Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles -29

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles -29

This Omugwo story broke my heart..Everything just went wrong and right!!!

Our Omugwo folder can't be empty ! Nah! So I decided to share my own story, which might be a sentence too long, so I apologize in advance. My  Omugwo  story was not the happiest, but still ...

At first I was hesitant about my mum coming for my Omugwo , simply because she wasn't one of my husband's best fans. We married against all odds. So the thought of her coming with all the tension in the air, wasn't so appealing to me. Plus I felt I could do it on my own with all the years of experience I had gathered from my elder sister's births . 

But thank God my husband insisted that she comes, assuring me that I'll be pleasantly surprised at how well everything would go. 

My pregnancy was a very smooth one. All the scans and checkups went well. No problem . We made plans for my mom to come some days after my EDD (Mother in-law is not so strong) 

Towards the end of my pregnancy, things took an unbelievable turn. During my 36th week scan, my Gynaecologist said my baby was too small for that stage of the pregnancy. I was asked to go to the hospital I was to deliver at, for proper check. I went there and was checked , then asked to go and come back the next week for them to see if her size increases. 

I talked to my mom about it, and she told me not to worry, that she gave birth to small babies. So I was somehow calm until the next week when I went for the scan, and was told there was no change , and they didn't know why she wasn't getting bigger . They said it was risky for her to remain inside and the best option was for me to have an induced labor . I asked when I should come for it, and they told me that actually, I should just go home and get my things as they plan inducing me that day!

I was terrified.

At that point I hadn't even bought all my baby's stuffs , like diapers and cream and all, because I felt I still had time. Now this! Worse still, it was even almost 3 weeks before my mom's expected arrival! 

Got some few things from home that day, then went back to the hospital . I was induced and my baby came 3 days after the induction. She was whisked to the NICU immediately because they realized she wasn't breathing well. Two days later I was discharged, without my baby. I cried all the way home , and almost the whole day. 

The next day when we came to be with her, the doctors told us she was doing better and didn't need the oxygen aid she was using. I went home so happy, but worried about how to take care of my fragile baby when she was eventually discharged. But that ought to have been the least of my worries, as that night, we got a call from the hospital saying they had  transferred her to another hospital because she was in a critical condition. That was the beginning of my journey. 

In this new hospital, they found out she had some heart defects. I was devastated. Never in the course of my pregnancy did I imagine I would have a baby with any health issue. I'm a Christian, I went for masses always during my pregnancy. In fact I was so sure I would have a healthy baby that I was praying for the pettiest, silliest things like , her being very beautiful with full hair , and for her to be extremely intelligent . Plus the all my scans said everything was perfect so what is this now??? 

I had to come to the hospital daily with the unbearable pain from the tear during delivery ( most moms would understand how painful walking is with a tear)  I longed for my mom to come. And at least make this pain go away with her magical 'mummy touch' . 

My baby had her first surgery one week before my mom's arrival. I was so happy when she came. And she came prepared. With lots of Naija goodies. So she started cooking the Omugwo food, but I could hardly eat because my whole heart was lying in a hospital bed , but trust my mum to force me to eat, reminding me I needed to express enough breastmilk to take to the hospital for my baby. After the first surgery things seemed fine, we felt we could go home soon. But no, it was like a roller coaster . One day my baby was fine and we were all happy and looking forward to going home, the next day she is really bad.

My mom was really quick to learn. In just a few days, she could find her way to the hospital . So I would go to the hospital in the morning, then she would come to join me later and then we both come home in the evening. This was really making me sad, because this wasn't how it should be. We should be going out doing fun things and not sitting inside the hospital the whole day. At a point I felt so overwhelmed, and just wanted my mum to go back . Because when she hadn't come, I didn't have any other thing to think of, I just went to the hospital and nothing else mattered. But with my mum around, I had her to think of too. I think of my sick baby and think of how my mom would be feeling seeing my baby in that condition with all the wires , oxygen machines and medications.  

Also she was so concerned about me that I sometimes got the feeling she was angry at my baby for putting me ( her daughter) through all this sadness. She made some remarks that I felt really bad about. 
We had to change her ticket to a later date with the hope that baby would come home so she could  at least do her proper Omugwo duties for even one week. But no. At the end of two months, she went back to Nigeria.

I enjoyed her coming, but I just wished things were different. In that circumstance her coming was taking too much from me emotionally. But still her company was worth it .  She made me most of my favorite dishes I had been missing. 

She was so happy at how well my husband and I lived in peace and love, that she even later apologized for all the stress she put us through when we were getting married. She told me that men like my husband are rare and I should always appreciate him. I got really close to my mum during her stay. We would talk and gist like old friends, and go for shopping whenever we could.  I saw a part of her that I hadn't known till then. At the end of her stay she was looking so young! When she got to Nigeria, my sisters were asking what I bribed my mom with because she had only good things to say about my husband. Lol

A few months later , my sister in-law came also. But baby was still in the hospital. So it was the same routine. Spending the day at the hospital. But we got  really close too. She is much older than me, but I enjoyed her company so much . She treated me like her younger sister . She was so supportive and gave me great advices . We both had a great time during her stay. 

So my Omugwo experience was a nice one, even though my baby, who is an angel now didn't come home ( and never came home. She passed 10 months after ) I learnt a lot of lessons and I got really closer to my mum. She got to know my husband better and they are like best of friends now. Whenever  I call her, and make the mistake of passing the phone to my husband to say hi, they end up talking for so long! Lol.

I'm looking forward to the next Omugwo, and I pray when that time comes things would be different. 

My advice to moms is that no matter how bad whoever is taking care of you during Omugwo may seem, just endure and always remember, it's not the worse that can happen. You have a healthy baby to thank God for and that is all that should matter.

*So sorry this happened,you sound so positive and i am happy about this..she was so beautiful...so sorry.
You lost her but gained something.....

93 comments:

1. Heya, this is a very sad story, may God grant you another baby that will be yours forever

1. Don't wori dear,joy is awaiting u in morning.

2. Awwwwwwwww
    So sorry about ur little angel....is well with u

1. Poster so sorry about baby. You won't ever forget her I know, but God will put another baby in your arms soon and this time, no stress will be involved

1. This post broke my heart. The Lord will comfort you in a way that wipes all your sorrows away, never to be remembered, in Jesus name. Amen.

5. Ehya sorry dear, your next is here to stay.

1. I love you already poster. Dnt worry dear, you will hire people to help you carry your set of quadruplet soon. May God suprise you in Jesus name.

6. I paused when I got to the "I'm a christian" part and the rest.
    That was very self-righteous.

Sorry about your little one.

1. So she shouldn't have said she's a Christian?! When will you stop being a moron?

2. If u really are a christian, a true follower of Christ, u would know. Imagine apostle Paul doubting if he was a christian or not! Hian!

3. Yes! She is truly a Christian, the write up though a sad one was without hatred but a joyful heart grateful for the people she had around. That is a person that truly serves God.

4. Quicksilver, You really don't know where to draw the line, do you?

5. Crystal, when you've been delivered from imbecility that you inherited... Nitwit!

6. Wish I didn't read this. So sad.

7. Quicksilver, you are nothing but a nasty piece of shit who doesn't know when to stop.
      I pray someone hits you at your lowest moment when you're down. Bloody fool lacking emphaty.

7. Awwwn. God will bless you with more healthy babies. Keep being positive. Ok. ☺

8. poster the Lord is your strength.

9. This is so sad. Im so sorry for your loss. So sorry

10. Long epistle, plz u guys should make it short. Sorry for ur loss.

1. Very insensitive try thing to say. Bv, may God bless your heart and remove the agony. Love

2. U never disappoint fool. Angel my ass. Sorry for your loss dear poster. Your next is here to stay.

3. Very very insensitive and mean
      Gosh

4. Am sure d shegoat is barren nd so bitter... oloriburuku smbori

5. I understand life is hard. I know urs is particularly sour, booless gwez like u? But pls note u aren't d only one this hard times. Try and be a Lil upbeat u hear? Ur bitterness stinks outta d post....On every post o! Lol. I pity ur housemates...ur type is contagious

6. I had a room mate like her in uni, I prayed dt God never ever let me meet somebody like her in all my life again.
      Poster, really sad but thank God for your positive attitude. RIPP to Angel. May God console you and touch your womb. IJN

7. You must be a bastard. How can you say something like this? If it doesnt interest you please waka to the next post. Idiot of no comparison, afo ka ite agbisi. This is the condolence you are supposed to give. Nonsense.
      Poster, dont worry you will have more real omugwos with babies filling your home. God be with you.

8. Permanent bitch, gerraoutofhere osiso.

9. Saddist!!!!!! Kill joy!!! That should be your name@Fallen Angelray4SDK

10. U wouldn't hv bothered reading it wen u saw her write it will be a long sentence. Stop being insensitive pls.

11. It is well! May God bless your home with cute and healthy children. My last pregnancy was almost same as yours. I had a normal pregnancy until 36 weeks,then a random scan shown my baby to be on the small size. Waited a week,did another scan and was immediately induced because baby was getting even smaller! Baby came out very very tiny but otherwise okay. Months later,baby is still small but i am grateful!

12. Its well poster, losing a child after birth can be heartbreaking.
    I claim twins for you.

13. Aww... I am glad you sound very positive and your next Omugwo story will be a better and memorable one. God bless you

14. I always like to save pictures of cute babies,especially mixed babies from IG,facebook,e.t.c,and tag my boyfriend to it.And make comments like;i pray our baby is cute like this;blah blah.Until the day he felt irritated and said;"pray for safe pregnancy,delivery and healthy babies.Not all this unnecessary things.It's God that blesses with those extra things".Now I understand better.The lord is your strength poster.God will surprise you and make up for the lost one.

15. So sorry dear.
    This life is so funny,having very big babies has its own issues,same with having babies that are too small.
    What a life!
    These are things I never knew until we started this journey.

Thank God for life and Peace of mind. We look forward to your next fun omugwo post!
    RIP to your Angel.

Congratulations@Tetrina. God bless you and our Lil cutie.

16. I dnt even know how I feel right now. E-hugs dearie

17. Awww God will give you double for your trouble.

18. Your next omugwo story,will be better with a happy ending. It will end in praise.

19. "Even though my baby, who is an angel now didn't come home ( and never came home"..this made me cry.
    Poster, you are really a strong woman..God will bless you with healthy kids and this affliction shall not rise again...keep trusting in God.

20. So sad!!!
    So sorry for your loss dear poster.

21. God will do greater thing in your life dear.

22. Am all teary right now."Big hugs to u"land may her soul rest with the lord amen!

23. Am all teary right now."Big hugs to u"land may her soul rest with the lord amen!

24. Very sorry for your loss. God will surprise you

25. I am so sorry for your loss @poster..
    Your angel had to come to the world to herald the beautiful babies you will bring forth.
    She was an harbinger of fortune..

You will birth beautiful babies with full hair, and they are going to be so intelligent that you'd be marvelled.

You are so strong to have shared this story..

26. Poster may your sun shine again. I'm in tears.

27. Awwww…so sorry about the whole loads of stress u've passed thru emotionally and physically, hoping on God ur next omugwo will be real fun and filled with smile…

28. Awwww…so sorry about the whole loads of stress u've passed thru emotionally and physically, hoping on God ur next omugwo will be real fun and filled with smile…

29. #Always tell someone how you feel because opportunities are lost in the blink of an eye, but regret can last a lifetime*

30. Your story is so touching, very sorry about the loss of your baby.
    You are a strong lady, may God bless you with as many healthy children as you want.

31. Sorry about your loss. It is well with you. God will comfort you with plenty kids!!!

32. * sigh *

I'm sorry for your loss, ma'am. Thankfully, it's heaven's gain.

I don't know whether to call it a disappointment that turned a blessing, seeing as the tragedy created stronger family ties.

May God give you double for your trouble. Amen.

33. Take heart dear, she came to restore peace and love in ur family esp btw ur mum and hubby.

34. OMG. So sorry to hear this. Take heart, may the Lord comfort you and give you double portion of honour for every sorrow.

35. Hmmmm..... poster, you just reminded me of my prince, my cute little prince who left me after 3days of birth. Couldn't believe it was happening cos my preggy journey was smooth and I had a successful delivery. My cutie just left me, my daughter kept asking me, 'mummy where is fine fine bobo' *sobs* it well with you dear.

1. Eiya, ndo Rose. So painful. Another fine fine bobo is on the way. Twins sef.

36. This comment has been removed by the author.

37. sad one, I can relate as I lost my baby but d difference was mine died in womb never thought I would have survived that but am hopeful God is on the throne nd he'll make me smile again!

Florence

38. This isn't sad one...

But every disappointment Is a blessing and everything worketh for good for those that trust in the Lord.

Your (was) lil one bonded you, your mum and your hubby. Always remember her for that and give her kisses as well.

39. Eyah..God ll give you double for your trouble. Rip to your angel

40. sad one, I can relate as I lost my baby but d difference was mine died in womb never thought I would have survived that but am hopeful God is on the throne nd he'll make me smile again!Florence

41. Ur spirit got me. God will bless U with the one who won't cause U any form of sorrow. Pele Dear

42. May God grant u the fortitude to bear this loss, n give healthy babies in Jesus name. Amen.

43. So sorry poster, I can relate to your pain. Just believe yours is on the way. It's so unfortunate after much stress, baby never come home. But she has joined the little Angels in heaven. God will give you your own baby soonest. May our mother Mary always intercede for you.

44. Dearest poster I admire your positivity. I know what it means leaving the hospital without your bundle of joy. It so traumatizing to the woman not to talk of a new mom. God is your comforter and he will surprise you with gladness.

Your angel came and left. She had her mission. She fulfilled it. Her short time on earth brought peace, love and understanding and harmony to your family. She made sure your next two beloved people, your Mom and Husband appreciated each other, got fond of one another for you to have peace. She completed her mission dearest.

God will bless your more with children. You shall be a mother of many. Your home will be so noisy and blissfully chaotic with kids jumping everywhere.
    Blessings to you sweetheart. Don't loose the faith.
    When your blessings manifest , please share with us your testimony and more so your Omugwo chronicles.

45. Eeyah sorry for ur loss.
    God will give you double for your trouble. Be getting prepared for your twins.
    I have a friend whose baby died still in d womb, she had to be induced and pushed out the dead foetus.
    God blessed her months after with a beautiful boy, with full curly hair and so well behaved. Hardly cries and is always smiling.

46. Ooh my, so sorry about your lost. Don't worry honey God will give you more beautiful and healthy babies. aaaaawww am so emotional right now.

47. So sad poster. God will compensate you with double joy.

48. Am so sorry for your loss. May the LORD continue to strengthen you. Amen.

49. God will give you double for your troubles. Thanks for sharing, you are so so positive. Kloness

50. Sorry for the loss. I like your positive spirit. Your home will be filled with joy and laughter of plenty kids. God bless.

51. So sorry about your loss,may God Almighty show Himself strong in your life and give you many more reasons to rejoice and praise His holy name...Amen
    He shall visit you soonest with your Sarah's laughter.

52. Poster I luv ur kind heart, don't worry it will end in praise.

53. Poster sorry about your baby, God will surely bless you with many children. Please did the doctors give any reason why the baby stopped grow at that age? I had the same experience with all my pregnancies. The 1st was a stillbirth and the 2nd survived by God's grace although with a very low birth weight at 38 weeks and 5days and the third weighed 2.7kg at 38weeks. All my scanning showed that the babies were all over weight at 35weeks except the first that stopped growing at about twenty some thing weeks.
    I feel so scared and don't wish to take in again because it seems there is something wrong and the doctors seems not to be able to explain. The all assume it is preeclampsia.meanwhile my blood pressure is always normal till am in Labour.

54. Sorry for your loss. God will surely wipe your tears.
    That mean person who said she sounded self righteous, you are myopic. What she meant was that she had so much faith in God that everything would be fine.

55. My dear you have cause to smile again, I love you

56. So sorry, dear. God will give you double for your trouble

57. You are such a positive, beautiful person. Beautiful on the inside and outside. You have been through a lot and still spared the time and effort to write about your experience and advice people to appreciate what they have. You will be blessed with many bundles of joy in your lifetime and you will make an awesome mum. God bless you and your husband.