Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Prince’s Death Reveals Broken System In America...

Friday, June 03, 2016

Prince’s Death Reveals Broken System In America...

After weeks of speculation into the details of Prince’s death, and media liberally quoting defense attorneys and anonymous sources, the worst has been realized. Prince died of anaccidental overdose of fentanyl, a powerful painkiller many times more potent than heroin.

Painkillers like OxyContin are measured by the milligram, but fentanyl is so strong that it is measured in micrograms. For some perspective, if a few grains of salt were fentanyl, that amount would be lethal if swallowed. Typically, it is only prescribed if a patient becomes opioid tolerant to the point other drugs no longer work. It has yet to be confirmed whether or not Prince was prescribed the fentanyl.

This news, however, does not make the details of Prince’s death any less dizzying.

The frenzy began on April 15, less than one week before Prince was found dead, when his private plane made an emergency landing in the middle-of-nowhere Illinois. Shortly after that, it was revealed the plane landed so Prince could be treated for an opioid overdose. He was then taken to a nearby hospital where he left against medical advice.

In the following days, friends close to Prince told the press he had suffered from chronic pain after a 2009 hip surgery, linked to years of high-impact performances, often in high heels. 

His close friend Sheila E. said “he was in pain all the time.” Fans said they noticed he no longer did the splits, that he walked with a cane, and that some concerts consisted only of Prince singing on the piano bench (which isn’t to say that those performances were anything but stunning).

Then came the story about a Bay Area opioid specialist, Dr. Howard Kornfeld, who flew his son on a redeye to Prince’s residence in Minnesota, in order to assess his health and begin a treatment plan for chronic pain and possibly addiction. But by the time the younger Kornfeld arrived, it was too late. Prince was already dead.

It was eventually the younger Kornfeld who made the 911 call. The last puzzle piece to be revealed was that on the day before his death, Prince was also treated by a local doctor for opiate withdrawal symptoms. 

What’s left to be answered is how Prince obtained the fentanyl that killed him, and from whom it was prescribed—if it was indeed prescribed at all. His death is currently being treated as a criminal investigation, headed by Federal Prosecutors and the DEA.

Taking into account all of the doctor visits, an entourage of concerned friends, along with Prince’s vast resources, one cannot help but wonder how in the hell the end result was still fatal. The simple answer is he simply took too much fentanyl. But there are an infinite number of remaining what ifs, all orbiting how someone dependent on opioids is to be clinically treated.

What if Prince hadn’t left the ER in Illinois against medical advice? What if he had gone straight to treatment? Or, had the addiction doctor in California been called a day earlier, would Prince have received the care that could have saved his life? What was the hold up? What about the doctor who treated him for withdrawal? Why didn’t this doctor urge Prince to be hospitalized? If being addicted to opiates wasn’t so stigmatized, would Prince have been helped sooner?

I’ve been writing about opiates and their magical allure since 2013, ever since I kicked my own habit. But I’m not going to pretend here that my own experience qualifies me to opine about Prince’s interior life, and what kind of addiction with which he may have struggled.

He could have been on a chronic pain regiment, and the dose to which he was prescribed no longer did the trick. Partly why fentanyl is so dangerous is because the lethal dose is so close to the therapeutic dose, making any margin of error deadly. In an effort to kill the pain, maybe he began taking too much.

What’s also possible is that Prince loved the feeling produced by a head high on opiates. Fentanyl, after all, is the Ferrari of painkillers. Its onset is rapid, and before you know it you’re somewhere in the clouds, so numb and weak you can’t even make a fist. I doubt how Prince felt on opiates will ever be known. Maybe he loved them.

But what Prince’s death reveals is that treating an addiction to opiates is not so cut-and-dry, especially when chronic pain is thrown into the equation. What’s sorely missing from our health care system is a standard protocol, similar to what we have for other chronic medical conditions. One sane solution would be to prescribe naloxone (brand name Narcan), the lifesaving antidote, with every bottle of painkillers. But the drug's recent price hike will make that even more difficult. 

If you’re diabetic and your blood sugar is off, nurses can bring it back to safe levels. If you go to an ER with high blood pressure, the nurses can lower it. But when you go to an ER for an opioid overdose, or because you’re addicted to painkillers and want to get off, everyone’s hands go up. In fact, it’s likely you’ll be treated as a second-class citizen, because culturally, opiate users are judged unscientifically.

Which is partly explains, as Christopher Moraff thoroughly reported for The Daily Beastalready, how America has made a mess of addiction treatment. There’s still no science to it. You could be told to pet horses on a farm or live by the beach, maybe pay exorbitant prices for swanky amenities that do nothing to address one’s actual addiction. And the one effective treatment, the indefinite maintenance on methadone or Suboxone, is shunned by the professional treatment industry, who in their own self-interest cling to dated models of abstinence that may not apply to present day opiate users.

If Prince couldn’t get the help he needed in time, how in the hell are the vast majority of heroin users supposed to get better?

daily beast cullage

22 comments:

1. May his soul continue to RIP

1. Everyone will now say RIP. If it was in Nigeria now, you will crucify the health sector as if every other place in the world is perfect.
      Every system has its challenges, this is just one of numerous cases that has been swept under the carpet. Amidst all the tight drug restrictions, the drugs are still very much available even inside the prisons.
      Put it this way, it is almost impossible for someone not to have one or more drug addicts in a house of 3people.

2. Anon nothing is perfect.. Even USA there are much more work to do hence no nation has gotten there yet but there are still large spaces between their system and ours. Among other things more glaring is the fact that they are trying to find the cause of his death and you can see how there is a link of event more like the life of all their citizens are being monitored. My point we are way back on how our health system runs. What killed dagreen or what's that his name. So many death with no one confirming the cause of death.

3. "Partly why fentanyl is so dangerous is because the lethal dose is so close to the therapeutic dose, making any margin of error deadly" why would someone still manufacture such a drug with narrow therapeutic index!

2. If u take twenty tablets of paracetamol Na only fart u go hear,

3. Stella maris baby3 June 2016 at 16:56

May his soul keep on resting in peace..

4. I work with addicts in the USA and it is a huge problem. They only talk about it when a celebrity dies. People die from overdose everyday.

5. Broken system since the birth of Jesus Christ.

They don't have any problems like Nigeria that drugs will be the last thing to take.
    No RIP again jare

6. This is really unfortunate.

7. The fact is that a lot of hangers on,some family members unfortunately feed on the addiction of these celebrities. They cash in on it an become their suppliers until they meet their untimely deaths.

It is painful to know that some of these suppliers can be their Doctors as well.
    These people will definitely find their weak points and bleed them.

I seriously think the Doctor that treated him briefly in Illinois didn't have much powers to make him stay. I have seen a lot of intervention videos to know that you cannot make an addict(adult) stay in a rehabilitation facility for long if they don't want to.

I remember clips of Amy Winehouse during her last days on earth and it seemed like her folks had lost her...and truly they eventually lost her.

They should not look too far when investigating how he got hold of the Fentanyl he used.
    Another one bites the dust!

8. Biko who is dis prince??? Mk una no vex say i ask o

9. "High impact Performances in high heels", Denrele Beware!

10. "Friends close to Prince told the press he had suffered from chronic pain after a 2009 hip surgery, linked to years of high-impact performances, often in high heels". Mbok somebody or group of people should go and talk to Derenle.