Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors In House Section

Tuesday, July 05, 2016

Doctors In House Section

Important question!

EPIDURAL

Please my question is on epidural. Who has used it during labour in Nigeria? Is it true that it affects the spine and causes migraine. Please I need to hear from doctors and mothers that have undergone it. Thanks.

40 comments:

1. I didn't experienced it so I no know...
    CS is still the best!...
    No vagina slacking and all that!...

1. My dear I did epidural and most times it causes back pain. Thot it was only me until I asked about 4pple that did epidural and also complained of having back pain most tyms. The back pain is always terrible. I only have headache when am having malaria

2. After cs how do u loose the belly fat???

3. Epidural is used to numb the back to reduce pain during labor. It's okay to use.

2. Mothers, over to you

3. You don't need an Epidural.. When I had my baby, it felt like an annoying case of menstrual cramps. During the hours that followed, the cramping became downright uncomfortable, but not necessarily painful. I fact I gave birth using the gas and air alone. My labour was just 30 minutes.😊😊😊😊

1. Please don't make such a statement again . Every woman has a different child birth experience and some are in labour for days. Just kos yours was fast , don't assume everyone will have the same experience

2. The fact that you didn't need it doesn't mean you should tell others to use or not. Why not thank God u didn't use it?

3. Workaholics Anonymous5 July 2016 at 12:28

Even in one woman, pregnancies and labour differ, so the fact that yours was smooth sailing doesn't mean that it would be same for another woman.

We can hope and pray so but its not always the case.

4. So because ur own was 30 minutes and felt like menstrual cramp, u have a moral high ground to come tell her she doesn't need epidural. Do u know what her pain threshold is and other conditions she might have that necessitated her thinking about epidural? Biko if u don't have any useful info to give, mechie onu and don't tell her what she does or does not need. Ifukwa?

5. Please don't make such a statement again . Every woman has a different child birth experience and some are in labour for days. Just kos yours was fast , don't assume everyone will have the same experience

6. Latest promixing training,organic materials,all your skin care products BBM 2B97FEAA Whatsapp 081608453605 July 2016 at 16:08

Good for u berrie but every woman differs urs might be different frm others.

7. So because you had it easy, every does? Better shut your ignorant ass up. Long hisssss

1. I just googled about it and I found out that the disadvantages are more than the advantages. I can't try this shit mehn

Waiting for more comments

5. I heard it has side effect too because I paid for it then in USA when I went for delivery there.My people discourage me from taking it and I collected my money after delivery.The pushing of baby takes longer time with epidural than without it.good luck though.

6. I have used it,twice.. The best thing ever created. I never experienced any migraine or backache afterwards. I gave birth to my kids outside Nigeria though.

1. Had my baby in Diff hospital in Abuja. Had epidural, no back pain or headaches. Got to the hospital at 1am, had baby at past 6 after 3 pushes. Infact I had many discouraging advice about epidural, but my mom who is a nurse/midwife encouraged me. She know say me no like pain lol

7. I have a friend who gave birth to her first child through it, said it was like she was eating n something was coming out no pain nothing and few hours after she gave birth she wrapped her baby n drove herself home... infact she just gave birth to her second child the same way. A hospital in Lagos here... she describes it as flawless with no stress if you have the money , she had no side effects seeing that she usually has a painful pregnancy period so it was good...

8. Epidural is one of the recommended ways of managing labour pain. Infact, no woman should go into labor without an analgesic. But often times we do allow the natural pathway of pain management to occur. But if the pain is severe and your doctor want to make life easier for you, then he might have to consider that. Although it may be associated with headache, but not migraine, and the headache will even disappear after 6 to 10hrs of rest lying on your back. If your doctor wanna go for that, please it's very save and good.

9. EPIDURAL IS AN INJECTION INTO THE EPIDURAL SPACE IN THE SPINE(BACKBONE).
    IT NUMBS THE LOWER PART OF THE BODY FROM BELOW THE RIBS TO THE LEGS.
    SO IT STOPS YOU FEELING PAIN IN THE LOWER PART OF THE BODY DURING LABOUR AND CHILDBIRTH.IT CAN BE USED FOR OPERATIONS IN THE LOWER PART OF THE BODY LIKE C/S,HYSTERECTOMY (REMOVAL OF THE WOMB) ETC.
    EPIDURAL IS VERY SAFE WHEN DONE BY A COMPETENT ANAESTHETIST.
    VERY OCCASIONALLY THERE ARE COMPLICATIONS LIKE EPIDURAL TAP (LEAKING OF FLUID FROM THE SPINE) WHICH CAN CAUSE HEADACHES. OTHER COMPLICATIONS CAN BE BACKACHE,PARALYSIS AND VERY VERY RARELY DEATH FROM AN EXTENSION OF THE EPIDURAL INJECTION UPWARDS ABOVE THE RIBS.TO AVOID THIS COMPLICATION OF EXTENTION YOU SHOULD NEVER LIE FLAT ON YOUR BACK ONCE THE EPIDURAL IS IN PLACE.ALWAYS LIE WITH YOUR HEAD ELEVATED BY A PILLOW.
    EPIDURAL IS VERY SAFE AND 98% OF MY PATIENTS USE IT WITHOUT ANY PROBLEMS.
    IT TAKES AWAY THE STRESS OF LABOUR AND PREVENTS YOU FROM PUSHING INVOLUNTARILY AND PREMATURELY WHEN YOU ARE NOT FULLY DILATED THEREBY LEADING TO SWELLING OF THE CERVIX AND DELAY IN LABOUR AND AT TIMES STOPPING PROGRESS IN LABOUR CAUSING YOU TO HAVE C/S.
    I HOPE THIS HELPS EXPLAIN THE IMPORTANCE OF EPIDURAL IF YOU CANNOT COPE WITH LABOUR PAIN.
    WE DON'T GIVE MEDALS FOR PAIN IN LABOUR WARD!!!!

10. Spine Yes and migraine yes. I had a CS two months ago in delivering my last child. After two days i started having migraine though i was still in the hospital my Doc gave me strong piankiller and when i left for home he gave me 4satchets of panadol extra which works for me. And for the back pain,i dont bend cos i observed i feel pain and difficulty keeping dat position unlike b4. I was told if i exercise more i will regain my spine back.

@Richbee Epidural is drug given to a woman who is in labour to curb or nob labour pain.It will block the aspect of the brain that releases pain.

11. Yes! I suffered very terrible headaches for days after having my baby. Even now, almost five years after, I still suffer from back pain from time to time.

12. If you can tolerate the pain, do it without epidural. It carries its own risks!

13. Epidural ke? If you don't mind an injection of anesthetic into your spine, that's up to you. I refused anyone coming at me to chook me in that area, even when the pain got worse. In Nigeria? Mba, before I hear stories that touch.

14. I had it twice and it was the best thing ever. No backache or headache.

15. My elder sister who delivered abroad(USA) is still suffering from severe migraine and back pain.
    Your choice and decision.
    All the best.

16. I will just read comments

17. Yes it causes back pain. I used it four years ago and am always experiencing back pain. I cannot skip again or do strenuous exercise

18. Yes it causes back pain. I used it four years ago and am always experiencing back pain. I cannot skip again or do strenuous exercise

19. I took epidural in May 2016 during my daughters delivery. Yes for someone like me I had a bit of migraine but was given strong painkillers for the pain. The back pain comes and goes but it's nothing major.

20. I had an epidural 10months ago, i had no back pain but the migraine which i had was out of this world and it lasted up to 5 days. Migraine is a side effect of epidural but not everybody complains of migraine. Mine was worsened by the upright position and relieves when i lie down. Weigh the advantages and disadvantages and then decicide. I wish you a safe delivery.

21. Had an epidural when I had CS but it was in the UK.....don't have any back pains or migraines

22. Doctors and mothers the question is for your both.

23. I am just seeing this post now, I think some hospitals in Nigeria still do epidural the old fashioned way. I am saying this because the epidural I had when I had my baby in Nigeria 4 years ago was terrible, I developed high BP & migraine which lasted for 7months. Please ask questions very well before submitting yourself for it. Goodluck