A 31-year-old businesswoman, Nneka Nwachukwu of Dape Village, Abuja, told a Wuse Zone 2 High Court, Abuja, that she poured acid on Peter Nwogu, because he raped her.
Nwachukwu, led in evidence her Counsel, Moneka Azubike, told the court on Tuesday that Nwogu, the defendant came to her house and forced her to sleep with him.
The defendant was first arraigned on April 11, 2014 by the police for the offence of culpable homicide contrary to Section 221 of the Penal Code.
She said that on Dec. 1, 2013, she went to her town meeting at Wuse and came back around 10 p.m.
“When I came back, I warmed my food which I came back with, then I went to see my landlord Ikechukwu Obi to pay my house rent.
“I came back to my room and saw Peter Nwogu who is my church member in my room. He told me that he travelled but couldn’t reach home because it was late.
“I welcomed him as a church member, he then asked me if I have food, I gave him the food I warmed and I went to take my bath.’’
The defendent said when she came back from the bathroom, she saw the deceased with only his boxer and he made love advances to her.
“I tried to stop him, but he did not stop, we argued and in the process he forced me to sleep with him. I was shouting but nobody heard me.
“I bite him, he bite me too, he was so strong that I had to pour him acid that was in my room and I ran out to my landlord’s room.’’
She added that she explained to her landlord what happened and he followed her to her room and saw the deceased who asked for help.
“The deceased asked my landlord to give him water, my landlord took his clothes in my room and gave him and I went to church to tell my parish priest what happened.
“I did not know that the acid I poured on him will lead to his death.
“I kept the acid in my room because I have been a victim of rape and there have been complains of breakings in my area.
“On Dec. 2, I went to Life Camp Police Station, Abuja, to report the matter but I was told that the matter has been reported as the deceased was already dead.
The Prosecuting Counsel, Patrick Ogele, cross examined the defendent.
Justice Mamman Kolo adjourned the matter till July 1 for continuation of defence.
NAN
My Goodness!!!....This is serious,this woman will get Justice if the Judge really understand what it is to fight back when one is being raped.
Lawyers in the house-both defence and prosecution...what chances does she have to be set free?
What will be the Prosecutions argument?
She is justified abeg
ReplyDeleteThe story no join abeg
Delete3 days ago here in London, I almost got raped in my room. My flatmate was out and a friend called to say he is in my area and can he come to visit, I said ok. He came, I gave him food and next he started asking about my relationship. Told him I don't have any cos I don't want any man telling me lies. He said but it's over a year since I broke up and I said yes but I'm totally ok. Next thing he said he like me and I thanked him. Before I know it, he shifted to my site and wanted to sit next to me. I got up and he rushed to hold me and began to showork me his manhood. I asked him to get out and then he said he couldn't drive him unless I had to go drop him. I told him to go and stay in a bed and breakfast. Next he said he wanted to use the bathroom and I asked him to go. Soon as he left I rushed to get my keys and phone from the room so I can call the police if he does not go. He rushed out of the toilet and grabbed me and I screamed dt he was scaring me. He knew that if he did not get out I will call the police on him so he exited my flat.
DeleteSometimes being kind and receptive to men you have nothing with can be dangerous. The lady obviously was struggling to save herself but ended up in big trouble but it might be difficult to believe now cos the deceased is no longer there to tell his own side.
I was lucky cos dt man knows dt if he went further he will get in trouble because the police here will believe me. But it's a difficult ball game back home. I was a victim back home but I know I can never be a victim again cos I know how to fight for myself.
Girls, let be careful the so called friends we let in.
Self defense. With a good lawyer she'll walk free.
DeleteThis is self defence abeg...
ReplyDeleteServe the stupid man right!...
It is an act of self defence so she will win. If she has witnesses even better for her. Rapist rot in hell.
ReplyDeleteChai the devil is really working 26 hours ahead of human beings oo. What will they call this one now?
ReplyDeleteThe guy man no try at all. church member for that matter. Shame on him.
Lol I like this woman. Who keeps acid as an anti rape protection measure LMAO. Every woman should have a bottle of acid in her room. See how it came in handy for her?
ReplyDeleteAs in ehn...
DeleteIt is important for ladies to keep pepper spray in their bags at least. I have one in my car. If any lastma or police pokes their nose in my face na to spray be dat o.
DeleteI watched one movie where it was written that "self defence is not a murder or crime."
ReplyDeleteLawyers step in.
The guy just killed himself, she gave you food and you paid her back by trying/forcing to rape her and she defended herself...#StoryClosed
She acted in self defense. If the judge actually knows his thing, he's supposed to let her off. I hope for her sake the judge is a she and not a he. As a female judge will understand her plight much better
ReplyDeleteHer story needs to be corroborated cos evidently, the victim is dead. God help her
ReplyDeleteThis is so terrible
ReplyDeleteServes the rapist right.
ReplyDeleteThe court should let the woman walk.
Perverts everywhere. See how this one came in disguise of stranded church member. Anugboko. Rot in hell.
Self Defence!
ReplyDeleteAnd thank goodness she hasn't witness.
The Landlord who she went to call and who I assume must have asked the young man why he did what he did.
People's reactions after their actions matter a lot in criminal cases.
And again,she didn't harm him with an intent to kill but to stop him.
She wil get off free and I sincerely hope she does.
But I have one more thing to add:
Young ladies never be alone with a man in an enclosed place. No matter who the person is. Save of course ur dad and brothers. Yam and goat no dey stay for one place.
What u should have done was politely tell him u can't have him sleep over and suggest u how it's him to ur landlord to beg him so he can sleep over at his place. For the single fact that u are a single lady and stay alone. Simple!
Sometimes these people are "nice" people til u are in an enclosed place with them.then the Rapist in them take over.
Sometimes it's inevitable. Especially when the man isn't a stranger and you've been left alone with him before.
DeleteThis is very serious.
ReplyDeleteThe man is not alive to tell his own side of the story.
She could be a scorned lover who lured the man to her house in order to kill him .
I hope that's not the case
DeleteHow you will allow a 'brother' spend a night in your room eludes me seriously, he can't go home cos it's late?, he should have gone to sleep in the church that you just came back from, your story doesn't add up, you were in some kind of relationship with the dead, too bad we can't hear his own story. I support self defence if you are innocent as you claim.
ReplyDeleteKeeping a bottle of acid at home isn't such a bad idea o...don't do it if you have kids oooooo
Where have you been?
DeleteWhere have you been Pipi lee?...
Delete@ swag Lafresh and Queen of all Queens - forced sabbatical...hehehehe...wanted to prove to myself that my destiny isn't tied to SDK...lmao...I've missed your comments Queen L.E
DeleteIt is widely accepted that acid is always a weapon of choice to settle scores between scorned or jealous lovers. I believe the guy is her lover. Maybe he created on her.
ReplyDeleteWhy do I believe you??.. Let's just hope that's not the case
DeleteAfi 'created' on her naa, idiot.
DeleteFor once James I totally agree with you. She lured him to her place and poured him acid.
DeleteAnon11:53, na your father and mother and your entire generation be idiots.
Delete*cheated
ReplyDeleteOnly virgin can cry rape.. .let her face the full wrath of the law.
ReplyDeleteWhat??.. And you are educated?
DeleteSo cos you not a virgin no more anyone can choose to have sex with you, whether you want it or not? Hmm, I seriously doubt if you're a woman. if you are, am sure your bodycount is higher than your IQ.
DeleteYour fist sentence portrays you as daft!
DeleteYou are foolish sha. What kind of stupid talk is that? I pray a group of 10guys gang rape your pussy, anus and mouth then I'll see what you call it.
DeleteForced intercourse
DeleteIs what it's called
U're senseless. No pun intended.
DeleteAre u sure you r really female??? Even a dude will not say not u just said. Height of ignorance. Maybe never be caught in a situation where u have "no right" to cry rape.
DeleteHey idiot... I will never put myself in a shitty situation to be raped. Ladies put themselves at risk if they befriend riff raff. I only go out with alpha male not beta male.
DeleteThis story get as e be, why keep an acid at home? Hmmmmm I reserve my comments. Am in a good mood today so no bad mouthing .
ReplyDeletePlease read to the end to understand why she kept acid at home. Argh!
DeleteSelf Defence
ReplyDeleteYes she would get justice but not with that story
ReplyDeleteWhat is Acid doing in her room? Had it been it's a knife, wood,or any home appliances I will understand.
Who keeps Acid at home ?
Say no to rape.
Didn't you read to the end? She has once been a victim of rape. There's been cases of breaking and entering in her abode reasons she kept it just incase as a weapon for protection
DeleteGod bless you @fine face. Who keep acid at home ?
DeletePersonally, I really find her account of events strange and ridiculous.
DeleteAnyway, let them check the deceased's network provider for his chats, messages and phonecalls, this will reveal if there was a relationship between the 2 and if she was a scorned lover.
Church members should also be interrogated.
I hope justice prevails.
Whirlwind, I can't fault her abeg. She said there's been series of rape incidents going on in the area, so she kept it just in case. Why she chose acid and not knife is what I can't explain. But even if it was a knife, a knife will still plunge thru his heart and will prolly kill him too. Any weapon you keep to defend yourself is likely to cause loss of life..in this case, acid.
DeleteDays ago I read of a popular rapist terrorising Ikorodu and it's environs. Women fleeing their homes because of this rapist known as Badoo who operates like a ghost, as no one could put a face to him. But his victims said he's always naked and rubs plenty oil on his body so that u cannot grip him. Making it difficult for him to be caught. So imagine women in Ikorodu keeping acid by their beds in anticipation of Badoo's attack. Someone whom u cannot fight, you'd have to find something effective as self defence. If they had access to guns I'm sure they'll not hesitate to use it for any intruder.
Na really lawyer in the house.
ReplyDeleteForgive me but she sounds like a pathological liar. This is premeditated. How did he know ur house? U guys could have been intimate or u led him on while he showed u sexual advances prior to the incident. It could be that he came to collect money u owe him. I just feel she is lying. U didnt scream enough. If he was pressing and holding u down in order to rape u how did u escape and made way to get d acid or was it lying under ur bed? Let ne stop here.
ReplyDeleteShut dat your skinky mouth"You are a killer chikena...why keeping acid in the house 1st place????Go rot in jail.
ReplyDeleteWell, they both should be checked for bite marks.
ReplyDeleteShe should be examined for bruises down there. If she was raped, she'll definitely have some.
Might even have slight ones on her body from struggling with him.
All, I know, self defence isn't murder.
This sounds like self defense. But acid in the house as protection? Hmm, who knew... if what she's saying is the truth then,the guy got what he deserved.
ReplyDeleteI can't believe this woman. No I can't! She is a lair. Who keep sulphuric acid at home ?
ReplyDeleteYes I think is a self defence, read through again to see why she had acid in her house.
ReplyDeleteOkay so stella let's go through the story together, he was her church member so they most probably resided in the same city, so how comes it was too late to go home but early enough to come to her house,how did he get in, do you just work into church members houses, he over powered her and was raping her, how could she get the acid in her hands and pour it on him without it touching her. (try to imagine how it happened). Acid is something you just don't buy and keep in your house in anticipation you might get raped, a knife or gun maybe but acid? How long had she had it in her apartment. She might be saying the truth but I personally think there is more of a connection between them than she said and that acid was meant for him, not just anyone.
ReplyDeleteFrom her narrative one can deduce the kind of accommodation she has. A one bedroom apartment, probably.
DeleteSo she was home and warming up her food, but decided to go to her landlord. Meaning she left her room open. He was no stranger and he must have visited her before, they seemed cordial. He found her room open and helped himself in. She didn't have a problem with that, she didn't sound like he invaded upon her privacy. Rather, she entertained him with her meal while she went to take a shower.
And Of course being a one bedroom apartment, she most likely returned to her room with her towel wrapped around her, thus making the man enticed by her body. He prolly found her suggestive, he then proceeded to try his luck with her thinking she'd give in. She said no, and to some men, no means "I'm shy'. Christian sister vs Christian brother. Being in an enclosed room she was able to reach for the acid quickly by her bed. After all, she kept it there in case of danger at odd hours. Just like a police officer would keep his gun by his bedside when he wants to go to bed. For easy reach should danger occur. Abeg I tire
Hmmm this is deep. The state would definitely file an information against her and charge her for murder. Since her victim is deceased,the lightest sentence she can get is manslaughter. A man is responsible for the consequences of his action. If she had used a non lethal instrument, the balance of justice would have tilted to her favour but ACID,hmmm she didn't expect to give her assailant a warm bath. She has a lonnnnnnng stay behind bars.
ReplyDeleteCherrie Hmmmmmm, ur comment shows dat u need small functioning brain or better still experience wht it feels 4 sm1 2 be raped.
ReplyDeleteSelf defense.
ReplyDeleteBut who keeps acid @ home.