severance after laying them off is a clear indication the bank is going south. I hope deposit customers are following the trend of things. This is the same bank thay sent a large population of their staff on suspension over very trivial issue just to save their 1 month salary. A bank that debits the accounts of staff it has laid off to recover allowances paid in january is surely showing signs of a failing bank. I sincerely hope depositor are seeing the handwriting on the wall.

8. u shd still be a staff of diamond bank.i hope u know ur debtors profile is as that of skye bank and that diamond bank os the next in line for cbn to take over.very soon u shall face whatnwe are facing.pls tell ur MD that he should pay us.

9. Was going to respond but then saw other responses and realised they've said it all. Keep living in limbo. What goes around surely comes around. So hope you're heavily saving o especially with bankruptcy looming round the corner for DB

10. I won't call u names cos I can see u are already deluded and have ur head in the sand.... We all worked like u are doing now and believe me it's not funny when u are asked to go and lied against at the same time. When u get an email one morning telling u that u are no longer needed, then we will revisit ur post. Wake up and smell the coffee and stop comforting itself with lies. Mschewww

11. I love the responses. The stupid dedicated author has removed his comments. He thinks he has a job. Bank job at that.... I laugh in Latin. Uzoma Dozie has no conscience. U know him now. Uzoma Dozie is the only one that has job security before CBN takes over. Ode!

12. I love the responses. The stupid dedicated author has removed his comments. He thinks he has a job. Bank job at that.... I laugh in Latin. Uzoma Dozie has no conscience. U know him now. Uzoma Dozie is the only one that has job security before CBN takes over. Ode!

21. Uzoma Dozie lacks integrity! Simple! This man sent a mail to all staff informing them that despite the economic situation, there would be no reduction in staff strength. The same man went ahead 4 months after to do the same thing he said he would not do. Diamond bank has integrity as one of their core values and the person at the helm of affairs has clearly shown that he lacks integrity and cannot stick to his words. I wonder now how their customers are to believe anything they say to them.You disengage ppl unjustly and do not pay them severance, yet you throw their accounts into debit. Do what is right for once!

22. This insidious and wicked act by the MD must not go unchecked!! Blood, sweat and uncountable man-hours of over 400 individuals cant be in vain. Let him do the needful ASAP.

23. This insidious and wicked act by the MD must not go unchecked!! Blood, sweat and uncountable man-hours of over 400 individuals cant be in vain. Let him do the needful ASAP.

24. Diamond Bank has liquidity problems how do you expect it to be able to pay off these ex-staff?

25. A bank that has liquidity problems can pay such number of ex-staff

26. Ok, it's either you are the owner of a bank.. If not you just deceive yourself. I hope you have saved all you need to before you are yanked off your job, if you have one. Are you aware that there is something like labour laws governing employers and employees irrespective of whatever contract that was signed. Yes, they will go to court and fight if need be but everyone will know the kind of bank they chose to put their monies in. A heartless one at that. When Alex Otto paid the ones he laid off, then why can't the present management do the same?

27. This insidious and wicked act by the MD must not go unchecked!! Blood, sweat and uncountable man-hours of over 400 individuals cant be in vain. Let him do the needful ASAP.

28. I am a customer of Diamondbank. If diamondbank can treat its staff that way and tell us (customers) that they are customer centric....there is a mismatch. Infact with this kind of attitude, i think they arent liquid too. Closing my account first thing tomorrow. Their staff require better treatments with the way they sell their mobile app, run up and down for us.

29. I am a customer of Diamondbank. If diamondbank can treat its staff that way and tell us (customers) that they are customer centric....there is a mismatch. Infact with this kind of attitude, i think they arent liquid too. Closing my account first thing tomorrow. Their staff require better treatments with the way they sell their mobile app, run up and down for us.

1. Thank you Mr. Ayinla for your objectivity. Actually, the bank is having serious liquidity issues. So if you have some good money there, you might wish to move at least 95%

30. Diamond bank can never be above the law!! They preach integrity and yet they have the boldness to tell a blatant lie about non performance to the world. These are people who has put in their youth, sweat, dedication and all to grow the business, yet he treats them with utmost disregard and disrespect by rudely disengaging them from service without prior knowledge nor for any reason whatsoever and lying to the world about their performance. Imagine!! what contract are they talking about who will sign a contract to be treated like trash!!! For crying out loud this guys are family people who have responsibilities. Imagine what a CEO is saying he who goes about spending money lavishly buying cars and all when he is broke he, then looks for who to sack!! This world is so wicked remember that what u sow is what u reap. Uzoma Dozie do the needful, pay them their money and stop beating about the bush!!

1. The sermon on integrity is a selfish one, just to ensure their funds are secured. That's all that matter to them. The truth is that they succeeded in instilling integrity into their staff, else there would have been calamity on the 27th of May when they noticed they were sacked. Some branches had their two vault custodians affected, some had access to FX. Even those that weren't affected could still make away with funds and blame it on exited ones, if the integrity wasn't there. This is just one being used and dumped. Uzo nwamama, you are doing well.

31. i will tell every person i know to close their account with Diamond bank cos am sensing big problem

32. Please give us our entitlements. Alex Otti, while the MD of Diamond Bank, paid staff he laid off. The contract those ones signed is not different from the ones we signed, if there is any such contract. Whoever is talking about contract should tender it. Other banks paid their staff; Diamond Bank should pay the staff they sacked. Paying the sacked staff won't affect the bank's liquidity. Majority of the affected staff are junior staff; they were sacrificed for the fat cats...

33. U r a looser Mr anonymous. U r next on d line even if u r the owner of DB, nemesis must surely catch up with U. Abi na cult una be.

34. When a bank cannot pay their staff and cannot also pay them severance benefit, it is a clear indication the bank is going south. I sincerly hope deposit customers are following the trend of things. This a bank that steals from their staff by debiting their accounts after laying them off and sends a large population of staff on suspension at the slightest mistake is surely showing signs of distress.

35. We hope the two factions of labour will intervene and take their pride of place concerning labour issues in this country . How can diamond bank be so reckless and irresponsible.

36. Uzoma dozie or way ever u call urself. Pay pple deir moni and stop dis foolishness.

37. Diamond bank,no wonder your staff are lossing their commitment to the job ,every year pulling out staff that 've committed to the growth of the org. Pay them their MONEY .this bank really lacks integrity I wonder how their customers are even trusting them with their money#payyoursackedstaff#.they didn't ask for it

38. Diamond bank,no wonder your staff are lossing their commitment to the job ,every year pulling out staff that 've committed to the growth of the org. Pay them their MONEY .this bank really lacks integrity I wonder how their customers are even trusting them with their money#payyoursackedstaff#.they didn't ask for it

39. Igwe Nebuchadnezzar11 July 2016 at 20:42

Chai, issueses.
    What is humanity really turning into?
    I guess some people are not matured and can never be politicians.
    In business, we use money to make money, goodwill and reputation.
    I doubt if your management, abi former management are grounded in wisdom. They were meant to write off the said upfront amounts and then credit exited staff with little token to silence them.
    Look at what being unreasonable is generating, verbal intercourse between the bank, ex staff and the populace.
    Goat has eaten palm fronds from my head.

40. This is evil. And only a wicked person will support what diamond bank did to us. We demand justice!

41. Diamond Bank is full of pranks, this is the same way their loan customers complain and go through pains repaying, they claim customers are satisfied while customers are leaving them each day, they restructure alot of loans, cbn need to investigate their restructured Loans which are massively carried out toward cbn supervision in order to hide their shame

42. As a customer of Diamond Bank that was made to believe that Diamond, my bank, a bank that has its core values as Intergrity,Competence, leadership, Accountability and Professionalism I am yet to see all the above in the manner they laid off their staff and had the audacity to say it was as a result of performance, how? With what evidence? Without any fraud case or warning to sit up and the MD said contract signed? Which particular contract with he is trying to circumvent the law! LET JUSTICE PREVAIL.............Do the needful.

43. Dis is wickedness at its peak...how can a bank be dis heartless,Diamond bank pls pay your sacked staffs,how do u expect dem to survive.let things be done right.

44. A rare combination of a wicked md and wicked management . It's the same way they treat their loan customers .

45. Evil triumphs when good men do nothing. One would expect cbn to look into this matter seriously and impose a fine on the bank for such an infraction against the laid down labour laws to deter others from doing such messy and tacky termination of staff on baseless grounds and for even lying to the public that it was based on the non performance of their staff. I am sure cbn knows better and should Whip them into line to settle the severance pay

46. The md does not want to pay from his comments. Does he think he is making sense from what he said. That is the kind of person at the helm of affairs addressing issues in such a myopic manner.

47. Uloma Dozie is the problem of diamond bank.
    He is a clueless MD/CEO. That is the resultant effect when you permit an irresponsible bachelor to be at the top. His case is not different from that of "OGA AT THE TOP". He is not fit for a professional setting. He should please try out an alaye job where he can use his f' words at will. RUBBISH!

48. I guess Uzoma himself is the one on the defensive for the bank in the comment trail.
    Pinging CEO...

49. This is de-humamizing... Heartless indeed is that GMD of Diamond bank... This will not continue and injustice will not be tolerated in this era. PAY THEM THEIR MONEY!!!

50. This is de-humamizing... Heartless indeed is that GMD of Diamond bank... This will not continue and injustice will not be tolerated in this era. PAY THEM THEIR MONEY!!!

51. This is de-humamizing... Heartless indeed is that GMD of Diamond bank... This will not continue and injustice will not be tolerated in this era. PAY THEM THEIR MONEY!!!

52. That's the problem. What do you expect from a CEO who is chatting on 2go?

53. Affected and Aggrieved12 July 2016 at 12:42

Injustice anywhere is injustice everywhere. Let the bank's mgt pay what is stipulated in the labour law. This negative image is not good for the public image of a financial institution. I disassociate myself with Diamond Bank for this singular act.

54. Aggrieved Customer12 July 2016 at 12:55

Shameful and inhuman act. I hope the bank's management knows the value of tomorrow? This is obviously not a bank for tomorrow. We shall see...

55. Aggrieved Customer12 July 2016 at 12:56

Shameful and inhuman act. I hope the bank's management knows the value of tomorrow? This is obviously not a bank for tomorrow. We shall see...

56. How can diamond bank not pay their staff entitlement or severance pay is it that the money is not there . I see this as sheer wickedness and oppression of staff. This will go a long way in determining the direction the bank is going . How do u expect the staff to move on ..imagine you sacked them as if dats not enough you now debit them again so.that they become indebted to you and can't get unemployed anywhere . This is uncalled for . Diamond bank should pay up and remove those debit from their staff accounts . I think the nlc and other labour unions, human rights activist and other relevant agencies should investigate this issue as we can not see this bank succeed with this wickedness. The md should be brought to answer why this was done . I drop my pen here .. rubbish what has nigeria turned too.

57. The lies were too much. Going to the press to lies to the public that 200 staff were sacked while actually more than 400 were sacked. Also stating that the sacked was based on performance is too much coming from a bank that lacks integrity. The MD, Uzoma Dozie is occupying the seat not because he is qualified but because of his father's undiluted goodwill.i pity Diamond bank because the bank is gradually falling. Pay staff their severance package as you can purchase cars worth 100m.

58. This is a shame! Diamond bank is sinking so fast. CBN please intervene.

1. CBN should hold a bit lets collect our money first.

59. This inhuman. How can a bank CEO be so naive. His response is irritating. I will certainly close my account with them.

60. This inhuman. How can a bank CEO be so naive. His response is irritating. I will certainly close my account with them.

61. I learnt the bank went through some restructuring early this year, given room to some staff or units being redundant. The management should pay them severance pay and reverse the forced debits on their accounts as they were not sacked based on non perforance neither did they commit crime. My a current staff told me in confidence that different units/branches were asked to donate some staff as sacrificial lambs. This affected even some with very high perfomance ratings/appraisal. This is unfair, they should be settled so they can atleast start life as they didnt plan for it.

62. I learnt the bank went through some restructuring early this year, given room to some staff or units being redundant. The management should pay them severance pay and reverse the forced debits on their accounts as they were not sacked based on non perforance neither did they commit crime. My a current staff told me in confidence that different units/branches were asked to donate some staff as sacrificial lambs. This affected even some with very high perfomance ratings/appraisal. This is unfair, they should be settled so they can atleast start life as they didnt plan for it.

1. What was Uzoma Dozie's last appraisal score?

63. Economy is bad already. Diamond Bank management, please reverse the debits and write off the debts as part of your CSR. Also, pay them something due to them. You could die and someone else will still pay them. If you want God to be kind to you, you need to show kindness to others. That's the golden rule. What you give is what you get. That is Karma. Two strong universal laws.

1. The bank will say this is business, they don't run an NGO

64. If they treat their staff like this, how more their customers. No wonder!

1. Nooooo,..... customer is king.

65. It is sad that the labour unions are dead. Such should not happen in a civilized country. What is most painful in the fact that there are other banks that don't pay severance benefit. All workers should begin working on plan B as more job cuts will occur. It is just sad that the economic situation is too harsh at the moment. May God open new doors for all the affected staff

66. DB PLC should have more than enough funds to pay off It's so called "laggard" retrenched staff. I don't any of the oil facilities been blasted in the Niger Delta region belong to the bank.
    Uzo nna, just pay them off.

67. What is happening to Diamond,…. our bank?
    Is it that the blade is blunt or that the barber is not competent enough?
    I see the Diamond ship circumnavigating around the financial Bermuda triangle. I pray urgent steps are taking to avert this calamitous manoeuvre.
    Elders of Diamond Bank, advice your captain. Our people say, that in the event a child does not know the right thing to do, the relative should guide him a right. Reason is that once then head is cut off, the entire body is affected.

68. What is happening to Diamond,…. our bank?
    Is it that the blade is blunt or that the barber is not competent enough?
    I see the Diamond ship rigmaroling around the financial Bermuda triangle. I pray urgent steps are taking to avert this calamitous manoeuvre.
    Elders of Diamond Bank, advice your captain. Our people say, that in the event a child does not know the right thing to do, the relative should guide him a right. Reason is that once then head is cut off, the entire body is affected.

69. You guys have made Uzoma to start switching off his phone.

70. What was Uzoma's last appraisal score?