Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria's Buhari 'Broke Promise To End Medical Tourism

Wednesday, June 08, 2016

Nigeria's Buhari 'Broke Promise To End Medical Tourism

A leading Nigerian doctor has accused President Muhammadu Buhari of reneging on a promise to end "medical tourism" by seeking treatment in the UK.

Nigerians spent $1bn (£690m) on foreign medical trips in 2013, most of which was unnecessary, said Dr Osahon Enabulele.
Nigerian politicians were mostly treated by Nigerian doctors in the UK, he added.

Mr Buhari flew to London on Monday to be treated for an ear infection.
It is unclear where the 73-year-old would be treated for what his office described as a "persistent" infection.

Dr Enabulele, vice-president of the Commonwealth Medical Association, said it was a "national shame" that Mr Buhari went to the UK for treatment when Nigeria had more than 250 ear, nose and throat (ENT) specialists, as well as a National Ear Centre.

Mr Buhari should lead by example by using Nigerian doctors and facilities, and ensure government officials do not go abroad on "frivolous" medical trips, he added.

The UK had more than 3,000 Nigerian-trained doctors, and the US more than 5,000, Dr Enabule said, accusing the government of failing to address the brain drain by improving working conditions and health centres.
Mr Buhari, in a speech delivered on his behalf to the Nigeria Medical Association in April, said the government's hard-earned cash would not be spent on treating officials overseas, especially when Nigeria had the expertise.
Nigeria is one of Africa's biggest oil producers but most of its citizens live in poverty.

Mr Buhari took office last year on a promise to tackle corruption and waste.

BBC

27 comments:

1. Buhari is fast loosing his integrity. Mr I-do-opposite-of-what-I-say
      I will release looters names FAIL
      I will stop public officials medical treatments abroad FAIL
      Reduce fuel price FAIL
      Pay 5k to unemployed graduates FAIL
      Reduce dollar price FAIL
      Reduce hardship FAIL
      Stop violence FAIL
      Nwanne liar mohammedd

2. Dont mind the liars ear problem my foot! Ur president has prostrate cancer they better stop deceiving Nigerians what a lame excuse check up abroad for ear lol

2. Case of do as I say and not as I do.

3. So he should receive treatment from incompetent doctors like yourself and put his life at risk shay?

1. What's ur problem? U mean we don't have good doctors in Nigeria? You shouldn't have made dis comment it shows ur level of stupidity.

2. What's ur problem? U mean we don't have good doctors in Nigeria? You shouldn't have made dis comment it shows ur level of stupidity.

3. Its idiots like you that refuse to wake up and see the truth. Keep up the mumurism, you will see the destination where it takes you. Faceless goat

4. Shan on buhari. He is a failure

5. Shame buhari. Shame apc. Nigeria is in chains

6. Well said!,..
    We all know Buhari and his APC cohort are liars and hypocrites!...
    No single truth in this government...Tueh!...

7. Emmm dem say no be ear infection him get, dem say the authentic British Doctor wan use cotton bud take clean Bubu ears well well, so dat him go hear well well and assimilate the demands of the Niger Delta Superheros..sorry...I meant Niger Delta Avengers for meeting wey dem wan hold for London.

Na so I hear ooo.

8. U want him to die in Nigeria abi. Forget about APC you all know what they are

Do as i say but dont do as i do. Yeye party

9. So shameful to our beloved President

10. buhari d liar,practtice wat u preach buhari

11. Nigerians are living in civilized poverty.

12. Failed promises.....
    Failed government....
    He said all that to brainwash some Nigerians....
    I know one ENT HOSPITAL close to my house they can treat him very well....but no he wants oyinbo hands to touch him more.

oya Buhari voltron....come and take over.

i need a job.

13. Don't mind them, making promises they can't keep. I'm sure all those who voted him are regretting.

14. I thought they refuted the claims that the President had ear Problem and warned the media not to carry unconfirmed news?

I actually believed that press release abi Tweet.

1. Didn't you see a press release later by adesina starting the president was going on a 10 days rest and medical check up for his ears and serious cough...??

That was after he had refuted the claim that the president was sick.

15. N since when av Buhari obeyed any law in Naija. After now he will say it's bc he can afford it. N later he will bill Naija. Stupid man

16. *picks skipping rope and skips away from post*

1. U keep skipping SDK post till scam pmb n APC quenches Nigeria n quench u join...madam skipper

2. Lol @ Madam skipper