Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Shoot Three Rufus Giwa Polytechnic Students Shot During Argument

Monday, June 20, 2016

Police Shoot Three Rufus Giwa Polytechnic Students Shot During Argument

A wild rage swept the ancient town of Owo in Ondo State at the weekend as three students of the Rufus Giwa Polytechnic (RUGIPO), Owo, were shot during a heated argument between some policemen and the students.

These led to an unfettered public disturbance in the town as vehicles numbering over 10 were vandalised by the angry students and scores of residents brutally attacked with varying degrees of injuries.

THE GUARDIAN gathered that the crisis broke out when a private car, belonging to a police officer allegedly hit two students and abandoned them before speeding off.
This infuriated the students, and in a solidarity march, moved en masse to the Division B Police at Otapete, protesting the injustice and dehumanisation meted out on their colleagues by the police.
A source, who spoke to The Guardian said they were dispersed with tear gas shot sporadically into the air. In the ensuing melee, three students were hit with canisters and bullets.
This further infuriated the students as they went on rampage and allegedly destroyed vehicles parked inside the station and blocked the Owo-Akure Expressway, which is opposite their school, causing severe traffic gridlock.

The Polytechnic Information Protocol and Public Relations Unit (IPPPR), Mr. Olumide Olugosi, said no student died during the protest but disclosed that the students who sustained gunshot injuries are stable and are receiving treatments at Federal Medical Centre, (FMC) Owo.

16 comments:

1. Nigeria is a name not a country.. Nigeria died some years ago

1. So what are you doing here?Relocate to Cameroun or Tchad nah

2. Anony am not in Nigeria na

2. Na wah o!
    A police officer hit two students and abandoned them before speeding off. Now the students went to the station to protest and they sprayed them wit tear gas and still shot at them! Ha!
    What is wrong with some of these police men?

And the students,why vandalise cars belonging to innocent people?And why attack innocent residents??? Na them do una? U guys should have shown ur power at the station na.
    What a senseless thing to do.

1. My dear I wonder!

2. The Same thing I thought too.Why hurt innocent people?

3. Useless police men. And the students, why attacked the innocents residents? Why not go and burn down the station? Msteew.

4. Police people na wa for una ooo. Afterall you will be writing police is your friend and bail is free. Stupid people

5. Correct your headline

6. Which one is @RUGIPO?

Never heard

Students should learn to stage their demonstration peacefully

All dss gra gra no good

Stop allowing police men waste your lives

You are in school to study

7. FROM MY INBOX

Not 3 stellA, two dead while 5 student are wounded and agAin its 2 police officer car not 10, d media just add to it and aGain the student only fight back when they wanted to shot, even the rector were there. The police were the one at fault imagine a police man hit someone on bike and still Claiming right. Its not done. Now we have been sent home. Don't know if you can update it

1. Chaai

Who dey say I no sabbi "spoke" English for this blog?

I think I am better than this person that sent thus to @SDK

8. Lord have mercy