Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ibe Kachickwu Removed As GMD Of NNPC...Now Chairman Of The Board

Monday, July 04, 2016

Ibe Kachickwu Removed As GMD Of NNPC...Now Chairman Of The Board

President Muhammadu Buhari has removed Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu as the group Managing Director of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation and replaced him with Maikanti Baru.

In a press statement issued today in Abuja, the president office stated that Kachikwu as the minister for State for Petroleum will now be the chairman of the Board of the NNPC.

See full statement below:

PRESIDENT BUHARI APPROVES NEW BOARD OF DIRECTORS FOR NNPC

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Board of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC), as provided for under Section 1(2) of the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation Act of 1997, as amended.
The new board is composed of the following:

A. Chairman-Dr Emmanuel Ibe Kachikwu, Honourable Minister of State for Petroleum;
B. Group Managing Director- Dr Maikanti Kacalla Baru;
C. The Permanent Secretary of the Federal Ministry of Finance; and
D. The following six persons:
1. Mallam Abba Kyari
2. Dr Thomas M.A John
3. Dr Pius O. Akinyelure
4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar
5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal, and
6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal.
President Buhari urges the new board to ensure the successful delivery of the mandate of the NNPC, " and serve the nation by upholding the public trust placed on them in managing this critical national asset."

FEMI ADESINA
Special Adviser
(Media and Publicity)
July 4, 2016

72 comments:

1. LOL. I expected it. Buhari has successfully and strategically placed his northern muslim brothers in all the vital post in the country.

1. Which school you go again?

2. Chief executive James. Elevation.

3. Mehn stella some of your BVs are dull. Plus your caption is misleading, he was promoted. Do you dullard know what it means to be the chairman of NNPC? Only thing that's annoying me is that he was replaced with a northerner and almost everyone on the board is a northerner apart from that nothing else

4. Fool cant u see its a promotion????ode oshiii

5. Excuse me MzAnon, which promotion are you talking about? Sometimes is better to keep mum rather than exhibit ignorance on blogs. For Christ sake he's made the chairman of board and not chairman of Nnpc. Jeez! There's nothing like chairman of nnpc, Hell NO. Number 1 in our organization is the GMD followed by GED,then GGM,GM and so on. Please shush it when you are not sure of something. He is so irrelevant now cos he's only min of state for petroleum n not the full min of petroleum therefore the new GMD will not be reporting to him but to Buhari who's the full minister. Pls be guided! Nrs Z.

6. End time illiterate James jamiu d pussy licker

7. Anonymous00:27 I r so on point.hes jst a figure head.Buhari na wah oh.

8. Jeeeeezzzz!!!James are you so dumb?! Olodorabata.....omg!!!! Pls,go back to kindergarten. Read up dumbo,and see that Kachukwu is the numero uno in NNPC....better said-oga patapata.He can hire and fire anybody. He dictates ALL the happenings in that organisation!!!! Inukwa James Onye nzuzu

2. Removed abi Elevated?
    He just got a better promotion including his portfolio as minister of state for petroleum. Congrats to him.

1. Thank you Jay Moore. The chairman of the board is higher in rank than the md. In case there's a tie in vote during meetings, the chairman of the board will decide the fate of the meeting through a casting or second vote.

2. Exactly he was elevated and not removed but I know some tribalistic set of people will come here to spill trash now.

3. Kai! Kai! Kai!

You've been really brainwashed

4. Thank you ooo.

Congrats Dr Kachickwu

5. Eka Joy please don't exhibit your dull self here biko

6. Jaymoore you're wrong and all the taggers behind your comment agreeing with you are all wrong.
      Here is what Kachikwu is right now
      A junior minister
      Chairman of NNPC and that position means nothing cause his signature does nothing
      'Elevated' PRO for petroleum sector.

You put all this together, the guy was demoted.

7. In this matter, Eka Joy is actually d intelligent one.

Kachikwu had been both minister of state (jnr minister and GMD)... d oputa obee of petroleum in 9ja.

Now he has a power balancing mechanism in the board. He is no longer d all in all. Everything will require voting and guess how dat will go? Now all he has is a ceremonial power.

Mumus acting smart.
      #Stella know wetin she talk.

8. Joy, what do you teach your pupils @ school.

9. From principal to pta chairman

10. Jay Moore,Good bless you dearly. So sad how dull,daft and myopic some people reason. No wonder people insult nndi igbo,that we only reason with our anus.!!!!Can't we just put sentiment aside,and see the good in Kachukwu's promotion?Congrats Kachukwu. Udo diri

11. Eka Joy, don't argue with them o. Allow them mislead each other. Promoted indeed

3. He had to replace him with another northern guy...shior!

1. He was promoted kinda and the post given to another person. Na wa for you guys playing the tribal card always

2. I've Google it and it's only in the headlines but there are no quotes. Buhari NEVER SAID an attack on boko haram is an attack on the north. Prove me wrong. That was part of the propaganda that PDP paid 12 news agencies N9 million each for.

Some of the most powerful positions under jonathan where given to the SS, one region, not even the whole south. Diezeani (SS) petroleum minister, okonjo iweala (SS) minister of finance, Emefiele (SS) CBN governor, then there are Arase (SS) AIG, Pius Anyim ( SS) SSG just to name a few. Buhari might be a bigot or picking from 3 regions mostly (NE, NW, NC) but then what will you now call GEJ?

3. Why z NDA taking time blow up the next pipeline?

We the Niger deltans ve been submerged.

4. This is rubbish!! I am not very strong in playing ethnic card but my people, here we have a veeery big ethnic bigot as President!! Kachikwu has been edged out for what? Being very practical? disagreeing with Amaechi? For just what?
    This is crystal clear, Government of the North. Now tell me why any technocrat, expert living in diaspora will sacrifice a well-paying career for this joke of a country?
    Chineke napu ekwensu ike. @Femu Adesina, get ready... you may be next.

1. You're obviously a dunce! Someone was moved from a GMD to a chairman and you're crying, kachikwuku is in his house rejoicing and praising God. Oponu, dullard

2. Vary you okay at all? He was elevated not removed, I don't know why y'all like playing the tribal cards always. The guy was made the chairman of the corporation.

3. @Amakanwa, the chairman position is bigger than the MD position.
      The Chairman is the one the MD goes to for approval before doing any major assignment.
      So please take back your statement abeg.

4. Fool cant u see its a promotion????ode oshiii

5. MzAnon, you get strength o. Leave the dullards alone

6. You are all idiots if you can't see that Ibe Kachickwu has been edged out of power and only made a ceremonial head because of his disagreement with Amaechi and wanting to continue with the Maritime University.....Buhari your end will be worse than Abacha's.

7. Make una receive sense all of u senseless people.

In Emeka and sons. D chairman would b higher. But in a well structured public organization, the board has more power than d chairman.

D chairman's position is ceremonial. The board can vote to veto d chairman.

Buhari knows dat unu enwero uche, dat u will rejoice when u hear chairman, even though d board is lopsidedly constituted.

Ndi biafra ndi ewu... #Chairman, oke aha n'egbu nwa nkita.

8. @MzAnon easy on the curses!! Have you worked in corporate world before? Do you understand power game in such arrangement? I guess your answer is 'no' to both questions. Kachikwu is no longer involved in the day to day running of our Petroleum Ministry. He will now be consulted on matters that requires ratification from the board and guess what? @board meetings, people vote and majority opinion supercedes. Now go and search your mind who truly deserves the eord "dunce". I still maintain that this game of 2019 with Buhari and his Nothern cabal may consume Nigeria.

5. The chairman does not have executive functions most of the time. He only chairs a meeting and together with other members deliberate on what has been brought before him. He can no longer make any decision in his own

1. Anon 22:11 U hit the nail on the head. Don't mind some people that can never say any truth in their life.
      In fact I was very surprised when he was appointed the GMD NNPC. It was UNBUHARI. I know the appointment of Ibe Kachukwu was a political master stroke.
      People were complaining that Buhari was ethnically and religiously biased in all his appointments. So he used Kachukwu to confuse the gullible. He has now "corrected" the mistake.

2. Thank you. Promotion indeed. He has no say anymore. He will not be involved in the running just for board meetings and few other things. He was tactically removed.

6. Buhari!Buhari!Buharia! How many times did I call you?heeei heeei heeei! Another northern affairs

1. I've Google it and it's only in the headlines but there are no quotes. Buhari NEVER SAID an attack on boko haram is an attack on the north. Prove me wrong. That was part of the propaganda that PDP paid 12 news agencies N9 million each for.

Some of the most powerful positions under jonathan where given to the SS, one region, not even the whole south. Diezeani (SS) petroleum minister, okonjo iweala (SS) minister of finance, Emefiele (SS) CBN governor, then there are Arase (SS) AIG, Pius Anyim ( SS) SSG just to name a few. Buhari might be a bigot or picking from 3 regions mostly (NE, NW, NC) but then what will you now call GEJ?

7. Surely today James I am sure you are STUPID with a capital S.
    James did you go to school? Talk true, any tertiary education ? Have you ever worked in an organisation before?
    Who is more superior, Chairman or GMD in an organisation?
    Do you know what a GMD means?
    I seriously advise you do a distant learning programme or go to a satellite campus. Go to ur Alaba stall during the day, go night classes as night.
    You need to stop disgracing urself with your lack of education and tribalistic myopic opinions.
    Every thing is tribe this, tribe that.
    Buhari elevated Kachukwus position to Chairman and member of board, you say he brout an Hausa man.
    Until you are become educated, I fear for your comments.
    Pls get an educated, move with enlightened people. Even live outside the country for a while. Then you will know a black man is a black man. Nobody cares or wants to know if you are Yoruba, Hausa or Igbo.

1. Bed and Roses, see how you just disgraced your own self thinking you re shading James. Do you realize there had been board of directors in Nnpc? Ve you ever heard about the chairman of board? Who was the last chairman if I may ask? Biko FYI, GMD is the highest position in Nnpc, Ibe has been stylishly DEMOTED did you hear me? If I were him I will resign which I'm sure he will do soonest rather than wait to be rubbished by these selfish people that only want theirs on top. I pity our people that are gullible dancing to the music of ndi ugwu. You guys indeed re really really brainwashed. Quite a pity. Smh!😣

2. Bed and roses, pls stop displaying ur ignorance.

Do u think NNPC is like ur 'bed of roses' enterprise? Where they will call u chairman and d next thing Oliver d Coque will singing about u.

D board has more power. And if ur board is lopsided like this one, u r toast.

Get it... KACHIKWU NO LONGER HAS EXECUTIVE POWERS. ALSO HE HAS GONE FROM MINISTER OF STATE AND GMD TO ONLY MINISTER OF STATE (JNR MINISTER) AND CHAIRMAN OF A BOARD. THE BOARD IS MORE POWERFUL.

James may b a Jerk, but u r wrong on dis one, and need the education.

Thank me later.

3. anon you are just shout board has more power, who says board doesn't have power over the Gmd as well? Or you think because you are a GMD you are now almighty in an organisation? Chairman head the board and the GMD also report to the chairman and yes GMD is the CEO but at the same time He will continue to report to the chairman and the board. Ya all should read corporate governance please

4. Am just reading, @ some people's ignorance
      Kikikikikikikikkikikikiikkkiki

8. Buhari
    Nigeria is not one tribe with minorities

9. Kachikwu can tell u he is grateful for d president covering his ass this long for the rubbish he did immediately he ws gmd. He hsnt been the gmd for a while bt it ws hush as he failed the president few mnths to being gmd. The heart of men is seriously corrupt in naija

10. Wow...that is why it is critical to follow the actions and not mere words about promoting a united country. KYEO

11. His removal and replacement was done codedly and quietly for obvious reasons.Hehe....one Naija...nasomeseeam

12. *get an education I meant. Excuse my typos if u even noticed them.
    This ur comment just angered tonite Jare.
    Turned d whole thing to Igbo / Hausa saga.

1. Madam, go and watch Empire season 2, last episode and watch how luscious was removed as CEO of the company thru vote. Now replace Luscious with Ibe and imagine the scenario.

Hope u r ok now?

13. No people, a chairman in this case has no power. The MD of NNPC reports to the minister of petroleum, that is the president. As chairman, Kachukwu just warms chair like 4 times a year. An MD is more powerful. If I were him, I would resign. He has been made redundant with style. This is not your regular work force. Well Ibe had it coming.

14. Lafresh, mind ur business. I don't think he will throw 20k ur way.

1. Excuse me madam. I'm not a blog beggar like you.

2. Hahahahah!!! Drama!!!

People, get in here. Everybody, take your place and support your champion now!!!

15. People should know that a lemon tree can never produce an apple fruit . A Leopard can never change it's spots.
    Buhari is an ethnic and religious bigot. He can never change. People never truly change. They only pretend to do.
    Have we forgotten that Buhari called on Muslims to vote only Muslims in 2011?
    Have we forgotten that Buhari declared that attacks against boko haram is an attack on the entire North?
    Anyone can goggle these facts . They appeared on the newspapers.
    Have we forgotten that Buhari has no problem with the senseless mass slaughtering of innocent youth corpers and non Muslims all over North after he lost the 2011 election?
    How do we expect a person with such past to be fair and just in any of his political dealings and appointments?

1. I've Google it and it's only in the headlines but there are no quotes. Buhari NEVER SAID an attack on boko haram is an attack on the north. Prove me wrong. That was part of the propaganda that PDP paid 12 news agencies N9 million each for.

2. U r a sick illiterate. Scooping gist n reposting forming knowledge. See hw u r disgracing urself. Beer parlour gist.

3. James darling! Where do I send your kisses to??? My newset SDK boo 💋💋💋
      You are a lot smarter and more intelligent than all these awon educated illiterates on SDK blog.
      Buhari your end shall be brutal. Wicked bigot.

16. Kachukwu has just been made redundant. Cos the GMD don't report to him!

17. Stella your commenters are funny..

Promotion indeed. He is just a ceremonial head now. Someone who can't make any decision. Unlike the GMD, who can and will be reporting to buhari directly.

Wantibf to support power will not allow people be intelligent. Isssh

18. Wey that his beautiful step sister? She no make any famzing comments of support this time? Maybe she never wake.. time still dey sha. Dunno why I feel she should spend more time praying for him,with the way things and the trends are going for non-bootlicker. Whether with the opposition party or not. You cant truly try and change things without 'hurting' some ppl at the top one way or anoda, even touching oga small who has the powers to set you up...she should pray more.

yeah Ibe K was promoted and his position is still a prestigious one however he is like king joffrey or Tommen not many executive functions but in the spotlight while others are not quite in the spotlight but will get the spoils and dare i say make vital decisions with/without an obligation to get his approval and if needed he musto approve. Those ones be like Lord Tywin lannister/Olenna Tyrell/Baelish.

Bubu is doing what many Nigerians will do (talk true). That is place their own people in positions of power, sometimes out of pressure sometimes cus of strategic positioning, loyalty, and payback time. Even the period Ibe was there, his ppl no benefit? talk tru bikonu!

Look most of Bubu first round of appointments was to please the international community, trying to pretend he has a big heart like mandela etc but now the masks are coming off, slowly being a typical Nigerian (Northern) and not even being discreet about it. Very simple man chikena

19. Epic humiliation. Monumental disgrace.
    If Kachukwu still has any integrity, he should take the part of honour and resign.
    Just the same way, Ngozi resigned from OBJ's govt when she was was moved from minister of finance to that of information

20. Chairman meets 4 times in a year. Kachiuku hands are tired now. The group MD will only tell him what he wants to hear. The bulk falls on the MD that is d mallam there. Akachiuku sorry ooo

21. He is still my favourite Buhari appointee no matter what you all say. I just love this man.

22. FELLOW NIGERIANS, HERE IS THE HEIGHT OF IMPUNITY!

I. THE BOARD OF NNPC
    A. Petroleum Minister, Muhammadu Buhari...................................North
    B. Chairman of NNPC (A Statutory, Ex-Officio position) ..............: PMB [but he delegated Kachikwu to act for him. Note that NNPC chair is traditionally the Minister of Petroleum, in this case, PMB himself]
    C. GMD of NNPC, Dr. Maikanti Baru............... .................................North (Fulani from Bauchi)
    D. PS, Ministry of Finance; Mahmoud Isa-Dutse ............................ North
    E. The following six board members of NNPC:
    1. Mallam Abba Kyari, .......................................................................North (Chief of Staff; an extra eye for Buhari)
    2. Dr Thomas John.........South (Director of Sapetro, Danjuma's oil firm)
    3. Dr Pius Akinyelure...........South (Tinubu's godfather; to represent ACN)
    4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar.........................................................................North
    5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal.............................................................North (from Katsina, Buhari's State)
    6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal........................................................................North (from Katsina, Buhari's State)

II. THE PS, MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM RESOURCES ……................North (Dr. Jamila Shu’ara)

III. THE SECRETARY-GENERAL OF OPEC ……...................................North (Dr. Mohammed Sanusi Barkindo)

NOTES:
    (1) Dr. (Mrs.) Shu’ara (the only female among 12 men!) was to retire on Feb 17, 2016 when she turned 60, but in an unprecedented disregard for Civil Service rules, PMB ordered her tenure to be extended by one year.
    (2) Both Dr. Ibe Kachikwu and Dr. Thomas John are close associates of General Yakubu Danjuma.
    (3) Not a single board member was appointed from core petroleum producing area in their individual capacity.
    (4) Ibe Kachikwu is SS not SE. The SE that produces oil has 0 representation among the 12. The North that produces no drop of oil has 9 out of 12.

SUMMARY: There was a country!

23. FELLOW NIGERIANS, HERE IS THE HEIGHT OF IMPUNITY!

I. THE BOARD OF NNPC
    A. Petroleum Minister, Muhammadu Buhari...................................North
    B. Chairman of NNPC (A Statutory, Ex-Officio position) ..............: PMB [but he delegated Kachikwu to act for him. Note that NNPC chair is traditionally the Minister of Petroleum, in this case, PMB himself]
    C. GMD of NNPC, Dr. Maikanti Baru............... .................................North (Fulani from Bauchi)
    D. PS, Ministry of Finance; Mahmoud Isa-Dutse ............................ North
    E. The following six board members of NNPC:
    1. Mallam Abba Kyari, .......................................................................North (Chief of Staff; an extra eye for Buhari)
    2. Dr Thomas John.........South (Director of Sapetro, Danjuma's oil firm)
    3. Dr Pius Akinyelure...........South (Tinubu's godfather; to represent ACN)
    4. Dr Tajuddeen Umar.........................................................................North
    5. Mallam Mohammed Lawal.............................................................North (from Katsina, Buhari's State)
    6. Mallam Yusuf Lawal........................................................................North (from Katsina, Buhari's State)

II. THE PS, MINISTRY OF PETROLEUM RESOURCES ……................North (Dr. Jamila Shu’ara)

III. THE SECRETARY-GENERAL OF OPEC ……...................................North (Dr. Mohammed Sanusi Barkindo)

NOTES:
    (1) Dr. (Mrs.) Shu’ara (the only female among 12 men!) was to retire on Feb 17, 2016 when she turned 60, but in an unprecedented disregard for Civil Service rules, PMB ordered her tenure to be extended by one year.
    (2) Both Dr. Ibe Kachikwu and Dr. Thomas John are close associates of General Yakubu Danjuma.
    (3) Not a single board member was appointed from core petroleum producing area in their individual capacity.
    (4) Ibe Kachikwu is SS not SE. The SE that produces oil has 0 representation among the 12. The North that produces no drop of oil has 9 out of 12.

24. Sai baba keep on putting your people on all the important positions, God is watching you.

25. So many semi illitrerates.....Kachukwu is a figure head,He has been demoted,GMD doesn't answer to him...bla bla bla!!! If you don't understand, just STFU!!!! The man is celebrating with his family, myopic minded people are here spilling trash. Wasn't this the same post Diezani our sister held during GEJ's tenure?!!! So she was rendered redundant,yet looted billions.msheeeew. Aeroplane biko wait make I enter