Thursday, June 16, 2016

Omugwo Chronicles - Part 2

A Blog Visitor shares her Omugwo story... Continued from Yesterday HERE.

......So we got a help, told her when to start but my baby arrived before then. 

My mum was already on her way even before we called her. So she came with nothing, not even a change of cloth. LOL. 

Hubby called my MIL, she said she will start coming.

MIL came with foodstuffs and ata lilo (grounded pepper) sef. She dropped it all at home before hubby brought her to the hospital to see me. Afterwards hubby said ''Mama let's go home so you can go cook'' ...

she said No she wants to stay with her grandson. My mum said No problem she would go cook.

To cut long story short, my mum went home that night while MIL stayed overnight in the hospital. 

We were discharged the following day.

When we got home, MIL went to the room and sat down. It was my mum who boiled water for my baby's 1st bath, bathed the boy and massaged my body.

She was just talking. I mentioned bringing dirty clothes from the hospital my mum asked me to use washing machine but I said No don't want to use it for my baby's clothes. She wanted to wash it but I declined cos she needed to go back home that day. 

Stella, that was the beginning of my wahala. 

I slumped that day. Hubby quickly rushed me in and put me to sleep. Only for me to wake up and hubby was the one cooking. 

''Why not your mum?'' I asked. he said she asked what she will eat and he had to cook for her. 

This is a woman that's not even as old as my own mama o.

Following day, my help started so I was able to rest. MIL bathed my baby and viola! the boy took water into his nose. 

My days old baby started having running nose. My mum came back too and took charge of cooking. 

Hubby told me that he wants to ask his mum to leave. Told him to leave that to me.
I asked mama if she will like to go and rest since my mum is around, she said Noo, she has told people she's going to her son's house for Omugwo and that what will she now say brought her back,That my mum should go instead and take care of my dad.

Mumsy stayed and became a slave to all. A slave to all because she will cook and serve my MIL, pack her dirty plates, wash and even bring water for her to wash her hands especially at night.

Chai! 

Stella I was angry but she asked me to be patient. My mum is bigger than this woman in every way even in body size, LOL. Didn't know my hubby was watching it all. Think he talked to her but just noticed that MIL started taking her plates to the kitchen herself and even wash.

My mum left after 2 weeks and I was back to square one. I will bath my baby because MIL can't bath him without putting soap in his eyes or water in his nose. 

I had to cook what we would eat cos the help can't cook what I will eat biko.

My MIL will just sit in the room. Making calls and telling people how she's enjoying. I called my mum and told her I will change it for this woman. My mumsy, God bless her said I shouldn't try it. That I should just look DEEP AND THINK OF HOW I CAN MANAGE HER. That she has a good side if only I can access it. Then I asked God for Wisdom and you know what, I was able to discover my MIL's good side.

She KNOWS HOW TO PACIFY AND BACK A BABY. Then I decided to key into her good side. Whether she's around or not I have to cook for my hubby and I. So adding one mouth to it won't hurt me. Plus mama's own is to sleep, she doesn't put her mouth in my affairs. I make sure she backs my baby once I finish bathing him.

At the end of her 1 month stay, we were both COOL and in good terms. She even told my hubby he married a good wife. That I don't behave anyhow to her.
So what are the lessons I learnt :

1. Everyone has a good side, if only we can just discover it.

2. I am going to be a MIL someday so I have seen what I should do and shouldn't do.

3. ‎There are some exemptions, why not go to God in prayer.

4. No one can be like your mother so quit comparing.

5. Don't ever use your hubby's support against his mother. They don't ever forget.

6. Lastly, erase the MILs' are bad mentality and deal with Mama on a fresh note.
Note that 2 experiences may not be the same. But let us learn from one another. 

Thank you .

THE END!

If you have an OMUGWO CHRONICLE that we can learn from,please in...Thank you.

118 comments:

1. OK......but not really interested

1. You started backing a baby less than a month old? Wonderful!!!

2. People sha!U want to hear how she gave the MIl fire for fire. Let learn to tolerate other people cause no one is perfect.

3. Miss Ferragamo, my thought exactly when I got to that part.

I don't know how to back a child so I won't even let anyone back my baby. When the baby masters backing and the person is no longer around what will I now do?

4. A month old baby has no business in anyone's back.

Madam, that is not a good side of your MIL. Next time, don't allow anyone back your child of that age.
      Fear no dey even let me carry one month old child sef talk more of backing.

5. Happy yours ended well. But it was too early to give a baby piggy back ride that early. It's too early. Yes there's no one like your mum. I don't even compare. I don't expect my MIL to do what my mum does for me cos she's not my mum. Only a mum can do that cos of mother's love. It's normal. my mum really tried when I put to bed even though she couldn't stay beyond 2wks cos of work. In fact she stayed for 3 days and went back cos inspectors were around her workplace. She came back after 3days and stayed for another 1wk. Chai ,my stress now started but in all I had already learnt what I needed to learn. It's not easy at all. Mothers rock jor

6. Miss ferragamo, the tin fear me sef....

7. Yes one can back a baby that is less than a month. Infact some people start backing there babies after circumcision (for baby boys). And the babies are all strong and healthy.

8. Ur mom is a wonderful woman. Some mother in laws are like that, all na wisdom. Young ladies of nowadays learn, not every time quarrel

9. Hmmm.
      Yoruba people sha. After having my baby in america na so my sil carry pikin wey never reach one month tie put for back..I shout o. Na so quarrel start, she tell me say for yoruba land dem dey put new born baby for back return from hospital after birth.hmmm I no fit vex.

10. So why won't u use washing machine for ur baby's clothes?? Don't u knw dats the best sef. Your help will now use muscles n expand all the neck. Besides you can set the machine on baby wash. Peeps sha we too like wahala. Thank God u found her good side n handled it well

11. Extremely boring story I beg

12. So Swag LaFresh is still single!!!!!

13. Hmmm. Good for you. People like me didn't get to meet my MIL. So when I had my kids my mom who was still in active service had to leave work in Nigeria to come babysit at our base. She could only stay 3weeks at a time but I had help locally from Dh's aunties, relatives and my siblings. So heck, it wasn't that much of a stress for me. I have no story or drama about MIL ish. Wish I did though. Lol

2. Hian!...
    How can you people back a baby that is not up to 4 months old?...a baby that can't even carry his neck and head well?...
    Una dey craze!...

1. Yoruba sabi that one die. Even a day old baby, dem de back so forget story

2. What is crazy about it? It's very possible & it doesn't harm the child so why are you agitating upandan?

3. My thoughts exactly. I pray the baby doesn't have permanent scars from tight wrappers.

4. Shut that gutter you call mouth 'servant and pig of this blog'...i backed mine frm 2 months,if u can't do it well,mechie eze smello go!!!

5. I always wondered about that..

They back the baby as early as 2 weeks. And I just keep shaking my head..

I never backed my baby. Not because I couldn't but I wasn't about to start trying wrapper round my chest.. I used baby carrier and when he outgrew it, I carried on my hands abeg.

But my friend (yoruba) will finish dressing all up and tie her baby to the back, it makes me laugh. I yab her all the time..

About omugwo I think every tribe has different approach. In Igbo land it's not even disputable. Your mother comes and take care of you. If you mother leaves, you mother inlaw can come.. It's not even debatable.

6. Village People things

7. I read your comments on this blog and just smile sometimes cos I believe 1 human being cant be this stupid. If you a lady or a guy I don't care but pls mind your words. You can't do something doesn't mean those who do it are crazy...Thank you

8. I wanted to ask this oo.
      Poster don't you ever back a baby that's not 4 months plus.
      Don't try it again.
      Just pray this one's leg never curve.

9. It was really too early for that. Infact I prefer baby carrier.

10. Hahahaha, was expecting you to say something about that

11. Madam no be today. And no he can't have curved legs cos we do it wisely

12. I have birth in a govt hospital and the nurses said we should back our babies when coni g or antenal.I saw ladies backing 2 week old babies and they were fine with it. I personally am not a fan of backing, when I took my baby for immunisation with my carrier at 9 months if you see arethe dirty look some women gave me. I overheard someone saying that you are to stop using carrier at 6 months, but the safety instruction of the carrier said till 11kg and my baby wasn't even up to 8kg then.

13. Yoruba's back their babies at a very tender age. But that's what rocks their boat. Me sha I cannot, started backing my son at 7months with plenty Abeg sef.

14. Lol,Ralu i dont even know where to start replying all these comments from....
      Lindodo its not craze.
      Same was done to my nieces and nephews. Infact,my first niece wasnt even up to 24hrs when my mom carried her on her back,she was crying and disturbn the whole whole house(yes!she already suckled),we took turns in carrying her but for where,the babe no gree,and my mom wanted bathing her mom. Next thing,momsy was like,eeeyeh!get me wrapper let me back this baby,(lmaoooo)we all started shouting saying noooo,even my sis hubby was scared but then......my mom still carried her on her on her back & silence was restored. My niece kept quiet and slept off immediately. My mum did this for all her grandkids,there's nothing wrong with it,you just have to be careful,if you aint an expert,dont try it.

Lol,miss feragamo which scar?from which tight wrapper?
      I'm yet to see scar on any of my mom's grandkids. Btw,which sensible person will tight wrapper on a less than 3months old baby's neck?
      Anon 13:45,I hope she used showel? In covering the baby? Doesnt make it right tho,she should only take the bby out for immunization.
      Mrs fine face face,where the leg dey curve go?the way you ppl comment sef! A fragile baby,who told you they seperate the legs when backing them?they leave it straight! And they have a way of keeping the hands,they dont spread it.
      I'm still saying it,my moms grandkids dont have scars or 'curved legs'. Everything straight,smooth and beautiful.
      Abeg i don type too much,hand dey pain me jare.....
      I know someone will still come here and call Shanny yoruba....una doh# Lol.

ShanzEmpire

15. Backing babies from birth doesnt harm the baby, unless you can prove it medically that it does, its a myth. Respect ppl's way of life and dont call them sick. We are also baffled at how the igbo mothers that cant afford carriers n all carry big grown babies on their hands all day everywhere. I went out with one igbo woman, market to be precise. She carried her 11 months old baby in her hands for hours with her market bag, I felt for her the baby slept off when we were in the bus and she had to wake a sleeping child who immediately began to cry when we were about to alight. She could have backed her baby if there was no one to leave the baby with at home. Its two ways. Once you ppl dont like or do something you begin to paint the doers as terrible. Not good!

16. Are you minding the "bus conductor"? Everything about her is lies. Someone that knew her and her friends in secondary school back then already told us that Linda finished secondary school in 1998. But don't know why she's been claiming 1985, trying to potray official age like them celebs. Linda, I put it to you that you are 1980/1981! So stop fooling yourself madam "lepacious after 3kids" American citizen, claiming 31 when she's actually 35. Only you got married 2006, and you already have a 12yr old,hmmmm....abeg chill and sofri dey lie, bcos your lies always get on my nerves!

17. You ibo's are mostly too opinionated. That you don't do something doesn't make it wrong. What wrong has happened to the millions of yoruba babies that were backed before 4months? Madam liar....a newborn baby in yoruba land does go about before 41days,so look 4 another lie. you are the same pple that criticize women who use baby carriers,because it's not your thing. Expand your thinking abeg!

18. 16:04, A new born does not go out before 41 days?. So they don't go for immunization? The first being BCG few days after birth. Una welldone.

19. What's wrong with backing a month old baby?
      Because your culture doesn't allow it doesn't make it bad.
      You guys should learn how to respect other tribes and their culture.
      Now I understand why I see a lot of igbo people in the market carrying their babies on their arms which to me always look uncomfortable.
      To everyone their own.

20. There is nothing wrong with backing a baby. The Yorubas back their young but do not bend the legs. The baby stays straight. I feel backing a baby is a form of baby wearing with is soothing and comforting to a new baby. Do not back for too long though

21. The way you people turn simple discussion into tribalistic fight is amazing. I have gone thru the comment and didn't see where your tribe was insulted for backing a child. They only stated how they are surprise with thay since the babies are fragile, all you can do is educate them and say we don't spread their legs or something but you turn it into a fight.

God forbid

22. Anon, how is a baby carier same as backing a baby with wrapper?? You people shouldn't be ignorant here faah. Haba mana

23. All of you stupid empty heads talking here were all backed by your mother's. You are all busy claiming ajebo when you know what you are.

24. Anon 20:58, my mama no back any of her kids. Its not an ajebo thing. I'm not igbo but i can't back my one month old child.

Gbg, na people like you go back pikin abroad. Na because our roads and market no too good if not you're supposed to use a carrier for your child.

Make everybody do wetin work for them and not condemn others

1. Interesting. Nice one.

If you back a baby that is about 2months old, just don't tie it too tight.

There is no side effect whatsoever on the baby.

4. Thank you very much for the write up.

5. Your mom is exactly like my mom, thank God for her and the wisdom she applied. Patience is always very important, sometimes it's good to play the fool. God bless you and your family.

6. I don't even know why people have problems with their in-laws. Me I have special seat for my in-laws.
    Rule no.1 No in-law (sister, brother, mother,cousins ) Is allowed into my kitchen.
    Rule No.2, you are not allowed to stay in my house for more than three days and that includes my siblings.
    Rule no.3, don't expect me to call you. If you miss Me, give me a call.
    Rule no 3, Don't gossip anyone in my house. I don't want to know about them .
    Omugwo is strictly for my mom and I know her business will not allow her to come and stay in my house for more than 1 month.
    I set that rule and that is how I expect it to be forever.

1. Shut up there 2016 Grammy Award Liar. Where will your Mom do the omugwo? Niger Republic?

2. I can't help but laugh at your rules. Whatever rocks your boat jare.

3. U r a demented goat I swear, wat are u feeling like? My dear, pray dt a wicked sickness ll not befall u, den u ll look left and right for Pple to even stay 1 day with u, u ll not see,well, u r still a small child, u don't know Wats up yet.

4. And I hope your son's wife will set hers to suit her too without you complaining?

5. Well different strucks for different people,right from the day I got married my mil was sick and I took care of her till she died 3yrs later,now am facing my FIL,if I say I will not do it,is it my SIL that is in her husband's house that will come and take care of my home!wont my brother's wife do same for my mum?

6. Yes your royal highness. Seeing as you married your husband and not the other way round.
      You probably still bear your father's name in your husband's home too.
      Rule of life.

7. Good for you ma but hope it won't pain you when your son's wife tells you not to come to their house in future?

8. Lmao.. I was goin 2say something, but on a 2nd tot, I told myself not 2bother dt someone wil surely say wt I hv in mind! Kwakwakwakwakwa

9. Best rule ever. In laws can so humiliate someone. Me and my mil to be no dey even see eye to eye.

10. Isn't it obvious that you are the man while your husband is the woman. Your type can condone anything in the name of staying married, I won't be surprised if they even join forces and give you a general beating and you are here claiming Margaret Thatcher. Omeonu 1 of SDK.
      Quit the lying cos I know your type.

11. I like your rules but that call part get comma.

Na only jobless inlaws dey do waka waka sha.

12. @Lucile,how is taking care of your FIL your sole responsibility? Does he not have children? You mentioned that he has a daughter. It's her responsibilty. Yours is to take care of your parents. Hian I don't expect my brothers wife to help me take care of my mum wen she isn't feeling fine. No one can care for a loved one very well other than the child. no matter what you do to your parents,it would be 4goven but an inlaw wont

13. Now I know why bvs don't like you. You sound very selfish and lots more. Just come down from that your high horse. craving for attention. Goodluck with your new fame of tongue lashing.

14. Easy Amaka,be kind to your inlaws and family. If men were God #just saying#

15. My mil has never passed a night at my place and I have a very big house. Whenever she's in town for probably pension or so she stays in the hotel but I take food to her and she comes around to play with her grandkids before retiring back to the hotel. When I had my first child, she came and stayed in a hotel for one week before going back to Lagos. She will come around, bathe the child and stay till evening and go back to her hotel room. Dh siblings stay in the same city with us but they don't bug us with visits. Even when the younger sister came for youth service she stay at the BQ and was cooking her own food. We are in peace and no problem. This is my 13 years in marriage and no problem with any inlaw.

16. Oliviasilk she's not married. Those rules will soon change. Mine used to be worse till my eye see wein. Now I'm the most friendly person in the world to my in-laws.

17. #end time rules.

18. Anon 15:45, I like you already but you fall hand. Why will you allow her to stay in the boys quarter. For me I will rent house for her out side.
      My in laws no dey play with me o. If you stay more than 3 days I will start cooking only beans for you. I will go out and eat and cook beans for them and their brother .
      Morning moi moi and pap without fish or egg ( who have time to pamper anyone )
      Afternoon beans pottage.
      Evening beans soup with eba.
      I will keep rotating it until the person will say " aunty, I will be leaving tomorrow" and I will be like " eyaa pls don't go stay small nah we will miss you oh"
      The funniest part is that I lock my kitchen and go out with the key. Nobody can access my kitchen to even prepare indomie.

@ lafresh, OK I don hear. You know say me dey listen to anything you say. I go dey try call them but I hope they don't abuse it.

19. Anon15:02 who want your likes.fake likes you mean. Even my days in school I can annoy everyone and be on my own. It helped me grow knowing fully well that lots of people look forward to my downfall. Try being hated and see how you prosper. If you are loved by everyone it shows that you are an object of ridicule and a failure. Their likes can come as pity but not love. Haters are pushers, they push you to a height that is more envious. Try it!

20. For the sake of the future please loosen the rules. Nobody knows tomorrow,you might just them around you.

7. ...and they all lived happily ever after.

8. Lazy me!!...I did not read it

Let me just wait for @TGW to give me her own story with "vivid" description

Also @Sisi Eko....Kindly summarize this story for me mbok.

1. Ahaha crazy girl.

OK the story be say... this new mother earlier had issues with her MIL's style of Omugwo. Her MIL seemed the lazy type (no disrespect o) so, she had to invite her own mother to help, but her mother had to leave later. So she was stuck with MIL whom she had to cater for. Then at a point, she thought she had had enough and she wanted to tell her MIL off. But when she informed her own mother, she advised against it and asked her to be patient. That in being patient she would discover that her MIL isn't completely useless, that there'll be a good side to her.

So the poster heeded her mother's advice by being patient with her Mil. That was when she discovered her MIL had a good and useful side to her, which she discovered because of tolerance (the focal point). And this good side of her is that she knows how to pacify a baby on her back very well. Poster made use of this by giving her MIL the baby to back after every wash. So, they lived happily thereafter.

**deep sigh**

Who send me? Galore

9. I love ur mum. My regards to ur entire family

10. The queen abeg i no want to laugh. No be small craze.

Thank God for your mum. See good advice if not you for enter one chance with MIL.

Please take care of yourself and family.

11. Nwa Amaka keep quiet there. What do you know. Madam rule

12. I see so you are the man in your home Nwa Amaka. You would be suffering your husband with dv apparently with what you just wrote down, what a wife!

13. I'm very disappointed by the part 2 of this story. I expected more the way Stella split it into two

1. You will keep waiting for that chronicle and you wouldn't see it. Bitter human being. Her God has elevated her even with the fact that she has a child. Next post about her will be about her wedding and luxurious life style.

2. Amen at Anon 16:41...
      Anon 14:49 you are a fool!...she had a child and was abandoned by her ex is so stale and over used!...Kwakwakwakwa...

3. Anon 14:49, chronicles of hope right?

It's coming soon. Stay tuned

4. Just like your horsebands smelly mouth has been over flogged Abu, oloshi Linda eze, alabe rirun 🙄🙄🙄

14. @swaglafresh,please can I contact you,I need your help.

15. Thank God for your mom's wisdom & your intelligence. You just made Mama your bestie for life.

16. wisdom is profitable. Thanks for sharing your story.

17. I agree with u on this.nice rules

18. Wisdom is indeed profitable to direct. You did fine.

19. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this dear. Your mother is a GOOD woman. It's a good thing she advised you to look for the good side of your MIL. And yes, never side with your man against his mom or any member of his family. Even when he is mad at them, be very careful how you react. Wisdom is profitable. Thank God for lessons learned.

20. The backing aspect I don't gerre it?? Well nice one!!

21. Which kain dry story be this? Yawnsss

22. Your in laws shouldn't expect you to call them,if they miss you,they should call you, ure delusional. What's the big deal in calling ur in laws,aren't they ur family? Don't u call ur parents and siblings? Some mumus too would think your comment makes sense and start following it.fake ass laid down rules. U rlly need help NWA amaka. You have special seats for them, u must be a joker.

23. Your mom is a real mother.

24. Poster thank God u didn't fall out with ur MIL coz hubby would ve use it against u one day

25. You have a wonderful mother..
    God will bless her,may God give me the grace to be tolerant like you.
    Some people are really out to lead others astray in this blog, I pity the gullible ones.

26. Ur mom try biko,don't blame ur mil some women just don't know how to the care of people or like to cook.

27. Which stupid story of backing a baby that is not upto 3 months is this? What kind of good side of a MIL is this bikonu? There's nothing we wont read.

28. Thanks for completing the story.
    Her good side doesn't make up for the bad side but you are very wise woman. May God make me as wise you are and as patient o cos I don't have patience for some kind drama. My mother Inlaw is a gift tho,love her like my mama even tho she dey do me some underground works but God dey,no love lost.

29. I think I enjoyed this. The lessons you listed are so right. God continue to give you, and us all, wisdom.

30. I have the best mum and mil in the world, my mil does everything for me, was ready to wash my clothes but I didn't allow her. My 2nd son used to cry overnight until she started backing him,meaning she backs him overnight so he can sleep while she kneels by d bed with her head on d bed till daybreak. If not for that, my enemy would have gone mad from sleeplessness. God bless you Yeye F

1. Wow
      Good people are treasurable

2. Wow. "she kneels by d bed with her head on d bed till daybreak"? Better person.

3. If she leaves who will now be backing the child to sleep?

I no go let anybody use backing master my pikin biko

31. My mil is the best woman i know on dis earth...She is very strong at 80yrs plus..She does all chores for me and took care of my daughters..She never take sides with her son on issues concerning us.And as a Dil,i always take care of her..God bless my Mil and may she live long to greater love from me to her..

32. Your mum is a good woman no two ways about it. My dear live happily and emulate her good sides incl your MIL. Hausa people can back babies like that too.

33. My MIL is cool and can take care of babies very well. She bathes them when I give birth and holds dem till dey sleep. She doesn't cook or wash though, neither does she clean d house and weneva she's coming for omugwu in my house, she brings her other grandchildren along which can be distracting especially as she's there to tek care of a newborn. Her daughters whose children she brings along are all housewives, not as if the children are staying with her ooh. She just picks dem from their homes and bring dem with her wen she's coming to my house. She only bathes my baby, settle in front of a TV and watch Africa magic till forever. My first child, she brought 2 grandchildren aged 2 and below 1. Stayed for 2 months, it wasn't too pleasant. 3rd omugwu she tagged along another grandchild 1yr old. Stayed for a month and it wasn't as bad as d first time cos I had alredy experienced it and have grown to tolerate it. Thank God we have decided not to have more children so no more omugwu.

1. Thank God for my MIL meeeeeehn, I love her die even though she has her other side i believe no one is perfect but still she takes me like her own

34. Vivid description of my MIL, she would even tell you the only thing she's around for is to take care of the baby,her own idea of taking care of the baby is you bathing,feeding the baby and cooking for her,while she sits and watches Africa Magic Yoruba,dozes from time to time in front of the TV and eat her 3 square meals without getting up from where she's been sitted since 6 am in the morning. If she ever baths the baby na story we go dey talk o. I just tell her not to bother, I would do everything. I'm not in a hurry to have another baby,because she would want to come around.

35. Thank you for this story and the wisdom you applied.

36. all these girls claiming ajebo..so u girls where backed so early too hahahahhaahahhahahhahahahahhahahahaah