Meanwhile, former President Goodluck Jonathan has denied owning a £15m property in the United Kingdom.
A former Editor of the UK SUN, Kelvin Mackenzie, had said in his weekly column on Saturday that Jonathan had bought a property in Surrey.
He had said, “I hear the aptly named Goodluck Jonathan, the former President of oil-rich Nigeria, has bought a 12,000 square foot house on the ultra-expensive and well protected St George’s Hill estate in Weybridge, Surrey.
“I’m sure he gained his wealth legitimately but these houses are £10-£15million a pop, so, perhaps the ex-President could explain where his money came from as he has been at the forefront of the fight against his country’s corruption. Surely, it can’t all have been good luck.”
However, Jonathan, through his media aide, Mr. Ikechukwu Eze, denied the report and demanded a retraction from the newspaper.
The statement read in part, “Nothing could be further from the truth. Dr. Goodluck Jonathan takes pride in the fact that he does not have any property or accounts outside Nigeria. He stated this publicly while in office and his commitment to Nigeria’s economy remains total even after he left power.
“As the Nigerian President who signed the Freedom of Information bill into law, Dr. Jonathan is well aware that the United Kingdom is a nation with good record keeping at county and national levels and as such, it will not take a serious and responsible media long to verify ownership of property before rushing to the press with potentially libellous publications.
“It is hoped that this publication will correct its error and do a retraction and that other media will likewise follow up on this story to put the lie to the details it contains.”
punch
Story for the God's, wat of Obasanjo, Tinubu and the rest of dem who stole from dis country y is he watch hunting only Jonathan administration? Not like I'm supporting Jonathan but dis corruption fighting is one sided.
ReplyDeletePlease they should leave this man alone jor.
DeleteHmmmm like we don't know how it works. Of course no property will be found under his name. Not like it's a crime to have a home abroad, long as it's moderate.
DeleteThen again if he didn't declare it in his assets, then he'll have to explain how it was paid for if it doesn't align with his salary as president.
He demands a retraction of the fake news and he's sure going to get that.
ReplyDeleteThey tried it once with him and they apologized
Y'all got nothing on GEJ so y'all keep reaching with your speculations.
Dumb lot.
Your stupidity is epic.
DeleteAs your dumbness is incomparable.
DeleteHmmmmm this is serious. We are all waiting for the final season, who is the accuser and who is telling the truth?
ReplyDeleteNa wa o
ReplyDeleteMake dey allow dis man enjoy him retirement na
Lie,lie govt!!! As usual when they see they are getting unpopular they come up with tales!
DeleteI love this statement by our much loved and highly respected ex president,"Dr Goodluck takes pride in the fact that he does not own any property or accounts outside Nigeria" .
ReplyDeleteBuhari should quit this stupid wild goose chase and political victimization.
He is just too unintelligent, too senile , too unhealthy and too clueless to rule Nigeria today. And that the bitter truth.
So the property is not in ur name. Just like the one in Bel Air. No be everybody be mumu, Oga Jona.
ReplyDeleteHe doesn't have? Ok. Who am I to say otherwise?
ReplyDelete*Humming Mike Ejeagha's Onye Ori Utaba*
Eheheh na trouble you dey find o.
DeleteMy GEJ for life, I will always believe in you.
ReplyDeleteOga GEJ, how come all this $Billion Dollars are fying within your cabinet and none of them is tagging you
ReplyDeleteMaybe you no like money?
Or you're telling us now that money is not part of the reason you became president
We are on the lookout Sir!
Even if he owns one,will he be the first?...
ReplyDeleteWho have asked Obasanjo and Co questions about theirs?...
Mtcheeeewwwww...
So what happens if e does? By the way, With his political history, he's qualified to own such property cus he's been so blessed.
ReplyDeleteEnd time clueless
ReplyDeleteGoodluck to Jona. He should sue the moderfucker
ReplyDeleteWhat is wrong in him having a £15m property. He is am ex president so why cant he afford it. Please they should let him rest abeg.
ReplyDelete"Denies" he shouldn't just do that.He should sue for libel.At least then we'll know the truth.
ReplyDeleteFor every lie there must be an element of Truth in it.
ReplyDeleteOga Jona cant be called in this kind of allegation if there is no proof and am so sure he wont press charges to the journalist cos that will only make them dig up his issues.
People calling Tinubu, Obasanjo and APC, now the question is at their time did the economy wreck in this kind of manner?
When Oga Jona entered why didnt he at least do the same thing President Buhari doing now?
So kindly leave My APC president alone.. Haters!!!
What if he owns that? Is his own going to be different? All our Hausa and Yoruba politicians have. Why would the son of the oil soil be the only one to be disgraced?
ReplyDeleteIf you take The Sun seriously you are a fool. Lying paper.