Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Open Letter To Olori Wuraola And OAP Freeze As Regards Gender Equality.

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Open Letter To Olori Wuraola And OAP Freeze As Regards Gender Equality.

This Writeup disagrees with the speech made by Olori Wuraola on Gender equality and equally disagrees with OAP Freeze who agrees with her......*SIGH*

''When educated men and women display high level of ignorance, one is forced to speak. Before one makes a public speech, I think it is wise to do some research. It is always safer to get the facts right, before picking up a microphone to show off. 

Gender equality does not mean competing with ones husband. Neither does it mean rivalry between the man and the woman. Gender equality is not all about marriage. It goes beyond that. Let me educate you both, since you failed to do your home work.

What is gender equality?

In simple terms gender equality means the state in which access to rights or opportunities is unaffected by gender. This means that boys and girls, men and women should get equal opportunities in every area of life. I will give you few examples. 

Education
Everyone should get
an equal opportunity to go to school. The girl-child should not be denied access to education because she is a girl. Are you not aware that in some cultures/religion women are not allowed to go to school?

Work
Men and women should get equal employment opportunity. Look at our work force today, it is dominated by the men. Do u know why there are more poor women than men today? It is because women don't get same opportunity as the men. 

Politics
There should be equal representation. How many women get political appointments? How many are elected into public offices? How many women are governors? How many women are in the state and National Assemblies? Can men truly represent the interest of women?

Culture
We have obnoxious cultural practices that relegate women to background. Little girls are forced into marriages against wishes. Of course you know what widows go through in this part of the world. Is it fair
on our mothers? Is it fair that men who are physically stronger should molest women they are meant to protect? And you proudly say you are not a fan of gender equality? What ignorance!

Marriage
Women should be given same treatment as men. A woman should be allowed to have a say in her matrimonial home. She is not a slave. The man and woman are like two sides of a coin. They need each other. We have our different roles to play. If you have been pregnant before, then you will know what it means to carry a child for nine months in your womb, go through labour pains, then nurse the child to maturity. Most women are never appreciated by their men, what they get is abuse, abuse and abuse even when they are heavily pregnant. If I may ask, why did you leave your first marriage? And your second marriage? Why did you walk away and walked into a third one? Does it have anything to do with being treated like a slave? Does it have anything to do with
frequent abuse? Or did you just walk away without a reason? How can you convince me that you don't believe in gender equality when you already have two failed marriages? Why didn't you remain a slave in those marriages? 

As for Freeze, my humble suggestion is that your university degree be investigated. It is shame that after passing through the four walls of the university and working in a media house for decades, you still don't know the meaning of gender equality. What are shame! Besides, you seem to be a man without principles. You are neither here no there. Speaking from both sides of your mouth at all the time in your desperate search for cheap popularity. Today you are here and the next moment you are on another side. Stay off social media in your own interest!

For all those who truly do not understand what gender equality means, here is your chance. It has been explained in plain simple English.

SENT IN BY Mary Amara Jacob

THIS IS WHAT FREEZE POSTED

The Olori of Ife, Her Majesty, Queen Wuraola-Zynab Ogunwusi, spoke what I consider words of absolute wisdom, when she stated her belief that gender equality is hardly achievable in the modern world. 
While speaking at the Emerging Women Forum on Thursday, June 16, the queen said; I am not a huge fan of gender equality. We can’t be equal, We can’t be men. We have our roles to play. She can't be more correct and my respect for her has risen 100 fold, hence the proud smile on my face in this picture with her royal highness.

Although feminism in itself is a noble cause, and by definition is "a range of political and social movements and ideologies, that share a common goal: to define, establish, and achieve equal political, economic, personal, and social rights for women, the way many of my Nigerian sisters are going about achieving this is becoming counter productive. Although I agree that men and women have equal rights I absolutely disagree that they are equal. Each gender was beautifully created by God, to serve a purpose and assist the other. 

However saying they are equal is like saying a cap and a pair of boxers are equal. If you are in doubt, attempt wearing your boxers on your head and your cap on your butt and then brush your teeth with your belt and hold your trousers together with your toothbrush, then perhaps, my point will be better illustrated.
There was a certain young lady I was once courting, I remember trying to pick her her up and carry her, only to be corrected very sternly "don't you EVER carry me, I'm a feminist!" ah.... Lobatan! After that day, I hastily put an end to both the courting and the carrying.

I used to know a guy called Akin who was quite unhappy with his marriage, because he had a very controlling, argumentative wife. This guy was posted to warri by the oil company He was working for, and his wife, who was well educated decided against settling with her husband in warri, choosing to return to the uk to work with an investment bank. Since he didn't want to lose his marriage, the guy found himself traveling back and forth, visiting London on a monthly basis.

While his wife worked on her career in investment banking, he still paid most of her bills from Nigeria, surviving on noodles and sleeping on a cold bed..... All that changed however when he met pretty Ekaete, who was content with her BSC, wanting her home to be her major investment, indulging Akin in the world of Edika Ikong, Afang, Ekpan ku kwo, piom piom and the likes, tempting him regularly with her 28 inch waist and 44 inch hips; today they have 3 children.
Though some men like feisty, argumentative 'my way or the high way' kind of women, I unfortunately don't fall into that category. I don't enjoy relationships where women stand up to me all the time, putting their feet down, as it's something I consider a major turn off.

This is one of the reasons why my work relationship with the gorgeous @kaylahoniwo has been so great. she always knows how to get what she wants, without being rude, cocky or argumentative, making me constantly tell her how much wife material she is, and how lucky the man that would make her his Olori would be. *Disclaimer I delete comments that are either insulting or negative on my Instagram page and block the authors. 

68 comments:

1. *yawns* que sera sera on the gender equality.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. The gender equality Don confuse me sef... .. ..

3. Mary Amara Jacob God bless you.

4. The only thing I saw there was "It is shame" and "what are shame"

5. Typo. Use your head wisely

6. Zainab should go back to school. Her English is disgraceful. Den forming accent with bad tonation

2. Highly Educated people you say ?
    Freeze is an Educated illiterate.Going to school can't change that stupidity in him ....Please I mean no harm but it's true. I read and followed this man's write up for so long and I can boldly say that some screw are missing from his number six.....The man foduru obere (small).
    Education can't give common sense.

3. Orori whatever
    She knows the truth but just said what her husband wants her to say.
    I guess acting the follow follow good wife. Madam please stand out and be a woman with integrity.
    Leave this your pretending.

1. U just spoke my mind. I think she's just saying what the husband wants. Even the Ooni looks like someone who is controlling

2. She should remain the puppet. I cringed listening to that speech.

3. Nor mind d mumu. Trying to pls d 3 musketeers dat follow their brother upandan. I'm sure they don't av husbands at home. So they can say she's submissive. Oniranu runs geh

4. There is a difference between gender equality and gender roles. Nigerians really need to learn the difference between the two. If not for gender equality the olori would not have been able to stand up in from of those people and make this her statement that doesn't make sense.

She needs to school herself on the difference between gender equality and gender roles before she starts misleading people.

If not for gender equality she will be back in Ile Ife cooking in the kitchen and waiting for his return while the Ooni goes on his tour or even if they allow her to go with him on the tour, she will only be seen and not heard.

Gender equality gave her the right to speak.

5. Below is what Diary of a Naija girl thinks about it:

Dear Olori, The reason you can hold a microphone and speak in public rather than at the backyard of the palace cooking jollof rice while your husband travels the world, is because of women like you who fought for us to live life and enjoy it equally like anyone else
    Please see below a summary of what the fight for gender equality is about:

**If I work for 3 hours and a man works for 3 hours, we both deserve to get paid the same
    **A woman can now decide that, Marriage shall mean Partnership, Friendship, companionship as well as Passion; not slavery
    **I am not better, wiser, stronger, more intelligent, or more responsible than a man. Likewise, I am never less
    **If a man’s virginity cannot be tested on the wedding night, mine shouldn’t be tested as well
    **Because my husband has authority in my home does not make me inferior. We are both equal in essence and worth. Our responsibilities are just different
    **It means that my character/behaviour is solely guided by my principles not by society’s expectation of how I “should” behave
    **It means that I can wear a crown too! Ask Queen Elizabeth
    Your Royal Highness, do not be deceived, your belief in this revolution has absolutely no bearing in its movement. Stand tall, behind the king, watch as more women understand this concept, watch as they break the glass ceiling, reaching straight for the moon… and beyond…in their Louboutins

1. Anonymous 12:00...if you work 3 hours opened and closing doors while a man works 3 hours digging the ground, do y'all deserve same pay? If a woman gets away with things just because she's a woman or on her period & hormones are fluctuating, why can't a man do the same? We can all argue for & against this rubbish but truth is we're unique in our own ways, so quit trying to be what you're not created to be

2. Anon 13.11 wen we say gender equality, we relate it to similar things. If u 're talking of a man nd woman earning same pay, they must be doing same thing. So this your digging nd closing no follow.

6. Mary Amara Jacob was just being rude with her write up when she started by saying :
    ''When educated men and women display high level of ignorance, one is forced to speak. Before one makes a public speech, I think it is wise to do some research. It is always safer to get the facts right, before picking up a microphone to show off."
    What followed after, where her own opinion and not facts as they were full of "should". There is no straight jacket fact on gender equality. God made man and woman differently, and gave us different roles. God made the woman to have multitasking abilities, so that they can do several things at the same time. There is no need for the fight over equality. Olori Wuriola and Freeze have made their opinions known. Others can make theirs without insults. Whether Freeze is educated or not is not an issue.

1. God bless you! In my opinion, it's difficult separating gender equality from gender roles. Men are women should have equal rights in the sense of human existence and treatments but God created the man to be the head. The challenge is,it'd be difficult for a typical woman not to approach subjects with her husband same way she does with her male colleagues at work but in fairness to women, we deserve better treatments especially in this part of the world! I, also pray that God gives us women, the wisdom to manage the freedom once we have it cos our natural primary assignment is to "build" homes and raise responsible children for God and our society, whatever gifts you have can be taken out afterwards but first, your home!

7. Mumu freeze . Just because you he was given a chance to snap with Olori he now supports his uncontrolled dick. Mumu man . This freeze is just an idiot and senseless. Seeking relevance from every opinion and act of celebs. Low life

1. Freeze is an arse kisser. He kiss arse sotay, I could smell his breath from here and it does smell of arse. Hiss. He's just like Essa of this blog.

2. No be d same freeze insult d Ooni for waka waka. Ass kisser

8. Great write up by Mary Amara, clear and direct in simple English. On gender in equality, nobody is competing with men. For me I believe within a marriage each gender has a different role to play. A wife should not compete with her husband.
    Gender equality is about giving both men and women equal opportunities. In some places you have the same job as a man, you do the same amount of work but you are paid less as a woman. Where I work all the management staff are men, are you telling me no woman is competent enough to be in the position?
    On the flip side, some places have introduced paternity leave for men since women get maternity leave.
    I have no issues with a woman submitting to her husband. But outside the home a woman should be given equal opportunities

9. Freeze support anything in skirts. Na so him support Omotola to enslave her husband.
    I am not against husband supporting wife but coming to public to give reason for not going to market because of her Status. Get a maid to do it and not husband. choice of word was degrading

...TAG A FRIEND, COMMENT & PRAY 4 SDKBLOG...

10. Thank you so much for educating ignorant people who should be ashamed of themselves!

11. Hmmmmm, wahala,every body sld do what makes them happy.gender equality in marriage dosnt even garantee a happy marriage.see the rate of divorce in the western world. Nigerian men do not need it mostly in marriages cos our women too dey do

12. if it wasn't for progress with gender justice the olori would not get up in public to speak. she would be at home while her husband is in the spotlight.

there are cultures in this Nigeria where widows are still required to drink the water used in bathing their husbands corpses to prove they had no hand in his death. men in those communities are not required to do the same. there are companies (especially banks) where women are required to sign 2 year agreements no to get pregnant. meanwhile it takes two get pregnant but in those same offices, management doesn't seem to realize that.

its almost as of these unjust practices want to punish women for being women. that's the gender inequality we're talking about : complimentarity and partnership not taking over or being the same as men.

its always best to read up/research an issue properly before climbing a public podium to speak about it. no need to go showing off and make a fool of oneself in America of all places where the conversation has advanced beyond this pedestrian distortion of what gender equality is all about.

and freeze you are neither an expert nor an authority on every single thing that happens in Nigeria. abi the radio station don sack you from your work? a beg stay on your lane and don't get into a debate you know ZERO about it. you look/sound totally inept when you do that.

1. Fool! Banking is a business, nobody wants liability in their business, if you're pregnant and can still do your job without sentiments...be my guest

2. You sound more foolish than the person you are calling a fool in civilised societies that's called discrimination and you will pay heavily if you have such a policy why should you be required to sign a document that you won't get pregnant how does pregnancy is considered part of nature in civilised societies as it is the future of such societies so on the contrary they out maternity friendly policies hmmmm only in Nigeria

3. Which civilized society have you smelt talk more of visiting that you know their laws? Or you're just vomitting hear say? Goat

13. So let's call it Genital Equality then...

14. When God said all men are eqaul.... Also, implies that at the day of judgement we will be judged equally.
    If we women want same roles and opportunity as our Male counterparts, that means we should be ready to work same way the males work... Even when you are pregnant, on messes etc. No need crying you are a woman and thus, cant lift the weight apportioned to a man. Even in medical science, the Male weight, bodymass and structure is not equal to that of a man. For instance, there are waivers and favours women enjoy as regards their sexes, you are not required to go all the way like the men, but yet you still get paid same way they do. When oil touches one finger, it goes all the way to the other fingers. With gender equality begets gender roles... If women aspire for gender equality in Positions as they want same opportunity as the men.. Go all the way..... And play by all the rules.
    Dont come complaining.
    Stop scrambling for what is not yours.
    Even the bible says women are weaker vessels. If we claim we want same treatment as the men, dont expect compassion/mercy when duties are given out.
    You want girl education... Not bad....
    This is Africa - Nigeria.
    There has been peaceful co-existence and less divorce in marriages until the emergence of gender equality.
    Same goes to a Christian, the bible cannot change to suit your life style.

1. In conclusion, from your writeup, domestic violence is also a byproduct of gender equality abi? Women have increasingly begun to speak up and according to you, this is bad, yeah? Gender inequality covers most if not all spheres of life, so let us be extra careful when sharing our opinion. No be because of gender equality divorce rate increase abeg

15. I no longer understand what you people are fight for again in Nigeria! Most women receive more pay than men; most women in power who were supposed to help fix the country as women are well known and more blessed with fixing the home, messed it all up. Most Nigeria women who are bosses don't even respect females who work under them neither do they pay them up to the minimum wages, yet they are the ones bringing up the issue of Gender Equality.
    The Nigeria constitution grant rights to both men and women. The issues of women suffering after their husbands demise mostly happens in the villages. The same men that most Nigeria women insult and detest so much has always be one fighting for women.
    I was born with my rights, no one in Nigeria has ever tries to take it away from me, i can't be asking for what i already have. It was when i came to Europe i understood how much lesser rights i have, so before you people been giving examples with white people; they also have their loopholes when it comes to issues that deals with women.
    Nigeria and many African countries has more women in their cabinets than most Western countries.
    I have seen a lot of Nigeria men who fight for women they don't even know from Adams.

1. Hian! Mrs romas, who was your English teacher? Na waa o. I give up. The brains in this blog, I can't deal

2. Anonymous... you are a big fool!!! stay there and be trying to code n decode gramatical construction... such self esteem... who english don epp??

3. Anonymous 13.25 is a fool. Check her out she must be a nonentity that attended one of the glorified secondary schools. The lady made great sense. The idiots who have not been privileged to step outside theor state talkless country would be quoting laws abroad. Those who claim to be feminists think it's about gra gra and apportion to themselves a seat among the 'exposed' and ' intellectual ' or 'intelligent'. I laugh at some African, particularly Nigerian ladies of this generation !

16. Men don't want to marry a liability, they all don't want to marry a pepper seller. They are all looking for graduates and PHD holders to marry. They all want to marry women with good incomes and jobs. If the father of graduates and PHD holders did not send them to school because they are female will there be any graduates for men to marry?

The world has changed, when all these useless inequalities were put in place and practiced it was at a time when only men worked and women just stayed at home to mind the home and her children. Life is no longer like that, men now want their wives to work so they should deal with all the pros and cons that come with it.

Even if a man doesn't want his wife to work, she needs to work or start a business to have her own income because not having her own money is the way a man dominates a woman and controls her life. When such men decide to upgrade to the latest spec in town they leave their wives and children with no money, suffering and struggling to fend for themselves.

That is how selfish and self centered men are.

17. Hehehe. Both of them sail from the same ship naa. Their former marriages naa. One is on the second voyage of Sinbad, while the other is on the third voyage.

18. I wonder how this lady got to that Olori position with this level of ignorance, this is why the gender equality bill hasn't gone far because even we the females don't like ourselves and can't even support the bill. Their are so many societal norms that are placed on us the female just because we were created as females which is what we are fighting against, everyone should be given an equal opportunities irrespective of your gender, you should be free to do whatever you want without someone reminding you that you are a female and as such you can't do certain things,we the girls shouldn't grow up having the impression that only girls cry and when a man does it is a sign of weakness, No, we are all humans and as such can feel pain and we should let off our pains in whatever way we want to, we the ladies shouldn't just depend on men for everything, we should also provide, if he can take me out for dinner why can't I take him out for lunch? Let's change our mentality. I AM SO PURPLE.... www.iampurple.ng

1. Na abuja runs gal wey dem package give the man nah. So don't blame her. Na so she go dey disgrace dem. Dis is just d beginning.

19. The writer has time o. Don't reply the Olori, she's saying what her husband wants while freezer is an illiterate na

20. Msteww... But this people are saying something so different from what the olori said... She said she is nt a huge FAN of gender equality.. She"s not trying to define what gender equality is... Chai we are all entitled to our opinion as an individual... And besides its better some pple watch talking ill abt d king and the queen.. Hmm they are nt ordinary people oo... Myself and some concontestants for a pageant went to greet him during d tourist visit 2 days to d competition.. We were more dan 30 and he told us the winner is not among us.. The lady that truly won the competition joined the pageant a night to... We should not cause of civilization insult or disrespect the throne.. Isese lagba....

21. See how that yellow head Freeze is standing beside my Olori

22. I don't understand why women who are busy agitating for gender equality could insult Olori for saying what she feels is right.
    what has her past got to do with her present?
    Most of you ladies who were busy abusing her about marrying for the 3rd time didnt abuse Oni of marrying for the 2nd time o....wasn't that a clear case of gender Inequality?
    A woman who's caught cheating on her husband is asked to "park and go" but a man who's caught cheating is pardoned. Most women blame themselves for their husband's unfaithfulnes, some even blame it on the side chick for luring their husbands.smh
    I am not for or against gender equality ,all I am saying is that Men will always be men and Women will always be women!

23. Freeze is indeed a definition of a coward! Some weeks back he said the king should stop visiting people. His words are too weak #turnoff

24. anon @ 12.28 : pls did you say in your last sentence that today's Nigeria has more women in their cabinet than men??? a beg who are these women?. no vex o! i'm trying to get myself educated.

also, the inhumane widowhood practices don't happen only in the villages. there are women in the cities whose late husbands brothers family persecute them and throw them out of the homes they built together because they don't have male children. and even if it happens only in the villages, so we should ignore it and let it keep happening? don't we all come from villages ourselves???

25. Please please please Stella!everyone is entitled to their opinion!all these fuzz is unnecessary biko!

26. This is absolute trash, are you from Pluto?
    Like seriously, you just waisted your time to type this rubbish...
    Now let's go step by step as reset your brain, I know you are those lazy women who cry wolf chanting gender equality bullshit.

1. The Constitution of Nigeria is very clear, there is no where it discriminated the roles of women and men, there is no special Constitution for women where it stated they shouldn't go to school, or shouldn't contest for President .

2.You talk about education, tell me which school men go to that Women can't go, except where we have boys secondary schools which we have ladies to.
    I studied civil engineering in the university, and a lady is the best in my class with 4.28 CGPA, she was given her award, she wasn't denied because she is a woman and given to a man.
    We also have many instances, women had rose to the level of VC of universities, I don't think there is any academic height men has reached that women hasn't.
    But I know you are very dull, and would beg for scores because you are a woman, and when you pursue score with your pussy and don't get it you shout gender equality.... NONSENSE

3. Tell me, are you for real, have you forgotten people like Aruma Otteh, Ngozi Ezekwesili, Dora Akunyili, are all bosses, take it or leave it, employers are looking for the best brains, not feminist or pussies, if u are intelligent you will get a very good job, if u are intelligent you will succeed in your business, be it make or female, There are men in shell when Alison Madueke was director, there are men in NAFDAC when Dora Akunyili was Director, when Oby Ezekwesili was finance minister a man was the Minister for state finance.
    what am saying is that, if you are intelligent, you will go a long way in any field, no be by say you get harsh, and no one is discriminating against you.

4. Politics... You don't expect people to force women to contest for positions na, in fact in APC, female aspirants don't pay for nomination form, where men pay like 10m for depending on the office you are vying for.
    But if women Dnt contest they will not be forced.... We have women leaders in parties but there are no men leaders, is that gender equality?
    Intelligent women all over the world has ruled their country, Angela Merkel is the chancellor of Germany and under her, Germany is the best economy in Europe with 5% unemployment rate, there are men in Germany oooo, Shelif from I think Liberia was President and even won presidential medal of honor from US govt, the second highest award in America, Brazil had woman President, We have had woman speaker in Nigeria House of reps, what am saying is that there is a level plain ground and you can be anything you want it to be except you are lazy. Hilary Clinton just defeated a man in the Democratic Party election in US..... you are a woman like her, just that she will rather work than lament gender equality.

5. Marriage .... Marriage is a Union and like a team, everyone has his/her role to play, men an women are not structured the same way what a man is configured to do is different from women, so that's why they come together to form a team to compliment each other.
    Its just like a football team, a goal keeper can even score a goal to help team and a striker can clear a ball off line to prevent a goal from coming in.

If you have a marriage where the man is irresponsible you have can walk out instead of lamenting gender equality, we all have the same right under law, and your choice is totally your own cup of tea.
    you can walk up to a man and ask him out, if you are lucky fine, if u arw not your business.
    The role of men is to provide for the family, while the woman is to take care if the home, they can both assist themselves so that the team will not suffer just like in football I mentioned above. Anyone who doesn't do his part is irresponsible.

In conclusion, stop crying and weeping while women of your kind who are intelligent are ruling the world

1. You made a lot of sense. I really haven't seen any law barring women from aspiring higher.

But you know, there are such issues as minimum age for marriage, being paid lower than men for the same amount of work done, widowhood and inheritance cultures etc.

What I'm still generally biased about is women forcing themselves, putting in uncomfortable hours to do strenuous jobs just to 'prove' they can be like men or men doing some kind of jobs just to prove they have a feminine side (no matter how good they are). Especially if they can do stuff more suited to their sexes.

Make everybody face their lane.

Every sex should enjoy equal right!

Educating people of certain cultures can bridge the current gap in that area.

2. Using your numbering
      1. It isn't in the constitution means female children are not being kept away from schools? If you believe that, then you'll believe Buhari is right in choosing which court rulings to obey.
      2. Same point that didn't need a different number. A female goes to school, earns the best result and finds it difficult to get the best job because they don't have anybody to bribe for them.
      3. Do us all a favor and read transcripts of interviews of all the names you mentioned, then come back and tell us they made it to the top as easily as their male counterparts.
      4. You can't be that naive or ignorant of the fact that before anybody declares himself or herself for a position, there are behind the scene politics going on.
      5. If you read what you wrote, ignoring the line about gender equality, you'd see the affectionados of gender equality are saying the same thing you just did.
      My people have a saying roughly interpreted as "knowledge is contributory". Nobody knows it all

27. when we talk about gender equality, for those who oppose it. Go and see what women who are poor and uneducated go through in life. After taking the best years of their lives, their husbands throw them out without anything. See the scourge of VVF in the north, young girls whose are lives are ruined by early marriage. Parents don't see why a girl should be educated.
    The inequality may not be so obvious for the educated women who are lucky to have an education and careers.
    But go down the strata of society and you will weep for what women go through

28. Saloni ZeeWorld19 June 2016 at 13:44

Hmmmm nawa oo, dis gender equality issue sef... well e no affect me cos am the most powerful Bollywood star in the whole of India and South Asia...

Stella am currently in Brunei, the Sultan Of Brunei invited me for his birthday and he is paying me for the appearance!!! I am soo excited cos the Sultan is one of the most powerful and richest men in the world!! The Sultan asked me to marry him in 2011 after i won Miss India but i no gree sha, i no wan be him 5th wife. Stella the birthday is tonight, Beyonce is performing, Kim Kardashian and Jay Z are here too & alot of high society people ... i am the only Indian actress invited!! Later sha *yawns and continues relaxing on the Sultan's Diamond bed*

29. This is why people like you should understand what gender equality is before you open your mouth to talk about something you don't understand. If a woman works 3 hours opening and closing doors she should be paid the same as a man working 3 hours opening and closing doors. If a man works 3 hours digging the ground and a woman works 3 hours digging the ground then they should be payed the same. But because you don't understand simple equality not to talk of gender equality you are comparing opening doors to digging the ground.

Going by your own analogy, if a man works 3 hours opening and closing doors and another man works 3 hours digging the ground, do you think they will ever be paid the same?, does that even make sense to you?

Men in Europe and some western countries now have paternity leave and they also classify menstrual issues now as something that is beyond the woman's control just as any illness a man has is beyond his control. If Nigeria does not recognize paternity leave and other natural rights then that is Nigeria's problem which should be addressed.

You don't have to comment on everything, especially things you don't understand just because you are sexist, it makes you and your likes look very dumb and stupid.

30. Thx alot...Nigerians always go to the extreme on any issue...what are they even fighting for...we have had a female speaker b4 and a female governor b4 in anambra, female bank mds , the top 2 biggest portfolios in the last administration had women in charge,female ambassadors ( Bianca ojukwu)... Go to Italy and tell then to make a female the next pope na , make them use bottle tear ur eye...

31. Anon 13:22,may God bless your existence. Please tell 'em

32. Thank you Stella, we are women who embrace our femininity, believe in gender equality, hardworking and have very successful partnerships with our husbands. Times are changing and women are becoming breadwinners too. I love and respect my husband, however, our marriage is a partnership and we share equal rights.

33. Jobless people.Wura should face carrying eboo!

34. Gender roles different from gender equality. That Wuraola whatever who speaks like one with hot yam in her mouth mixed it up. She needs do some research. For Freeze, he is just a compound fool. No wonder his marriage failed.

35. Don't mind freez. He knows the truth that the olori is confused on the topic. He was paid to do a dry cleaner's job.

36. Don't mind freez. He knows the truth that the olori is confused on the topic. He was paid to do a dry cleaner's job.

37. Don't mind freez. He knows the truth that the olori is confused on the topic. He was paid to do a dry cleaner's job.

38. How can you blame her for all she has been saying about gender equality with the comments she made. The difference is not well understood. However, how do you want a runs girl who has live her life from age 18 after leaving secondary school, up to her thirties who happens to be an oppoutunist, a queen of rebranding names, from Sonia to Zynab because of hausa people, to wuraola otiti because the oni of ife want her bad life and bad relationship to be covered up,but was really exposed. However how do you think she will behave in the public. it is a disgrace for a monarch to place his life in the hands of a person who wants to make life out of someone to live her life, and even her life has no background of good education, and also no sense of humour to upgrade it to his level. she needs to go back to school to read and upgrade herself. in terms of beauty she has not got it because her bleached face was covered with MAC powder and lipstick in which if she removes it you will see a monster with bucked lips,so she needs to upgrade her self, and the oni himself is belitted with the kind of status of a street girl he has as a wife.

39. Well,i believe human society is evolving in a direction that people are not sure where it will definitely ends. We must recognise that dynamic nature of human society also drive changes in social structures out of which cultural practices, norms and beliefs are drawn out. It is within this condition that gender roles and the relationship patterns that fall out of that roles are defined. However, there will always be negative and positive implications in any social reality that emerges in the society. That's why the idea of gender equality produces the good and some abberations. The good is that women will grow socially, economically and politically but it can also lead to decimation of peaceful co-existence in marriages.Tensions and apprehensions will also be generated since the ideology is coming to tackle over five thousand year human culture.
    For me i believe in gender equity, not gender equality. You can't have gender equality if male and female sexes are different. Gender equality is underpinned by an assumption that the two sexes are equaled physiologically which is not.The natural endowment of both sexes define their gender which culture latched on to assign roles. For example, the testosterone in the two sexes are different. Men are physically stronger than women hence the protective role that culture ascribed to men. It means that women needs protection in a physical sense which men provide. It also inform why military expeditions are not assigned to women.
    However, the socio-economic change in the world of today has more to do with knowledge power which both men and women have. In fact, women are getting competitive edge in intellectual arena. But the nature which defines and determine social system as a necessity for survival still gives men stronger edge the hard domain of life. It is exactly what arrogates authority to men and confer on them the re4sponsibility to decide and define social reality in which we all live within. I am afraid to conclude that women who insist on gender equality, without the understanding of the fundamental biological-historical basis of this disparity or imbalance in gender relationship,are yet to have deeper grasp of the issue. The truth remains that to have equal access to opportunity will be very difficult in world where the strong one is naturally placed in an advantage position over the weaker ones. By virtue of physical strength men have over women, they are naturally endowed with resources to enforce the social order. And as such, they will run the world in a patriarchal manner that esteem masculinity over femininity. In the animal kingdom, the strong animal rules over the weak ones. In human society, the strong race rules over the weak ones.The stronger entity is always the custodian of power, resources, authority and decision capacity. The way i see it is that women can never win the the agitation for equality without addressing the biological and physiological attributes that underlie the gender relations. And this will definitely be quite difficult to deal with since it difference is a natural phenomenon. What i have been trying to run away from is inevitable here: women might need to demonstrate superior physical strength like men or more intensive than men. My line of thinking is that the struggle will have to be physical and brutish, a replica of what defined the primitive society since the foundation of the gender relations was constructed at the basis of disparity in the physical strength between the two sexes. Men did not get to the position of authority by intellectual prowess or discourses of discrimination but by sheer physical strength.It means this struggle by gender equality movement will achieve very little or nothing until the physical aspect of the difference is dealt with.In the history of social change, the most endurable social change and justice is always achieved via physical struggle at a point in time while intellectual component is used as a support.