Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NLC Threatens To Shut Six Banks For Sacking Their Workers

Thursday, June 16, 2016

NLC Threatens To Shut Six Banks For Sacking Their Workers

The Nigeria Labour Congress (NLC) yesterday threatened to shut the six banks that sacked their workers.

The umbrella union gave the affected  banks two weeks’ ultimatum to recall the sacked workers and allow unionisation.

The action has pitched the organised labour against employers of labour, with the umbrella body of the employers, the Nigeria Employers Consultative Assembly, saying the government had no right to tell banks not to sack workers.

Organised labour also threatened to picket the banks, if they did not halt the mass sack of workers, accusing them of disallowing unionisation and reneging on the principles of collective bargaining.

NLC, in a letter to the management of the banks, which was signed by its Deputy General Secretary, Chris Uyot, said it would be forced to close the banks and their branches, if they failed to recall the affected workers.

The affected banks are: Fidelity Bank, Diamond Bank, First City Monument Bank, First Bank, Ecobank and Skye Bank.

The letter reads: “I have been directed to inform you that it has been brought to our notice by our affiliate union – the National Union of Banks, Insurance, and Financial Institutions Employees (NUBIFIE) – that your bank is one of those that arbitrarily sacked workers recently, contrary to laid down procedures and the country’s extant labour laws.

“Also of concern has been that these blatant retrenchments were carried out without recourse to several correspondences, including letters and circulars sent to you by the union to retrace your steps in line with best practices in labour relations and laws of the land…”

-This Day

32 comments:

1. Oriegwu oh!...
    Inukwa shutting down!...what's their business?...
    Toothless bulldogs...

1. Rather than asking the banks to call the staff back,they should make sure these banks pay reasonable entitlements. You can imagine getting 20k after working close to 4yrs.

2. They should go and sit down, NLC ko, NDC ni

3. Threat na water. U guys should be concerned with ways to fix de economy. If de economy is right, who needs a 9-5 job. Self employment things on my mind. Tired of office politics, queries, memos and answering someone sir sir abeg

4. Will shutting down the banks restore their jobs back? Pls Nlc should go and sit down. Campaign after Election

5. Lol, funny.....the one wey una go, wetin be the outcome? Is petrol not still selling at 145? Yea, it's good to support the sacked workers but threatening to go on stirke na OYO for una.

6. Medicine after death. Ewu NLC.

What about Petrol. Una don dissappoint Nigerians on that. EWU AGAIN

7. Shut up NLC.Toothless Bulldog.

8. My question is this, if tbe banks cannot afford to pay them nko? Will tbe toothless bulldog assist in payment? Hmmm i pray things begin to look up quickly.. People are really suffering.

9. See me see trouble oh, who will pay them?
    They should create an enabling working environment, and employ more work force in government parastatals.

10. Ecobank and Diamond bank ......Agama eyes on you ☺️

11. NLC na bank body una get power. Namsense

12. NLC,please shut your trap. You guys are nothing but a toothless dog. You've sold your right for a piece of cake. Is it today that you guys are just waking up to the evil and atrocities committed by Nigerian banks? Shioor kelebe.

13. C ur face#ordinary strike u no fit conduct#gaaan siddon abeg

14. They should shut down the banks now let even more people lose their jobs. Nonsense

15. Angry anonymous16 June 2016 at 10:11

Dem dey crase. So even d staff sacked over non performance, fraud and sundry other negative reasons should be recalled??

16. C ur face#ordinary strike u no fit conduct#gaaan siddon abeg

17. C ur face#ordinary strike u no fit conduct#gaaan siddon abeg

18. NLC biko sharrap you guys bark too much even though you have no teeth to scratch not to talk of bite

19. I know that the NLC is acting under instruction from Buhari. He failed to intimate the Banks using Dr Ngige, now he wants to use the Labour unions.
    But the truth is that the economic hardship in the country is totally due to Buhari's inefficiency and senility.

20. Mtchewwww...they have started again.
    Toothless bull dog.

21. James your comments are so stupid, they are beginning to sound funny. I bet you say this things deliberately to get us worked up. But nah, it won't work dear.

22. This NLC leader should go and drink kunu and zobo. He's irrelevant in this regime. How I wish the whole banks would shut down for 5 days if they try this shit...

Just negodi chewing gum NLC talking...

23. And they can't protest over non payment of salaries which is being owed civil servants for six months in most states , toothless bull dog.

24. Abegi NLC should face their front joor. Ordinary strike they could not conduct. NLC please would you pay the staffs on behalf of the bank.

25. Mtchewww😏who their congress don EPP?

26. These ones are looking for money, by the time the banks dem mention go give them 5M each dem go keep quite. anumanus