Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Killed in Fermo Racist Attack

Friday, July 08, 2016

Nigerian Killed in Fermo Racist Attack

Have you seen this News?I am just seeing it..So sad!

A man has been arrested by Italian police investigating the killing of a Nigerian immigrant which the government has condemned as a racist attack.

CHIDI AND HIS PARTNER CHINYERE

Police say a row broke out at Fermo, a town on Italy's east coast, when racist abuse was hurled at the partner of Emmanuel Chidi Namdi, 36.
The violence escalated when a traffic pole was pulled from the ground. The victim later died in hospital.

A local man described as a well-known "ultra" football fan is being held.
Amedeo Mancini, 35, was arrested on Thursday on suspicion of racially aggravated manslaughter. His lawyer said he "did not mean to kill" and that he had punched the Nigerian in self defence.

Fleeing Boko Haram
Emmanuel Chidi fled Nigeria with his partner Chinyere, 24, after their families came under attack from jihadist group Boko Haram.
Their families were killed in an attack on a Nigerian church in 2015, Italian media reported.

As the couple made their way across the Mediterranean, their baby died.

They finally arrived in Fermo last November and were taken in by a local Christian charity. They had a wedding ceremony in January, conducted by local priest Father Vinicio Albanesi, which was unofficial because they had lost their documents, Rai TV reported.

What happened on Tuesday evening is unclear. However, it is thought that the attacker subjected Chinyere to racist chanting and then grabbed her.
At that point the traffic pole was pulled out of the ground as Emmanuel Chidi and his attacker came to blows. He was taken to hospital in a coma but never recovered.

Local churches which have worked with migrants have recently been targeted by small bombs, according to Father Vinicio Albanesi.

Prime Minister Matteo Renzi was among many across Italy who took to social media to express disgust at the killing, using the hashtag Emmanuel.
"The government today is in Fermo with Don Vinicio and the local institutions in memory of Emmanuel. Against hate, racism and violence," he wrote.

Visiting the town, Interior Minister Angelino Alfano told reporters on Thursday that the seed of racism had to be stopped before it could bear fruit. "The heart of Italy isn't represented by those who carried out this murder."
He also announced that Emmanuel Chidi's partner Chinyere had been granted refugee status.

bbc

22 comments:

1. I remember when Charity posted this dress and another lovely gown asking followers to choose A or B on the day she exchanged vows with Chidi. I was in shock to read her Lil baby died, I had no idea. This is a terrible way to lose a husband. Very terrible. I pray God's grace on her.

2. Killer should be brought to book. Igbo boys go back to Igbo land, there is no boko haram there (thats if you were ever in the north). See what has come upon one family because of seeking for greener pastures through lies and deceit.

2. So sad, e get smtn wey dey pursue dis chidi guy to kill am! 😒😔😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😣😭😭😭😭😭

3. Saw it on cnn yesterday. Na the lies wen come follow am erhhh!
    Fleeing from boko haram
    Boko haram killed his parents
    Lost their baby while crossing the Mediterranean
    Lost their passports
    She had miscarriage when they got to Italy ((they still have time to fuck while seeking asylum, "inside church")
    What dey fuck! Italy is broke!!!! Y'all going to be begging on the fucking street

1. Please take it easy, dey r married so y won't dey f**k.

2. Hahahahaha you are on point with ur comment.

3. Italy,Spain and France are the easiest country to get to from Africa....they will later make their way to other countries once they get legalised.

4. I read this and I'm just tired. Died while defending his wife from all those bloody racist.. I also read the person who killed the husband is I'm the habit of insulting blacks in that vicinity, calling them monkeys and so many other names. Attacking them physically and much more. I'm just tired..

1. I've lived in Europe, Asia and the middle east. The secret is you should restrain yourself and don't react no matter what. I've been called monkey, gorilla and had bananas tossed at me but didn't react. They try to make you angry and when you react, they then have a reason to attack you in "self defence".

DO NOT REACT because more than half the time the police won't even do anything about it and you could lose your life

2. Exactly .. No matter d name u are called, just waka, it won't kill u

5. TF...justice should be served...anyvother tin is bullsh!t...

6. Hey ya... R.I.P chiboy. Chibaby, enjoy ur stay. The lord is your strenght.

7. Dont understand what is going on self

8. Stella did you watch the video of his partner singing in ibo at his funeral? Heartbreaking. .😢😢

9. It's heart wrenching, and it's also an avenue for a wake-up call to Italians especially those that blames the black africans for their economical misfortunes. It's so sad Chidi was a victim. Chinyere May God give u the fortitude to bear this great loss.Adieu Emmanuel Chidi !

10. Deep sigh.. RIP Chidi. May God grant Chi d fortitude to bear the loss.