Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Today Is World Sickle Cell Day!

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Today Is World Sickle Cell Day!

Please spread the Awareness because IT MATTERS!

26 comments:

1. No matter the awareness being spread,some people won't listen all cos they are IN LOVE hence they get blinded by their desire and fail to see d bigger picture.
    Please y'all should think twice b4 bringing a kid to this world to suffer.
    @stella it would shock u to know that @ds time and age most people don't even know their blood genotype. When u ask them,they tell u they don't know but they assume to be AA

1. The prayers in church today over this was long. Many don't know what they weigh not to talk of genotype. It is an illiterate society Nigeria still is. Painfully so.

God save this country

2. CrazyHornyWife19 June 2016 at 12:26

Yaaaaaay!!!!!!!!!
    Hi my fellow warriors, hope you ain't still sad about having sickle cell. If you are, say cheese and suck it up!!!!!
    On a more serious note, close your eyes to love and walk away from bringing more sicklers to the world. Sickle cell crisis is the worst pain to deal with in the world. Labour/Csection/ vaginal are like child's play compared to it.
    Spread the world people!!!!!
    Happy my day (as my warrior cousin 'll say).
    Happy father's day to my DH!!!!

1. Say no to unwordly feelings and selfish desires people. Being in love can't be equated with the pain ahead. Know your genotype. Know your blood group. Try and know the genotype and blood group of your partner at the initial stage of a relationship to avoid stories that touch. Don't bring kids into the world to suffer. I dey beg una

2. Be strong dear. Adhere strictly to Doctor's advice and you'll be fine.

3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

4. AA to AA is best anyday cos AA to AS 'might' just bring in more AS.

Happy SS day...more health.

1. Do you know genetics at all?

2. I don't know naa, what I know is I no send anybody message.

3. CrazyHornyWife19 June 2016 at 17:02

Dumb comment!!!!

4. U sound like a very dull person. Ensure u av adequate knowledge on certain topics before u talk. Okay?
      :)

5. We've both done everything humanly possible to seperate from eachother, but the love is just too strong..... Trust me, we've tried so hard.
    Is there a way we can have an egg donor that's AA? That can help breed a healthy child in me right?

1. You can go for pre-sampling. It's done in lagos. But ask yourself, why the stress? If something is wrong somwhere, it is definitely not right,whatever is not right is not from God, and what is not from God is not God's will for you. My dear, I'm Still in d same challenge but I know God ll see me through.

6. Happy warrior saying know your genotype. No child is worth the pain wow it's terribly painful. If you're wealthy, educated, AA genotype and don't mind marrying a lady with sickle cell anemia. Drop your contact. Not everyone can cope with us but there are some with large hearts.

7. Sickle Cell day. Oh now I remember my cousins who bowed to this anomaly. Many of them.

My parents didn't check, they were just lucky but my Daddy's siblings are caught up in it. So sad.

Spread the awareness, save a birth.

8. Just did chief bridesmaid duty for my friend and they are both AS.,. To think that she didn't bother telling me. Hmmm

9. Just found out I'm SC & I have Avascular necrosis instead of rheumatoid arthritis that I thought...Did more than 7 genotype tests that kept saying AS,the dots weren't connecting till I did again at igbobi...
    Learnt there are other new genotypes like
    AC
    CC
    XX genotypes
    One can never be too sure,please get tested.

10. Please know your genotype and save a child..... Am a warrior so i know what sickle cell really mean, God will continue to strengthen us all

11. I just called off my relationship because of this, though I feel terrible now but its better than what I may encounter in future.

Father wipe my tears, let not my serving you be in vain.
    Bring an AA man.

12. Sickle cell is no joke. The crisis is what 'going through the valley of the shadow of death' means. It's craazy unfathomable pain...and this is no exaggeration. Can't wish the pain on my worst enemy. I'm a warrior myself and the only feeling worse is when my sister who is also SS has a crisis. I know how it feels and it hurts. You are writhing in pain and no painkiller in the medical book can at that point take the pain away. My point? You will hate yourself if you bring a child to the world to suffer this very much avoidable pain. It will kill you eventide you see your child in pain and you will blame yourself always. I know this because I see what my mum goes through when I'm writhing in pain. I don't blame her because she was ignorant then. But now there's no excuse. Love is not enough. Beyond the crisis I've had to deal with not being defined by the word 'sickler'. I've been stigmatised, looked down on, mocked for my yellow eyes, endured lots of hurtful words from people. And what's my crime? I was born by 2 AS partners. I didn't choose it, my parents ignorantly did. This is 2016, ignorance is no more an excuse!!! I thank God cos I'm 32plus, married with a daughter but I'm just fortunate...many warriors have been fallen by sickle cell. Pls don't add to the problem. Know your genotype and ensure compatibility before marriage. Love doesn't take the raw pain away. Save your unborn child from pain, choose right! #sicklecell is real #sicklecellaffects #sicklecellhurts #dintaddtotheproblem #letseradicatesicklecell