Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Niger Delta's Loss Is Lagos State's Gain

Monday, July 04, 2016

Niger Delta's Loss Is Lagos State's Gain

I dont Understand this reportage,please someone should explain for those of us that do not....

57 comments:

1. Hmmmmmmmm what a pity for Niger delta. Sorry for them.

Stella how far with that Ecobank lady case. we have not heard from the people that were caught.

1. 100% true abi? U and the person way write this shit no get sense. So the niger delta is not peaceful but dangote cement they come? It's not peaceful,but him trucks keeps coming to the Niger delta every minute? It will please you to know that the cos of all this blowing is because of issues like this, don't worry as the refinery dey lagos,he should get the oil he wants to refine in lagos, as e done forget say he needs pipes to take crude from the niger delta to lagos, let's see if they will not blow it up. My adivse build it where you get ur oil from and they will guard it for you. Abi you hear say wari and port harcourt refinery done go up in flames? Comin sense no really common

2. Dude Lagos has oil now

3. Where are they going to get the raw oil to refine nah ..same Niger Delta abi?? make una sofri dey yarn ..

1. There's oil in Lagos now

2. Oil in lagos can't even serve lagos state talk more of Nigeria

4. Makes no sense too considering that the big refineries were always located elsewhere.

Where will they source for the raw materials? The propaganda-crude oil that Lagos claim to be producing cannot fuel a tank. Quarter of the total oil Lagos produces can be gotten from one oil well in the Niger Delta. If the Avengers and co restrict exploration from their region, Dangote will be building in vain.

So, in the end. Its wise to listen to them and compromise

1. Call it propaganda all you want. Dangote is africas richest and most successful man. Do you think he got that status by not being able to discern facts and plan strategically? With all his experience, do you think he'll invest so much without verification of oil sources in Lagos? Do you think he'll not plan for or expect continued agitation from the Niger Delta? Did you do your own inspection of the supposed oil locations in
      Lagos?

Once again you've proven yourself to be nothing more than a pseudo-intellectual. Abeg nyash down jor

2. Anonymous 16:00, thank you so much for putting one of the "over-sabis" on this blog in his/her place. They just blab nonsense all the time, displaying their ignorance and stupidity. They always come up like they know all yet theyv got no clue; typical of the pseudo-intellectual..Annoying bunch!!

3. Madam anon, Bonar part is right, stop arguing. The oil lagos produce won't even do the citizens of lagos talk more of Nigeria so he will still source for oil in the niger delta to refine..

There is refinery In kaduna, doesn't mean their is oil there. They still source for oil in Nigeria delta. Same thing Dangote will do

4. Dangote's refinery can take crude from anywhere so it doesn't have to be from the Niger Delta. Remember that a whole lot more nations are discovering crude so he will buy from anywhere and bring the vessels of crude to his refinery. He is not running pipes for some so called 'Avengers' to blow up

5. Anon 16:00 your comment is what my boss would call a superior argument. Spot on

6. So much rancour and bitterness. Infuriated much?

Well, what I said is trite and lucid enough so, argue all you want or state that it is pseudo-intelligence. Your problem really. When the time comes, you will see where the source of oil will come. Whether from the gulfs of arabia or waters of nile.

As for Dangote, its erroneous and misconstrued to think he's the one who wrote the facebook post. He hasnt said he wont be exploring from the Niger Delta or divulged why his oil refineries arent located in same. The opinion of trolls is their own. The decision of Dangote is his. So, why the assumption that he built it in Lagos to mine Lagos oil or didnt build it in say, Rivers for fear.

History will always keep repeating itself. Lets see where his refineries will source their oil from. Whether they'll import crude from ships coming from Iran or they'll simply collaborate with Federal Government to get locally produced crude oil(chiefly found in the Niger Delta). Lmao! @Anon 17:37

7. Anonymous,without the "over sabis" on this blog,you will not have anywhere to perch.

People like you will never drop a constructive comment,good or bad. You lurk in the shadows waiting for people with the same head you have to type a comment(right or wrong) then you pounce.

The painful part is that you ended up not even giving anyone something to read here. Empty!

The bitter truth is that I didn't go past your first line. How will you ever stand out?

8. Anonymous 17.37, incase you don't know I'll like to educate you the refinery in kaduna would never exist in a sane society. Such can only exist in a zoo like Nigeria. Are you aware that the kaduna refinery most of the time is dormant because it doesn't define our locally produced crude. Before the refinery was built the engineers in charge tried to educate the federal government of the need to quash the idea but even after giving reasons, concrete reasons at that, they still wouldn't give up the idea because of the crazy quota system that applies in Nigeria.

1. A factory should always be close to the source of it's raw materials I.e. A refinery should be close to the source of crude. Every wassce holder should know this because it's basic economics knowledge.

2. In kaduna, the crude used to realise petroleum end products is not our London light, sweet crude which is sourced in west Africa but very heavy lead, laden crude that is sourced in the likes of Venezuela. Ask me why, because if our locally sourced crude is used, before it would get to the refinery, the heat generated by pumping the crude from the point of exploration would even can even lead to the end products bring distilled into its various constituents within the pipeline and that could result in explosions especially from pms. As a result of this, Heavy crude is pumped to kaduna for refining process. How much common sense is it to import crude from Venezuela to produce petroleum products when we source way better crude in Nigeria? Ngwa answer!

3) The Nigerian government wouldn't want her citizens to know these facts so that the north can still keep labelling the south-south and ibos as the enemies of Nigeria whereas the northern leaders have always being enemies to the Nigerian state as well as the northern masses. They build koranic schools for their masses whereas send their children to the best schools abroad. The abachas, the yaraduas, the atikus and babangidas will keep leading because they'll keep passing the baton of leadership to their children but who hears about azikiwe and awolowo's children? Anonymous, Dangote will be a fool to site his refinery in Lagos. Forget the propaganda, the truth remains that oil from Lagos is insufficient to run a refinery. We are not talking about a pure water factory please.

9. Your argument only shows that you are very myopic about your points. There are countries without a drop of oil and have several refineries... ghana which is very close by to you has 2, the USA had refineries even before oil was discovered in texas. So stop being and ethnic bigot.

5. Something is written in plain English but you say you don't understand.
    Read it properly and you will understand.

6. It's simple arithmetics. Investors will leave Niger Delta with their problem and turn elsewhere to invest.
    You cant imagine a reasonable investor to take his or her hard earned cash to invest in a volatile area, where there's no peace, lazy people around unwilling to work, just want free money and booze away.
    Even Asari Dokubo no get investment there.

1. Thank you o! Asari Dokynbo has a University in a neighbouring country, can you beat that?

7. We Don't need any rubbish refinery we have had enough of environmental pollution. Let Lagos have a feel of the bad air we breath in the Niger Delta

8. hmm...may God help us in Niger delta
    @Stella, usually, when a company decides to site its business in a state or community, there are usually expectations from the community/state that needs to be fulfilled/considered, like having to employ a certain number of indegenes from that state/community, community development, tax, as well as other businesses springing up as a result of the establishment of the company/refinery.

What this means for Niger delta in this case is that we have not only lost extra income (taxes) in the State, but it also means that we have missed out on employment opportunities, state development as a result of the existence of the refinery, scholarships and correlating growth and development.

No sane businessman would site a project of this magnitude in an unstable environment especially as we are prone to spontaneous violence at the least provocation...I just hope we sit ourselves down and tell ourselves the hard truth because at the end of the day, given the uncertainties of the future of Nigeria, each State govt. have to employ devices to generate extra income for their State, apart from the FG allocation.

My two cents.

9. The rich people from Edo and Benin should build theirs with their own money in Edo and Benin. Stop questioning the reason why a man spends his money where he wants to spend it. It's his money, it's his business, it's his choice, if it all goes wrong it's his headache.

10. Story for the gods.
    What of Dangote s northerner Muslim brother, Alh Indimi that donated N4.2B to an American University, is his source of income not in the Niger Delta? Why didn't he donate the money to a Niger Delta University? The truth is that these people are milking the Niger Deltans and using it to develop their places. What of all the money they are spending in Abuja, Kano and Lagos? Are the money not from oil,?
    The Niger Deltans has the right to demand for equity and justice in Nigeria.

1. I thought you said they are traitors?

2. What a man decides to spend his money on is no man's business. And for the record, I'm from the Niger Delta and I can tell you for a fact that, the region would have been the same as that of Abuja if not for the constant fights particularly between the Ijaws and Itsekiris. Remember the EPZ conglomerate that was to generate a lot of jobs for the region? Have you bothered to ask, why no one is talking about it anymore, even after Jonathan commissioned it? The truth is, the avengers are not fighting for their rights, they are fighting for the right to continue bunkering. The destruction done on the land was as a result of bunkering and it won't stop because they have tasted the blood money(oil money). My heart bleeds everytime, cos my city is now a shadow of itself.

3. Anon19:31, I said they opposed our quest for equity and justice in 1967. And it's a fact.
      How their body dey today?

11. Anonymous? Lol4 July 2016 at 15:08

Stella dey use style seek opinion or she really blank on this?? Lemme help! Stella if u keep sex & food starving papa Mike, rude to him & his family & friends, insult his manhood, mistreat his kids & steal his money, he gonna liv ur cute ass for another woman who'll treat him right. Replace urself with Niger Delta, new woman with Lagos & papa Mike with dangote & other investors. Ditto for your mistreatment for the bombings & kidnaps.

12. The poster wrote the truth, Niger delta is getting to volatile for investors and soon would be a forgetten investment zone like iraq n Pakistan if they continue bombing upandan

13. Very true, but Akwa ibom and Calabar are very peaceful oil producing states.

14. Indimi should donate money to a Niger Delta University so that they can embezzle the money or for militants to blow that one up too right?

15. No investor will invest in a hostile environment, that's a fact, It ain't rocket science. But aside that another major that determined the location of the refinery is the close proximity of Lagos to the sea ports. It makes the Import/Export side of the business less cumbersome.

16. And u will still see some people supporting the Militant...... Smh

17. So you think Dangote just woke up in the morning and chose Lagos because he dreamt about Lagos as a location. You think he didn't bring experts in or do his research and home work properly before he decided to spend money on such an expensive venture in Lagos. You don't know what was discovered in Lagos before he chose it as a location. Not all discoveries are made public.

1. Ur mumu pass the word mumu, so if e discover something in lagos which I believe is oil. So no youruba man or lagosian go like tap from am?
      Na Hausa man go come from
      North come enjoy ur discovery? Fool!

18. So true...it's a pity they would not know the gravity of what they are doing until it's too late.

19. That area of Lagos state is not congested.

20. Dangote never had the intention of siting his refinery in the south south, infact ondo state was his 1st option before the people of the state whose lands were to be used started making silly demands. You should be praying for lagos so they dont end up with the type of environmental degradation niger delta ended with...

1. Well said.

Heard about this Dangote refinery thing long before Lagos crude oil. Hopefully. It wont be the same tale of environmental degradation and dumping toxic waste. Cos the epidermic will be far reaching

21. What if Dangote discovered it himself through his exploration which is very expensive.
    Who told you Yoruba man will not tap from it in one way or the other
    Who sounds like the mumu now.
    Your father is the fool.

22. Same Dangote who does not have a sense of social responsibility? He is as bad as his brother Indimi. Go to a particular area that his tankers ply the road 24/7 . The road is extremely bad in Lagos and he refused to fix it for the use of his tankers . Does he pay good salaries? These rich men are all users.

23. When I read the thought process of Nigerian youths, I weep for that country! I live here in the US a a high level profesional and to be frank,Lagos has got no oil,so we will see whether,it is cow urine that Dangote will refine and moreover why would he build a refinery close to a residential area? Mumu westerners happy for more pollution of your environment. NDA continue to blast all the pipeliness. No time!Let see where they will get crude from? Spineles youth that cannot have a revolution, only to come here to say rubbish!When you have a fulani government that does not represent Nigeria!

24. No qualms with all ur arguements here peeps,just do d niger-delta a favour and break away on ur own,too much talk of investments leaving and whatever gibberish y'll keep on saying,give us a regional of better still let us all break up and run ourselves as independent states,niger-delta aint hustling with any state or region or persons for glory,we gat no time even if u shit diamonds,just let us be on our own,go and stay in ur south-west and north and east,allow us to build,rule or even bomb ourselves,or is that too hard for u so-called intellectual and blessed business minded of the west and north to understand,keep ur oil and whatever u have in lagos to urselves,we in the niger-delta don't give a rat ass.

25. I guess Dangote who is the richest man in Africa is stupid. He just came and will build a refinery without doing feasibility study and know what will profit him.
    Dangote is a shrewd business man, believe me he knows what he's doing.
    As for d Niger delta people na dem know. Tompolo chopped money, Dokubo chopped money. The communities they are fighting for still living in abject poverty.
    Naija ppl, forget fighting for anybody. We are too greedy, once we've fed our mouths and pocket dat is it.
    What Tompolo and Dokubo were fighting for, are the communities any better. The only thing dat got bigger is Asari Dokubo's stomach.
    A lot of dese communities are damn lazy, you shld see how much my company gives them monthly. We call it community expenses.
    Any of our truck that passes, they have money they collect from us before d truck can pass. Even Xmas we give them stuff.
    But guess what d community is still poor, you will see a jeep packed in front of a wretched looking house. Dey will collect dat money use it to buy one jeep to pose and d rest to drink.
    They don't even ask us to give dere wards scholarships or employment.
    Shebi dat one better.
    Let the avengers keep bombing now, na all of us go dey suffer it together.
    The fact is what dese avengers are fighting for which may be good, but they take d money into dere pockets and not make d community better as a whole.
    Can they do what Ken Saro wiwa did? Those where they true Avengers.

26. Bed and roses, how did ur true Avengers, Saro Wiwa and Co end up?
    Were they not killed like goats by the Masters and owners of Nigeria?

27. Dangotes refinery will remain viable as long as Nigeria continues to Favor a select few. If Nigeria is open for business to all its citizens under the same terms, that refinery will go moribund. Something as small as building an efficient refinery, half its seize, near the raw material will shut it down forever.

28. If it pains you that much leave Nigeria, you know where to go.

29. Are you minding them @ heniorlarh, they do nothing for themselves and then they put down those that are trying to do for themselves. Their state government does nothing for them, instead of them to hold their governments accountable they put the blame on everybody else who has no business with them. I am not surprised they are ethnic bigots, when they don't even love and value themselves how can they tolerate others.

30. Hmmmm.....interesting arguments. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, the truth will always remain sacrosanct. The Niger delta story is a sad flick on permanent rewind. Every investor has the prerogative of where to locate the business after carrying out due diligence.

A refinery can be located anywhere irrespective of the source of product. A refinery is like any other processing factory, sourcing of raw material is just another aspect of the chain of production that goes on in the factory.

For those that still don't get it take Singapore as an example, this is a country that has no natural resources, not even drinking water yet it has more refineries than west and east Africa combined. For my Niger delta brothers/sisters violence will never take us there, what is happening in Lagos it's all about working smart and not really about working hard (brain vs muscle)

31. Hmmmm.....interesting arguments. While everyone is entitled to their opinion, the truth will always remain sacrosanct. The Niger delta story is a sad flick on permanent rewind. Every investor has the prerogative of where to locate the business after carrying out due diligence.

A refinery can be located anywhere irrespective of the source of product. A refinery is like any other processing factory, sourcing of raw material is just another aspect of the chain of production that goes on in the factory.

For those that still don't get it take Singapore as an example, this is a country that has no natural resources, not even drinking water yet it has more refineries than west and east Africa combined. For my Niger delta brothers/sisters violence will never take us there, what is happening in Lagos it's all about working smart and not really about working hard (brain vs muscle)