Prostitutes in Nigeria have accused police of raiding, harassing and raping them without protection, The Will reports.
Professional prostitutes in Nigeria under the Ohotu Diamond Women Initiative have cried out and accused the country’s police of forcefully sleeping with them without protection.
This, according to the prostitutes, is among the ill-treatment meted out on them each time they are raided by the law enforcement agents.
The prostitutes made the allegation through the Ohotu Diamond Women Initiative (ODWI), a community network for prostitutes and called for help from the authorities.
In a statement the organisation sent out, the prostitutes disclosed that they have now become endangered species and target of randy policemen.
They said the policemen constantly harass them, raid them and rape them without protecting themselves.
“S3x workers deserve the basic respect and protection from violence that each nation owes its citizens. But in many settings, police abuse of sex workers receives scant public attention despite its entrenched global reality.
“Many of us face violence and discrimination on a regular basis. Regardless of which state or tribe we are from, many of us have experienced being raped, verbally, emotionally and physically abused by police, clients and community members.
“There is an unfair discrimination from service providers.
“S3x workers are not protected or defended by the law when they are exploited and abused. We demand that these violations stop immediately and decisive action taken against perpetrators.
“Time without number, the policemen break our doors to start packing us like goats to the station.
“If you don’t have money to bail yourself, they will say they want to sleep with you unprotected which is very bad.
“As a woman in the brothel, we protect ourselves, we use condoms, but with the policemen, you don’t have a say,”the statement said.
S3x workers are often harassed by law enforcement agents in Nigeria with the fortunate ones charged to court. Some of them have also had cause to narrate shocking experiences while in the trade.
na wah oh....I still wonder sometimes how in heavens name S3X can be anyone's day job,no pun intended please!
Sad sad sad! Who will grant them justice? Nigeria? Mtchewwwww.... Before you insult them, know that you are no better, except you are a "virgin". Reminds me of a movie Dangerous Beauty and Venice. Eku ise o.
ReplyDeleteI pity women married to police officers. Tufiakwa. Half of them be walking HIV patients. Useless policemen behaving like illiterates. Mtschew
DeletePlease where did that statistics come from? Or is it another sentimental claim from a deranged person?
DeleteI once heard that whenever they are raided,police men make away with their phones and monies and sometime fondle and rape them as well.
DeleteThey should be registered and made to have licenses cos as it is,they are here to stay. Sadly.
Sad sad sad! Who will grant them justice? Nigeria? Mtchewwwww.... Before you insult them, know that you are no better, except you are a "virgin". Reminds me of a movie Dangerous Beauty and Venice. Eku ise o.
ReplyDeleteAlot of people will come here and curse.
DeleteBottom line is if you stay in a hotel or house and sleeping with different men for money, you are a prostitute. Shikena
Women sha! So u r not worried about d shameless despicable men that even after knowing their profession still choose to go without protection? Misplaced priority!
ReplyDeleteThere will ALWAYS be sex workers in the world! Why? Cos men like to f++k. So let's talk about the men here.
...and women don't like to fuck but just sell pussy on the side as a hobby? How about prostitution is the oldest profession and will remain coz SOME women are just plain lazy and greed. Get rich quick with the least effort
DeleteIs prostitution a legal trade in Nigeria? Arrant nonsense!
ReplyDeleteWhether it's legal or not, it doesn't take away your basic human rights
DeleteGood question.
Deletedo you know what hardship is? my dear, do you understand the monumental grace that you have living abroad and surviving without stress. do you think you achieved this by your strong will and resillience? many of them never had the chance to read or go to school like us. some of them had parents and a good life and folks suddenly died. We should just be grateful.
ReplyDelete...and your point is? Why are you pained...are you a prostitute?
DeleteIt does not justify their actions though but they need our prayers.
DeleteWill it be better if they raped them with protection? rape is terrible protection or not.
ReplyDeleteEhn, the police are raping at their own peril now.
ReplyDeleteHow can a lady in her right senses choose being ridden like jangulova every night as a profession.Tried wrapping my head around it and can't understand.
ReplyDeleteAnyway make una try form ashawo vigilante to look out for one another or what else can one say...mmm
Do not judge them. U are not a prostitute that doesn't make you better.
DeleteShe is not judging them dear,read well.
DeleteMadam candy vex not I wasn't judging just freely expressing my opinion which I am entitled to inugo kikikiki
Delete@mon ami,its jingle over
DeleteAppleofGodseye blame it on my nursery school teacher abeg..you self try and sing it with jingle over using our pidgin version u go know say e no rhyme..wink
DeleteLol,i learnt the correct word as an adult too
DeleteProstitution: The oldest profession in the world!
ReplyDeleteSince it's not yet a legalised profession in Nigeria, how do they want help from the authorities?
It's like armed robbers or kidnappers calling for help.
They shd chalk it up...hazards of their profession.
*Ghanaman signing out*
We're talking about human rights here, even if you're a cannibal & ritualist combined...you still have those rights
DeleteWelcome back Ghanaman
DeleteShameless wayward women. All of them should be locked up.
ReplyDeleteWhen did prostitution become legal in Nigeria?
See who dey open mouth, wetin ur mama be?
DeleteJames the monumental illiterate.. Kikikikiki
DeleteYou people deserve the treatment you are getting. You are goats. If you respect yourself you will be respected. You are Nothing but but dirty prostitutes.
ReplyDeleteThey need your prayers to overcome the flesh and not your anger.
DeleteYou people deserve the treatment you are getting. You are goats. If you respect yourself you will be respected. You are Nothing but but dirty prostitutes.
ReplyDeleteHow dare you? May God forgive you your callousness and hard heart. Do you believe anyone chooses a life on the streets? Thank your God and shut up. Useless excuse for a human being. I weep for you. The Lord will be their strength.
DeleteHow dare you? Oloshi oloriburuku! Useless excuse of a human being. You think these women like to be on the streets? Instead of you to thank God for your life you call them goats. E no go beta for you. The Lord will protect them and be their strength.
DeleteAnonymous 9:24, don't ever correct with bad words because I can assure you with facts that your words up there will only secure you a good position in hell.
DeleteAre u one of them?Why are u cursing like dat?kontinu ooooo anonymous 09:24
DeleteAnon take it easy. These women are useful in a way to the society. There are some men that have insatiable sexual urges and fantasies, that is where this women come in. In a way the reduce rape and child abuse. You don't get to curse them coz am sure you sin differently.
Deletena coperate affairs register this kind assoc?
ReplyDeleteHaba! Oga Police why na?
ReplyDeleteAlot of women trade sex for money and favour these days under different guises so i do not see any difference between them and the professional sex hawkers
Well said!
DeleteNo shame at all.
ReplyDeleteThat pic you used,isnt it that of Jessica their president that died last year...
ReplyDeletePpl have bn prostituting before the birth of christ,it didnt start in this generation.
World's oldest profession,whatever they do with their pus^y isnt my biz,the only advice i will give them is to protect themselves by moving around with pepper spray&acid,anyone tries to rape you? Empty the damn thing on them.
Ashawo no be work o.
ReplyDeleteLol @ Ohotu. As in Ohaotu.
ReplyDeleteFinal Meaning Otuoha.
Those Policemen dat do this don't love their lives.At all at all!
Imebigo nwunye general.
DeleteIf prostitution was legal in Nigeria, then they can protest! Here, sex workers pay tax and they are also covered by the healthcare system! Nigeria shit never strong reach like that! Abegi, they should protest via social media!
ReplyDeleteAnd the judginas came out in droves. I hail una
ReplyDeleteYou that fornicates with your boyfriend and collects money are you better than a prostitute?
Runs girls and guys that pick girls @ the club and take them home to collabo are you better than these ashanas? The list goes on&on...hypocrites,go and remove the log in your eyes first.
Welcome to sdkb where 95% of bvs turn saints and Judges on certain post,I hail eh! All of una go dey alright.
Are you a prostitute?
DeleteAny woman that has ever asked for money before or after sex is a prostitute; Money for recharge card, transport, to make hair, school fees, shoe, to eat, whatever, u be ashy just say u no dey stand for road side. Dem full schools & offices, dem full neighborhood!
DeleteShantelle don't mind them. Judgers of the federation.
DeleteAnon: 12.9. The ones dat don't ask for money for transport and hair. What are they called? Are u saying it is better to do oshofree?.
DeleteAny single lady steady having sex with men (whether u stand for road or u stay inside ur house), is a prostitute. If u say u only have sex with ur boyfrnd, when u break up with him, u move to the next boyfrnd and continue ur sexual activity. And as long as ur boyfrnd gives u money for upkeep, u r a prostitute. Sex is sex,it doesn't matter where it is done, how it is done or who does it.
Even if u dey busy dey do oshofree cos u like the guy, it's still prostitution. U r 'fucking' different guys for free.
In other news, Every human being deserves their legal right, but since Nigeria is a messed up country, these pple won't be heard or listened to.
@babyoku....hmmmmm, true talk!
DeleteNigeria police are not responsible.sleeping with prostitutes without condom?nawA
ReplyDeleteWould they be more responsible if they used protection?
DeleteEveryone deserves to be treated well.
ReplyDeleteIn Nigeria,a woman that sells her body for money automatically loses any form of right....Oh wait,any woman at all is tagged a prostitute when you have a police case and treated anyhow.
Abeg I don't care about their day job,why in hell will you even rape someone in your custody? Are you not supposed to protect Citizens?
They will soon clean up the mess some of the corrupt officers have created in the Nigerian Police Force.
I like that no - one is judgemental regarding this forum.
ReplyDeleteStella, more topics on this. It is very educative.
Thank you
And the men who have sex with prostitute and different women are called what?