Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Onyeka Onwenu Says She will Not Apologise Or Pay A Dime To Tony Okoroji

Monday, July 04, 2016

Onyeka Onwenu Says She will Not Apologise Or Pay A Dime To Tony Okoroji

Music legend and immediate past Director-General of the National Center for Women Development, Onyeka Onwenu, has said she will neither apologise nor pay fine to Chief Tony Okoroji.

The former DG was reacting to the judgment delivered against her by a judge of the Ikeja High Court, Justice I. O. Akinkugbe, in a suit instituted against her by Okoroji for defamation of character.
The Justice had ordered Onyeka to pay Okoroji the sum of N5m as well as tender a public apology.

But Onwenu says that the verdict was not fair and that she would appeal.
“The judgment given by Justice Akinkugbe is most unfair and cannot stand,” she told Sunday Scoop.

“Throughout the trial, the plaintiff’s lawyer kept referring to the fact that I was a member of the Peoples Democratic Party and my appointment to office as Director General of the PDP but that I was serving under an APC Government.
“My lawyer raised an objection as we did not think that my party affiliations had anything to do with the case at hand. But the judge to our consternation allowed that line of questioning.

“I am waiting to receive a copy of the judgment, at which point I will have more to say. For now, I am certain that this judgment cannot and will not hold based on the fact that we were able dismiss the allegations convincingly and unequivocally. We are appealing the judgement, of course.”

The Elegant Stallion as she is fondly called, added that she also would not apologise as ordered by the court.

“I will not apologise and I will not pay any fine. I am guilty of nothing. We have a country where one is allowed to pursue justice and, by God’s grace, justice will be served.
“If not by Justice Akinkugbe, then certainly by an Appeal Court or even the Supreme Court of Nigeria.”

“Mr. Tony Okoroji says a lot of things but he does not mean them. I shall provide a full rebuttal of the campaign of calumny that he is putting out against me in the aftermath of this judgment and more shall be revealed. I hold no personal grudge against him, my quarrels with him have always been on issues of probity and fair play.

“I have been very much there for Okoroji for so long and in many more ways than I care to remember. I respect his intellect and I’ve said so on many fora, but I will not stand by and watch him attempt to destroy the very reputation that he has found and made use of personally and officially in the past.

“Some of us left the Performing Musicians Employers’ Association of Nigeria for him to run aground, in order to avoid his trouble. He is hoping we will do the same with regard to the Copyright Society of Nigeria. That wish will not be granted.”

Dailypost

27 comments:

1. Even when we are right, we can still say sorry and move on for peace.
    As a christian, I expect her to say sorry 100 times and forget the past and move on. Wat happen to those looking up to you.

1. This comment has been removed by the author.

2. Reason with your head not your hair.

Some one spreads malicious allegations about you you keep quite.

Kwentinue!

3. Christianity and Justice are entirely two different things. Even if she apologises who will pay the 5m....U?

4. Say sorry and pay 5m fine because she has people looking up to her. Being a role model doesn't stop her from fighting for her rights. Mbok

5. Learn how to stand up for yourself and quit saying sorry when you did no wrong. I'm not in support of this lady, but I'm a firm believer of not apologizing when I'm right, if you want make we scatter weaves we go scatter am

6. Am so disappointed at get arrogance and she calls her self a Christian

7. My dear it is pple like you. That someone will steal their money, instead of bringing them to book u will say. Forgive them

2. Ok. It's your right. Go appeal.

3. Am sure if he was not your brother, you would have said because you are igbo and he is not.Am not judging you, but you are always in the news for wrong reasons.

1. What's this one saying?

2. Yes she's always in the news for the wrong reasons, please do not bring up tribal issues here. This is a legal matter, so address it as one.

3. agree with you

4. I agree with you. She always have something to blame. Today it's party affiliation.

5. I agree with Ene. I loved Onyeka but after her most recent complaint, my respect dwindled so I couldn't care less whatever they are fighting over here.

1. How far that dirty girl wey you dey squat with, have not seen her for some time now

2. JH, I thought James said he is very rich, how can he be squaring?

3. *squatting*

5. Enough of all these litigation, they should just resolve this let's have some peace

6. I don't know why this lady like trouble, she's always in on fight or the other. If she ain't playing the tribal cards, she's playing the feminist. Madam, please go and apologise, don't go and file an appeal and disgrace yourself and your destiny

7. Anonymous? Lol4 July 2016 at 09:00

Hmmmmm. Se y'all know the man that took over from her as DG died months after in a car accident? Not saying na she cause am o, but winsh cry last night, pikin die for morning... Also, with d comments BVs made on that post she ranted & said she won't leave, I had surmised she na rugged aunty. Hmmmmm, Stella don teach me aproko work!

8. They should settle and let peace reign

9. She played the tribal card in the DG matter, now she's playing the political party card here. Is Okoroji a politician? Fight for your right but don't play blame games.