A survivor of the Orlando nightclub massacre told how gunman Omar Mateen spared black people "because they had suffered enough".
Patience Carter, 20, was partying with two of her friends when the killer stormed in,opened fire and killed 49 people.
Patience survived the horrific attack but was hospitalised after being shot - her friend, 18-year-old Akyra Murray, wasn't so lucky.
The survivor told how she, Akyra and her cousin Tiara Parker were taken hostage in the bathroom of the club as the mass murderer rampaged through the club.He shot at them through the door of a disabled toilet as they hid with others, reported Mail Online.
At one point, he asked them if any of the hostages were black.
Patience, who is African-American, told a press conference at Florida Hospital Orlando she was too scared to respond.
But when a black person also in the stall told him they were, as Mateen said he would spare them because they'd suffered already.
Mateen reportedly said: "I don't have a problem with black people.
"This is about my country. You guys suffered enough."
Patience and her friends had been enjoying a girls' night out while she was on holiday with their family.
When she first heard the shots, she said she thought it was sound effects played to get people to leave the club
But when she realised it was real, she dropped to the floor and crawled back to the exit as Akyra followed.
They realised that Tiara was still inside and went to get her, which is when they were taken hostage for three hours
Akyra was shot and died from blood loss before paramedics could reach her.
Patience said today how she feels survivors' guilt over going back into the club with Akyra, instead of telling her to stay outside.
She said: "It was a shock. We went from having the time of our lives to the worst night of our lives all within a matter of minutes."
Mateen stormed into the nightclub after his father claimed he was angered by seeing two men kissing in Miami months before.
Na wah oh!...
ReplyDeleteGosh I can almost feel her pain. She'll be so traumatized for a very long time. Thoughts of seeing her friend and others die, and the thought that she could have died too. She's gonna need some massive counselling and psychological attention.
DeleteWow. That's very humane of him.
ReplyDeleteYou r a big fool
DeleteHaaaaa! Jamisi? How many times did I call you? Which one is 'very humane of him'? Shuuu!
DeleteShe went back to get her friend? She's a nice person.
ReplyDeleteWait, he got angry after seeing two men kiss? WTF!!!
How is dat any of his business?
Ok, wait, why didn't he kill the two men instead?
I don't think the kissing is what prompted this. Dude left his house with the aim of killing people that night.
DeleteHe was a sick guy
ReplyDeleteSo sad, Lord please console all affected directly or indirectly.
ReplyDeleteMay God still continue to console all who are affected by this tragedy. May Almighty God receive the soul of those that passed away.
ReplyDeleteI am sure God will help them
I hope that those black people he spared are not gay perverts also. Bcos that will taint his reputation. A gay person is a freak whether black or white.
ReplyDeleteYou are a very big fool
DeleteChai!
ReplyDeleteSo Akyra escaped the first time but went back to help get her cousin,Tiara. She got Tiara alright but she herself never made it......
This is SAD!
REst in Peace Dearie! You and the rest. Amen!
A psychopath has no reason for acting. Their minds are warped and all they think about I what is before them.
ReplyDeleteForget sexual orientation, forget racial profiling, forget religion.
Even if youre homophobic or religious or black. Its best to know this man is on no one' side. He derived pleasure from killing. Any cloak of religion or homophobia is a lie. Serial murderers are like this. They sometimes find a reason to justify their act and those would-be victims they spare. Like they're God of the world and can determine who deserves to live and die.
But in reality, they are arrogant, conceited, twisted beings.
Whr u been?
DeleteYou are very wise. This is the TRUTH. Nothing to add. You people can be analyzing till next week. You can never know the mind of a psychopath.
DeleteSee, never mind what you are seeing, this job I done by a very big and powerful group.
DeleteMy take on the #Orlando gay club shooting ,
recall the Oklahoma, Alfred P. Murrah Federal
Building bombing of April 19, 1995?
The same organization that masterminded that
event are also to blame for this, recall the
aftermath of that event was increased budget
spending for security apparatus and more
power to the government of the day.
Now we have this, #Orlando shooting, quote me
anywhere, anytime and where, the goal of this
latest event is # FEDERAL GOVERNMENT GUN
CONTROL!
The big cabal for long have been lobbying to
have control over gun ownership in USA, and
with this coup, I'm afraid they have achieved
their goal.
9/11 was orchestrated by this same cabal, and
the perpetrators smiled home with the passage
of the Patriots Act, a bill that gave the US
government the power to detain any of citizen,
whenever it deemed fit.
Americans stand up and say no to gun control
by the state . #notoguncontrolintheusa
Mama Ebuka! I thought I was a conspiracy theorists and then I read your post. I hereby hang up my boots
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
ReplyDeleteMay dey continue to rip,
ReplyDeleteHmmmmn! That's how I was at The Cave last night hitting strippers booty and the thought flashed through like if this was to happen shey na so I go dey tap strippers booty all the way to Heavens gate? Hian! Chisos save ur shidren 😢😆
ReplyDeleteKelvin Dat Edo Boi ( Stellz Cousin )
Lmaooooooo. God abeg oh
DeleteShanzEmpire
Speechless...
ReplyDeleteThat's not true cause mostly blacks were killed that day
ReplyDeleteWell, maybe he shot at them sporadically before he realised.
Gay or not,no one has the right to take another person's life.
RIP.
All lives matter pls. Blacks, white, gay people etc. Some gay people hate being gay and don't understand y they are attracted to just people of same sex. This matten man had no right to take lives he didn't create
ReplyDeleteGod pls have mercy...... End time sign everywhere.
ReplyDeleteWas he mocking blacks? lol@they have suffered enough.
ReplyDeleteMay they continue to rest in peace
How is that even possible? Club is usually dark and was he not shooting sporadically?
ReplyDeleteThis is what I was saying. I've never seen any royal family member come out in support of black people or racial issues. Even when the whole US was burning...nobody.
ReplyDeleteBlack people still died