Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Ikpeazu Insists ''I Remain Abia Governor..''

Monday, June 27, 2016

Governor Ikpeazu Insists ''I Remain Abia Governor..''

The Governor of Abia State, Dr Okezie Ikpeazu has called on Abians not to panic, but “remain calm” over the judgment of Justice Okon Abang of the Federal High Court Abuja delivered in favor of Mr. Uche Ogah against him, in the case of alleged falsification of tax receipts.

Governor Ikpeazu, in a statement by his Chief Press Secretary, Enyinnaya Appolos, obtained by journalists on Monday in Abuja, said that he has faith in the judiciary and rule of law.

He added that he will appeal the ruling as he has instructed his lawyers to file an appeal immediately against the said judgment.

The Governor noted as an appointee of the Abia State Government from 2011 to 2014, when he served as the General Manager, Abia State Passengers Integrated Manifest and Safety Scheme (ASPIMSS), and first Deputy General Manager, Abia State Environmental Protection Agency (ASEPA) Aba and Environs respectively, before his resignation in October 2014 to contest the Governorship election in the state, his taxes were deducted at source within that period.

According to him, when he had need of his tax clearance in 2014, he applied to the Abia State Board of Internal Revenue, and was duly issued with his tax receipts for the period in question.

Ikpeazu maintained that he remains the Governor of the state according to law and will await the final determination of the matter by the appellate courts.

culled -thenewsnigeria.

*No be only sack,na slack*

23 comments:

1. Ofcos the parties involved with maintain status quo till the case is ruled by the court of appeal
    So technically, he is still governor

1. I can't believe i made this very correct local palm oil rice
      Fresh pepper
      Smoked fish
      Scent leaf
      Oh my, I killed it

2. And he is PDP Abi?
      Still waiting on APC member will be procecuted or even probed

3. Is this not the governor that was criticized a while back for giving an elderly woman money from his car? Nigerians finished the man that time ehn. I know he won't agree to the court ruling. They never do. He'll choose to stay in office while he appeals his case. Na so he go take buy time till his tenure is over.

4. When will we look beyond parties but concern for this nation and the generations to come. Let him be probed if guilty. This is why Nigeria is so backward! We love to play the party, religious and tribal card. If I as a meagre earner pay my tax, I see no reason why another person shouldn't. Not a gov it buhari! Don't forget they spend yours to live large.
      Can't you see? Corruption has eating deep and is a norm and all you can say is APC? For once be interested to follow through cos we know these people do things and get away with it cos peeps like us are gullible. Do not forget that the same governor can change his party before the end of today.
      Will the future generations pray or curse you?

2. Issorai...let true Justice prevail.

Abia will be better if you leave tho, ochendo has to be probed.

1. @pipi same way ya uncle/aristo general ihearijika or whatever his name has 2 be probed

2. @Pipi, you ate so right. @anony, truth is always bitter. Go and hug transformer abeg.

3. @Pipi, you ate so right. @anony, truth is always bitter. Go and hug transformer abeg.

3. Did you forget to tell that the date on the receipt was on a Sunday?
    How come Mr gov?
    It's better to resign honorably,
    F N. Nwosu's case z still pending.
    All I want is for my state to be better,I don't care who is there.

4. Lool.
    They tried it with wike now they saw. how it went.

5. Ngwa people, on your marks, get set, pack and gooooooo!!!

6. If this man lives it will be the best thing that will happen to Abia state. Justice must prevail and Abia deserves good governor

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. Most of dis ur bvs no know anything na numbskuls full dis ur blog o

9. Please I need help...am a student but I have really lost interest in my studies... i need something else to do..(not that I will discontinue my studies o).
    I happen to have 1m naira...but I don't even have an idea of what to do with it. Plz I need business suggestions. Plz note am a girl,can't do very tedious stuffs. Thanks bvs

10. do the state a favour and leave biko.