Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mother's Forum..

Monday, July 04, 2016

Mother's Forum..

Where are the Mother's here..!

I am a mum of 3 and my youngest is 8 months old and still breastfeeding. 

I get this mind-numbing, gut-wrenching, 'want-to-pull-your-hair-out' kind of pain when I breastfeed her at night. It comes like clock-work every 5 days. I thought it was because the womb was contracting/shrinking back to its pre-pregnancy state but isn't that for the first few months not this late. 

I've gone to the hospital and they said same thing and that all is well. Yesterday night was unbearable. I was so scared. I nearly passed out from the pain. Plus when I breastfeed my kids, I don't see my period till I stop completely.

Are there any mothers that went through this?
If so, what did they do or take for relief? 
What could be the reason? 

Could the fact that I had all my kids through CS be a contributing factor?

51 comments:

1. Had that experience when he was like days to a month old and my mum said the same thing of the womb going back to its position. For 8 months, its different though

1. Latest promixing training,organic materials,all your skin care products BBM 2B97FEAA Whatsapp 081608453604 July 2016 at 12:12

Had same experience at d 1st month I had my baby later its stopped.but fr 8ths I don't have idea on dat my dear.

2. Am I the only pregnant woman who is ANTI-PANTS?????
      OMG!! The thought of wearing 'em alone sends cold rush of terror down my spine.

3. It's probably ur period trying to come out,d same thing happened to me when my baby was about 4months mehn d pain was something else and after some days my period came.

4. Not only u Arabella. I couldnt stand panties. All i had on was leggings and flared skirts. Enjoy your bump and safe delivery

5. I haven't worn pants in 16 years. Started with me being very uncomfortable wearing them during my 2nd pregnancy.
      And about that pain. Doubt if it should last that long. 8 months is a duzzy.
      Please do a CAT scan or ordinary scan to find out what is happening inside of your womb.
      Let it not be that the surgeon left something undone

2. Not seeing your period while breastfeeding is very normal...
    Please stop breastfeeding your baby nau...you have tried abeg...t's eight months already...
    Hian!...

1. Is there not somebody that is still breast feeding after 15years? The poster still dey learn work

2. Queen are you sure you are really a mum???? Stop at eight months for what.
      Poster breastfeed till 2 years if possible.

3. 2years for what nau?? I stopped breastfeeding at 6months and for one day non of my kids have been sick or anything. Its a choice one dedides. Bt there is no law dt says its meant to be 2 years. If that works for u den fine

4. @ dietitian nezz, when is she then supposed to stop. Can u imagine breastfeed till the baby is 2 years, what nonsense, she should kukuma stop when the baby is about to write W.A.E.C nonsense!!, I made sure my kids stopped at one year. And yes the Queen lady is right, 8 months is enuf, considering the amount of pain she is passing thru.

5. Madam Dietician what do you mean? In this case the woman is in serious pains and she has completed the all important 6mnths exclusive breastfeeding so why should she keep punishing herself when she can use cereals and supplement with formula? Abeggy leave queen alone she is right.

6. Nezz,you are asking if she is a mum cos she advised she should stop?abeg if the pain is much stop breast feeding you have tried at 8 months.just make sure you give your baby comprehensive immunization

7. Nezz is obviously not a mum, if she was a mum, she'll understand the struggle

8. Madam u have tried. Please stop breast feeding. After my 6months exclusive,i give for another month and stop, and they never fell sick. Except my 2nd son that refused pap, so I breast fed till 10months. My twins were just 2months exclusive now,then I introduced milk.

9. She can stop cos of the pains but Queen is fond of telling mum's to stop breastfeeding before one year especially those that are medically okay.
      You guys should go and educate yourselves more on nutrition especially breastfeeding.
      Bye

10. Anon 14:54...I'm a proud mum and so have seen the positive results of breastfeeding for more than one year

11. Baby frendly is great but I am one of those who can't really do it.
      I do mummy friendly.
      8 months is enough.

12. Pls which one is mummy friendly?

3. Shantelle's Empire4 July 2016 at 11:40

Then stop breastfeeding nau! Start using breast pump or better still introduce formula.

4. madam,ur kid is 8months old,what are u still breastfeeding for if u are passing through this kind of pain?i had breast thrush when i was bfeeding my second child.mehn i nearly died but managed for 8mnts with daily doses of nystatin tabs for me and nystatin drops for my child.how long do u want to bfeed?stop be4 complications come in.8months don try nw abi?

1. No,8months never try
      I breast feed my children up to 1yr though they normally walk at 8/9months
      If u say she shld stop bcx of d pain,fine but breastfeeding a child for just 8mnths n stopping wen there's no problem isn't nice enough
      BTW,am a working class so u dnt think I breastfeed bcx am a sit at home mum

2. Abeg, it's a matter of choice. Breastfeeding is not a do or die affair and in this case if there is no solution to her problem then she needs to stop. She has tried.

3. Spanish lantern I concur.
      In my case, even the doctor had to tell me in the end to give my last born tin milk.
      Even at that, he used to finish a tin of milk within 2 days at one month old! I became sick trying to do baby friendly

5. I will read comments and learn. Mothers over to you.

6. Shantelle's Empire4 July 2016 at 11:48

As for not mensturating while breastfeeding,its good. Breastfeeding is a form of family planning. Doesnt work for every BFmom tho.
    Your period will 'resume' when you stop BFing.

1. Yes breastfeeding and not flying ur red flag doesn't wrk fr me. I start flying my ref flag wen my kids are just 2mnths and trust me,its so derm annoying

2. Breastfeeding, form of family planning? Fallacy! The notion that breastfeeding will prevent period or pregnancy is a the exception, not the rule. All these people getting pregnant 2 months and 6 months etc after delivery, you think all of them were not breastfeeding?

Poster, felt abdominal pain till my baby was almost 4 months. Sometimes , even while I was not nursing. Thank God it has since stopped. Like others said, you could stop breastfeeding and see if it stops. Ndo.

3. Oh dear! Why do some of you like unecessary argument like this eh? Why?
      Amaka read&assimilate before rushing to comment. Did you not see where i said it doesn't work for everyone as every human body is different?
      That it didnt work for you doesnt make it a lie,it worked for some and vice versa. I'm out biko!

ShanzEmpire

7. D pains while breastfeeding usually stops at within d first 2-3months post delivery. So I don't understand y u r still in pains.
    As for d period ish, it's very normal. Mine is like that too and it hasn't affected me in any way.

8. Madam maybe its time for you to stop breast feeding, 8mths is enough. I stopped when I had to go back to work at 6mths.
    As for period its normal, but believe me you can get pregnant. My friend had 3kids withn 4yrs. She never saw her period come back but she was always falling pregnant.

9. I don't undstd d pain o bt I haven't seen my period yet too n my baby is a year old now. I guess dat s normal

10. Go to the hospital ASAP. Hope U're not having intestinal obstruction

11. Eight months breast feeding. It is ok madam before you get more pains.

12. Not seeing ur period while breastfeeding is very normal, i had similar experiences too. Since u passing thru so much pain while not stop the breast feeding.

13. I don't see any pain that has to do with post preggy that doesn't stop. It will stop soon, worry not dear.

14. I know the pain usually last for a month or 2 but for that long is what I'm not certain about. If its too much stress please stop breast feeding..

For the period issh, some people don't see their period untik after bread to feeding like my mom but I saw mine the next month after giving birth despite the fact that I was breast feeding exclusively... I liked it tho. As I was able to work my calender and know my safe and unsafe time. That way no surprise of pregnancy..

15. So sorry about the pain and not seeing your period is a normal thing too. There is nothing wrong in breastfeeding till 1yr. It helps to build ones child immunity. If the pain is so unbearable, then try to stop ok. The love of a mum! So sweet!

16. If this happens only during breastfeeding, then i dont know what to say... I had a similar experience but luckily so did my mum so she came along with herbal medicine for me and it worked.. Just see a doctor just to be on the safe side.

17. Poster why not go for scan.Breastfeeding without menstruation resuming really helped me in my family planning.

18. Pls stop breastfeeding immidiately!

19. #Plenty of people miss their share of happiness, not because they never found it, but because they didn't stop to enjoy it*

20. I heard the period thing is very normal. My little one is 11months already . I had the same experience with breast feeding when he was about a month plus. It continued until he was almost 3months. I went to the hospital too and nothing was detected. I just googled my experience and to my surprise I saw mothers who were going thru same experience too. I got some drugs too and some pain reliever . But with time everything past.

21. Pls has anyone here taken epidural injections during delivery? Did it work? Was there any side effects later?

1. Yes dear @ Spanish lantern . It worked for me bt I had some issues after delivery like serious headache especially while trying to stand up. Bt I was asked to drink enough water and given some drugs. The labor was painless.

22. No side effects. I took it. Just be calm. It worked well for me and by God's grace i had safe delivery. And i wish you the same.

23. Poster, there is no need to worry, is your menstrual period trying to find it circle again. Just be patient, if you can, continue breastfeeding your baby; if you can't bear the pain anymore, just try and stop the breastfeeding.
    Not having your period while you breastfeed is a natural and normal thing. Nothing to be scared of. I still don't have my period yet, because am still breastfeeding and i like it. I'm all for using protection though, period or no period.
    There is nothing wrong in breastfeeding a baby for one year! Any mother can chose to do whats best for her baby.

24. I only had such experience within the first 3 months after delivery. I doubt if an abdominal birth has anything to do with it cause I had one too. Maybe you should see your gynae so you can have some peace. I think you should also check to be sure you aren't pregnant again cause not seeing your period while breastfeeding won't stop you from getting pregnant unless you're doing it exclusively (which still doesn't work for some women). Pregnancy can make ur breasts hurt too at the slightest touch from your baby.

25. Now I know that it's male n single female BVs that sends in 'harsh bad mouth' comments on this blog. Took my tym n read comments on this post n non was that harsh.#maturity.
    Though am not a mum yet but learnt something.