Friday, June 17, 2016

IHS Towers Fires Helios Towers Staff

ATTENTION NIGERIAN LABOUR CONGRESS (NLC)

Dear Stella,

I am writing with tears as i just lost my job.  IHS towers agreed to buy Helios Towers in March.  However the deal just formally closed last Friday and IHS took full control of the company. When the management of IHS Towers met with us, they promised a seamless integration with no job loss.  We held a series of town hall sessions with Fehintola Bada the HR Director for IHS and Rajiv Jaitly the CEO of IHS and they promised us that our jobs were all guaranteed.

Infact we had a handover party at the office last Friday where Helios Towers outgoing CEO assured all of us that our jobs were safe.  The only thing they could not guarantee was the possibility that we might be getting a pay cut or moved to another role due to duplicity. We all went home on Friday feeling very happy with ourselves.

Then first thing Monday morning, Fehintola walks into our office and starts to hand us all resignation letters with immediate effect.  No prior warning nothing.  We were told they will compensate us well but the compensation is bad.  It cannot even buy a basket of tomatoes.  
Please help us get our message out to the relevant people that can come to our aid
Thanks''

31 comments:

1. Please someone should send dis to the minister of labour
    Thot employers have been instructed not to sack anymore

2. No be only NLC.

They got nothing to do. You can't force an organisation that is not making profit to retain workers and not pay them.

Poster, in your case, I don't know what went wrong. Very sorry.

3. Na wa o> Job losses everywhere. May God please help

4. Nigeria lawless country ,people wake up and just step on peoples right .

5. Sorry dear...

This things happens all the time. Once another company buys you out, they sack all the old workers as they have their own staffs to fill in positions.

6. In this time of hardship... where is Nigeria heading to?

7. Na wa o. God please intervene in our nation's situation. This suffering is getting too much.

8. Chai.
    I am soo sorry for ur job loss dear.
    God wil make a way.

9. Na wa o
    So sorry poster it is well

10. Hmmmmm, sorry guys, hope u get help. To imagine that I was just begging my friend in helios towers for a job and he was bragging and telling us how much he earns and how many other opportunities he has. He constantly brags about his job and tries to intimidate us.

11. Hmmm, what is really happening in Nigeria?
    Pls dear take heart, it is well. That is not the end of d road.

12. Stalls,why the attention to NLC? Those ones that corruption has set apart? Abeg leave them out of this. People that need to know read this blog or have someone that reads it so it will get to the appropriate people. Meanwhile,sorry to those that lost their jobs.

13. Anonymous 10:06 SHUT UP. You are happy. Jobless mofo.

Sorry for the loss. I pray God provide another jobs for you all.

when I told someone that they should come and take prayers in my church because of all these sack, sack, sack, he was just running away now the guy has been affected. Am not happy at all. I know God has great things for you guys

14. Pls take heart, this things happens. From my investigations, only jobs with duplicity have so far been cut. I feel the pains with u guys as a former employee. I know that more roles will go as the new entity tries to restructure and evolve. Like I said take heart and God will support you in your future endeavor

15. I am so sorry. First thing to do is pray, tell God about it. Then report to ministry of labour. Dust your resume, go and source for new job. Find a business to do. I stream of income is not reliable anymore. Anything can happen. So sorry.

16. lol... In other words you are happy his job is gone abi? or what are you trying to say?.

My dear, God will give you a better job just keep trusting him.

17. Hmmmmm! Which way Nigeria? Chin up! God is in control!

18. It's like nobody cares about hotel workers in this country, Eko hotel, Intercontinental hotel sack over 500 workers,Nigeria Labour Congress and the Minister of Labour is not saying anything, but when it comes to banks and telecoms staff, they issue a counter directive that the sacked workers must be reinstated, animal farm, some workers are more equal than others

19. Hmmmm||| this kind people sef na wa oh

20. God! So sorry dearie. Pls a word of advice to fellow BVS, if ur company is being sold. Or is d one our purchasing another, as soon as u hear of it start looking out for a diff job. If ur present company cuts pay or start owing salaries, please move, if u suddenly see a new staff ( usually a non experienced one ur HR suddenly brings to ur department for u to mentor or work under u....start watching out for another job with side eyes cos the person is just there to under study u and will take over fully while u are asked to go...HR does this all d time. It's cheaper to hire fresh hands not necessarily better experience in some jobs and train them. Also, if ur company is sacking, pls don't be relaxed, be on d watch out for a new job. If u had asked a H R fellow....my dear u for no drink and merry for company takeover party promises or not!!

21. IHS is a lebanese company that is creating monopoly in the telecoms sector and governmentis keeping queit now.I have friend at Helios who told me the IHS has guaranteed safety of jobs. Fehitola advised them to sack the locals. The same thing happened when they too MTN and EMTS sites.

1. Sack locals as how. Be carrying stories that ain't true.