Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ghana Begins Visa-On-Arrival Policy For AU Member States

Tuesday, July 12, 2016

Ghana Begins Visa-On-Arrival Policy For AU Member States

The Ghana Immigration Service (GIS) said that foreign nationals from the African Union (AU) member states can now travel to Ghana and be issued with visas on arrival. 

Francis Palmdeti, Head of Public Affairs of the GIS, said on Monday in a statement that Ghana kick-starts the new visa policy.

He said the arrangement would be piloted at the Kotoka International Airport in Accra for three months, and thereafter extended to all other entry points of the country. “All AU nationals affected by this policy who arrive in the country must have a passport, valid for at least three months, from the date of entry; they must have a return ticket or evidence of onward travel. 

“Travellers must show evidence of sufficient funds and proof of accommodation before they are granted visas,’’ he said. Palmdeti said that the visa-on-arrival decision by the Ghanaian government was in fulfilment of a resolution adopted at the AU Executive Council meeting held earlier this year in Addis Ababa.

He said that the resolution stipulates that AU Member States should review their internal and external security realities in an attempt to implement mechanisms allowing for the issuing of visas on arrival for citizens of member states, with the possibility of a 30-day stay. Palmdeti said Ghana became the first AU member state to adopt such a policy and has received commendation from the AU Commission for the bold step. (Xinhua/NAN)

Vanguard

Is this good or bad?

21 comments:

1. Good of course, they are trying to protect their country from terrorists.

2. These hungry Ghanaians are looking for how to raise money as if all the ones in Nigeria have sufficient funds, proof of abode and return ticket! rubbish, Nigeria should not take this lightly!!!

1. Is anybody forcing anyone to travel there.?

2. Make una help me see nonsense talk. I don tell u make u stop to dey smoke that thing in the afternoon u no gree, now see your life!

3. Na wa o. All these in face of the dollar rise predicts doom for us now. Esp students. If i don't have enough money or proof of accommodation? Sha every country wants to be safe from terrorists

4. I just checked the Ghana high commission website and under section (exemptions) of the Ghana visa regulations, citizens of ECOWAS and some other countries are exempted from this. The new policy doesn't apply to us

1. My thought exactly! Thanks for the info.

2. if ur sure then it's gooodnews

3. Thank you, Amysweet. This doesn't apply to ECOWAS member states

4. Tnk God!!! dancing Azonto

5. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Gud to knw though....

6. #Making one person smile can change the world. Maybe not the whole world, but their world*

7. Its good abeg, that means no unnecessary yanga from agents, and the fees will be regular.

8. Nigeria is part of Ecowas and in no way does such rule apply to us.