Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Omugwo Chronicles -19

Monday, July 04, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles -19

This is what I call a drama free Omugwo!

Hello everyone.....

So this is my omugwo story..  I had my baby 4 weeks early so my mom couldn't come immediately.  Because she was taken unawares and was still postponing the time to start preparing until I called her and said I had put to birth. So she came after 6 days..  

After I put to birth I spent 2 days in the hospital (hospital rule),  thank God we were served with delicacies a new mother needed plus my sister inlaw brought pepper soup to complement whatever I had eaten.. Hospital baths baby so it wasn't an issue.

When I was discharged, my sister inlaw came in the morning, bathe the baby, pressed my tummy, made food for me and some concoction she needed me to drink. When she leaves for work, her younger sister  spent time with me, took care of the baby and I. 

This were the 2 available as the other 3 had gone for summer vacation. I gave birth around that time and their return saw me and baby having so many gifts.. 

I don't remember buying so much baby clothes as everything was bought for me there from clothes he wore till now. He even still has some for when he is bigger. Lol. That's how much they shopped for me.

At night my sister Inlaw comes and does the same routine and goes back home by 11pm. She rocks the baby to sleep and leave after I must have gone to bed, then the younger sister stays the night with me and sleeps with the baby. Until the baby needs to be fed before she wakes me up..

When my mom came, my mom resumed her duty. Boy did she come with things. some of the things  she came with lasted over a year for us. She came with stock fish, mangala, crayfish, all those things for cooking nsala and pepper soup,onions,irish potatoes and  so many orishirishi.

She bathe the baby, bathe me. Lol. Not just pressing my tummy with hot water but baths me. Makes me sit down on very hot water mixed with dettol and a pinch of salt. She even monitored it for 30 mins before she let's me stand up. 

After which she would force feed me so that my breast milk will flow. After eating, she made me breast feed and asks me to go and sleep. She cooked morning, afternoon, night, she will make what my husband will eat and what I'll eat and for her self. Hubby was in charge of cleaning the house and we used the washing machine for laundry so she didn't need to do that. Her focus was on me and baby..  

Did I forget to mention she made sure I wore my waist cincher for at least 12hrs a day. Yeah she did. It was war when I refuse and at a point I got used to it.

The hours I'm not on waist cincher she ties my belly with wrapper.  Thank God her effort towards my tummy paid off as at 2 months my belly was so flat one would wonder if I had a child, well except for my weight gain as I was doing exclusive breast feeding and I had to drink a lot of teas, pap and food..

At night she didn't bother me unless the baby was really hungry. After feeding she asks me to go back to bed and it would just be her and the baby. And I knew for a fact that the baby wasn't sleeping so much at night but my mom loved every moment as she loves babies. If you allow my mom, she will still birth another child. Lol

She didn't have issues with anyone while with me as my sisters in law kept visiting and we would all sit and laugh and gist. Even my husband that doesn't like anyone in his house didn't want her to leave as my mom is so friendly and nice. 

She has this warm feeling that makes people take in to her and even go as far as confiding in her. Mind you she's young o. She married at 20 and I was in my early 20s when she came for omugwo. 

When it was time to leave, we were all sad but she had to go and face her business. The one month she stayed with us was bliss.. And that one month her business suffered as she is a distributor. So if she didn't have those things to supply at the price she supplies, there would be some sort of little scarcity. As not so many people do the journey of going from the north to the east, South south and far north to get the things she sells in bags and all.

Well when she left, my sisters inlaw resumed again how they were doing it before my mum came and by the time baby was 2 months I was left alone to start with taking care of the baby alone.  They popped in from time to time but that was it..

I had an amazing omugwo. Even my hubby was looking fresh and kept thanking my mom. During pregnancy I wasn't cooking so he had to cook for us to eat or he buys take out so my mom being around and cooking like there was no tomorrow restored all the little flesh he lost while I was pregnant.  

He kept begging my mom to stay more. Lol. She was supposed to stay some Weeks but with begging she stayed one month.

Well that's my omugwo story. I had fun with my mom and sisters inlaw. My mom inlaw is late but I'm sure if she was alive she would have been the best as my sisters inlaw are the best. People think we are sisters when we go out to have fun or when we hang out together and we can so go out.

We go from clubs, parties, weddings, beach outing, cinema, gym(oh, they made sure I lost all baby weight) , boat cruise and all sort.

*Wow,what an Interesting drama free Omugwo story..I enjoyed reading this well!

46 comments:

1. I am very confused with our obsession with baby's first bath. I am expecting my first baby and I don't expect anyone to do these duties for me or invade my privacy. Pressing stomach, taking my bath or my baby's bath. Just doesn't add up to me. Maybe it's cultural but I noticed every omugo chronicles emphasizes this. I thought husbands are supposed to give the baby their first bath when they get home and it's a precious moment between husband, wife and the baby. At least that's what I see here. Mums and inlaws can help with anything else feeding, cooking etc, whatever they feel the need to do but someone pressing my stomach??

2. Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwww
      Nice one

3. You this over sabi anonymous, shebi you want your child to have almighty body odour. Na you know of.
      Narrator, your Omugwo story is the best so far. No drama , no condemnation, no hyping. Well done jare.

4. Anon 15:20, you mean your hubby will bath your new born baby? Are you kidding me? Even some men can't carry new born babies, let alone bath them. I pity you, who even told you that you can actually bath your new born baby? Once again, I pity you, I mean I seriously pity you

5. Hahaha almighty body odour. Leave her now let her enjoy family time with first baby bathe. Shebi she be oyinbo and Na her hubby cut umbilical cord. Hence the ritual continuation. I pray u receive sense early enough. #clickstongue

6. @Anonymous 15:20. Thank God I've finally seen someone who thinks like me in this Omugwo chronicles of a matter! My conclusion is that this baby's 1st bath business is very cultural. But the thing is it is a cultural expectation that cuts across the different tribes and regions in Nigeria so everyone on here seems so convinced that the only way a baby can be bathed in the 1st few weeks is by a non-parent

THERE IS NO BIG DEAL IN GIVING A BABY A BATH abeg. Such hullabaloo about something so inconsequential, I really don't get it.

Before you jump to conclusions, I have 2 kids who are teenagers. I bathed them and nothing do dem. I remember back then my mom came for omugwo (after 2 weeks for the 1st baby) and was making such a big deal, being very dramatic about bath time. These chronicles have opened my eyes as to why because like I said, I did not understand.

@Anonymous 16:27 There is no connection between giving a baby a bath and body odor- just another (wrong) cultural belief.

You people should please Google "delayed bathing". A lot of research being done in this area. I bet it will give a lot of people cultural shockπŸ˜€

*omojeje* says so

2. Very very interesting. I smiled all through while reading. Beautiful story.

More of dis please.

3. One of the best Omugo stories so far, God bless you and your household more

4. Lovely omugwo story.. I pray mine would be as drama free IJN o. May my MIL be nice to me.

1. Nice,i felt I wrote this but mine was with my aunt and sis in law as my mum was sick.

5. Lovely omugwo story.. I pray mine would be as drama free IJN o. May my MIL be nice to me.

6. Enjoyed reading this too, at a point a thought I was reading about my sis but for some details.

7. No MIL that's why you enjoyed and over enjoyed.

Stay fit and take care of your fam.

8. No drama,sane people. Enjoyed reading your story.

9. Lovely story, 5 sisters and the love flows... I like this

10. Enjoyed this piece too. Not like that witch that slepped her mother in-law.

11. Yaaay. My post

I forgot to mention my father in law came everyday for one month. He said he was also coming to do omugwo for me. Meanwhile he just comes and sit down to gossip and gist with my mom and carrying the baby...

Baby will be sleeping and he will insist on carrying him.. After one month he said he was done his own omugwo and stopped coming.. Just dripped in once a week or so..

I hope I have so much fun when I have another child like I did this time..

1. Kai, your enjoyment too much O. You really be fab mom, everyone, husby, Mumsy, sils, fil doting on you. Your own better.

2. You really 'heeenjoyed' is an understatement.

People like you can give birth to ten children oooo!

Mine has been a home alone Omugwo, I will do the cooking, cleaning (mop house, wash et..al), taking care of baby and my two minute ( fire brigade) bathing, because baby must have been lamenting for attention.

Thank God for you.
      "I am jealousing you" in Jenifa's voice

3. Nice one dear. To correct you, it is, "put to bed"... not "put to birth".

12. Beautiful I pray my will be drama free, babe u get luck ooooo u marry early like ur mum jealous.

13. If I were this poster I do be getting pregnant every year. Lol......BTW nice story

14. lovely omugwo story, no drama and at the end every body was happy.

15. Lucky you Fab Mum. I can't wait to experience same.

16. Fab Mum you are so lucky. I can't wait to experience same.

17. Lol Fab mum, you had to come and show that it was your chronicle.. Lmao..

Akuko

Why didn't you just sign.out with your name so we'll know...

1. Abi ooo, thot so too. Nice one though.

18. Interesting. Your sisters in-law really love you and your husband

19. Hahahhahahhahahahahahahahahahahaha. I don laugh tiya biko nu.

Is good to be free from drama always.

Mother Nature.

20. Lol
    I noticed too
    Maybe she signed out with her name but Stella left it out but she wanted us to know that she's the one with the perfect lifeπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

21. Am the only child and mum & dad loves me so much lolz can't wait to get married so my mummy will do omugwo for me. She is my bestie but dad said I will get married when am 27 and boo of 8yrs already proposed. Ok let me finish my Nysc first