Linus Idahosa is an entrepreneur and an international media consultant of repute, who is already enjoying the support of a lot of people in Edo State to inject freshness into the state’s body polity by urging him to join the 2016 governorship election in the state.
He says
''We often forget that Jesus Christ is our biggest example of a Youth Leader, who at 33 was done and had raised disciples, who centuries later are still influencing and gathering billions of adherents the world over.
My take has always been and will continue to be that Wisdom, Leadership and the Capacity to chart a path to a prosperous nation is not and cannot be the exclusive preserve of those above 40, but it is an inherent quality that providence bestows on one and the challenges of life help to enhance, refine and sharpen in one.
At any rate, no man lives forever and failure to deliberately, conscientiously and willingly transfer power to succeeding generations in their prime is a contradiction and an aberrant life cycle unknown to nature and trust me; nature always corrects itself.
It’s one thing for the bill to be passed; it’s another thing for the Nigerian youth to rise to the occasion, because the system as presently constituted is not designed to give it on a platter; instead it prides itself in creating a generation of Special Assistants (SA’s). It’s entirely up to the Nigerian youth to activate and enforce the strength of its number''.
Idahosa is married to Nollywood actress Stephanie Linus.
I concur, let this old men go and rest mbok
ReplyDeleteThe old men are so greedy nowaday. They will rather die in power than give the younger genration a chance. Eg Buhari.
DeleteUnbreakable or whatever u call urself, don't u ever call Buhari name in this matter!internet cockroach!!!!!
DeleteAnonymous 19:24, oh pls, I am saying it again (Eg Buhari )
DeleteOya go and hug the nearest transformer,Internet ghost.
Well said. About time the youth are seen at the fore front of our political activities.
DeleteMy pretty unbreakable pls next time, don't ask your haters to hug transformer bc nothing will happen. There is no light anywhere! LOL
DeletePlease we need youths in office not those grandAgbayas
ReplyDeleteI don't see much difference between Mugabe and Buhari. In the 1980's both of them were power-thirsty, in 2016 they are still clinging to power. Obasanjo included. They have offered their best way back, they have no business in power now. Using public fund to treat their old asses each time a small bug flies into their ear. Africans deserve the leaders they have anyways!
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteI concur!!
DeleteMy dad tells me the things he had achieved at 33, and I get so shocked. Cos these days guys at 33 are still playing 10-10! Majority of the 25 year olds don't know better than to steal money. How many responsible 25 year olds do we know? In comparison to the ones that are?
For me early 30s with proof of past leadership and good management attributes, is okay. And yes, Nigerian youths have to start being examples so we can have more confidence in their proposed leadership. And I think one condition should be that there person MUST be married! 😝
Nigerian can't prove themselves. They have learnt to sit down and complain on blogs
ReplyDeleteBeautiful speech. I need me an intelligent man like this.
ReplyDeleteRun for what? Abeg, he should continue with his business and leave this dirty politic alone
ReplyDeleteThis will absolutely make sense.
ReplyDeleteNon-elective positions are less drama filled... more of my Educational qualification,Experience,i guess Ima mmadu Etc.
Menn, e no easy!!! See Diezani's Qualifications!
The political experiences can only be obtained if they allow the youth into the system at an earlier stage. For instance, they should ban anyone above 50 from bidding for any elective positions no matter the political capacity.. from local govt rep to chairmanship positions etc. That way those btw the ages of 30-45 will dominate the political space. Otherwise it'll remain the same old recycling of the "ancient of days" aka ancestors
DeleteSisi,you have a point there.
DeleteYou know what,most Nigerian youths pause a little to work before pursuing 2nd and 3rd degrees...short courses to boost their CVs etc. I think this sets them back a little.
For instance,if I'm looking to get appointed as the seat of the Director General of NAFDAC,i'm sure someone else with more experience and certificates to show for it might be considered before me.
This is why in the past,to see someone in their early twenties with much experience and the certs tucked under their arms chairing a certain board in Nigeria was difficult.
The good news is that our generation dey step up...this is totally achievable!
*FingersCrossed*
*as the
DeleteStage one marry into nollywood stage two pick election form.....
ReplyDeleteGbagam!!!!!!
DeleteGbagam!!!!!!
DeleteHmmmm will they even keep d ticket prize low for d youths to afford it? No way
ReplyDeleteYou too can support the bill by contacting your senator/legislator to support the bill. Spread word on your social media accounts with the hashtag #NotTooYoungtoRun
ReplyDeleteIphie you sure say go school so? This you no fit sleep because of Diezani's bachelor's degree and MBA. What if the woman come get doctorate you for die on top. Or is it just because she studied abroad? Don't understand how that her CV is giving you sleepless night meanwhile a lot of Nigerians are carrying the same CV upandan yet no work.
ReplyDeleteTime to rise has come.
ReplyDeleteOld man buhari and lie Mohammed this for u fool
ReplyDeleteha! ah beg what does an international media consultant of repute' do???? reminds me of tonto going from blog to blog to 'big up' her previously unknown husband on every blog.
ReplyDeleteYou're jst a jealous bitch or beast. Show ur shameless and uncouth mouth den, i can address u inlike manner, mongo park idiot.