Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Extends Eid-El Fitri Holiday Till Thursday

Tuesday, July 05, 2016

FG Extends Eid-El Fitri Holiday Till Thursday

The federal government has added Thursday July 7, 2016, to the two-day public holiday it initially declared for the celebration of Eid-el fitr, following the non-appearance of the moon as at Monday night, signifying that the Ramadan fast will go on for one more day.

Abdulrahman Dambazau, minister of interior, made the declaration on behalf of the federal government in a statement on Tuesday, which was signed by Bassey Okon Akpanyung, permanent secretary of the ministry.

“This declaration followed the directive by the President-General of the Nigerian Supreme Council for Islamic Affairs (NSCIA), Alhaji Sa’ad Abubakar III, the Sultan of Sokoto, to the effect that the Ramadan fast continues on Tuesday as a result of the non-sighting of the moon,” read the statement.

It urged Nigerians to use this period of sober reflections to ensure harmony, unity and peaceful co-existence, while giving full support to the administration of President Muhammadu Buhari in his sustained effort to pursue socio-economic and political growth of the nation.

The federal government earlier declared Tuesday and Wednesday as public holidays, as NSCIA initially expected the moon to be sighted between Sunday and Monday.

97 comments:

1. Whoooooop!!!
    Overcoming laughter. Hahahaha.Yes o.

Time for family visits and all the kiddies to jump around. Biko God should bless this Moon for dodging wella.

Happy Eid-el Fitri to all Muslim Faithfuls.

1. Dancing
      Jubilation
      And celebration

2. Hahahahahaha!!!! Lmao @ the moon dodging wella.

3. Wao lazy soul like me

4. Welcome development
      Nice one

5. This is the only good thing FG has done since Buhari became president. I'm super elated.

6. Been dancing since I heard it.One more day to relax.So clubbing tomorrow.

2. Hahahahahahah so wat happens if the moon still doesn't come out? OK na

1. After 30 days, Ramadan ends, with or without sighting the moon.

2. No way! Ramadan goes on! Moon moon, beautiful moon, please continue to hide. Dem hear wen.

3. The moon for just try lost so the hols would continue

3. If we don't sight the moon this night,will the government add Friday as a public holiday too?

1. Workaholics Anonymous5 July 2016 at 18:47

Why???????!!!

This is not right. Three whole days of useful man hours wasted in sloth... And then we complain about our economy being bad.

What am I going to do with all this free time now?

2. @workaholics, if you don't have anything doing, pls Whistle *in basket mouth's voice*..

3. Workaholics go and get a job first , be waking up everyday at 5am and returning at 9pm Monday to Friday for 22 working days. Then you can ask your question again idiot. Irritant like you.

4. Anonymous? Lol6 July 2016 at 11:51

Anon 21:24 may the peace of God descend on u, so bitter, so shallow, so sad n pathetic u couldn't see d guy/babe was joking. Na ur type dey Kwik komit suicide. Irony is d person may even earn more than u!

5. Starvation galore! If only foreign countries were so generous with their holidays. :(

1. Negative change dun affect the moon kwa.
      E affect the rate wen people dey take chop for drm Join.... Now no more eating in the dream Cus the economy of the nation is bad.

6. So, the holiday continues? Ok na

7. But some of the west don break already

8. Kai! *Dancing* I am gonna destroy Game of Thrones...

1. "We are mere PAWNS in the game of thrones"...hehehe

2. I am yet to watch game of throne season 6 .i shld just use my data to download jare since no wrk nd no free wifi .make i take kill my time

9. ok nah. School vacates on friday. I need bulletproof for this kids and their dad be forming busiest man this period.Jeez i need summer class for them.

10. What if the moon doesn't appear bikonu ?

11. oooooohhhh! me I v work to do in sch o

12. Lmao ... Then holiday should have been wed & Thursday

13. Oodi egwu really!

14. God of public holidays, creator of the moon, kontinu to cover the moon o, as we your working-class children are not even ready to see it... Amen!

1. Ahahahaha..... Cray people everywhere...

*laughter wants to restore my virginity ooo*

15. And to think i was saying this to a friend yester night, that, they might add thursday as pub holiday failure to sight the moon.

16. Dx is music to my ears. Employers Wil b mad mad mad. Dear moon, b standstill.

1. Assin ehn. The moon should just hide somewhere tikl Sat or sun.

17. Buhari govt even sallah is inconclusive. What if the moon is not sighted? Lol

18. Dear Moon,I love you....pls continue your invisibility.The more they look,the less they see...

19. best act of 2016 by buhari led government

20. ha!!! disgrace 3 public holidays in a row...at what economic cost? why announce the days when you've not sighted the moon yet??? confused political leadership we have in Nigeria/ Sai baba! sai change!!!

1. If you are pained go to work abeg. Ahnahn! Werrin?

2. Exactly!...
      That's why this country will remain stagnant...

21. The God that answereth by fire!!!! I really needed the break and I asked God for a long weekend and was disappointed when the holiday was for Tuesday and Wednesday, now look AT GOD!!! Showed up, Showed off and SHOWED OUT.
    I'm happy. My bed get me

22. Chineke God thank you. Open ynash wide and sleep

23. Nna, me I don't want oh. I was looking forward to going back on Thursday. This will disrupt a lot of things.

I'm sure Mama will be fuming already.

Hehehehe

24. They should have made this week a public holidays nau...
    Mtcheeeew...

1. Holidays??? Please enrol in night school with your husband's money. Eeeish!!

25. Ahhhh this is so unfair, so na only me go dey office till FRIDAY this moon WHY WHEN I'M ON DUTY nah.... crying

26. Welcome to the Islamic Republic of Nigeria

1. The first comment I agree with from James. It is pure rubbish to hold the country to ransom because of this so called moon.

27. Not surprised
    Only in Nigeria
    Lazy govt

1. Very very lazy!..
      Why won't they be lazy when they are all old and sick...
      Mtcheeeew...

28. So until they sight the moon they will keep fasting. Okay, that's non of my business, but what happens if the moon fails to appear even by next week? will the holidays still be extended? I love holidays but the reason for the extension is quite absurd, considering the fact that It's not an Islamic nation involved. When it's Christmas or Easter, Christians should cook up a reason for the holidays to be extended as Well.

29. Ohh noooooo! What's dis rubbish...I av important tins to do dis thursday.

30. Are you serious????
    Please the moon shouldn't come out till Friday!
    Moon please

31. yes o. welcome development. i love baban buhari as for james and that mrs smelly mouth queen deal with it buhari is the president of Nigeria. all you haters can go and take death pills.

32. This is nonsense! This country is not an Islamic state for crying out loud. Why then did they fix the holiday without sighting the moon? Just because they muslims have conspired within themselves to take 3 days holiday the now plotted to use the moon to achieve it by not waiting to sight it beforehand. This is deliberate, because it is their own that is at the top they are now taking advantage? Really nothing stops them from waiting until the moon is sighted before the declaration of public holiday. Moon Worshipers!!!

1. you are a fool.broke ass.we are not the reason for your brokeness fool.Go and die

2. Shut it already, you bloody negative Nigerian!!! Don't we all go for Easter, assension day, and Christmas holiday? Who Complains then? Don't be a freaking bigot and no! Not everything must be political.. Just shut your trap you disgusting trouble maker...

3. Well said anonymous...
      Don't mind these idiots masturbating under your comment...
      They are all stupid!...

4. Lin Lin...lmao...chei!!

33. So what happens if the moon fails to appear till next week. will they keep extending the holidays? I love holidays but the reason for this extra day is absurd, especially When it's not an Islamic nation that is involved. Christians should cook up a reason too for holidays to be extended during Christmas and Easter

34. So what happens if the moon fails to appear till next week. will they keep extending the holidays? I love holidays but the reason for this extra day is absurd, especially When it's not an Islamic nation that is involved. Christians should cook up a reason too for holidays to be extended during Christmas and Easter

35. I don't know maybe I should start dancing or be angry. Ehh this month is going and I have target to meet. Its well

36. Lack of focus, let the moon not show till next week so that I can rest from work.

37. Waite ooo what of this issue of sighting of moon is to Christians will moseulem agree to give christians additional holiday

38. Moon is missing, Muslim are looking for it, dear moon abeg no show up after all my oga no gree pay since two months

39. Moon has been cited in Canada.Ottawa to be precise.

40. Moon has been cited in Canada.Ottawa to be precise.

41. I see the moon the moon sees me. God bless the moon and God bless me.

42. Dear Moon pls don't show till next month...make dem repeat d fast sef..

43. Even till now no moon ooo...that means this week is just useless for some people...insha allah it will still come out...if not there is a problem ooo

44. Best news so farrrrrr...Pls moon don't come oooo

45. Hahahahahahah my friends in chad and Niger said they have seen the moon ooh. Naija oya keep fasting oooh till you see the moon.

46. Abeg dis moon continue hiding o

47. Confused administration

48. Mbok! Dem thief d moon arbi them hide am?

49. moon moon go away come again in december
    little me wanna enjoy

50. Its high tym Christians started sighting d star d 3 wise men followed to d east o.... Eid Mubarak to all DA bv muslims

51. Jacob looked at Joseph and saw
    a good son!
    The ten brothers looked at Joseph and saw
    a useless dreamer!
    The travellers looked at Joseph and saw
    a slave!!
    Potiphar looked at Joseph and saw
    a fine servant!!
    Potiphar's wife looked at Joseph and saw
    a potential boyfriend!
    The prison officers saw in Joseph a prisoner!
    How wrong were all of them!!
    God looked at Joseph and saw
    a Prime Minister of Egypt in waiting!!
    Don't be discouraged by what people see in you!!
    Be encouraged by what God sees in You!!
    Never underrate the person next to you because you never know what the Lord has deposited in that person.
    Your maid may be a Chief Executive Officer in waiting for a company which shall employ your child.
    Your garden-boy may be a president in waiting.
    (Remember David got the anointing of becoming a King while he was a simple child herding sheep.
    Esther was a simple orphaned girl yet she was a Queen in waiting).
    Let's share God's love and make the world a better place to live. Show that love by sharing this message with those you love.
    IT DOESN'T MATTER HOW PEOPLE SEE YOU, IT MATTERS HOW GOD SEES YOU. No one can stop God's plan in ur life.
    Stay blessed

52. The sighting of the moon was Inconclusive
    -INEC

The sighting of the moon has been adjourned till tomorrow
    -Abuja High Court

The sighting of the moon was not altered, a committee will be set-up to be headed by Sen. David Mark (Chairman Senate committee on Observation)
    -Senate

The moon has already been sighted tomorrow
    -Lai Mohammed

The anomally in the crescentic illumna of the moon in the atmospheric galaxy is tantamount to more crinkum crankum & hoola-baloo
    -Patrick Obahiagbon

The APC was the cause of the moon not sighted in Nigeria
    -Fayose

We will create another moon for Nigerians
    -APC

Due to none sighting of the Moon, the Board of the Ulamas has been dissolved.
    -Presidency

We will blew up the moon and we will blow up more moons
    -NDA

We are responsible for the absence of the moon in the sky
    -Boko Haram

Those responsible for the missing moon will soon be apprehended and charged accordingly. We have evidence.
    -EFCC

We dont want to sight the Moon
    -Brexit

We know where the moon is but we dont want to say.
    -US

Abeg add your own I don taya! 😄😄😄