- Court Documents Attached.
On June 16,2016 the police arraigned the President of an oil firm, Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited, Uche Ogah of Abia state and an ex-employee of the United Bank for Africa, Deji Somoye, before a Tinubu Magistrate’s Court, Lagos, for alleged fraud.
The oil firm and the bank were also joined in three counts bordering on forgery and conspiracy preferred against the defendants by the police.
The police said Ogah allegedly forged a Memorandum of Understanding between Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited and Mut-Hass Petroleum Limited sometime in March 2011.
He and some other persons said to be at large were also accused of forging the signature of one Mrs. Bridget Adeosun.
The alleged forgery was reportedly committed in Ikeja, Lagos.
The police also alleged that the bank aided Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited to open an account in the name of Mut-Hass Petroleum to perpetrate a fraud without applying its internal control procedures in the opening of the account.
The police had claimed that UBA allowed the said account to be opened sometime in 2011 at its regional office in Palmgrove, Lagos, in breach of the provisions of the Financial Institutions Act 2004.
The defendants were brought before a Chief Magistrate, Mrs. Kikelomo Ayeye, by a police prosecutor, ASP Henry Obiazi.
Obiazi told the court that the offences contravened sections 363 (3)(u), 408 and 409 of the Criminal Law of Lagos State, 2011.
The charges read in part, “That you, Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited, Uche Ogah, and others at large sometime in March 2011 at Ikeja, in the Lagos Magisterial District, did conspire among yourselves to wit: forgery.
“That you, Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited, Uche Ogah, and others at large, on the same date, time, place and in the aforementioned magisterial district, did forge the signature of one Mrs. Bridget Adeosun and a document known as MoU between Mut-Hass Petroleum Limited and Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited, with an intent that it may be in any way used or acted upon as genuine.
“That you, Deji Somoye, United Bank for Africa and others still at large, sometime in August 2011, at UBA regional office, Palmgrove, in the Lagos Magisterial District, did knowing that Masters Energy Oil and Gas Limited design to commit an offence, failed to use all reasonable means to prevent the commission or the completion of the crime.”
The defendants, however, pleaded not guilty to the charges and were admitted to bail in the sum of N200,000 each with one surety each in like sum.
The case was adjourned till August 4, 2016.
Noted
ReplyDeleteI think they have freed him, from the news I read two days ago, I learnt he met with the Director of DSS in Umuahia, BTW why is this coming up now?
ReplyDeleteShe knows why na
DeleteIt's coming up now because he too is not perfect or a saint. He should remove log in his own eye before pointing to another.
DeleteIf no be stolen funds, ego bi forgery and fraud.
ReplyDeleteGood morning my SDK family. God bless you all. One Love.
...TAG A FRIEND, COMMENT & PRAY FOR SDKBLOG...
Haaaaaa!!!at large while he was given a certificate of return three days ago.Ikpeazu must go!!
ReplyDeletePolitical tussle
ReplyDeleteUche Ogah should forget politics abeg and focum on his business before tarnishing his imagine becos Nigeria politics is so dirty and full of god fatherism. Even his so called PDP are not in support of him. Even gang up with d their unless Governor already against Uche. Uche is complete definition of gentleman he has come a long way with Masters Energy and also diverting to other commodities such as wine, rice, groundnut oil and a host of others which is fast thinking. Nigerian politicians don't tink straight apart from stealing. He should forget politicians abeg. Enuf already
ReplyDeletecorruption is fighting back!!!afterall they said they wil rather die than come down from dat seat.ndi oshi vote.governor ikpeazu declared public holiday from friday till wednesday so that uche wont be sworn in.
ReplyDeletepdp running down abia state since 1999.Abia is God's own state n Jehovah himself shall free us from all vampires in the name of government officials.you work for months and you go home empty handed to stare at your wife's and kids hungry faces.tufia!!!
Abia politics hahahahahahahaha. Ikpeazu forged tax payment n Uche Ogah forged MOU
ReplyDeleteLitigation all over the place and lawyers smiling to the bank
ReplyDeleteThis is just a planned work to soil his name.Even the woman came with media people to disgrace him but they didn't get a chance to snap him n court ordered them not to do anything inside,she went home angry n a big loser.
ReplyDeleteThis is a fat lie uche ogah the ceo of master energy group is as free as air I just spoke with him now now, media should stop carry rumours also confirm before u write..
ReplyDeleteGbam u are correct