Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Obasanjo Allegedly Advises Buhari To Spend Money To Dislodge Saraki And Others

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Obasanjo Allegedly Advises Buhari To Spend Money To Dislodge Saraki And Others

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo’s meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari behind closed doors yesterday focused mostly on strategies to dislodge corrupt elements from the National Assembly, a presidency source has disclosed to SaharaReporters.

During the meeting, which lasted for close to 2 hours, Obasanjo pointedly told Buhari that with a corrupt leadership led by Saraki at the National Assembly, he stands no chance of fighting corruption and moving the nation forward.

The two-time Nigeria leader then reportedly told Buhari he must be willing to outspend the Senate President in order to remove him and the other rogues from the National Assembly, giving several instances when he had to use such methods during his tenure to dislodge his enemies from the Assembly.  

Obasanjo had a reputation for deploying rich businessmen to offer irresistible bribes to lawmakers to meet his objectives.

He is said to have revealed to Buhari that members of the People’s Democratic Party who hid huge sums of money in Ghana and elsewhere are reorganizing to take power from him.

A flustered Buhari thanked Obasanjo, describing the former PDP leader as a “unique” person who could do the unthinkable.

He, however, responded that he could not in good conscience spend all the monies available to oust just a few people because he needed to show to Nigerians that he was elected to perform.  

sources said he reiterated his wish to use lawful means to prosecute those members of the Assembly involved in corruption, but expressed disappointment in the judiciary, citing instances where judges have been compromised in ongoing cases.

Speaking further on Senate President Saraki, Buhari told Obasanjo that Saraki was an ambitious man who aspires to become president, but promised he would do everything legally possible to prosecute him for his acts of corruption. 

SaharaReporters learnt later that the Attorney General of the Federation is dusting up files against former governors for prosecution.  Saraki is said to be a top priority on the list, as Buhari is said to be opposed to any form of truce with the Senate President even though he is currently in talks with the Secretary to the Federal Government, the Director-General of the Department of State Security and the AGF.  

On Saraki’s side, Senator Danjuma Goje, David Umaru, who is the Chair of the Senate's Judiciary Committee, and two others are reaching out to help Saraki resolve the ongoing forgery lawsuit against him and his deputy, Ike Ekweremadu.

As soon as Obasanjo left the meeting with Buhari, he spoke to State House reporters.  Among others, he told them that his previously-expressed position on National Assembly members being full of rogues and robbers has been vindicated over the revelation that they padded the 2016 budget.

By sahara reporters.

*My Goodness!!!

45 comments:

1. Hehehehehe see Obj the prof of corruption calling saraki corrupt. There's nothing we won't hear or see in this country.

1. Hahahaha,i said this yesterday.If Saraki is outta the way,alot of senators will be incapacitated. Saraki is definitely regretting his actions,he thought he could play smart,not knowing that a youth that does not cultivate friendship with the elderly is like a tree without roots. Let him keep relying on the likes of Dino melaye that will be blown out like a candle in the wind. The wise one's among them are retracting their steps now.

2. There we go. I keep saying it that the people around Mr President will frustrate his administration and his fight against corruption. This has nothing to do with any political party. This is about individuals and their selfish interests.

As for trying to get rid of Saraki, if this report is anything to go by. Let me state here that Buhari has a personal grudge against Saraki which dates back to when his father, senior Saraki, was still alive.

The story goes that when the gubernatorial bid in kwara state was ongoing... Saraki Junior and senior were obviously fighting to bring in their respective successor after Bukola. Their father wanted Gbemi, while Bukola brought in somebody else.

Now, Buhari who was close to Saraki senior was not comfortable with the father and son tussle for power in kwara state. And as a close family friend of the Sarakis, he took a trip all the way to Kwara to plead with Bukola not to disgrace his father's authority by allowing him (Saraki senior) to bring a successor.

Buhari had a heart to heart discussion with Bukola, giving him words of wisdom as an elder that it'll destroy the Saraki' political dynasty if Bukola didn't stop to contend with his father who was highly revered in the state. After the closed door meeting, Bukola thanked Buhari profusely and promised to sheath his sword with his father. On that note Buhari felt honoured, thanked Bukola and made his way back to his base.

Buhari was still on his road trip back to the north when he heard that Bukola had presented his candidate against his advice. He tricked Buhari into believing that he wouldn't oppose his father against Gbemi. This singular act by Bukola hurt Buhari so much that he said if he as an old man could embark on such a journey to appeal to this young man, and he didn't listen, that he could only imagine what his father was going through. Buhari concluded Bukola was simply greedy and would seek power at all cost no matter whose ox is gored.

So ever since then Buhari distanced himself from Bukola Saraki, even though he had utmost respect and love for senior Saraki. It was the last general elections that just brought Bukola close to Buhari again. But he has always been mindful of him and he knows Bukola is an overly ambitious man. So imagine how hurt he was yet again, when Bukola played out his trick to become SP. It simply reminded Buhari of his personal encounter with Bukola and this time, he won't let him get away with it. Call it a personal vendetta if you wish.

So if the above statement was allegedly made by OBJ to Buhari, it may not be far from the truth based on Saraki's antecedent.

Ewoo everlasting epistle.
      OK bye

3. @sisi eko that was when Bukola brought in his close friend Mohammed Lawal but they later fell out before Lawal died.

4. Hmmmm @ Sisi.
      Don't have anything against Bukola. Infact I think I kinda dig him but there is just something not quite right somewhere with him. And if this report is true,den Bukola is a goner. I saw him on the News a couple of days ago and he seemed to "know all these"

5. @sisi eko we all know this story but am very sure if Buhari has personal issue with saraki it won't be because of this story. Saraki issue with Buhari started when he went against the party to nominate himself as senate president. I see saraki going back to PDP!

2. What is more rogue than ousting a democratically elected government via military coup and SHAMELESSLY returning decades later to benefit from same democratic process that he abused and opening his gap tooth to say he's fighting corruption. Let him fight himself first

1. I'm sure you weren't born then the reason for your lack of knowledge on the point you made.

3. I pray to night the God of this nation will bring help to the president to remove all this thieves, am sure there are still some Judges with the fear of God and friend of the poor, soon very soon our president will get connected to them. Awon ole buruku.

4. See advice.
    All these old tired men should just dissapear let's start Nigeria from the beginning.

1. It might interest you to know that our beloved ex president Jonathan is also helping Buhari with his fight against corruption. Yes indeed. Albeit behind closed doors.

5. The godfather @ obj. He can't do no wrong.

6. These men should go and sitdown.
    They should be resting at home or chilling under a mango tree receiving fresh air and telling stories to their grand/great grand kids. But no....they keep acting like Nigeria is for them alone and keep hunting those not willing to kiss your wrinkled and smelly ass.

Get angry over my comment and have hbp

7. They are all corrupt, this old men should shift make youths see road abeg!

8. A man that shamelessly slept with his son's wife has no business giving advice to any human being.

1. I'm sure you were present during the act.

9. Buhari should probe obasanjo for using business men to bribe senators for selfish aims.Old Abeokuta tortoise

1. For what stupid selfish aims.do you think if obj had acted like the idiot Joan we would have come out of the 2009 recession that easy

10. This two old men irritates the shit out of me...
    Why won't Nigeria be backward?...Just look at the kind of people advising Vuharia...
    Mtcheeww...

1. Your must be disappointed in themselves for given birth to you because I know you don't have ounce of respect for them. Alaileko Omo.

2. Can people please be decent and stop the insult, most of you just cure abuse and say crap without reasoning.

11. Obasanjo should bury his head in shame. He is one of the leaders that put this country in this current state of doldrum. Despite making huge sum of revenue from the high oil price ($145/barrel) during his reign, he did not achieve anything.

1. May God punish you for what you just said about obasanjo.
      Bloody ungrateful fool.

2. He left over 30 billion dollars I savings, because of days like this.

12. corrupt man, see advice. Bubu this man wants us to include ur name in d list of past leaders.

13. Whenever I see Sahara Reporters quote "presidency sources" I know Fake Pastor Vice President Osinbajo has started with his lies again. When Buhari leaks they say "the President". Once they say "presidency" na mere commissioner fake pastor vp that worships Thiefnubu instead of God. They should give it up already, Saraki is there to stay. Best SP ever n the only progressive innovator in the useless APC govt. Chai Buhari don't face your work, keep fighting Saraki, no second term for Mumuhari.

1. EFCC will soon knock at your door. Saraki is using you to hide the money he stole abi?? And how dare you insult VP Oshinbajo??? Who arrested him and made you judge over his life??? Get a life and stop being a retard

14. We rush to believe everything we read.

15. Scammers, corrupt leaders , na today www.linksafrik.com

16. Obj de corruption fight ought to start from ur regime. Buhari u better think of ways to better de country n stop de whirlwind corruption charade.

Its good to be back again. Missed de blog n u all

17. Does seperation of powers btw the executive, legislature and judiciary still exist in Naija? Just asking bcos what OBJ implied feels completely opposite to what should obtain in a democracy. Nawa-wa 4 this kind vision, sha.

18. Obasanjo keeps moving like a Chameleon, he built the corruption-train and allowed people got away with it. Ajala should re-open the Halliburton scandal let's see how far Obj would go since he (Ajala) wants to keep arresting till his tenure finishes.

What he said might be true but is he innocent "corruption-free"? How did he acquire the otta farm land, library land, etc?

19. Oh please! Imagine this old fool Obasanjo advicing Bugharia. Seriously? This is akin to a thief telling the police how to catch another thief. When we all know that the two thieves plus the police are criminals.
    Someone tell that old fool to keep his gutters shut and spend the little time he has left making peace with God.
    Old he-goat!

20. All I see in the is article is serious shade for OBJ...and once again, Buhari is made out to be a saint( oh no, I can't use money to remove them cos I'm so holy bla bla bla.kikikikiki

Nicely played, SR. Very nicely played!!

21. OBJ should go and hide his face 😔 somewhere jare, put calling kettle black.

22. This @sisieko rewriting of history as chief mis-authority on Saraki family get as e be. Is it General Mohammed Buhari that overthrew Shagari's government and locked up then Senate Leader Oloye Olusola Saraki the father of Senate President Bukola Saraki in his gulag for daring to summon him to Senate probe on missing oil millions is the President Muhammadu Buhari you are calling close friend of the family? The same Buhari that used Tunde Idiagbon to attempt break Saraki senior's political authority that you are now calling protector of father-son arrangement to keep power within Saraki network that is now the judge on jury of Saraki father-son political abracadabra? Or the supposedly democratic President Buhari that could not win 2011 election from CPC is the person that took offence that Bukola Saraki (then pdp) did not undemocratically impose his sister (in ACPN) as his successor as governor? Chai Sisi Eko Chai Buhari. Buhari is deceptive alright but that your epistle na conveniently inconvenient lie.