Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Prison Where Inmates Pay Between N30,000 To N100,000 To Watch Movies, Use iPhones And iPads

Saturday, July 09, 2016

Nigerian Prison Where Inmates Pay Between N30,000 To N100,000 To Watch Movies, Use iPhones And iPads

Established in 1861, the Nigeria Prisons Service was created to  take into lawful custody all those certified by courts of competent jurisdiction, to be kept, produce in courts as and when due as well as   reform inmates who for one reason or the other find themselves in custody.

Unfortunately, the rot and corrupt practices in the Nigeria Prison Service are gradually defeating the purpose of its establishment. Over the years, cases of alleged extortion of inmates by warders, sale of food items, rental of VIP cells to well-to-do inmates, conversion of gift items donated by NGOs and religious bodies, are some of the rot in the system.

Crime Guard spoke to a 32-year-old Liberian simply called Andre (surname withheld), who was released from Medium Prison, Kirikiri, on Monday, June 27, 2016 after spending four months in prison custody for car theft. Excerpts: “My trouble started immediately I was handed over to the warder after being taken to the court in Ikeja.  

The warder asked me to pay N1000. I gave him the N500  I had with me and my Investigation Police Officer (IPO) gave him additional N500 as transportation to the prison. As soon as I got to the prison, I was taken to a cell called the 

Welcome cell.”

Welcome cell It was a new experience for him, he said, and added: “Inside the Welcome cell, I was beaten by fellow inmates that night because I had no money to pay for the cell fee, before I was taken to the general cells.” 

Inside the cell

Narrating his ordeal, Andre who studied computer science and mathematics at the University of Calabar, Cross River State, said that inside the prison, they have special section for VIPs, where inmates who have the resources pay between N30,000 to N100,000 depending on how well furnished the rooms are. Some of the VIP rooms, according to findings, have fans and radio. Such inmates, Crime Guard gathered, are allowed to use mosquito nets, iPhones and iPads. Further findings revealed that they also watch movies while the general cells are for inmates who can’t afford the VIP cells. Cell 

“In the general cells, we have about 65 to 75 inmates.  The cells include H1, H2, H3 and H4, while the VIP cells are C2, K4, New Building, Abia House, built by a former governor of Abia State. “Some of the inmates who are currently residing in the VIP cells are Philip Osas who is facing charges on armed robbery. He occupies K4 cell. Also, there are one Kola and Ifeanyi who have been facing robbery charges for six years. Ifeanyi was released two weeks ago by a Lagos State High Court. One Mr Akpan from Akwa Ibom State lives in C2 cell; he has been there for the past two years.”

Extortion of inmates 

According to him, “Each cell has a marshal who is like the president in charge of the cell. Each marshal buys the position from the warders and generates revenue for the warders. “Warders usually collect money from inmates to install them as marshal. Marshals pay the warders money to enable inmates cook in the cell. They pay money to warders and also buy new inmates who are kept in their cells like slaves. 

‘Inmates are bought for between N500 to N1000’ “

These inmates are extorted by the marshals. During the four months I spent, I paid twice to repair federal vehicles that took us to court. I had to pay for vehicle tyres to be bought. “If inmates don’t contribute money for the repair of the vehicle or for buying of tyres, they won’t be taken to court especially for those whose cases are still awaiting trial. “The last time, we were made to contribute N350,000 from the 52 cells in the prison. The headache before I left was that every week, cells were made to contribute N1,300 which they use to purchase diesel for generator. The generator was bought by an ex-inmate who was released two months ago. “He gave them money to buy diesel for a year but unknown to the donor, we were being extorted. 

The chief warder informed us that the prison spends about N750 to feed each inmate daily, but the quality of food we are given cannot be served to a village dog because it is poisonous. “For instance, the soup for garri is made from grounded beans, no salt, no pepper, and no oil. In prison language it is called shapa. “The warders sell 75 per cent of the food items to inmates who have money. These inmates in turn resell the food stuff in retail qualities to other inmates who don’t eat from the daily food rations served in the prison.

Extortion at the clinic “

Another avenue where the warders extort inmates is via the prison clinic. The doctors and nurses sell to them, free drugs meant for sick inmates. There was a time I wasn’t feeling too well, and I was forced to purchase two sachets of Ampiclox from the clinic for N500. Several inmates have died as a result of improper medical care. 

Improper medical care “

Each time our family members, friends or relatives send recharge cards to us, the warders make money. For instance, they give us N1000 for N1,500 airtime and N600 for N1000 airtime. Some of them even claim that the pin has been used after they have recharged it. “Any attempt to ask about the card will result in the inmate being taken to the punishment cell called Angola and before release; he would pay N5000 to the chief warder in charge of the yard. Every money collected from the inmates passes through this department. “Whenever non-governmental organizations, NGOs, religious groups or philanthropists bring gifts to the prison for inmates’ upkeep, the gifts are seized by the warders at the gate and thereafter, used by the warders for personal use. They claim that visiting is free but at the end of the day, they would collect money from relatives to allow them have access to us. Our relatives are forced to pay N1000 to be allowed to see us. If a visiting relative gives an inmate N1000, the warders will take N500 and give the inmate N500. 

Case of sodomy

“There was a case of a marshal in 03 cell who was awaiting trial for rape and murder. He bought two young men who had no prison experience. Every night, he took turns to rape these inmates. The rape continued until the young inmates felt they had had enough and so reported to the chief warder. Surprisingly, no punishment was meted out to the marshal. Neither was the young men taken out of the cell. Luckily, he was released a few weeks later.

Denial 

Reacting to the allegations, the Public Relation Officer of Nigeria Prisons, Lagos State, Deputy  Superintendent  of Prison, O.O Oladokun said, “I appreciate the fact that you have made effort to verify. Those claims are far from the truth. There is no atom of truth in these allegations. No such thing exists that is happening in the Kirikiri Medium Prison.”

Vanguard reportage

50 comments:

1. Wow, things are happening oo. Corruption even in prisons . Why am I not surprised .

1. A man was docked for fraud. Yet the man will go and check the house he was building from prison. Had a 2 gen running 12hrs daily each.

2. Where do they get such amount of money n gadget?

1. What that guy said is true. I have a friend who was released from jail last year

3. Chai!

There's nothing as sweet as freedom.

4. Na wa ooo...dis country is messed up abeg i wan port ooo...

5. Oga DSP sharap all this person said it's true,stop lying we see them everyday,the rich 1s are kept in better cells & even eat good foods because they settle the prison warders while the poor are kept in the normal prison cells,Even when Rev king was there he was living large,celebrated his bday & even organised football competition for academy's that are invited to play & after then he gives whoever wins money all this we know cos I stay in that area

6. Everything this guy is saying is true, it happens even in Afokang prison in calabar, i had a relative there that was wrongly accused of murder, i always cried whenever we visited him. Thank God he has been discharged and acquitted. Nigerian prisons destroy not reform you.

7. O O Oladokun is a useless man and I pray God sends a decent of his generation to a cell of such. His denial is a demonstration of the rot in the system where nobody is different from the rest.

8. What a shame.Corruption has eaten deep in the soul of this nation.the worst id that no organization will look into this,absolutely nothing works in this country,an average Nigerian has no say, we are merely existing. God help us

9. Bustted!!!!
    Thé prison official re thé most corrupt
    Everything thé ex inmate said us true
    I Sp believed it
    I dont expect thèm to own up either

1. Look who is here!
      The Goddess herself!
      Where have u been chick?
      Bet u are A-ok and ur end too.
      Warm hugs babe.

10. Anonymous? Lol9 July 2016 at 10:01

No be today nah!
    whispering... I had a big Bros back in the days, una go sabi am, he used to attend parties & go clubbing, from kirikiri! Pay lawyer fees for inmates, give their families money, act like Robin Hood sha. Hmmmm

1. Kai!

And I am reminded of that Movie once again.
      That movie tortured me the first time I watched it.
      And anytime I remember it. "In Hell"

11. I do not expect him to accept the allegation as a fact.God will not allow innocent ppl to be sent to Nigeria prison.na pure hell fire.

12. Not surprise!!!
    Things are happening..

13. Tot it Ws Ruben. So I dint not read.

14. God wil purnish dat dep supt of prisons,idiot all Andre said is true.

15. Jesus!...
    I reject anything that will make me go to prison in Nigeria...
    I wonder how Ibinabo survived...me that is delicate will just die after two days there...
    I thought Vuharia is fighting kworoption?...he should extend the fake kworoption fight to these people nau even those ones in IDP camp...
    Yeye dey smell!..
    Even those idiots that works at motherless babies home take all the goodies donated to the poor kids for their personal use!...

That's why I donate things only to my hungry village people or church members...I don't want to be a Mugu biko...

1. Lol with all ur mouth u say u go due in two days for naija prison lol

2. Fool uwill end up there if u dnt stop calling Buhari's name.

3. Hahahhahahaha dis cracked me up.
      Linda o!!!!
      LMAO @ reject anything dat wil make me go to prison in Nigeria. Hahahhahahaha
      Now stop Calling our President's name without respect Linda! Pls mind ur utterances! This is a friendly advice o. As u just revealed u don't like Naija prisons.
      LWKMD! You are just a nutcase!

16. Shame on Nigeria and these allegations are SO TRUE!!!
    Which way Nigeria? Being in prison shouldn't be a death sentence. Everyday they scream prison reform but never do anything.

17. Hmmmmmm. Wat did APC do about it

18. Na WA o for dis Nigeria prison. in God Grace we will not be d intimate of prison

19. Stella, this is so true.

Let me narrate my own story to u when I went to visit a church member who borrowed money and didn't pay the company back.

When he was arrested, my friend and I decided to visit him as per good church members.

We got to medium prison kirikiri, we were asked to write a letter to see him. We paid 100 naira for paper (2 of us), we paid 50 naira for envelope. Remember everything we r paying, we pay for two. Then after paying and writing the letter, we gave the person who will submit it 1k.

Then when we entered, we gave the warden 1k to allow us in. We entered and sat down but first we registered with another 1k.

I was already squeezing my face self say wetin, just to see person all my money go finish? How much will I give the inmate na?

The person we sent to go and call him was given 5h. He's an inmate too. So the man came, under 2 weeks, brother don dry finish.

He started narrating different rooms and places in the prison. Fear gripped me. Said the first place he was taken to was the 'water' room abi na wetin. Room was filled with water up to his nose level and he almost died. Ha! Just to torture him o. After that he paid and he was allowed to go out, go to the carpentry workshop, church etc.

Said he's sleeping on a mat and he paid 1k for it coz normally u sleep on the bare floor.

That the egusi soup is just grinded egusi poured inside water with no oil. Lol. I almost cried 4 him.

Man wey dey chop life before o.

Anyway, we gave him 3k to pay for small bed and money for small expenses.

And that period was when Al-Mustapha was in maximum prison. He said he had a restaurant in Lagos and they bring food for him everyday. He has a furnished room, gym, everything. According to the man. I was shocked. I was like 'r they allowed to av all that'? He said yes, money makes the impossible become possible.

Kirikiri is not a place for normal humans abeg.

1. Are you serious??...
      Well giving a tip before seeing an inmate is normal even in the US...
      But Nigerians own is disgraceful!...

2. Na wa. Jasmine I hope that your church worker is out now? Nigerian prisons are terrible God forbid

3. He's out now @ trinity. Even to borrow broom, he won't even dare.

The queen, seems u've not gone to visit sum1 there. Just go for outreach with churches and see for yourself.

I also saw one of my secondary school mate there. Ha! The guy was looking at me, I was hiding my face. And to think he was such a quiet dude then. I heard he fought and stabbed someone. The gf came to visit him and she's even pregnant.

Forget o, this life na pot of beans o

20. Its obvious the PRO is covering up. I think i will resume watching 'Orange is the new black.' It depicts prison life, i was struggling with watching it but with this revelation I'm going back to it.

1. Orange is the new black is nothing compared to naija prison

21. Dsp Oladokun u will one day be an inmate in that prison.u r a stupid liar.corrupt bastards

22. May I not be found there in Jesus' name,Amen.

23. Too bad, I feel for the innocent ones in the prison but for the criminals, they deserve it, so you want them to treat you nice so when you are released, you will go back to your evil ways, after all they treated you well the last time you were there. its a place to learn from your mistakes, to have sober reflection and not a place for enjoyment.

24. OM Days, to say I am utterly disgusted is putting it mildly. This country has a long way to go before we can begin to see the most sought after change. There is need for a total re orientation of the mindset of each of us in this country. We keep looking up to Buhari to effect change when our mind sets are as corrupt as a decomposed body. Tueh!

25. O.O Oladokun is a blatant liar. You guys keep extorting money from inmates until one day you find yourself in 'Angola' in Kirikiri.

Corruption personified O.O Oladokun, repent and fear GOD.

26. No wonder they said the worst place to be after mortuary is prison. Corruption has eaten deep into our system that is why you see people insulting PMB with his good intention.

27. Nigeria is a failed state in all aspect.

28. Sometimes, most of this hardened criminals don't leave the prison yard even after they've been released o. I know of one 'idiot' in my former area, Jimmy. Dude refused to leave kirikiri coz according to him, he doesn't pay nepa bill or house rent so he wants to stay back. He was forcefully thrown out and they he went to fight some one, stabbed the person and was sent back.

Some that are lucky ran away when principal's cup was been played those days when I was still going to watch at kirikiri. Stella, forget issue, the innocent ones are suffering badly in there.

But the suffer starts from the court cell abi what do they even call it? Then second round of beating inside black Maria van b4 u get another dose inside the cell.

I've followed up with a case as 'helper' to a lawyer so I know what I saw.

Naija no be am at all. Anybody that goes to kirikiri and don't change, just know the person is a hardened criminal

29. Did I just read all this?? Jesus Christ!! The PRO is a bloody liar. I'm sure he is the principal beneficiary if the rot in the prison system. Buhari should look into this matter if he really wants to fight corruption, not chasing after his opponents upandan. This is corruption personified.

30. Prostitutes were once arrested and deported to Nigeria.I can't remember if it's alagbon or kirikiri.according to the gist,warders buy condom for the girls to do shortime with warders or other inmates...I was shocked

31. Hey Jehovah!!!!! God pls dont let me commit any action knowingly or unknowingly that cld make me land here.. *tears*

32. Why are we all shocked? NIGERIA is a terrible country on its own where most people derive joy in stealing and cheating, bloody criminals everywhere, this is the reason I don't pity most peeps, go to shoprite in ikeja mall, where they were told to serve free drinks after buying food, the front desk peeps were busy selling the drinks behind the owner of the place, criminals everywhere,if they are sacked they start looking for jobs and begging